Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda 4 stars

Smedasundet 93, 5501 Haugesund, Norway

#1 of 11 hotels in Haugesund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Not good value and a bit basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window had no nets so if the curtains were open all the rooms opposite could see in. Food was basic. Dining room was small so had to sit with complete strangers each night as there were limited tables. Shower took 10mins to get hot water. They only cleaned the room once in my 3 night stay. Pillows were terrible.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Room is big with good sea view and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be a bit noisy at night because the restaurants have event on Friday nite.

    Room is big with good sea view and clean. Hotel offers afternoon self serviced waffle and tea; great breakfast with wide range of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage was full so we had to park in a public one which was easy because there are plenty with lots of space.

    Breakfast and dinner were really tasty and included in the price. The rooms and the entire house is beautiful and makes it easy to relax. The staff was always friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    It was anyhow, a fine stay at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not fond of the økologiske taste soups / food in the evenings; therefore I ate only bread in the evenings.

    I liked very much the afternoon tea/coffe and the vaffels you offered.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Ok stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fairly ordinary, with not even a decent coffee on offer.

    Great location on the waterfront with bars and restaurants right next door. Nice room (superior category) and good bathroom. Comfortable bed with lovely big reading pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Everything was very good, but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The hotel has its own car parking, but the price per day is not adequate. The Booking. com. website indicates that parking is not possible, but on arrival, we were asked whether we had booked a car parking. (Also, on the Booking.com website, the car park price does not match what actually exists in the hotel. Such information can be considered as incomplete and misleading in consumer protection.) If there was no free space, we would not have to park the car, because long-term parking is not allowed in the hotel's city. While traveling we can compare - a hotel in the city center should give guests a stress-free opportunity to park their car. And at a reasonable price. We will next think about booking a hotel with parking problems again. People who travel by car are important. As a result, staff were still wrong on check-out by charging for a car park bill. If we did not pay attention to the hotel, we would deduct an unjustified amount for a service that we did not use. However, you also have to wait for the money to be returned because the amount from the credit card has been booked. We face this situation for the first time, although we travel a long time and a lot. Unpleasant. 2. There is no mini-refrigerator and glass in the room.

    The hotel is located in the very center of the city. The room is clean, nice design. Good breakfast and dinner. The price / quality ratio is satisfactory.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    The best night's sleep we've had in Norway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Coffee maker in room, no refrigerator; more tv channels

    Great breakfast & supper, comfy beds, awesome staff, wonderful location, beautiful well kept building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value and location with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short a stay :(

    This was the best Clarion I have been to in Norway (e.g., Tromsø, Stanager, Kristiansand, Bergen.) the staff were charming and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast and afternoon waffles and supper were great options. And the location along the pier was stunning! I would go back and I will recommend it to family and friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Falls short in many areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service- no information given when checking in re dinner option included in price, waited 20 minutes trying to check out ad reception not manned, NOISE all night from local restaurants, air conditioning poor - too hot, no toiletries provided, no tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    The stay were ok. Friendly staff at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning was nok very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    A great place to stay and right on the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to stay and right on the waterfront.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel - excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to note

    Super friendly staff, amazing breakfast and dinner with access to waffles in the afternoon!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a weekend stay in Haugesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable, stylish rooms in a great location in the town centre close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious. Did not have a room with a view of the harbor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excelleng
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    A very pleasant and lovely first stay in Haugesund
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all so friendly and helpful - and smiled!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    Fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular...

    The girls at te reception desk, smiling, helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Very
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    The hotell was very pleasant, nice atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotell was very pleasant, nice atmosphere. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    I missed some kinds of salmon.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I missed some kinds of salmon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff, ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff, ideal location. Very comfortable room. Amazing choice at breakfast, waffles in the afternoon and buffet supper all included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Great location, in the centre of town.
    • Solo traveller

    It's a very laid back atmosphere, which I don't mind, but the guest having to ask for info all the time upon check in is a bit too laid back.

    Great location, in the centre of town. Clean hotel with spacious rooms. Loved the breakfast and dinner deal.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.3
    Really friendly hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing is that if you stay on Friday or Saturday, there are some late bars close by with music. It's fine if you keep your windows closed or don't have a water front room but just something to consider when booking your room.

    Really friendly hotel with helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and the daytime snacks and evening meal are great. Thanks to Alex for his help throughout our stay however all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    The hotel location on the water front was perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room at the front of the hotel and on Friday and Saturday nights we were woken up by the noise from the nearby night club. On the Sunday evening the buffet was very poor with left overs from the previous evening.

    The hotel location on the water front was perfect . Our room was very spacious and very clean with a large comfortable bed. Light refreshments and coffee were available all day and in the afternoon you could make yourself waffles. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of salad as well eggs, cold meats and cereals. Hotel staff were always on hand to help with any queries.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly welcoming staff on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nightclub on the go next door until 3am No air con in room meant either listening to the nightclub or overheating

    Friendly welcoming staff on reception Lovely view of harbour Excellent quality Breakfast with good choices and variety Evening meal good quality although only one option

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Great view of the water and street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were at the front and it can get a little noisy from the bars below but nothing too bad

    Great view of the water and street Amazing food - all you can eat dinner, huge breakfast buffet, fruit, nuts and snacks all day, waffles in the afternoon. We were there for three nights for the Ironman and didn't have to spend anything on food, perfect for Norway where everything is crazy prices!! Staff really friendly and helpful. Provided an extra room for us all to sort out bikes out in and store if we wished. Large room, comfy bed decent shower

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    staff were lovely and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    same buffet each day, limited choice and food was out for long periods of time, which is not good food hygiene standards.

    staff were lovely and friendly Loved waffle time also.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    From the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    From the moment we stepped into the hotel the staff were fantastic. Nothing to much trouble, first class. Our room was great and a fantastic view of the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    I would like to thank the staff for making us very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to thank the staff for making us very welcome. I wish every hotel was as friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.8
    Room was comfortable and location was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Room was comfortable and location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    8.8
    People working there , lovely food .
    • Family with young children

    People working there , lovely food . Everything !!:)

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.4
    Great location, staff, atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, staff, atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Great localitation and stamp.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great localitation and stamp. Recomend 100%

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Great location and quirky with all the filming themes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Back rooms overlook alley and rubbish bins, not so nice

    Great location and quirky with all the filming themes.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    always have some food out and available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    always have some food out and available

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    the name of the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the name of the hotel ! everything is fab!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No ordinary tea available

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The locals like a drink on friday and saturday so it got a bit loud on those evenings.

    Location. Value for money. Excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Good good, nice hotel room
    • Couple

    Good good, nice hotel room

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    Everytming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everytming

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: