Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Hotel Admiral 4 stars

C. Sundtsgate 9, Bergenhus, 5004 Bergen, Norway

#13 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1113 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was VERY small - but at least it was well designed.

    Well planned rooms in great location overlooking water. Great staff who helped us with taxi and advice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great central location on the canal, freindly staff, excellent on site restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding! This was the most interesting meal we had in Norway - creative blend of traditional and fresh local ingredients to create a fresh taste. The breakfast also reflected this unique style and featured local, fresh ingredients.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Tiny room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, hardly possible to move after having opened the luggage, and we had very little luggage! Very expensive so not really good value for money

    Location and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Stylish hotel with excellent location and excellent breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small. Hallways and other parts of the hotel could use a renovation. Seems odd, because the lobby and restaurant/bar are very cool and chic.

    Very cool location with a view of old Bergen. Lobby, lounge and restaurant area are very cool and modern. Breakfast buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel with an excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small (but that's pretty much a standard for Norway) and the showers are not too functional (there is just one shower panel and no other barrier, therefore the entire bathroom gets wet when you take a shower).

    Very convenient position (some rooms also have a beautiful view on the Bryggen), nice area for breakfast (also with an outdoor terrace overlooking the harbor) and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a handicapped room which we didn't request. The bathroom was large but there was very little space between the bed and the wall. Not bedside table on one side of the bed.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.1
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a view but only once you went out on balcony..

    Friendly staff. Terrace with view for breakfast/evening drink. Very convienient central location. Lovely harbour side setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Stay for view if you are looking for comfortable and goodness nights sleep stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was extremely hot. Hotels in Bergen don’t have air conditioners we ask for a table fan multiple times and the staff was not courteous they said they are out of it and they didn’t bother to buy fans for guests. We were in very uncomfortable situation and it was impossible to sleep at night with very little ventilation in our room.

    The location and views are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was great. Some staff were excellent , but the cleanliness and dirty room were disappointi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was inadequate, but after one night we were a better one. Still faulty equipment was not fixed such as flickering light switches and ironing board which alarming is fixed with the iron that came apart.

    Some of the staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stupid shower taps. Tour groups with those annoying accents (US) that just have to occupy the WHOLE room. (So nothing major!)

    Location. Comfortable. Helpful staff. The best breakfast! 24hr foyer tea n coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    1. Amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    1. Amazing view 2. Beautiful rooms with balcony 3. Very clean and tidy 4. Convenient location/near the Bryggen/museums and shops 5. Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real roof covered bar/hotel terrasse, so you can enjoy coffie outdoors even in rain.

    Mouth-watering breakfast, possibility to eat by the sea. Great location with the city centre just around the corner and excellent, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Except the problem with the booking the hotel is great and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for two adults and one 11 year old child. When we arrived we first were told that we booked only for two adults, including the comment that our daughter could sleep in our bed :-(. Then they found another room and we had to pay extra for the bed (but breakfast for the daughter was already included?!).

    Except the comment below the hotel is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect end to our Hurtigruten cruise and an ideal base from which to explore Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked the bar to be open a little earlier

    Best position in Bergen with stunning view of Bryggen area. Easy walking distance to all major tourist attractions and good restaurants. Hotel's own restaurant was very good, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room didn't have the city view. we got the opportunity to change room for an extra amount but we refused.

    nice breakfast. comfy beds. quiet, we got good nights sleep. nice location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    The view distracted me from the hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit outdated

    THE VIEW!! The view from the the Harbour facing room was incredible. I am so glad I booked one of those. If I had not, I would have been disappointed in the quality of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    View - must be the best in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door required - water went everywhere. Storage (cupboard) needed. Would have liked a shower cap too.

    View - must be the best in Bergen. Breakfast selection. Quiet. Restaurant excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    A very nice hotel on the waterfront in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fault of the hotel this, but if you (or in my case, my partner) insists on having an open window then expect some noise from the rock bar across the water on a Saturday night. With the window shut it could barely be heard.

    A very nice hotel on the waterfront. Breakfast is very good: nothing missing there. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The room had everything one would expect of a hotel of this rating, and a small balcony for viewing the harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.5
    Wee have a big complein by cofe table in room it was weery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wee have a big complein by cofe table in room it was weery sharp edges on it and my wife have distroid hers expensive(max mara)coat. Wee not gonna leav like that. R

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Happy to recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They booked a taxi for us to go a short distance to our boat and told us it would be a certain amount but the taxi driver charged us double as it was a public holiday. Be very wary of being ripped off.

    Very comfortable hotel. Lovely room with good facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Needs to focus on its service and offerings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff-dealt with Luis-an extremely rude assistant manager. Neighbouring rooms were noisy for 3 nights in a row from 10pm with staff doing nothing. Breakfast was poor and paid for buffet but leaving early. Offer was dismal...Will not return here.

    Location was good simply because of the view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Our stay was amazing lovely views, friendly people . A beautiful country .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ordinary tea or milk in the room . There were bottles in the mini bar that needed a bottle opener but we did not have one .

    The breakfast was amazing catered for everything. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent with beautiful Bergen landscapes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned at 3 pm when we came back to hotel after long walking tour in Bergen. Bed was too soft to me.

    Breakfast was excellent with beautiful Bergen landscapes!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Great location, amazing breakfast, helpful, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been useful to have a set of draws and more hanging space for clothes.

    Great location, amazing breakfast, helpful, friendly and knowledgable staff. Great hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great view of Old Town Bergen from our window!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful!

    Very affordable room and over looks the old Bergen town! Free breakfast and its a huge spread. Walking distance to everything. Receptionist is super friendly and I love how honest they are. Best dinner recommendations came from them and they were honest about which are tourist traps. They even help call a taxi for you in advance. When you stay here, its in the middle of the city and its a very cute town to walk around. Extremely quiet rooms :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    go for the view and for the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we've upgraded the room to have the view. The View! Unfortunately, the layout of the room is odd, we had to fight over the armchair in order to enjoy the view. the hallway was difficult to navigate with big luggage, steps would appear from nowhere and it was a sore point

    it is a great hotel, with an amazing restaurant. Their breakfast was to die for! It is centrally located, minutes from everything you would want to visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay in Bergen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door could have been a bit cleaner, but the rest was great. Delicious breakfast, but don't arrive in the last 20 minutes as the good stuff is gone and it gets cleared away very quickly!

    Location, helpful staff, great view from room and breakfast room, nice bar, great breakfast, lots of space to relax in outside your room, nice sized room, warm and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was great, as were the staff and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and beds were small, we paid for a superior double and got a small room with 2 single beds pushed together. Far from superior. There was no room service, mini bar was very limited and when we asked to borrow a cork screw they didn’t have one so opened our bottle with a screwdriver and corked it. Overall, poor facilities for the price. It’s lacking the finer details that would make it so much better!

    Breakfast was great, as were the staff and the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited cupboard space and no place to hang big jackets, a couple of clothes hooks in the room would have been very useful. My son dropped one of his cars so I was looking for it on the floor, I was appalled by how dirty it was under the bed, it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks

    The location is excellent. Breakfast was very good. Views from room is stunning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    We stayed for 2 nights with a 3-month-old baby and had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We stayed for 2 nights with a 3-month-old baby and had a great time. Large room, very tasty breakfast, kind and helpful staff, right in the city centre. We were 100% satisfied with our choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Cozy hotel with beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with beautiful view of Bryggen in a great location. Within walking distance of main Bergen sights, shops and restaurants. Room was clean and cozy. Bathroom was clean and new. Lobby/restaurant area with tea and coffee was great for relaxing. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    I have stayed at the Clarion Admiral before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at the Clarion Admiral before. It's location is central to Bryggen and the fishmarket in Bergen. The rooms are large (and the bathroom) and the luggage storage facility after check out is very useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel with great service and amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic hotel with great service and amazing breakfast! We had a room with a view, which was nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Bergen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    the breakfast is A M A Z I N G!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    the breakfast is A M A Z I N G!!! The rooms are very nice, bed really comfortable, the position is so close to the port and walking distance from the station and the bus to/from the airport. Great experience, I truly recommend this place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The best start to our vacation. Great staff, accommodations and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being across from Bryggen was amazing. I upgraded my reservation to include the view and it was worth every penny. In addition they have one of the best continental breakfasts in Scandinavia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hallways a little outdated and need renovation . A hotel at this price range shall have better shower products ( separate bottles for shampoo, shower gel, etc. ) not all included in one cheap liquid bottle handing on the side of the shower.

    location , clean and specious room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Bergen is beautiful and the hotel is in a great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had requested twin beds but were given double beds. Not perfect for people who aren't couples! Bacon was placed on top of the eggs in the breakfast bain marie - not great if you only want bacon or if you are vegetarian.

    Great location. Good sized room. Delicious breakfast options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well situated for both the Hurtigruten cruise with the bus stopping there as well as a great restaurant with a view across to the famous Bruggen wharf. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    staff was really nice and great view with suitroom♥️...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was nice but breakfast is start at 7:30 and it would be better start 30min earlier.

    staff was really nice and great view with suitroom♥️ everything was awesome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Beautful hotel in idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the top floor and there were sloping ceilings. I had to make certain I didn't stand right up when getting out of bed.

    Right in the center of Bergen with views across to the historic section. The room was spacious, there were ample plugs for electronics and the bath room luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    I have been coming to The Admiral for 25 years. This time was the best!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron in our room leaked - room 268 - so I had to dry iron. There was no time to get a replacement as I was running late.

    The renovations are great - we loved our room. The new all tile ultramodern bathroom was thrilling. The harbor view as always is awe inspiring. The reception staff were particularly helpful, warm and friendly. The beds are cozy comfy. You will snuggle - a lot!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Lov
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small.

    Expensive, but good value in lots of ways. Very comfortable hotel with very helpful staff and an excellent breakfast. Excellent soundproofing. Good location for sightseeing. Rooms for disabled guests are very good, a shower chair and wheelchair were provided promptly. Excellent wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent view of Bryggen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains for the window in the bathroom (the window was facing to the sea, but some boats were passing by.)

    View from the room and the floor heating in the bath room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top mattress on the bed kept slipping almost completely off the bed. Noisy around 3am on 2nd night.

    The room and the view were spectacular. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel just faces picturesque Hanseviertel Bryggen directly. We booked three months in advance for two rooms, one with Bryggen view and the other without, and requested for those two rooms to be nearby each other. We got the former request but we were separated out on different floors. The hotel main building seems to compose of some old and new buildings adjacent to each other. Thus the main inside corridors are uneven and quite bewildering. Rooms are small but nicely decorated with colors, mirrors and glasses to minimize this weakness. There is NO parking on site. You have to drive a few blocks away the direction of which is quite confusing if not thoroughly explained by the receptionist. I ended up in another parking lot but it was OK though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointed, could not recommend. Worst hotel we've stayed in Scandinavia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of Room. Condition of Room. Most staff not friendly. Difficulty getting out of and into room. No toiletries. Lighting in bathroom very poor. Hair dryer didn't work properly. Coat hooks hanging off wall. No storage space for clothes. No space for suitcases. Chairs very worn and old. No air conditioning. No face cloths.

    View from room. Location. Bread. Raspberry Jam. Bacon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the seafront next to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast. The room was slightly small for the stars/price of the hotel. This is happening in all the hotels in Norway, so if you travel in any hotel in Norway don't look on stars or comments by travellers but try to find the room size. I don't know if they have any approved sizes of rooms by the authorities like in other countries. They try to use any single square meter to squeeze as a room, calling it Standard single or Double Standard room and then they charge extra for a bigger room. 99% of the rooms have no cupboard for hanging clothes and 99% of the rooms have no balcony, only a window with no view looking in an atrium most of the time, giving a kind of light if you consider that most of the days are cloudy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, short walk to the wharf area. Nice breakfast buffet. Small bathroom and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the towels were rather shabby. Small loops to hang the towels off the small "hooks" in the bathroom. I would have preferred a towel bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Immaculate and Welcoming stay, with breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast had plenty of variety, transport to the hotel was convenient, views are amazing, immaculate presentation of the room, facilities for beverages after a long day to relax gave it that extra touch!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Probably one of the best hotels in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff refused (politely) to notify me by phone when the room is ready, lobby bar is open only from 17:00 (closed on Sundays), the building itself is a bit worn down.

    Breathtaking view on the harbour, friendly staff, comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Inadequate room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in dining room rude - implied it was my mistake not reading the room service menu correctly. I assumed I could order meals or snacks anytime. Not just a baguette! I have done such multiple times in hotels around the world. Two poor customer service experiences. 1. Menu unclear 2. RestaurAnt staff not helpful

    Close to boat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen inadequate - water run under it all over bathroom floor. Common areas never vacuumed.

    Balcony onto harbour although shared with next room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Room was too small, but the Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid for a room with harbor view. They did not have exactly what I was promised (at higher floors, full view of the harbor), but they managed to find a room that has a partial view of the harbor. But, it was a very small room. We know, the hotel rooms in Europe in general are small, compared to the hotel rooms in the U.S., but this was really small. we were cramped. Not what we had expected. If you give up the harbor view, you may save a lot by getting a room at a hotel just across the street.

    Right in the center of everything. Right next to the ferry terminal

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel to experience Bergen, Near the action, on the water but not noisy. Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a "water view" room, but they gave us the first room just around the corner. It was lovely. We had a little balcony over a little waterway that was part of the fjord. Lovely. The breakfast was very, very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant centrally located boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather small. Unable to get into hotel restaurant for dinner even though we were staying there and tried to book earlier in the day.

    Very pretty view across Harbour. Central location. Free coffee/tea in lobby. Pleasant staff. Modern comfortable room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay, pleased with the hotel as a whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. I would maybe have like a water cooker in the room, but that's all.

    Very nice stay, pleased with the hotel as a whole. We liked the Scandinavian design, combined with the welcoming 'homey' feeling. This hotel offers a great view over Bergen and it's worth a stay! The pro's: The room is perfect, the same goes for the bathroom and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norway doesn't leave complimentary tea and coffee in rooms but there's a machine in the lounge which is free.

    Location was a simple flat 15 minute walk from the station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Hotel for bus tour group
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no morning wake-up call, no area to park even to unload luggage in car, loud incessant electronic music(?) outside front door of hotel 5 -8 PM at "the invitation of management".

    Easy walk to train station for start/end of Norway in a Nutshell trip to Flam.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money, it is possible to have a good Bryggen view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking on site.

    This hotel is right in front of Bryggen, very much central locations. Good value for money. Try to book a room has got a view of Bryggen. I have just stayed here for 3 nights, and I love my room which has got a god view of Bryggen. Very comfortable bed, I am glad I had booked this hotel of my choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    if you want to book this hotel, DO NOT book the standard room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a standard room and found that it just an attic and NO VIEW OUTSIDE THE WINDOW AT ALL. All we can see is the wall of another building of the hotel. But the price was very expensive compare to this facility. There's no value for money.

    The hotel is on the other side of the Bryyge harbor but a little bit far from the central station of Bergen. Facilities and Staff are good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great breakfast, book a room at the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Descripiton on booking.com regarding the seaview or not should be better. Cakes with the breakfast.

    The location is the best you can have because you are on the opposite side of the fjord and you are looking to the old Brygge houses! There is no other hotel which has these great views. Book a room with a view to the front (superior or upper) - it worth the money. The breakfast is very, very good (only missing some cakes). Coffee all the time available free of cost. The room is nice furnished. The staff is very friendly. First we got a room to the inner courtyard and because I have asked for a big window with nice view with the booking they changed and upgraded us then to a room with side seaview - great and thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel overlooking the colorful Bryggen area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is on the other side of the Bryggen (wharf), in a more quieter area but less than 10minutes walking to the main tourist area. The room we had overlooked, across the water, the colorful old wooden houses in the busier side, a beautiful view, specially during the sunset... around 11PM late June, and had a small balcony (stand only).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space was very tight on one side of the bed and with a long curtain right beside it was a bit of a hazard to get into bed. Room needs redecorating quite yukky colours especially the curtains and tired carpet but that's perhaps just a personal opinion. Based on cost and other large city hotels it wasn't the best room we ever had. Didn't help when we realised there was a man on our mini balcony and I wasn't dressed. Hadn't realised it was shared

    Great location. Wonderful view over Bryggen. Helpful efficient staff fast check in and out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Location in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not have tea or coffee available during non meal hours some days. One day you could have a cup of tea in the evening, the next you couldn't. Hot water and coffee machine in the lobby was locked some days and unlocked other days. Staff said they were doing away with free coffee and tea. Too bad.

    Great location on the waterfront, walk to Fish Market and Tram to airport or train station. Clean, modern hotel with nice open lobby. Outstanding breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    In the heart of Bergens attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location blocks from Old Town. Tours. And the Fish Market Spectacular breakfast. And they were very accommodating to our early travel time by setting out a "early bird" breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Good location, short on details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were "upgraded" to a loft suite, which had good and bad. A suite format was good for our traveling style. The loft part meant slopped ceilings. We both hit our heads on something too many times to count. There was no TV in the sitting area. A lamp hung over the sitting area (that we bumped our heads on numerous times) that wasn't functional. Communication was a little off about the kitchen. We were told that breakfast (included) was served until 11 both mornings. On the first day, we showed up at 1030 to find it ended at 10:00. The chef was kind enough to put a little something together for us. Also, the hotel information stated that room service was available 24/7 with a limited menu from 23:00 to 07:00. In fact, the restaurant is closed daily until 6. So actually, no room service except for a limited time.

    The location was fantastic. We took the ferry in from Flam which left off just around the corner. Walking distance to the Fish Market and shops, lots of restaurants. The bed was comfortable. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Tremendous value, great staff, and restaurant is a real find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Breakfast was amazing - I had three kinds of fish, three kinds of fruit, and three kinds of cheese - all authentic Norweign. Great cereal, egg, meat and beverage choices as well. Dinner I had on the property was equally superb with excellent locally sourced choices. Staff was excellent as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful location in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really have no complaints.

    The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful Hotel, Poorly Managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid more in order to secure a superior room with view over harbour. On arrival, and having spent 10 mins trying to find the room (hotel is on split levels so floor 2 comes as 2A, B and C with no signage indicating where rooms 220-224 were) eventually found room on first floor. Room lovely, view superb, so far so good. HOWEVER, this hotel caters extensively for weddings. Only found this out when the music started pounding through the floor (reception room was directly below premium rooms!) and continued on until 2am. At no point was this mentioned when booking the room, nor when checking in. On complaining (along with several other people) were advised that there were no other rooms available. Surely, you would book the wedding guests into rooms immediately above the reception and not someone who has saved up for a luxury weekend away? Complained the following day, though not to the still elusive manager, and were offered a 300Kr discount - which just about buys 2 coffees in Norway. Shame.

    View from room was spectacular over the harbour

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Staff extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was pretty small by American standards, nice quality however.

    My husband accidentally dropped his passport in a taxi and the front desk staff were incredibly helpful and attentive in tracking it down. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel choice in Oslo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location, value and staff!!! Simple, yet tasty and saticefying buffet dinner included!! breakfast & dinner buffet included and light snack(pancake) is served at 3:00. Wonderful value and hospitality!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Waterfront Accommodaton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to get use to Scandavian type of bed which are basically One mattress with a mattress topper on top. Just a bit softer than westerners are used to.

    Hotel was right on the waterfront close to shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful and friendly. Morning breakfast was delicious and room was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    Annoying not to have a tea pot in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying not to have a tea pot in the room. And when going downstairs to get a cup of tea, there were not even cups, but paper glasses! I dont mind paper glasses but not when you pay more then 2000 NOK per night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    An amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can not think of anything not to like.

    The bed was comfy. After we figured out the lights and shower we thought it was brilliant. The breakfast is the best we have ever seen. Amazing. The central location was also great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel along the old harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Location along the old harbor. The breakfast was awesome, loved the smoothie juice in the morning for energy juice. The free wifi was good and accessible throughout the hotel to include the bar and restaurant. Hotel has nice bar adjacent to the restaurant for relaxing drink after sightseeing. Loved the big over stuffed pillows on the bed. If your room does not have the view of the old harbour, you have nice view from the restaurant and deck. Hotel easy to get to from the Fish Market stop on the Airport Bus Express.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Clarion Hotel Admiral traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: