Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anker Hostel

Storgata 53H, Grunerlokka, 0182 Oslo, Norway

#147 of 194 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6857 hostel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Our room and shower was clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room near main door and during a night it was annoying to listen closing a door and our fridge was noisy too.And just the way how to flush a toilet was sometimes difficult but it was probably we are not used to it ;)

    Our room and shower was clean and big.We had a fridge to store our food and table to serve our breakfast or dinner,our bin was empted every day.The location is pretty good you can walk easy in 10mins to town centre or station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen utensils have to borrow with deposit and to return after 3 hours use. Some people talking in the corridor at night without consideration for the people who need to rest early

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    8 bed dorm. I feel I got a fair deal for the money. I would use this place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower and toilet/basin all in same room with eight people sharing. I had to go to the first floor bathroom a couple times. Common space could be greater and available plug-in outlets. Staff was pleasant and that helped my opinion.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Amazing first time in Norway - I'd recommend and would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's right next to the tram tracks, so if you're a light sleeper shut the windows, otherwise it's not loud enough to disturb a regular sleeper. Also having to pay extra for bedding - just include it in the price and give people the option to opt out, because I'm sure majority of people aren't travelling with bedsheets. The room doesn't have lockers, so bring a padlock. WIFI was bad. I gave up and used my data for 3 days. Finally, If you don't already, I strongly recommend travelling with a powerbank - one person in the room hogged the only power socket in the room for 2 nights.

    Check-in/check-out was very smooth and stress free. The room was warm, bed was comfy and room/private bathroom were clean. I felt safe in my room (female dorm). The kitchenette facilities are good, although it would've been better if there was a kettle to make a cup of tea in the morning. Staff at the reception desk were friendly. There's a luggage room to store bags before check-in or after you've checked out but still want to do more in the town without dragging your bags around. There's also a communal area with sofas by reception, and a couple of small tables (fits 2 people, 3 at a push) if you don't want to eat in your room. The hostel is easy to find, with convenience stores and transport links on the doorstep. If you like walking then it's a short walk to the town centre, and a leisurely walk to get to some areas of interest.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    Generally happy - majority of staff were friendly except for one lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No sharing kitchen. There is stove in the dorm room but that is quite inconvenient cooking in the place where you and other sleep so I ended up not cooking (so did others in my room). Also, kitchen utensil have to be borrowed with cash deposit. Would be nice if the hostel could arrange for a sharing kitchen, even if it's small.

    location, easy to get to many places. staff quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.5
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a bit pricey and the size of the towel/maybe 2 should be handed out,plus if u at the front of the hostel,road very noisy

    close to the centre of oslo

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    2.9
    It’s close to the central station, however the area doesn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s close to the central station, however the area doesn’t seem so safe. The building it’s not the best and the bathrooms had a terrible smell. I left the hostal with my body full of insect bites and also the price in euros that the platform said wasn’t event close with the real price.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.7
    Done the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of an atmosphere, no lockers in room and hardly any plug points.

    Basic but clean and in a nice location - guy on reception was extra friendly on check in!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower and toilet are together. better if separated or add separation

    Nice hostel not very far from the train station. price is little high but its norway . It was clean and staff was ready to help. Shops to buy and eat are not far.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    close to the center and the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was never mentioned that dormitory was mixed. noisy as people sang until late in the night no large room to hang around.

    close to the center and the train station staff can speak english and are friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Just fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general vibe was very idustrial. The place did it job and I had a place to sleep. But I didn't want to see iny room too much after waking up. Which is actually a good thing maybe. Every single thing costs money. Towels, linens, kitchen dishes and equipment

    Nice receptionists, comftorable bed, nice roomates while I stayed at the hostel, pretty cheap priced place and yet it doesn't feel that bad. They have good socialaizing spaces.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Would return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed linen is paid extra… that was a surprise. Security is also a little rough, the lockers are small and its just tight for a small backpack.

    Rooms are confortable. Good atmosphere and fair place to arrive to at night and just stay there. Easy to reach trains and buses and good enough to walk around town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    The position is great, as well as the price in the context...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't exactly super friendly but did their job.

    The position is great, as well as the price in the context of Oslo. Close to a tram or metro. Room for 8 people had a small kitchen and a bathroom which was also good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lockers in the room No plug points for all the beds Elevator gets stuck if some one left the door open

    Good location Value for money Get to meet lots of people Fridge in the room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    Am i supposed to roam around with my bed linens?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So, for starters, bed linens are charged extra 70 NOK, that's around 30% of one day charge, I'll take that as a huge hidden charge because bed linens are mandatory (not that i like sleeping without them, off course everyone needs them). If you need a pad lock, loose your pockets again. If you Want kitchen utensils, they want 10 euro deposit and that's not refundable If you return it after 3 hours.

    They stored our luggage for a week for FREE. :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    nice place, close to center bus/train station and places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in this price, good have nice breakfast include there. wi-fi issue was from rooms..

    nice place, close to center bus/train station and places to visit. good location of hostel. recommend to travelers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable choise for those wanting just spend a nighttime there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty floor and a lot of dark/black hair everywhere in the room & bathroom. Loud ventilation in the bathroom without an option to turn it off during nighttime.

    Good quality wifi in the room. Kitchenette in the room, but all equipment should be with you, or it can be borowed for a limited time in the reception. Good location. Nearby is a hotel where you can have breakfast (well... may be fine for a 3* hotel but could be better for that price...)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    The roommates I met in my room in this hostel were all kind and friendly : )
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, there were lots hairs on my bed and bed sheet. I was wondering whether they allocated me this bed without any cleanliness beforehand. The kitchen was equipped in every room, which is not good for the ventilation. You need to pay the deposit to get the kitchen utensil and hold the basket (which contains the utensil) back to your room to cook for meals.

    Taiwan is an independent country, not belongs to China. (Booking.com has not corrected the wrong information.) The staff are friendly and the roommates were all kind as well. The room for 10 people is quite spacious. (I was allocated to the independent and lower bunk so it is much more convenient for me to arrange my luggage.) The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    Apparently it is a suspicious place to stay at.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently it is a suspicious place to stay at. I was visited by immigration police in the middle of the night to check my passport (I am not from EU). The best answer I got why this happened was: you are foreigner, staying at Anker Hostel, so we needed to check you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.8
    It was great to get a hotel in the city of Oslo which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oslo and its hotels is to expensive. For the price in the Anke Hostel (only a Hostel!!!) you get a 5-star-hotel-room in a lot of hotels in Germany and other coruntries in Europe (inclusive breakfast).

    It was great to get a hotel in the city of Oslo which was compared to other Oslo-Hotels relative cheap.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent budget option for a short stay in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel satisfied my needs - I was comfortable there.

    Basic hostel - clean, efficient, very conveniently located in a short walking distance from the train station. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. I did request a lower bunk bed and the staff was able to satisfy my request. The bed was good and the sheets were clean. There was a small kitchen and refrigerator in our room, but you have to borrow the utensils at the reception for a refundable deposit. There are plenty of food options around the hostels - grocery stores, cafes, supermarkets, etc. I was very pleased with my stay at Anker.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Good place and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is extremely small.

    The communication with hostel was good. We could pay in cash in the place. The price and localization was ok. We could leave our baggage there for free :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Anker hostel review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making my bed at 2am without waking other occupants in the room. Would have liked it to have been made already. Kitchen should have utensils.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Location. Fridge in the room. 4 bed room with bathroom and small kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located, within walking distance to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen is in the room, u can borrow all the cooking stuff u need from the reception, u just need to pay a deposit, which is a good thing cause everything is always clean. Unfortunately when u stay in a room with a few ppl and ur day schedule is different, it’s hard to cook in the room when u don’t want to wake up the others who just came back from a party or u don’t want to be the one being woken up ;)

    Perfectly located, within walking distance to the city center, super close to two obos stations, with many shops around, also rly close to the bus terminal and central station. Clean with super friendly staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were quiet and have cooking facilities and fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sleeping bags allowed and you need to pay to rent sheets. Not a problem this time around for me but if travelling on a budget with a bag this could be a little frustrating. No internal door on the elevator, I'd describe the decor as 'concrete jungle/urban' but compromising safety for interior design is not my thing :)

    Rooms were quiet and have cooking facilities and fridge. All clean. Location is good and close to some of the newer restaurants in Grünerløkka while only being a short walk to the harbour (close to a tram and bus stop).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close by to most attractions in the city centre, the staff were great and awesome to chat too. I work in the the Hotel resort industry and I was very pleased with the cleanliness, customer service and local knowledge, reception staff were professional, helpful and well presented. I will definitely be staying again when I return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location, easy access to centre, trams, buses etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels quite isolating for a hostel like a massive enclosed something you only see your room mates. No kitchen equipment in the room have to collect downstairs and leave a deposit. A microwave, kettle and utensils in the kitchenette would be of great help. There is space for them. That would really help with the set up.

    Great location, easy access to centre, trams, buses etc. Helpful staff. Clean. Free hot water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    We had a 2 bed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to pay for the bad sheets and the hair dryer is no in the room, but you can rent one for free (deposit only).

    We had a 2 bed room. The room was big and clean. The team was friendly and helpful. We even got the room 1h earlier.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    It's easy to meet a lot of people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are overcrowded and you have to pay for a lot of things: such as the stuff for using the kitchen or the sheets.

    It's easy to meet a lot of people!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    All right for one night, but avoid the breakfast offer!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet offered at the hotel next door was not satisfactory: scrambled eggs quite cold in the "hot" container; cutlery hidden far away from where it was logically needed. I had a feeling I could have walked in without paying, which I didn't, but almost regretted I hadn't since the buffet was so disappointing. There was no control at all at the entrance.

    The central location was an advantage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Best affordable hostel in Oslo for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are NO WAY near enough power sockets, either in the lobby or most importantly the dorm rooms. You have to pay extra to rent linen. [towel rental is normal for all hotels]. Some of the beds were too close together making it hard awkward to stand by your bed to get changed / make the bed etc. WiFi Didn't really work in the dorm rooms.

    Best cheap hostel in Oslo for short stay. Location is perfect. 10 minute walk from the station. 5 Minute walk to the major music venues. Bus and tram stops just outside, 24hr staff. mini kitchen in room makes eating affordable in Norway. Bathroom floor is heated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    nice bed, helpful staff. nothing special but there aren't many options for cheap places to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to pay for tea and coffee!

    Not many options for hostels in Oslo. it was crowded in the lobby, lots of people. the dorms are cool, what you expect really. nothing exceptional. expenseive bed sheets and towel - expensive city. really not a bad option to stay here. rooms felt safe. you need your own padlock for lockers. it's a well oiled machine!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been sleeping in much better places for less price around Norway and Scandinavia. Bathroom is not very useful: shower, toilet and a door are all too close to each other. In general: overpriced.

    Location is quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Cheapest Hostel in the most expensive City
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen equipment and sheets had to be rented! Poor wifi at the room. Only one or two power sockets in a 8 bed room and lockers just in the lobby!

    Lobby with lots of seating! Free luggage storing and a few tables and chairs in front of the hostel. + Roof terrace!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    I stayed in this hotel in April and I wrote a review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in this hotel in April and I wrote a review. Absolutely no changes in anything since then. The only change was no ants in the room but it was because it was almost an autumn time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing stay on the edge of Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So having to pay on top for linen is a bit ridiculous! It's apparently a 'thing' across Scandinavia. The location was OK, Oslo is so big so unless you're right in the centre you will have far to walk. It wasn't far to the shops and train station, but it was a long walk to the harbour area and the sculpture park. Other than that, rooms were a bit hot and pillows need changing. Only one plug socket in the whole room, so bring a powerbank!

    We got a really warm welcome here from the guy on reception, he was great! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, it was nice and spacious and the beds were very comfy! (pillows not so good!) The shower was AMAZING - strong and hot! Wifi was really good too. (Make sure you visit the Mini Bottle Gallery in the city - our highlight!)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, cheap and clean from what I could tell -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was hoping for a bar with some atmosphere, but it’s just a fridge behind the reception.

    Good location, cheap and clean from what I could tell - could do with a lick of paint

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Clean, nice people
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was near the main road where the light rail tram are extremely noisy lasting till 2am in the morning. Should have done some noise cancellation on the windows.

    Clean, nice people

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice inclusive place for a a solo traveler of 56 years old but in a good shape & spirit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lacks painting on the "non visible" comum áreas, refering to elevator; out of this world, needs good painting, like this looks dirty and NOt safe. I like the clena feeling of the Hostel, all excepct the access áreas (elevator, same lobby to it, access to room. Needs painting and beter ecoratios (simple, li,ke clean walls with some simple pics of Oslo could be bice).

    Very helpful staff, good bed linen, clean, quiet relaxed atmosphere, good neighbors, silence respected!!, good water pressure for shower, nice tea & coffe facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was checked into a room that must of been missed of the housekeepers list. It happens not complaining and was fixed as soon as I went to reception. I was moved into another room without any hassle. Thanks guys.

    Staff were friendly and helpful with information. Loved the roof top "hang out" area. Luggage area was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff and friendly atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like when I asked a lady at the reception the way I can get to the Ski Museum, she answered - "I am sorry, I do not know anything about this museum. Don't ask me about this museum, because I don't have any idea how to get there." This is not a professional answer at all!

    Friendly staff and friendly atmosphere! Simplicity and purity! Most of all, I liked that there is a table in the lobby where all those leaving people can leave something edible and it can be taken for free! In addition, I liked that you can take boiling water in the lobby as much as you want and for free, as well as kitchen utilities! Thank you! Everything was very good! I enjoyed my stay at the hostel and I especially enjoyed the city! It's just amazing! There is only one thing - I would recommend to put all announcements like "Free things to do in Oslo" and etc. to every room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Place to sleep, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a hostel, targeted to the student and backpacker. Hence facilities are minimal, though comfortable and adequate. Be prepared for noise as it is right on the main road, with trams and buses.

    Location. Nice bakeries, coffee outlets and restaurarents nearby. Just opposite the tram/ bus stop - only two stops away from Oslo Central Train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    My observation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good; assistance by staff was ok. Kitchenette was located inside the room so whatever roommates cooked the smell evaded the room. Be prepared to pay a deposit to use utensils .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope

    All staffs were friendly and the room had kitchen and I was allowed to borrow the kitchen set. It was really helpful in order to afford the pricey Oslo. The building had open terrace at 9th floor–it was my favorite place to have breakfast. The hostel was also very close to Hausmann Gate, which eased me to go to city centre and other places around Oslo.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Good affordable place of stay in Oslo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    I liked the facility chiefly because of the staff at the reception whom I found extremely courteous and professionally competent at the same time, ready to extend all kinds of help with a smile which a traveller expects on his/her arrival to a pre-booked place. I shall always remember my stay at the Anker hostel as one of the most pleasant one in any foreign country thus far having visited 35 countries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay extra to get bed linen. (recommended to get it) There are not enough electric sockets in 4-beds room. (4 single beds not bunk bed) The electric sockets only set up on the corner in the room. It’s inconvenient for other two lodgers. Pay extra to borrow the kitchen equipment.(there is a small kitchen in 4-beds room)

    Friendly staff. Easy to check-in and check out. 24hrs front desk. Provide hairdryer in the reception (use for 3hrs only), just need the deposit to borrow from receptionist.(accept many currency like NOK, EUR, GBP..etc) Takes you about 10-15 mins by walk from Oslo S but easy to find it. There are some grocery stores and convenience stores nearby the hostel. Quiet at night then you can take a good sleep. Bathroom was clean in 4-beds room. Provide fridge in 4-beds room. There are cupboard and closet but no locker in 4-beds room. There is enough space to put your suitcase in 4-beds room but not suit for putting under your bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Nice property that is in the midst of the city of Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways were somewhat confusing with red doors at the end of each section of rooms. Once you were in certain sections, the direction to the lobby was clearly marked, but I don't remember that in all sections of the floor. One set of stairs that I thought was an emergency exit did not lead out, but to several locked doors. I had to go up one floor to go back through the lobby.

    The room was nicely outfitted with a stovetop and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room. It was very nice to have a restroom in the room. The central location for wandering Oslo was convenient. It also was not a long walk to the central station when the public transportation is too full to use.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to rent linen for 50 nok, which is reasonable.

    The hostel is well located. 10 minutes walking from the central station. The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Big room, small showe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few powersockets in the room and not at every bed. You have to rent bed linen extra so its kinda pricy in the end. Toilet is just next to the shower only seperated by a shower curtain, so everything in the tiny bathroom was wet and felt a bit unsanitary. Elevator didnt work, had to carry luggage several levels...

    Kitchen in the room, staff was nice, location is great. Also the room size was really big.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location and good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room provide a small kitchen and need to borrown the kitchen equipment set with deposit. It is 3 hour for each borrow. We are a group of 3 persons, the equipments and stoves sometime is not good enough for us to use. I prefer the hostel have a public kitchen for everyone to use as other hostel instead of the current facilities.

    The location is very convenient and it provide good price of accommation in Oslo, a high priced city and country.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Average place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The behaviour of staff at the reception was just about passable. One of them came across as bit rude. The facilities in the room were not exactly great. For a room of 10 people, just one bathroom was given. It isn't convenient. We didn't have any lockers in the room as well.

    The location of this hostel is very good, right in the city centre. That was a plus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    good value if you have your own sheets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    kitchen in your own room, but no facilities or utensils. no sockets on every bedside, only one or two in the whole bedroom.

    good value if you have your own sheets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay for bag packers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as such.

    Check in was smooth, and so the checkout, you get a card for your hostel room so no need to depend on anybody. Nice quite place, and you can see lots of people around, meaning they are top choice for bag packers. I find it value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.3
    A very good deal for young and old traveling on a budget!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture could be a bit better, more comfortable would be great.

    Nice, easy breakfast. Rooms are as to be expected when booking a hostel. Location was quite convenient, not too far from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    Asking separately for beds linens, hostel should be valuable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like it just dislike charging for bed linens

    Asking separately for beds linens, hostel should be valuable enough for solo turist. Adding the price for bed linens then the price is not so nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Don't book here. I paid extra and went to the hotel next door. Same company--Anker, but much nicer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was flimsy and uncomfortable. Room was so far away from reception, so with boiling water I had to walk up 3 flights of stairs and through 4 fire doors to get to my room. Had to pay extra to borrow linen and towels.

    Hotel next door by same company--comfy beds, reliable lifts, kettle facilities in room, great breakfast included, good view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    The value of money is very low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have traveled a lot and the facilities and service of the Anker Hostel are absolutely the poorest. With the price of A$150 per night, what I got is the bare bed without even a sheet. There is nothing in the room, no cup or glass... The conditions are not acceptable. Anker Hostel has damaged the reputation of Oslo.

    The location is acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is not comfortable

    Very good location. Public transport is in front of the hotel and we can walk to the city centre or central station within 20 minutes

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Confortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the linens are included but it was not. You have to pay 50 NOK for linen and another 50 NOK for a towel (this one I could read during the booking). If you cannot sleep with a lot of sound this is not your place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Very cheap room, certainly according to Norway-standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Use of sleeping bags was prohibited and a fine would be charged in case you used it anyway. That way people are forced to hire bed linen offered by the hostel.

    Very cheap room, certainly according to Norway-standards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Close to the city and a nice restaurant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an additional charge for bedding and pillow despite not being able to bring a sleeping bag which isn't included in the Booking.com price.

    The staff were friendly and it was a relaxing atmosphere. Definitely not a party hostel. There are kitchen and bathroom facilities in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Anker - great. Hostel Anker - not
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal very patchy despite a router being tight outside room. Have to pay extra for towel, linen, breakfast, tea/coffee etc

    I got moved from the hostel to the hotel next door, so this review is for the hotel, not the hostel. Good staff, good breakfast, good view from room, 10min walk to central train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Very welcoming reception, beautiful place to meet nice travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was very polite and friendly greeting with smiles and saying Hi ..was very welcoming I arrived early and they were so generous to check me in early on request at 9 am

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Price is really good fo Oslo.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Ventilation was very strong, and first night we were cold even with heating on. Other nights we changed bed’s location.

    Price is really good fo Oslo. And we have kitchen in our room, and we could cook, it is big plus, because in Oslo services are very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Its a budget stay at a great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very aloof & not welcoming at all. More interested in sellung drinks in the bar. Linen is not included in the rent & charged seperately at NOR 50 which is daylight robbery. This charge is not clearly told on the website which is false information as that increases the rent of this place as compared with others.

    I only stayed for 1 night because i was catching a train next day & i chose this place as i stayed here before & was familiar with thr area. Great location. The tram stop is right in front of the property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been helpful to have a wider range of kitchen facilities, such as a microwave and a kettle.

    The staff were helpful and accommodating. The beds were comfy and the rooms were kept clean. The hostel is in a good location for walking into the city centre and has good transport links if you want to travel a little further. It was convenient having a kitchenette in the room. Borrowing utensils from reception as you needed them, rather than having them in the room, was an unusual system but seemed to work well enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Thanks for the upgrade, you looked after us well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot. Good place, excellent location. Inexpensive for Oslo!

    We were upgraded to the hotel, which was brilliant! So really my comments are about the hotel, not the hostel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to pay for linen and towels if you havent brought your own. We knew this before arriving as it does tell you on here but it was just slightly annoying - would be easier if they just included the linen in the price.

    The hostel itself is in a pretty central location which was good and very easy to find. The staff were lovely on arrival and check in was very easy and quick. The room we had was a 4 bed mixed dorm and it was massive! Loads of floor space which was amazing so we didn't feel like we were falling over everyones stuff! Our room also had a small kitchen and fridge which we weren't expecting so that was a nice surprise and came in very handy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    The location is close to the city center in walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is close to the city center in walking distance. The staff r super nice and friendly. The room is quite ok with that price. Had really great stay there. Totally worth the money to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned, there were dust everywhere, floor was dirty and there were hair all over the place. Seems that they do not clean rooms after every client. Bathroom was not clean too. Again there was hair on the toilet and mirror was dirty. Pillows and blankets (cheapest from the Ikea) were all in yellow spots, seems that they have never been to cleaning. Also you have to pay extra for bed linen and towels at the property and do it yourself. It’s not included in price. Last day of our stay, they started renovating furniture on the whole floor (and right through the wall) at 8 AM and woke us up, we were super upset.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power socket close to each bed. Some need to use power socket far from bed.

    The room and bed are comfortable. Shared bathroom inside the room. Great location. Good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    I didn’t like the hostel!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like my room! there was the kitchen inside the room! the hostel inside is old, for exemplo the stairs and the elevator!

    The staff was friendly and the hostel is in a good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the room for 4 and found air circulation a bit poor. It was a bit stuffy and humid especially after all of us taking a shower so we had to keep our windows open even at night because it got pretty way in the room. Also internet was not very good on the eighth floor.

    Great location! Great value for money, facilities were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    The shower had hot water, the only disturbing noise was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first floor rooms are not secure — two different men, on two different occasions, tried to steal something from the room by reaching through an open window while guests were asleep. The reception offered to refund the price of the room, but only if we found accommodation elsewhere...at 11:30 pm on a Saturday night (!) Very poor form. Don’t trust the positive reviews (as I did), do not stay here, it is not worth the money you will save.

    The shower had hot water, the only disturbing noise was the sound of one of the guests in the room, snoring like a bear. Ear plugs plus noise canceling head phones plus ‘white noise” was not enough to block that guy out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    The reception staff seemed helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms. Very congested rooms. Hardly space to move around. There is tram and bus station in front of the the hotel. Opening the window will result in lot of noise and closing will kill you with heat. The lifts are always busy and will make you wait for 10 mins. minimum. On the day of the checkout the cleaners opened doors three times asking if we are out. Possible suitable for solo travelers not meant for families with kids. Also, you have to borrow the kitchenware from the reception for every meal as you can borrow it only for 3 hours. This was not clear when I booked it. The reception area is very crowded.

    The reception staff seemed helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Anker Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: