Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4 stars

Skippergaten 7- Havnelagerparken, 0152 Oslo, Norway

#37 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 624 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Central Oslo stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious room with a comfortable bed, although the bathroom was quite small. Very helpful and friendly staff (made up a breakfast pack for us to take with us due to our early start). Short walk from the railway station and Central Oslo attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location, shame about the room quality, and the fact it is a cashless hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not obvious when booking that it is a cashless hotel. Receptionist did not check which payment card we wished to use when we checked in, nor advised whether payment would be taken on arrival or departure. This resulted in payment being taken from the card used to guarantee the reservation, not the (debit) card we planned to use. Also had to pay separately for our (very small) drinks bill on checking out, resulting in two transaction fees being incurred. We must have had the smallest room in the hotel, old hairdryer in the bathroom kept cutting out, mirrored dressing table & mirror cracked.

    Catering staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Cozy/ comfortable/ like at home
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sauna and gym did not work

    Cozy/ comfortable/ like at home tasty healthy breakfasts and dinners tea/coffee available 24/7 helpful reception close to central station and main streets

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Helpful staff, free afternoon tea/dinner made stay in Oslo most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. My luggage was delayed by a day due to Emirates and thr receptionist helped me to call up Emirates, waited on my bags and told me where I could buy necessities. I loved the concept of free dinner, DIY afternoon tea waffles, free breakfast, it helped me save a lot of money and the food was quite tasty. The rooms were cute and clean, I had a very comfortsble stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Single room on 8th floor had a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contrary to the description there is no parking onsite at all. On arrival I was told that the parking garage with which they had an arrangement was three blocks away. When I queried this I was told that onsite parking was in the street but there is no parking in the street. Even with a discount from the hotel it cost me over 500kr for 2 nights parking for a motorcycle.

    Single room on 8th floor had a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.3
    All a bit old and tired looking in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a bit old and tired looking in the rooms. Felt a bit basic. Luggage room was a free for all with no monitoring, likely high risk leaving anything in it. Bathroom was very old

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Near Central Train Station. The included meals were a great bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues with anything.

    The hotel was very busy during our stay, so upon arrival we were upgraded to a deluxe room. It had almost every amenity you can imagine, except for a room safe. Our room also had an adjustable electric hospital-style bed. The staff were charming and helpful, both the front desk team and the dining team. Front desk staff are particularly helpful in providing directions, including those for using public transit. Because the hotel is cash-free, front desk staff cannot make change for you. Since most public toilets, except those in museums, charge 10-20 NOK, acquiring a few 10 NOK coins is a very good idea. Food and beverage manager Corazon Furuseth runs an outstanding dining facility. Breakfast, afternoon pancake snack and dinner were all excellent. The dining room has a self-service griddle for frying morning eggs to go with the already cooked soft-boiled, hard boiled and scrambled eggs. The griddle is also set up to cook afternoon pancake snacks. The batter falls somewhere between French crêpes and traditional American pancakes. It’s pretty tasty. The free light dinners included a fresh home-made soup, three different salads including a “protein salad” of beans or other meatless protein. There’s a hot entrée plus a starchy side dish such as potatoes or rice. Our first night at the hotel the entrée was herb-baked chicken ratatouille with a very large steam table of rice next to it. My wife loved the chicken; she said it tasted surprisingly like Filipino chicken afritada. (The next morning we found out that in addition to the food and beverage manager the cook and several of the serving/busing staff are in fact Filipinos.) The only thing missing from the meal is dessert, but there is always fresh fruit available at all times (apples and oranges, plus bananas in the morning) and there’s a freezer with ice cream treats available in the lobby next to the 24-hour coffee and tea service. I’ve included pictures of two weeks’ worth of the main dinner entrées.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a wheelchair friendly hotel at all! Loads of steps and a very narrow and small elevator. Small dining area. Missing shoehorn. The beds flew away from each other if we wanted to sleep close to eachother. The feet of the tables in the dining area was horrible. Almost no leg room at all.

    The room was huge! Kind if an old hotel, but still pretty elegant. Nice sized bathroom. A snack meal, and afternoon meal included in the price as well as breakfast. The food was ok and the bed was fun for a childish hubby to play with as you could rise the back of it and the foot part. The pancake pan took ages to fry the pancakes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Nice friendly hotel in good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to mention. Just fittness room a bit too warm - but this comes in mind only, when I'm really searching for negative points

    Nice friendly hotel in good location. Good breakfast and even a simple evening buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Good excellent situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar so smal. Sofas not necessary to be bulky. There could be a bar better n Modern bar chair and expect clear color.

    Staff in reception very attentive and friendly quick settlement approachable.and buffet staff very hospitable kind and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    The dinner buffet, and the extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two rooms between us - one had a kettle, but no fridge, and the other a fridge but no kettle. We managed between the two, but it would have been more convenient to have both in both rooms.

    The dinner buffet, and the extremely friendly staff. The rooms, though small, were also very comfortable. We appreciated the removal of plastics from the breakfast/dinner buffets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Location, clean, breakfast and free dinner, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are worm sine no air conditioning in the hotel rooms so sleeping was hectic Parking are paid

    Location, clean, breakfast and free dinner, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    This is a super nice hotel in a very good location. It is close to the bus station coming from the airport and close to the train station which makes is super convenient if you travel by train in Norway. The staff is really nice and attentive. The breakfast is awesome - good quality food and great variety. However picky you may be you will definitely find something to eat. On top of that you have complimentary sweets and pancakes at noon and also dinner included which can be great on the budget ( as Norway is quite expensive).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was just a quick visit, Bed very comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was just a quick visit, Bed very comfortable, staff at breakfast were fabulous and really helpful, we got the times mixed up and were late, it they went out of their way to make sure we were fed and watered Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Good city stay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My electronic key card often did not work and I had to to return to reception a few times to have it reset which was annoying. Having it in a pocket in my handbag near my mobile phone apparently cancelled it but this has never been an issue previously with other hotel cards.

    This hotel is convenient to the beautiful Opera House, Oslo Central Station and the city centre. I had 2 separate stays here, one in a room in the older part with dark antique desk and mirror and the other in a more modern room with nice design details. I liked being able to open the windows for some fresh air.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    The reception staff were incredible - accommodating bulky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were incredible - accommodating bulky bike boxes that we had, and helping to arrange for items we left behind to get back to us. So good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Both breakfast and evening dinner buffets were quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No luggage cart.

    Both breakfast and evening dinner buffets were quite good. Staff was amazing. Walking distance to the train station (about 5 blocks). Near the Opera House and convenient walking distance to many other attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is well positioned for visiting central Oslo BUT just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No milk in the room to have with the tea and coffee provided. A glass with chewing gum in was hidden in the cupboard with the extra pillow. Our friends with a slightly more expensive room,in the older part of the hotel were provided with 2 pillows. Are pillows a luxury item? No bath mat. The breakfast/dining room was far too small and badly designed, with sofas as well as chairs, crowded and stressed in the morning, which is probably the last and lasting impression one has of the hotel.

    Hotel is well positioned for visiting central Oslo BUT just now the building work around means its quite noisy (OK if you don't like the window open). Good sized rooms with comfortable beds. The food provided was very good,when you could get to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great value Oslo Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, location, location! We chose the Clarion Hotel Bastion based on its location. We arrived in Oslo by train from Stockholm and it was a comfortable 5min walk. We left after our stay on the DFDS overnight ferry to Copenhagen and this was again a comfortable walking distance(10-12min). Our room was a double on the 4th floor, large (always a surprise in Europe) with plenty of light and a view of the dock and our DFDS ship. Breakfast was great with good variety. A nightly buffet dinner (included in the nightly rate) was a real treat after a day of sightseeing. The restaurant service staff and reception staff were friendly and happy to assist. A real surprise was the gym and sauna. It was quite amusing when one staff member seemed quite shocked in why anyone would want a sauna on a 27 deg day. The weather had been unseasonably hot for the past 1-2 weeks. Very happy to recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The stay was very comfortable and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so friendly, caring and helpful - they always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is conveniently located with an added bonus of a free buffet early evening which is great idea if you do not want to venture out again in the evening after a long day visiting the sights of Oslo. My sister and I had a fabulous time and would recommend this hotel to others visiting the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent budget option that feels like a 4+ star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers could be repaired so that the water doesn't flood the restroom. Needed a new rubber stopper - but didn't bother us much.

    Wow! This place was amazing! I will refer everyone here! The evening meal and breakfast was shockingly good. Thank you so much for caring about your travelers! We also were able to store our luggage all day after checking out in a secured closet while we were out for the day. It was so pleasant. We had a twin room with a harbor view.. great lighting and such comfortable beds. Thanks for a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, well sited hotel with bonus perks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All good

    Excellent location. Very comfortable hotel. Evening meal included in price which in itself was very reasonable. Food was good and access to free coffee and tea at all times was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Good location, pleasant staff and lovely breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was a lovely bonus as prices for food are high. Room was fine for 2 friends. Staff both at front desk and at dining room were helpful and pleasant. Location excellent and easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property didn't have any faults.

    The breakfast and dinner we're fantastic and lots of food to choose from. The room had great views from the 7th floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Good stay, hotel ok, not bad, but not good either, though the staff were really nice and engaging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so good points: The room was very small and not great quality with old fittings in the en suite. The evening meal was very tasty and I did enjoy it, but it was poor quality.

    The good points: Reception staff really good, hotel location was good, lovely seating area to have a drink on the ground floor. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View out of some of the balcony's is a bit bad. Mini bar menu could be made more obvious.

    Big rooms and comfortable in a very central location. Staff are friendly and the shower in the rooms is good. Hotel restaurant is okay and the rooms are very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast with a wide choice of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some dust here and there, and the bathroom door was incredibly noisy to open and shut (sliding door). Some noise from the ventilation system and the floor was a bit patchy from a leak of some sorts.

    Excellent breakfast with a wide choice of food. Both warm and cold dishes, smoothie and even chia pudding! Very quiet hotel located in the centre, but off the noisy streets. They serve afternoon sweets like waffles or pancakes, and a light supper. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Nice trip to beatiful Oslo.Must go back on summer time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictrures on website were good.Reality not so good.Old hotel not renovated for years.Room was couple of m2 bigger then cruise ship cabin and cold.Morning breakfast dishes were dirty had to check every morning.Problem with sugar.Had to ask every morning to get it for coffee.Included dinner was not as promised.

    Good location,close to central station and main walking street.Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Supper included in price is a big plus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Temperature in the room was a bit too cold and setting the radiator to max didn't help - it only made it warm to the touch. Worth mentioning that it was -12 outside during my stay.

    Supper included in price is a big plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Prefect hotel with pleasant helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All! our room prefect food delicious location great Loved having Breakfast, Afternoon Tea,Dinner at the hotel as part of our accommodation marvellous in the cold weather

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Very clever city break stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small but very comfortable and quiet so no problem at all

    Free pancakes in the afternoon, free dinner in the evening - all very tasty! Staff was so nice and helpful and location is perfect just a short walk from everything: city centre, port for cruises, restaurants, transports...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    The personnel was very kind
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was extremely cramped, the furniture was a bit worked out and a socket was hanging out of the wall. It felt like a 2 star room in a 4 star hotel. I stayed only one night but I was pretty disappointed.

    The personnel was very kind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Great full board boutique hotel next to the sea.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be a little noisy, but that's the luck of the draw. The rooms are quite close together, do noise can travel.

    Great location, nice rooms, excellent staff. Also, the all inclusive food package offers superb value for money. If you can, ask for a sea view to get one of the nicest boutique room experiences in Oslo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    An excellent experience in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Hotel quiet yet very central and in walking distance of many places I wanted to visit. Food excellent. I hope definitely to stay there in future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Excellent throughout
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the best hotels I've stayed in. Clean, comfortable, super helpful staff, snacks and food throughout the day, wonderful kitchen, no unnecessary frills but all the ones that matter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice quiet decent place to stay in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Men sauna was under repair and in booking.com hotel information did not mentioned.

    Lady at front desk has upgraded our room to a suite because our automatic room key did not work even after whole day fixing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Small but perfectly formed - Dinner bed and breakfast in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A standard double is absolutely mini. There's just enough room to get around the bed, but it's a bit of a squeeze to get in the door with your luggage. There's no-where to unpack anything, and not a great deal of space for your suitcase.

    Location is superb but the main thing - wow! Loved the breakfast and the light supper included in the room rate. Had not appreciated how expensive Norway would be, so to have dinner included every night was great and just what we needed after a day out sightseeing. It's simple, tasty, hearty home cooking, but ideal really, unless you're looking for a big night out. Also afternoon tea was an extra bonus, it felt a bit like staying one someone's home - the downstairs area was really cosy and welcoming, and the coffee / tea/ fruit on tap were superb. The room was really well soundproofed, which was also a bonus - we also loved the underfloor heating in the shower room and the shower was powerful. Bedside tables both sides and plenty of plug sockets was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Good bed,cooking facilities in the room, different design:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it’s for city visitors it would be a little bit fur from the centre

    Good bed,cooking facilities in the room, different design: industrial but still not to cold, good healthy breakfast, free parking, nice high ceilings also in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and very surprised! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is great! Reception is extremely friendly and helpful. Even offered to pack us breakfast as we had a really early flight in the morning. Obsolutely surprised me! And they even offer FREE Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner! The Dinner was soup, main and water and coffee. Very generous! Thank you so much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower area in the bathroom was just TOO small for anyone... had I been slightly bigger I would not have been able to get in

    The staff went out of the way to arrange for a Veg supper for us. The heated bathroom floor was GREAT

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Well located; pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was comparatively expensive; the room could have been cleaner; staff were v pleasant but, in the restaurant area, struggling to keep up with customer requests

    The hotel was well located for us - walking distance from train station on arrival and to DFDS ferry to Copenhagen on departure; room was very spacious and bathroom was particularly good; we appreciated the bed, breakfast and evening meal formula

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, fantastic service
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a bit uncomfortable because the angle didn't work well inside the bath. The water was pleasant and warm, though.

    Fantastic location in central Oslo: 5-minute walk from Central Station, 3 blocks away from Opera House, and 5-minute walk from City Hall. The hotel is lovely, and the dinner option was very welcome in a city where dining out can be very expensive. Hotel reception staff were very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. It was walking distance from the train and bus station. It was near the new opera house. The price was great and they served a free breakfast and dinner which was a great convenience. They also served waffles in the afternoon but we were gone. The staff was so friendly. I felt like I was a long lost relative and was coming home for a visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel to stay at and close to the DFDS cruise terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rate includes a light dinner. There were so many flies in the dining area which made us unease to eat there. The food is okay.

    We stayed at the hotel for one night as we can walk to the cruise terminal the next day. It is a good hotel, staffs are very nice. Room is very clean, bed is very comfortable. This hotel is in an older building, and the room window is facing the inside courtyard which is not very attractive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.3
    Wouldn't recommend the hotel or area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baby bed wasn't ready and even when we got it we had to use our own blanket. Rooms are not well maintained. Hotel is next to strip club and probably in the best area of Oslo.

    Food is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was really good with many choices for every taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty, with plenty of dust everywhere. The worst part was the bathroom. There were hairs in the bathtub and in the sink. Unfortunately, we had to clean it on our own to feel comfortable (indeed, we bought chlorine and cleaned it!). Also the sheet had stains. Dinner was involved in the price but it was disappointing. There wasn't variety.

    Breakfast was really good with many choices for every taste. The staff was very kind and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    I like this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too small bathroom, but in Oslo it's almost impossible to find bigger bathroom / flyes in the kitchen

    One of the best hotels in Oslo. Great value for the money.Delicious breakfast, evening dinner, tea/ coffee and fruits all day long and pancakes in the afternoon are all you need to feed the family. Cozy lobby with activities for family and quite big gym (better than in some 5* Oslo hotels). It was our second stay in this hotel, and I will definitely stay here next time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Great option for expensive Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location, while convenient to the station and the water front, was a bit away from the more interesting parts of the city.

    Rooms fine, staff helpful, breakfast and included evening meal good and value excellent. Our subsequent stay in Oslo in the nominally more expensive hotel provided by Globus tour group was far inferior.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was old and the standard rooms are very small for two people & luggage. However, the rooms facing inside were quiet. Breakfast room is very small & cramped.

    Close to the station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The basic evening meal is a bonus especially after a busy day out and about. Laundry facilities but the dryer wasn't working when we stayed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    City sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking rate is really high near the hotel. The space of the restaurant is a little bit crowded.

    Price including the free dinner is very good. The location is nice if you want to go to the opera and castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Nice hotel at great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great room--think I got lucky they upgraded me to a suite. Very nice spacious and well decorated. Breakfast had lots of choices and was excellent. Complimentary dinner was nice for our late arrival in the evening. This hotel is absolutely a great value. Nice room and great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a little small for a family. But, it is acceptable.

    Nice and helpful staff. Good location. Most important, the light evening meal is nice when we arrive a little late and are unfamilar with surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time could be extended to avoid shortages for seating and hektik at buffet.

    Excellent location at the harbor and close to the train station. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very good variety and good quality for breakfast and evening meals (was included in our offer).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    - Great light dinner (included with room) and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Wen asking for a room away from the lift (with regard to possible noise), we first got one right beside the lift. So we went back, but then we were given a smaller room (smaller than standard). We did not want to change rooms again, so we took it, but this is not top-notch service.

    - Great light dinner (included with room) and breakfast - All day free coffee and tea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great that most meals included but the food was disjointed and unappetising. Staff were nice. Bathrooms are in need of renovation.

    Location convenient to Central station and Ferry terminals. Rooms are a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff - friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just 1 elevator, sometimes you should wait for a long time

    Staff - friendly and welcoming. Cosy dining-room. We arrived rather late (around 1 a.m.), we were offered with very tasty spinach soup. It was very nice welcome gesture.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not in the same block, but within walking distance.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast and well working WiFi. Evening buffet was good bonus belonging to the room price. Room was clean and receptionists were very friendly speaking excellent english.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel and value, but rooms have considerable issues!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower in our room was broken and flooded our entire bathroom every morning with a considerable amount of water. When we notified staff of the problem and mentioned our room number, they seems to already be aware that this was an issue (but somehow not resolved ever before, which is very concerning!). The issue was not resolved after our first night, so we spent the remaining two days (of a three day trip) dealing with a flooded bathroom every morning. Staff offered no compensation, solutions or option to move rooms either.

    Bed and room were great! Wonderful room for the price. Meals were overall pretty solid -- not amazing food, but still enjoyable and nice to have included for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Ok room (roof top room, deluxe) nice location nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We carried 2 heavy luggage bags and were given a room up on level 4 with no lift access after level 3. We asked about the possibility to change the room but was told the hotel was full. Checked in to room and found 2 pairs of earplugs on our side table! Knowing that the hotel located right in city centre can be noisy so we raised our concern to the same female receptionist but was told that there were plenty of rooms available if we ever need to change our room. 10 mins ago the hotel was full, 10 mins later plenty of rooms available. Her boyfriend was at work with her too. 2. Bathtub was leaking!!!! Beware of your head especially if you are given a roof level room!

    Ok room (roof top room, deluxe) nice location nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Everything was absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely great. Quite big and very nice furnished room. Staff were very polite, very kind. Breakfast was delicious, dinner was even more delicious. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    The best value-for-money hotel in Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very compact (and so was the bathroom) and wouldn't suit a couple who have more than 2 large suitcases.

    The bed and breakfast tariff of only NOK1,190 per room per night (approx. AUD 189 p.n.) was excellent value-for-money, particularly for Norway, as it included an excellent evening buffet meal. This saved us a lot of money as Oslo's restaurants are expensive, and after a tiring day exploring the city it was good to be able to relax and have a satisfying meal in the Hotel Bastion's dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Overall good!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner should be more

    Good breakfast, but dinner did not have much choices.. room was clean and spacious, and bed comfortable.. noise level is very low despite being on the side of the road which is really good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was the placement of a chair as you walked into the room. I had to move it to get my suitcase in.

    Great location, excellent staff, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner included was a bonus, no need to look for somewhere to eat. Room clean and tidy, bed comfortable, Excellent facilities onsite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Complimentary dinner and afternoon pancakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the furniture quite old.

    The breakfast was really good, the complimentary dinner, afternoon pancakes and free coffee machine were very nice bonuses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice, well run hotel - pitty about the beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The info on booking.com stated that the beds would be 90-130cm and we were happy with this. However on arrival the actual bed size in our twin room was 80cm. per bed. This is a child sized bed! We spent 2/3 uncomfortable nights and went home quite tired and hoping to catch up on lost sleep. Very disappointing! Booking.com should get their bed descriptions correct!

    The hotel was quite central near the ferry terminal. Staff were very friendly and food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    A hotel with a very good value!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer kept dying, but the staff told us that they would have replaced it if we had told them.

    It was located centrally to the ferries, the Opera House, Karl Johans walking street, the Fort and to the Central Train Station. The breakfast variety was fantastic with many fresh and hot choices. There was something for everyone else including fruits and vegetables. The bread was fresh and we sliced our own. The coffee was particularly good. There were pancakes to bake in the afternoon and a satisfying evening meal as well. Quite a good value! The bed was good. The bathroom was small and very adequate. If you're a large person, it might be tight getting into the shower. The staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    no noise from outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the ventilation could not be switched off and was a little bit noisy all night long very old furniture, a bit worn out staff wiping the breakfast table while I was sitting there

    no noise from outside individually decorated room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Great city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was slightly hectic st meal times but quality of food was good- great selection of breakfast

    Staff were so helpful and friendly. Even sent cake ,fruit and a balloon to my room for my birthday!Availability of beverages and food was great and really helped with the cost of being in such an expensive city. We were upgraded to a suite for 1 night. Rooms were lovely light and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe. Evening meal although included in price was not up to much but the soup was nice. We were not looking forward to breakfast after the evening meal but the breakfast was excellent much to our surprise. Norway is ridiculously expensive and I just don't get why. Cheapest beer at £9. It is crazy. I would not return. There are better and much cheaper places in the world.

    Central location. Coffee and tea making facilities in room. Lovely bathroom. Quiet room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    No hot water left 10.30 in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to get a late shower in the morning: no hot water!! Evening buffet offers no drinks. You have to leave the dining area to find coffee and tea.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent approach of hotel staff. They were very friendly, helpfull creating nice atmosphere for hotel. Location is in the Centre so very easy to reach from airport. Hotel is very cosy and clean. Very good bonus is kitchen-perfect food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.8
    The location - under 10 minutes walk from Oslo Sentrum...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked my room to have been a little warmer.

    The location - under 10 minutes walk from Oslo Sentrum station The price included waffles if you arrived between 4 and 6 pm, light evening meal and a buffet breakfast with a good choice of dishes. The staff were friendly and helpful. The ladies who looked after the dining area were charming and were always smiling.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel with brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything just that we had to come home and that was our last night in Norway!

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the staff were so helpful and friendly. It was obviously they had a great working team as they showed respect for each other and appeared to enjoy their jobs. The room was beautiful, the bathroom was amazing and the underfloor heating an added bonus! Plenty of space and comfortable beds and pillows. The afternoon pancakes were brilliant after a reasonable journey there. The Evening meal was simple but tasty with the healthy salad options as well. Hot drinks available at reception all hours. Breakfast was really lovely also with a nice mixture of items.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Light supper, tea and coffee included in room price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed two nights and were very happy with the hotel. Comfortable and quiet. We ate at the buffet (included in the room price) both nights for a light dinner. We found it quite sufficient and after a day of walking around we preferred staying in. Nice areas to sit and relax during the day and after dinner. Help yourself tea and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The concierge was fantastic. He new the city and surrounds intimately and gave us quite a few tips to avoid crowds and see the best parts in the best ways.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: