Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Byrkjedalstunet

Hunnedalsveien 3231, 4335 Byrkjedal, Norway

#1 of 1 hotels in Byrkjedal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing was bad. We were informed about the price of our dogs staying too late. I think that is 300 NOK for the dog is too much. We booked 02.04.2018 and informed staff about our dog. We get en answer only at the day of our check-in 30.04.2018.

    comfortable rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This property is beautiful. It is the quintessential Norwegian lodge with grass tuft roofs and the freshest tap water from their spring on site. The room was very cozy with a large bathroom and a great view. The restaurant on site was tasty and served traditional Norwegian dishes. They also have a delightful gigantic candle making shop on site. All of the staff were super friendly. It is a perfect spot for a peaceful stay and is a good location from which to hike to Kjeragboulten.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the staff had informed us about the construction of the tunnel, so that we would save so much time and efforts that evening.

    The breakfast was fantastic, with many options from smoked salmon, Norwegian cheese, fried eggs, potatoes, hard boiled eggs, homemade bread, cookies & marmalade, muesli with fresh fruit, ham... After having a hike on Pulpit rock, we were planing to take the road 45, however, a tunnel close to Dirdal was blocked, so we had to take a big round on E39, which took us around 1.5 hours more to arrive there. I informed the staff about this situation and got the instruction on how to get the key. The key was pretty hard to find, though, the staff was quite friendly on the phone and said I could call her if I had any further problem. The room was really spacious and cute!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is very small but clean and has the essentials.

    The staff is nice and especially prepared breakfast for me because I had to leave early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our family room was a bit dusty even after cleaning(. No fridge in the room.

    Nice place to stay if you plan to hike to Preikestolen (maybe not during this summer because of the main road closure) and Kjerag (1 hour 20 minutes by car to get to Kjerag parking). We did both these hikes in three days. Hike to Månafossen Waterfall is "a must" if you are in the area - the views from the top are stunning!! Spacious room, comfy beds, delicious breakfast buffet - most of all we liked brown Norwegian cheese and smoked salmon. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was simple but fresh and tasty. On-site candle shop is fabulous - you can spend hours choosing a gift (huge choice!), our kids didn't want to leave).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small for 4 people and it was different from what we expected according to the pictures. We also e expected more diversity at breakfast

    We felt really welcome and the room was very clean. We arrived later than we expected but we called the property and a very nice lady was expecting us with a delicious dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main negative was that I couldn't actually stand up in our room because the ceiling was so low - I'm only 1.8m. It sure was atmospheric though.

    We really liked staying here. The location is stunning and great if you want to do some walking. We loved the traditional style buildings and the history of the place. The food was also good, the steak I had one night was one of the best things I ate in Norway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was picturesque, but the views from the hotel looked out over older factories that took away from the surrounding sites. The hotel was in large need of a make-over, with old stained rugs and where small requests for items like a second key could not be met. The staff was not particularly knowledgable about the surrounding area and could provide little help as to where to go or how long it might take to get there.

    The location was convenient for area hiking. The breakfast was good and they kindly provided bread, cheese and meat so that you could make yourself a sandwich to go. The public rooms were dated, but filled with some interesting art nouveau paintings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd hope for a more spacious room with additional lights but in general it was worth the price.

    Very nice place with authentic-looking small homes and great breakfast. I've noticed a spider in the bathroom when we arrived, but it's only due to the fact that nature is so close :) This hotel is a very good starting point to begin a journey on Prekeistolen without making a turn to Stavanger

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much. Maybe the cracking floor from above our room and the lack of darkness within the room.

    Very nice staff, and very helpful. At less than 2 hours drive to kjerag, we wanted to start the hike early and so were missing the breakfast. They nicely proposed to prepare a take away breakfast (with salmon and, ham and cheese, butter, bread and fruit, very nice!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were coming from the North. Went by GPS but Road was closed. Had to go around - a 1 hour addition of time. We felt the hotel should have notified us. However the staff were most gracious and did upgrade our room.

    Quiet. Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to this place was closed. so we have to drive a circle to get there. Take much longer. But the scenery along our drive was beautiful. So It's not bad at all the drive couple of hours longer.

    The staff is real nice. And the breakfast was great and the decoration of the place and the store was real nice and authentic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours, who were talking loudly outside after midnight.

    Located in a beautiful area, friendly staff. The hotel area has a unique and interesting design, it's worth taking a look around. We ate a great dinner in the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast was also very good and rich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the night of my arrival, the restaurant already closed at 7pm which is quite a lot earlier than what I'm used to. The following morning, my breakfast option were quite limited and the fried egg that I got was almost burnt at the bottom. I also suspect they weren't expecting me to eat the lettuce that came with the meats because it hadn't been washed properly. I do have to mention here that I was the only guest staying at the hotel that morning, so the limited choices were understandable.

    Unlike what the front of the hotel might have you believe, the rooms are modern, well equipped and quite comfortable, while retaining their cozy charm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely enjoyed our staying in this hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to stay longer. Hotel is placed in very quite and beautiful place. Rooms are clean, big and comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious! We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was a disappointment, lamb chops sounded great, but they were stewed, and only warm. Not what we were expecting.

    Nice breakfast, individually cooked bacon and eggs. Breakfast cook was very helpful. Reception staff were very helpful. Interesting shop.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drove from Stavanger airport, arrived late but received a warm welcome. Stayed for 2 nights. Next day short drive (1 hour) to Kjerag Bolten to hike. Next day cked out- short drive (1 hr includes ferry) to Priekestolen . Friendly, patient staff, corteous, and helpful. Comfortable rooms w/ coffee & tea. Good buffet breakfast and many selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms do not have kitchen, not even water kettle, system is build on sole use of restaurant. Rooms are designed for two persons, with one master bed and one sofa bed, but being rented to 3 (4) what results in a bit uncomfortable sleeping for more than 2 people.

    Beautiful surroundings, estate in old rural/ farm style with very nicely renovated old estate houses and new accommodation units fitting the environment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was very nice. They offered us breakfast 30 minutes ahead of their standard schedule due to our early departure. Staffs responded to the emails very quickly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only tiny complaint is not really about the hotel but about Norway in general - it's very expensive. It's to be expected but didn't fail to surprise. Main meal at dinner is £20 at least. Would still stay here again and again.

    We loved everything about this hotel. It's an adorable set up with lots of different cottages, we stayed in a twin room who was amazing. The beds were comfortable, there was lots of space, the bathroom is huge with a brilliant shower and lots of hot water. The floors were even heated which helped with drying out our wet hiking gear. The location was perfect for us, just over an hour to Kjerag hike, round the corner from Manafossen falls and only 1.5 hours to pulpit rock. The breakfast was included and it was delicious, had everything we wanted: fresh baked bread, muesli, bacon, eggs, fresh smoked salmon. Dinner was delicious as well, meatballs the first night and beef stew the second night. Both good hearty meals which is exactly what we needed after our hikes. Our only regret is that we didn't stay an extra night, instead we went to stay in stavanger - I don't advise to do this if you're going to be there on a Sunday. Nothing is open & it was difficult to kill time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is situated outside pedestrian reach of fine landscapes. Check-out hours and breakfast may appear too early (7-10 am)

    Byrkjedalstunet is fine place with nice-looking houses with all necessary stuff inside. Administration was benevolent to wait for our arrival late after check-in hours.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed was amazingly comfy, floors were heated, service was excellent, parking lot was full of spots and there was a small farm. The staff was very attentive to our needs and were excellent. Really enjoyed the old style room!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and place top

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The very courteous service by the staff and the enchanted atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alternative vegan foods

    Great baked good.Missed vegan options as three of us were vegans

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had nice big room for 4. Rich breakfast. Quiet neighborhood. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Goats on yard. Candle shop and bakery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no laktrosefrie milk and similar products. cant live without them.

    most

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facility, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like finding the old American West in the Norwegian forest! Staff were great and perfect to come back too after long day of hiking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Candel factory

    Unique hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been more comfortable.

    Charming hotel, short drive from Kjerag.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room. A bit dark

    The staff are very friendlyn and very welcoming. I will stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work, and can't fix it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Spacious and clean room, comfortable beds! Nice staff and excellent breakfast. Sufficient parking space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, well equiped bathroom, location between preikestolen and kjerag, very nice surrounding, rich breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location for Kjeragbolten and Preikestolen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordering food was a bit confusing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sad to leave :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the Hotel is perfect, it is easy to reach the point of interests. Recommended to visit the surrounding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit expensive.

    stylish room and area, good breakfast, nice vicinity

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    almoust everything :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great access to several attractions like Pulpit Rock, Kjeragbolten, Gloppedalsura, and the geomagma park.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety in menu in resturaunt.

    Coffee shop and pastries.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy atmosphere Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place, staff super, breakfast also nice, any complaints, reccommending 100 %

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Close to Kjerag and Preikestolen and excellent choice if plan to hike both places.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have included more choices

    Stylish architecture, creative little ideas here and there. Suitable for children. Magnificent scenery.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful scenary and close to the waterfalls

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No variety of foods menus and the breakfast ends at 10 am

    Location, the candle shop, the food is delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing around. The restaurant from the hotel closes at 19.30, and after that there is no place in the area to grab a bite to eat

    The location is nice, placed on a valley. Clean, and the rooms looking nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was excellent.

    Beautiful setting. New, modern, clean rooms. Ceiling windows with fabulous view of mountains. Fantastic breakfast included with the room.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi in the room was a bit slow, but it was free. restaurant closes at 7:30 PM so that was a bit early for us

    great breakfast, very friendly staff, fantastic location. restaurant serves great food which is very handy as there is no other possibility to have dinner closeby

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant close at 20:00 and the TV only have a few channels. Hence, winter time there is not much to do in the evening.

    This is a very nice place for outdoor life and a feel for the traditional Norway. It is close to geological sights and the nature, with a nice staff and souvenir shop.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The restaurant was only open until 7pm so we had to eat dinner really early and could not stay in the restaurant longer to play cards etc. Unfortunately there was no common area to sit comfortable (outside the room). The Four-bed-room only had three beds not as described, so my mother had to sleep on the top bed, above me and my boyfriend. Also, there were no reading lamps by the bed.

    The staff was friendly and brought us extra toothbrushes because we had forgotten them. An early check in was possible. The breakfast was good. Good water pressure in the shower. Cute goats outside our window.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The quality of the dinner was at a medium. Food not warm enough and a bit tasteless. We all had different dishes and it was all medium experience.

    Very good atmosphare, and friendly service minded staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No where to walk around" locked in the back yard The day we arrived the man un charged was busy in the kitchen gave the key and rushed in didnt have a chance to ask about the area The day we checked out, nice lady at recepecion "

    Location Clean rooms View from everywhere beautiful Great dinner Animels

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work Breakfast was very poor Restaurant is expensive and it's not worth

    Location The room was amazing The entire complex is superb

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed has traditional design which is not very comfortable because of it wooden frame - we were always hitting our heads))) but overall the mattress and pillows are excellent.

    Very unique hotel with a beautiful candle factory! Excellent breakfast! Amazing shop! Delicious food in restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At the pictures it looks like a little village which it isn't in real. There is nothing to do directly arround the hotel. My room had a view at the other buildings and was a bit dark. No problem when you only stay for one or two nights. No tv and no tea or coffee making facilties in the room.

    Nice luxery room and bathroom. Great bed. Excellent base for hiking or trips to the Lysefjord, Sandnes, Stavanger, Manafossen, Prekestole or Kjeragbolten for example. Good (basic) breakfast.Attentative, friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was super, clean and airy. Beds great and bathroom and shower are very good. Wifi was just useable in the room, but it was super quick in the main building. Breakfast plentiful and with a good variety of items

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet worked only during the day time. Two single beds were pushed close to one another which was not very comfortable.

    Very good breakfast, calm and relaxing atmophere. Helpfull staff - it was no problem to arrive late at night in the Easter Holiday season.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really cute little place, perfect location for hikes like pullpit and hanging Boulder

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wasn't open when we got there and had a small child in the car No one about or answering the phone Severely let down late at night !!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good location. Nice place. Clean comfortable room. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very nice. Location good .Breakfast amazing !!!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Loved the mattress and down duvet!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bedcomfort bad for adults, wifi bad no wifi in room, not much choise for breakfast

    cosy hotel

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The speed of the service...but this might be the general thing in Norway, no one is in a rush

    Kind staffs, great location, great service

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Group

    room dark and not very friendly, hotel kinda buzzy

    funny yard, respectable restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, style of Hotel and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was very good, expensive as all of Norway is.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Byrkjedalstunet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: