Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Grand Olav 4 stars

Kjøpmannsgata 48, 7010 Trondheim, Norway

#3 of 23 hotels in Trondheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 336 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room.

    The staff fixed breakfast for me even at 4 am. I asked for a silent room, and it was really silent, even in the middle if the city on a friday night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ...we came late, so first night we spent in dark, tiny room with no view, but they mooved us to another for next days...

    ....Great staff, ready to help... very good breakfast ... variety of salads for a dinner...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some festival during our stay, so half a night loudly behaving people outside...

    Breakfast was good, actually there was free food available all day long:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It'd be better to have more than one choice of main dish in dinner.

    In walking distance almost all part of the city. Popular pubs in 5 min. walking. Breakfast was fantastic, buffet dinner was quite satisfactory with variety of salads who likes healty food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance from train station. Easy access to city and tourist spots. helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfasts. Evening meal is a bonus as was the afternoon tea with waffles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DVD in the room was not working. Toilette could have been better (Especially the door)

    Nice and relaxed. Well located near the interesting areas of Trondheim.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived (by train) late on saturday evening and were told that breakfast was from 8am sunday and 7am other days. We had to leave at 7:15 monday morning to catch next train, but were bitterly disappointed to find that breakfast didn't actually start until 8am because it was a public holiday :-(

    Just a few minutes walk from the train station. Superior room was a good size and worth the extra cost. Breakfast buffet was probably above average and as a bonus there was also afternoon snack and a (limited) evening buffet available too. Great value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is not the hotel's fault but there was a rather big bird shit on my hotel room window, didn't dare to ask to change my room. The dinner and breakfast buffet were poor, there weren't many choices and the restaurant was rather small. I've stayed in several similar price-ranged hotels in Norway, so I had a certain expectation. All the interior in the hotel, corridor and the lounge gave tired and old impression. Check out took more than 5 minutes as there was only one staff at the reception who was busy with early check in with a group. I don't know why this hotel got a high score here. I honestly think this is not worth the money.

    bathroom seemed new, might have been refurbished, clean. great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prefer capsule coffee ( provided by Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret , Bergen) Our booking was mixed up, we were told we only booked one room instead of two (they said it was booking.com mistake) thus had to wait for 2 hours for them to find us a room. The reception area is rather open as the hotel is in a shopping complex.

    The room was spacious, bed comfy and given enough pillows and cushions. Tea and coffee available at lobby most of the time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good , dinner was fine. Convenient location . It is a value for money stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No storage for clothes other than hangers ... interior window onto atrium of concert hall next door, a bit odd in the intervals !

    Big room, lots of food - breakfast, pancakes at 3 and dinner!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We overlooked offices so had to shut curtains for privacy

    Pancakes from 3pm-6pm. Friendly staff,good location, rack of spectacles next to the newspapers, very clean, relaxed atmosphere not formal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too soft.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast I've seen in a very long time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    friendly, helpful desk staff comfortable, clean hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best were very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed repair

    Good breakfast, food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to ask for kettle

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not prepared for a couple. only one duvet and set of towels easily accessible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free evening meal! Front desk staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location, clean and spacious room, nice and inclusive breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    no major issue

    Globally great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of towels.......no hotel extras because my luggage was lost

    Friendly staff. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed

    Food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Not possible to open the window in my room. Not possible to regulate temperature in room. Too warm, hard to sleep.

    Very clean bathroom. Helpful and smiling staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking. It was non existent. We were sent to a car park in the neighbouring building that was small and full. Lucky we found a street park, and it was our of parking meter hours.

    Jacob on the front desk was friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that the room was located on the inside (atrium). But as I only stayed one night, it was not an issue.

    Excellent location, Cozy rooms and simple, but good food.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very limited operating instructions for things like DVD player, TV and WiFi

    Convenient location. We had a superior double room of a good size. Dinner was included and although only a buffet made the stay good value overall. DVD player included in room and popular movies could be rented for free from the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is great, and having a hotel in a shopping center is also great

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This survey

    Europe

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room wasn't super clean.

    Complimentary supper was excellent. Good breakfast. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from room (over a shopping centre)

    Very comfortable bed, good shower and free pancakes. Very helpful reception staff

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: