Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Kampen Hotell 4 stars

Kjølberggata 29C, Gamle Oslo, 0653 Oslo, Norway

#124 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1494 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel close to central Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit small, but decor was modern and had all expected amenities.

    Hotel is located within a 15 minute walk of central Oslo. Decor is very modern. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Parking available on site for a fee. Staff were very friendly and always available in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Great budget hotel, remember to bring your bank card!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are expected to pay by card for everything, including breakfast. If you don't have the correct change, you won't get change. Trip hazards throughout building.

    Breakfast was superb. Rooms were great, very warm but fans are provided. Staff were very friendly. The whole building was kept very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely book again when visiting Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was very hot when we stayed so this wouldn't usually be a problem but the water heater is in the bathroom - would be fab in winter but a bit warmer than you'd like when it's 30C outside. Drinks were very expensive (even for Oslo!)

    Clean room, comfy beds. Everything you need for a few nights stay. Staff were all very nice. Convenient for metro and only 2 stops from Central Station. Good location for getting around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Near Tøyen station and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early but couldn’t book in until 3pm which is fair enough. However, on returning around 3.30pm, we were informed that our room was not ready. It wasn’t until an hour later we got our room and we felt that the staff did not think this was a problem, even though we explained that we had to get ready for a reservation. Basic household was lacking - drinking glasses not replaced, cleaning around beds & replacement of soap in the shower. On the last evening the tv stopped working and after a visit from staff were informed that there’s nothing they could do. So overall, it reduced the enjoyment of our stay.

    Near Tøyen station and amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    OK without being great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dark rooms. Asked to be moved which was done cheerfully. Very stuffy on warm days.

    Helpful staff and free washing and drying which was a great bonus for someone on a long trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.5
    Not far from metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty, the personal was not so friendly, the air conditioning did not work. The location is not so good, it is a dirty neighborhood. Not recommended.

    Not far from metro station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Accessible to the train station (short walk)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff often took a long tim serving which led to long waits. It was very hot during our stay and there is no air con and only 1 fan per room allowed. There was also confusion on check out overt if we’d paid (which we had) which resulted in us nearly missing our bus.

    Accessible to the train station (short walk)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean but a bit hot, as it may be the hottest summer in Oslo this year. And the hotel provided a fan, which was not really helpful. The parking place is limited. I arrived late and got no place for parking. The hotel provided extra parking place as at a cost of NOK250.

    Staff were helpful. Security staff, especially the Chief of Security from Greece, were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot and there was no way to cool it down. Only one window so no cross ventilation was possible. Would be great in winter but no Airconditioning in summer is not good. Staff were very unhelpful when we arrived. We were sent to the wrong room on checkin.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    could be better if colder weather
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1st night in room without airconditioner (most rooms don't have AC - Norway!) and it was teribly hot. Changed to small room with AC. questionable Neighborhood Part of staff not very knowledgable

    One female staff member very nice. walking distance to center nearby shoping center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    I challenge anyone to find a better value for money hotel in Oslo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Air-conditioning would be the only downside to an otherwise perfect stay. It was abnormally hot in fairness, and a fan was provided in the room, as well as we could have the window of the balcony open.

    Really don't understand the average ratings for this hotel. Superb stay, only a couple of minutes away from the central station/opera house via Metro. Close to bus stops, supermarkets, attractions. We came to see Eminem, and we were able to get a bus direct to/from the outdoor venue. Rooms are huge, clean, and have amazing balconies which are great to sit out at night and have a drink or two. Bathroom was brand new, big HD tv on the wall, mood lighting also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    There is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stagg were incredibly rude, inattentive and condescending. Monique in particular should not work in a customer facing role

    Close to transportation links

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location and adequate for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small. Some noise from other guests. Room not always fully serviced, not all reception staff that helpful.

    Although it's separate from the hotel, the breakfast provided is great and good value (for Norway). The manager is excellent. The hotel is well placed for the metro and buses plus local shops but perhaps because it is about 2 miles from the centre slightly cheaper.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Boiler rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad vibe from the get go. Long que to check in, had to wait on the street. Poor attitude and lack of customer service from some members of staff which lets down the ones who were helpful. NO AIRCONDITIONING in the height of summer made it a very uncomfortable stay, it was hotter in the rooms than outside and without a fridge so nothing to keep water cold. Needed to open windows but lots of noise from street. Also misleading advertising, when booking it mentions complimentary breakfast but this was not the case as there was extra charge!

    3 minute walk to Toyen station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    Small, clean room. Hotel and surrounding area is a bit shabby. Close to city centre, no aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in 31 degree heat wasn’t very fun but the staff were nice enough to put a large fan in our room which helped

    Small, clean room with nice communal balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Good Location as it is near Toyen metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm. Staff said it is like that during summer but I think it is the ventilation. Condition did not improve even with two stand fans. The tiled floor was hot when we entered the room Shower area waterlogged.

    Good Location as it is near Toyen metro station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location to the T train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small corner room so quite stuffy as a family room. Boiler in bathroom made it incredibly hot. Not comfortable. Some staff were friendly at reception. Others a bit rude.

    Good location to the T train. Good facilities in the room, fridge, cooker etc. Overall comfortable convenient stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the rooms so they were very warm. Quite a noisy road outside when the window was open. Fans are available at reception if needed.

    Small rooms but everything you needed and enough space for 2. Didn't try the breakfast but the evening meals were nice and the staff were friendly. Short distance on the tube from oslo S.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    So and so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noise during the night in the hallway and rooms above (granted it was the national holiday so probably some drunks Norwegians) 250NOK for parking is insane.

    The chef in the kitchen made great food in 15 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Frustrating.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary breakfast was not complimentary. Your website had a charge for breakfast which I didn’t even notice at a hotel with complimentary breakfast. Stupid policy. Who wants to read fine print over breakfast. It’s short sited. Why is check in 3 pm for all rooms. All the rooms are magically clean at the same time?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    The view from the balcony and the close proximity to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small, but I was only there for a refresh and bed time, it wasnt an issue

    The view from the balcony and the close proximity to all main city points. Very close to Central station and tourist attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff is kind and willing to provide you with anything...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny little room.

    The staff is kind and willing to provide you with anything you ask for. A nice touch is the hidden lights at the room, who change colors by choice. The balconie was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    location, acomodate and accessability was fine!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Muschrooms all-round bath. Almost everywere in bath you could find mold. Cleaningless..!

    location, acomodate and accessability was fine! breackfest in hotel was also fine, nothing special but ok in general.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable stay, close to transport links to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very slow. The staff could have been more welcoming. The information I received when booking stated a complimentary breakfast included, however this was not the case. The building is shared with other apartments amd a 'swag' shop and therefore quite noisy.

    The room was comfortable. Having a fridge and kettle etc was useful. Once we had worked out the location it was quite close to a metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    It was a nice hotel, but they could have paid more attention to details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in was from 3 pm, which is quite late. The pillows and the comforter were awful. All the rooms had access to a shared balcony, so anyone could see through your window.

    The room was very clean. It was one of the most affordable hotels in Oslo. There was a supermarket nearby that was open 24/7.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.0
    Not to expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel and facilities look nice but are not valued. No smiley from the male personnel; Restaurant is not made attractive. No warm welcome or feeling of care for us; First the credit card ! Feeling of a "one night transit place". The choice at the breakfast was very limited. There was not a good atmosphere at this place. Floor cleaning in the room was not outstanding at all. The access to the only outdoor car park is not safe in winter since not deiced, and strange guys standing around the car. We did not recognised the Best Western standard we were used to.

    The room was ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Recommended location, modern and with free high speed WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I had breakfast once and while it was good, they were out of orange juice as well as coffee when I went 30 minutes before closing. Didn't see an espresso machine either which was a shame. At 159KR, it was too expensive for the experience I had but I believe that if you go early enough, you will find it adequate.

    Having originally booked a single room I was surprised to find myself in a double room with small kitchen. This really improved the quality of my stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom had a nice walk in shower and good lighting. Wifi was excellent and extremely fast, none of the usual "Premium WiFi" garbage you see at other hotels. The location was also excellent and I would recommend it. The hotel is two metro stops away from the city center and it takes no time to get there. Because of this, the hotel is great value for money. I recommend Best Western over getting a more expensive hotel in the center of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    The lobby is out-of-place - it looks like a cheap night club...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby is out-of-place - it looks like a cheap night club bar, the lights are dim, and there is a big TV-screen playing football (very disturbing). There is an open kitchen next to the bar which produces noise and smell. The lobby looked like a cheap hotel in Greece - the rooms are ok - marble hall, modern furniture - all in style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs maintenance, looked like someone had punched it. Moist damage at the door close to the shower. Mattress was super hard

    Staff and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Location was fine, not to much traffic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay a large deposit, which is a strange way to welcome people for one night. Door to balcony could not close properly, so cold air came in.

    Location was fine, not to much traffic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Too narrow room did not let me work on my computer and even reply to my emails.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too narrow rooms, not working printer, no wardrobe in the room, and very expensive breakfast.

    The owner of the restaurant, the cleanliness, warmth of the room, and the housekeepers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    2.9
    Staff unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unhelpful. Hardly spoke at check in and didn’t tell me anything about hotel, breakfast or rooms. No maps available. Bed hard. Wouldn’t stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Dirty, unkempt, noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was poorly cleaned and the towels were not changed after the previous customer left. There was hair (long, not mine) on the towels, bathroom sink and in the shower - this is not acceptable in a BW hotel. The balcony door did not close properly and there was a lot of noise from the street. The key card kept resetting, I needed to return down to reception and have it re-written 3 times in 4 nights.

    Good location, close to Toyen and to where I had some business meetings Modern furniture Good bed and warm bathroom flooring

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We loved it.

    Spacious rooms with big, equipped kitchen. We had a little problem with the heating but the staff was very helpful and they fixed it quickly! (+ there's a nice cat in the hall!)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable hotel with very helpful staff offering good value and close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really helpful staff, good English spoken, very close to metro stop, computer and printer provided free of charge for printing out boarding passes etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    1) MAP: We asked for a city map at the reception:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) MAP: We asked for a city map at the reception: unavailable 2) PARKING: We paid 250 kronas for parking (we were previously told that is a private parking within the hotel premises...but actually you need to go around the street, park the car and carry your luggages to the hotel, through cold weather, slippery ground and snow. Enjoy your trip!). More than that,there is a high risk of not being able to get your car out for leaving - there is a significant slippery slope just before it. So...am extra for the hotel - maybe you'll have to stay another day. Or two :) 3) LOCATION: Located in a nice area, with lots of shops nearby, near the bus and metro stations. 4) STAFF: no concerns in this regard - we didn't interract more than 3 times :-?? 5) NAME: This hotel can be found under different names on Booking (City apartments Oslo, Center city apartments, Best Western etc.). We had a room with its own bathroom,but it didn't worth paying the difference of aprox. £25

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice location, but would be better if cooking utensils and pans are provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no kitchen utensils or pans provided. Unsure why there’s an electric stove without any kitchen or cooking utensils. Maybe just for decoration?

    Location was very close to the town centre (only two stops away from the central station), apartments was spacious and the beds was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Great airport hotel. Perfect for layovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is pretty much the model of what I think an airport hotel should be like. It's not overly fancy, the beds are comfortable (something many hotels could learn from), lots of rooms and easy to get to. Staff are very good about getting you in quickly, and there are plenty of them there so it's not one person trying to check in 50 people, something many other hotels could learn from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Clean and quiet room with a comfortable bed for a relatively small price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not look as beautiful as on the pictures. It did not have a large picture of Norwegian nature on the wall, as shown on the booking website. The furniture was a bit weary. The bed was officially meant for two persons, but it was very narrow. The large, flat pillows were far too soft.

    Clean and quiet room with a comfortable bed and a small kitchenette at a central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice rooms, some of them with balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been in many hotels around Oslo (First Hotel Millenium, Thon Hotel Astoria, Radisson, Scandic Fornebu, Olympiatoppen Sportshotel, ...) and the service is much better in other hotels in Oslo (I am talking mainly about the Reception). You do not feel very welcome at all, this was at least how I felt.

    Nice rooms, some of them with balcony. Toyen is maybe not the best area in Oslo but the hotel is close to the T-Bane and a good choice for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.0
    Its all about the location....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering that it was a one bedroom accommodation, we were expecting it to be wider and spacious. Although the hotel is situated near the metro station (Toyen), the hotel seems to be hard to find since there’s no huge signage of the hotel. The check in area seems to be placed in a secluded location where you have to drag your luggage down to a seemingly dark reception area. The hotel has to improve the lightings of the lobby. Although the reception staff was okay, we were at least expecting to have instructions on where the lift is and all but unfortunately we didnt get that. And by the way, there are 2 lifts but only 1 is actively working....

    We booked the somehow one bedroom accommodation. Cooking facility was good, it has also a balcony with a view. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    2.9
    Overall bad! Wont stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attituede is so bad! Lift out of service. Staff is really no manner!!

    Staff attituede is so bad! Lift out of service. Staff is really no manner!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    We stay in hotel for 3 days and the room havent been cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in hotel for 3 days and the room havent been cleaned for that period,I found dust on the tabel and over the bed when we checked in,the floor is too cold,no carpets on the floor,no fridge in the room,the kettle for the hot watter was dirty.I was very disapointed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very close to Metro, just short walk from the Metro to the hotel. And also 2 stops from Olso Central Station, very good location. The room is a bit small but it is so clean and fully facilities in the room, nice balcony for relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Totally worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too small, we hardly have space to open our big luggage. At first we walk passed the building cause there’s no “best western” sign outside the building, and the gmaps spot is not accurate.

    For the price we paid, its totally worth it. They bathroom get cleaned everyday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Easy, comfy, great room, but unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrid staff, all 5 people I saw working there over my stay mumbled, gossiped with each other rather than help guests- had to actually ask to be helped.

    Had a balcony with a nice view, the bed was amazing, and shower big! Easy to get to and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    don't stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    expandable couch horrible, no hot water for 2 days, Kristina at the reception desk made a point of putting the discomfort on me, changed room eventually, Lousy neighbourhood, would not go there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Good bargain in an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window opens to the street which maybe noisy at night.

    The room is in reasonable size and includes a small kitchen area and a table for preparing own food if needed. Booked a triple room with 3 single beds, the room is close to street so may hear some noise if allow the window to open, which we needed as the room was quite warm despite all heating were turned off. Staffs super nice and friendly, we got free laundry as well as we stayed multiple nights. Great location, 3 min walk to Metro, very convenient, shops and nice restaurants en route.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The check in was easy and it was easy to get a taxi to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t walking distance from the central parts of Oslo and taxis are very expensive

    The check in was easy and it was easy to get a taxi to because it was on a main road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms (note a very tiny desk, almost impossible to work), not isolated (one can hear all people walking on the corridors as well as what is going on in neighbouring rooms.) what is really annoying is that the floor is filled with ceramic tiles and there is no carpet at all.

    Ok hotel in central Oslo. Neat & clean, good wi-fi, good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location for tube - good nearby restaurants and bars - nice area (Old Oslo). Would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little cramped - toilet wedged in too close to wall and sink.

    Waffle making machine at breakfast to make your own fresh Norwegian waffles - yum!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean comfortable room, value for money at 800 NOK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit off the center, some people may not like that. It’s 10 minutes with a city bike

    Nice sufficiently hard bed, double doors so really quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.2
    Worst hotel I've ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not properly washed, only the floors. Got the deluxe room and it is litteraly falling appart. No shower soap. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I've stayed at quite a few in Oslo. This is by far the worst.

    Not much to like. Atleast the bedsheets are washed. (Supriced) The staff is nice and welcoming and the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    When I booked the double room I indicated that I need one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I booked the double room I indicated that I need one single bed. However, they gave us 2 single beds, when I asked the receptionist she told me that they don't have rooms with single bed anymore. Well, they could inform us before. On Sunday, there was playing Arabian music all day and some people were shouting. Besides, our room located on the 4th floor and there was some kind of an open roof just next to our window. So it was very uncomfortable when people were walking on the roof and could see everything happening in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Good apartment/hotel. Good location and facilities. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry room needs more dryers (there are a lot of rooms in this hotel and only 1 dryer) and better quality dryer also. Clothes took forever to dry.

    Good location. Very close to metro station so easy to get into town. Supermarket close by. Room facilities were good, size of room good, comfortable bed. There was a takeaway kebab shop close by where food was pretty good and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    We reached hotel on sunday evening, and left early in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reached hotel on sunday evening, and left early in the next day morning.The clerk told us that street parking in front of the hotel is impossible,and the hotel parking fee need NOK 250.In fact, Street parking is free on sunday and 18:00~9:00 on weekdays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.3
    No customer service, not clean and too pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could have cleaned the room before we arrived. Also the customer service should be improved!

    I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. First of all let's start with the good stuff- the location was good because the hotel is only 3 minutes away from the metro that brings you to the city centre within a few minutes. Nevertheless the customer service in this hotel is absolutely miserable. It smelled horrible in the room which was because of the sink in the shower. I suppose it was the smell of the excrements of other guests. However, I informed the reception everyday but neither changed anything nor did any of the receptionists apologise for the unconvenience caused or did offer me to change the room. So I just tried to get into the room as late as possible in order to not be exposed to this horrible smell. Let's not talk about all the dust in the room and the bathroom door that you could barely shut without difficulty. When I was leaving the receptionist did not even ask if everything was alright and didn't thank me for my stay or wish me a pleasant journey home. Instead I got an unfriendly look that was saying: "Glad that you're leaving!". Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel which is supposed to be a 4-star hotel. I paid 1,556 crowns per night and I bet I could have invested my money way better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    The room was small but very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival the receptionist was initially a bit rude, interrupting me and turning away to do something else. After a while he agreed to talk to me and I was able to check in. Not sure if I have experienced such behavior anywhere else, still wondering, what that was about.

    The room was small but very comfortable. It had a nice balcony with a lovely view over the rooftops. The WiFi had excellent connectivity and bandwidth. The bed was especially nice with a first grade mattress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Cheap hotel not far from city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Cleanliness is not so good, and my colleague who also stayed in another room was terribly bitten by bedbugs, these bedbugs were all over the room. The district is a kind of "immigrant ghetto", so I was annoyed by loud music in surrounding homes during weekends, and there are big amounts of weird people. Not good place to walk around in the evening.

    The hotel is rather cheap comparing to the others located in Oslo. Rooms have a balcony with chairs, it's useful during good weather if you want to work on your laptop on air. The breakfast is good (but only if you stay for 1-3 nights, not for week or more).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Reasonable in an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken in the middle of the night by loud music that went on until 7.30am. In the morning when we asked to change rooms we were first told this wouldn't be a problem as there were lots of rooms available and later on told that there was absolutely no space as the hotel was fully booked. Luckily the night was undisturbed.

    Good location for a short break to Oslo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Oslo is insanely expensive for center European standards,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is only good to spend the night ; it is very impersonal and looks like a giant apartment building. If it does not trouble you, it is a good option.

    Oslo is insanely expensive for center European standards, and here it comes the good news: knowing this, this place is well connected with public transport to go around Oslo and price is not terrible. Staff is nice and breakfast, though pricey, is complete. Four minutes by subway to city center, Oslo is very well connected so will have no problems.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Very small room - better for a solo traveler than a family or group of friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small. We expected 2 single beds and had a double bed with no ability to change rooms since they were fully booked. We couldn't lay down our suitcases anywhere to unpack. The work desk doesn't have a power outlet nearby.

    The balcony, the microwave & refrigerator. This was also close to the OyaFestival which was the reason we booked here. Very close to the Metro & also some good restaurants and a 7/11 close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    Worst stay at all my family trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    At this hotel , you don't get what you reserved for , if you want to cancel they would charge all nights for no apparent reason , staying at this hotel felt like blackmale .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    I have stayed in this hotel many times in past.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was suffocating and too small

    I have stayed in this hotel many times in past. now the rooms have changed. some rooms have bad vantilation and fan is needed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    i would choose other hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it said the hotel is 100% smoke free - not true!! people below us were smoking all the time and we had to suffer from tobacco smoke or have all windows closed and it was really hot weather.. Also very noisy. The location is not central and i didn't feel safe enough there.

    balcony in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Affordable stay in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We, 2 adults and a children, stayed bought in room 2014 and 2015, if you can choose ask for the 2014. New renovated and better equipped then the 2015. The rooms doesn't have enough ventilation.

    Nice mini apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Went to a festival which was about 5 minute walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have an oven, and didn't really know how to use the microwave oven. Couldn't find the light switch for the main big light.

    Went to a festival which was about 5 minute walk from the hotel, which was brilliant, especially late at night! Good value for money. Not the closest to Oslo City Centre, best to get public transport or a taxi. Had everything you need for a self catering hotel, and even offers breakfast which is great! Great room for 4 people, as it was two big beds in one apartment. Lovely balcony. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    The room is clean , spacious, modern design.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen does not have any equipments facilitate for cooking . Not even a pot or cooking pan. No detergent or dish washing tablet for cleaning. We lucky bring our own camping pot so we can cook.

    The room is clean , spacious, modern design. Wifi good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had stove top but no pots or pans. No toaster. No exhaust fan in bathroom. No cleaning products to clean dishes. Parking 250 kroner a day if you're lucky to get a spot, otherwise you park miles away. Couldn't wait to get out of Oslo.

    Leaving the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.3
    The worst place I`ve ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst place we have ever been. it is not standard for four stars (this hotel was worse than hostel in Budapest where we were few years earlier). The staff was unpolite. At the beggining they wanted to charge us higher price for a parking place that they had in the pricelist. The first room which we got was thin with three single beds, with broken window which showed corridor. The room was for one or eventually for two people, but not for three. Our friends had also room for three people which was completely different than our but we paid the same price. We complained at the reception desk to change the room. The lady at the reception tried to convince us that it is typical room for three. Unfortunatelly we haven`t pictures from this room, but we have from the second. The second room was a little bigger, but situated in the basement. (We had view for the people legs, they could look us in the room). The wardrobe was very small (only for one person), very low room (especially in the bathroom). The floor was dirty with broken glass. We stayed in this room three nights and it was horrible experience for us. WiFi wasn`t safe. We don`t recommend this hotel for anyone.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Fair enough hotel close to the underground to get to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We already noticed the remarks that many rooms were too warm and indeed this is really the case, so if you do not like it hot...... They have put in a standalone fan however that helps (a little)

    Average hotel, but close to the underground to get to the city center. Good rooms. There is a small shopping mall at 5 minutes walk with an underground parking (the parking closes at night !) and you have to pay, but this seems the best option as the parking lot of the hotel is way to small and you have to make a reservation (but even then they have some troubles in preventing others cars from other guest parking on your reserved space).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.5
    Worst Western
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unfriendly and not willing to help. The key cards were constantly breaking, the room was dusty, the air ventilation hardly worked and the climate control did nothing. Also, there was some issue with the lights in our room: we couldn't turn off the lights. The staff was very displeased with my complains and fixed the lights somehow after second attempt only. Moreover, NOBODY HAS APOLOGIZED EVER or make any offers to improve my experience with Best Western. The hotel is located in quite unpleasant neighborhood as well. Overall, I'm very dissatisfied with this accommodation option, even the hostel would be much better...

    Munch museum is nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were unfriendly: not forthcoming and welcoming, just wanted money, not helpful. Facilities in the apartment were barebone: no airco, just fans. a stove, but had to ask for pots and pans, a dishwasher, but had to ask for tablets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    the hotel is located in a tranquil leafy suburban area far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    conditioning system was out of order

    the hotel is located in a tranquil leafy suburban area far from bustling city center though near to main tourist attractions in Oslo, parking and breakfast are decent as well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Comfort and Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed everything!

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was great with a variety of items including eggs, meat, potatoes, cereal, fruit, and cheese. The front office staff members were very professional and attentive. The hotel is in a convenient location that is very close to the metro station.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Kampen Hotell traveller photo gallery