Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret 4 stars

Slottsgaten 1, Bergenhus, 5835 Bergen, Norway

#11 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 499 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location- airport bus stops in front- on dock with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Great location- airport bus stops in front- on dock with lots of restaurants. Tower had great views and wonderful breakfast- afternoon snack and dinner selection included! Very curious and large rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is cash free, so do not intend paying in cash.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hair conditioner in the bathroom.

    The hotel is cash free, so do not intend paying in cash. It is clean, cosy, and it's location and meals are awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is brilliant and for this reason alone we would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The weather was very hot and the hotel has no air con so we were very uncomfortable at night. This wouldn't be a problem when the weather is cold.

    The location is brilliant and for this reason alone we would probably stay there again The beds were comfortable. The breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Location great, service poor, incorrect claims on websit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning although the website claims they have it, upon complaint there was no explanation of the deception, and no offer of a fan although we later found one in the hall and used it. Temperature was in the high 80’s and leaving the windows open all the time made the room, facing the street, very noisy, and still very warm and uncomfortable. Staff was generally disinterested and not helpful.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    We found the staff at the hotel to be very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had requested a room with a shower cubicle and although we were told some superior rooms had this facility we did not get one. The "complementary" evening buffet was very disappointing, just a few non descript salads and one choice of hot dish - no vegetarian options. Either improve it or dispense of it!

    We found the staff at the hotel to be very helpful and pleasant. The room we were first allocated had a balcony but i.t overlooked other rooms and when we asked to change rooms we were immediately given one with a city view. The hotel is perfectly situated for sight seeing and is a beautiful building steeped in history. The breakfast buffet was superb and catered for all tastes. The Ritual toiletries were very well received.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Reception and breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non functioning refrigerator. Parking difficult. Shower doors water pooped outside. No bath mat.

    Reception and breakfast excellent. Staff excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    very expensive compared to what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    upon arrival the hotel staff did not give us the map of the city and gave us the top floor room overlooking the yard even if the hotel are no full. tiny room without balcony, inconvenient bed, no slippers,

    good location, good fruit juice at breakfast, quiet, good internet connection

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location! Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can ask to go up to the viewing area and see the downtown from an excellent vantage point; free dinner food!! Free waffles! Excellent staff. Great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Bergen short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. Within easy walking distance to shopping, the indoor fish market, and great restaurants. Beautifully restored building preserving great high lights of the old structure. Good choices at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel in Beautiful Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    None, all are excellent

    The room is pretty large, classic and has super comfortable bed. The airport shuttle is just in the front of the hotel. Coffee and tea available all day long and light dinner inclusive are very good value added. We love the hotel very much.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    See above. Never stay here again at any price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom. ‘Didn’t like’ is an understatement. First saw this open concept bathroom/bedroom idea a decade ago at Bergen airport and didn’t like it then either. Hotel staff said all rooms were like that. Whoever thinks this is a good idea should probably be exiled to the dog kennels, in winter, on Bjornoya. (An Island south of Spitsbergen) Would never stay at, or recommend, this hotel again at any price.

    Good location for our short stay in Bergen. The view from the top floor was enjoyable. Receptionist/bartender very professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location, in dire need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was horrible. Double room was tiny and dated. Bathroom needs updating also. Very lackluster

    Incredible location right near Bryggen wharf. Hotel had plenty of character from the outside and appeared to maintain that within the lobby bar area. Room was clean. Complementary meals presented great value options for those who were budget minded

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    The room heating was not on when we arrived and the plug for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room heating was not on when we arrived and the plug for the coffee machine didn’t work. (Also no milk is offered in the room, you have to get it from the restaurant.) Both were fixed after reporting them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed walking around Bergen and watching the road race the ideal weather for being
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Great view from tower. Better signage once you get of elevator to indicate which door leads to the tower area

    Architecture, location, staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    As always, I loved the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always, I loved the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and tried their best to make my stay perfect. I got an upgraded room because the room I usually have wasn't available. Breakfast was great and energizing, dinner was also nice. Still the greatest hotel in the city of Bergen. Will without any doubt come again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic, relaxing, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was wonderful, no issues at all

    Staff was great, the free buffet dinner added great value, the location can't be beat. Lobby area is very inviting and the integration of a historic building with modern use was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, nice city won't ever come during a bicycle race again...wish I had been forewarned. I
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city is hosting a bicycle race for 8 days...Taxi was unable to get us to hotel and we pushed or dragged our three suitcases 500 meters to get to the hotel...NOT A HAPPY OR GOOD EXPERIENCE...Hotel suffers as a result. We left extra early in the morning because of taxi difficulty...road gets closed again about 7:30 am...As it was, several taxi failed to show up...finally the third one called did.

    Did not have breakfast...had to get to airport... Bed okay but not glorious...room small...view on ugly courtyard...and other buildings. Interior lobby of hotel beautiful...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door to toilet. A laundry would be fabulous for travellers.

    The meals and waffles were good. Liked 24 hour tea coffee. Location great. It was a relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Ideal location for onward travel via cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel to the town was perfect with only a short walk to the attractions. Mid afternoon waffles is a great idea. Staff were very helpful and arranged the transfer to the cruise ship

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel with all amenities and a very pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    Availability of a truly quiet room. While some prefer a view, we were ready for a sound rest. Inclusion of breakfast and dinner and afternoon treat (great bargain in this expensive city). Location, location, location with ease to airport transportation. Also were impressed with the environmental sensitivity with donations to a charity for choosing not to have rooms cleaned each day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Perfect location; breakfast/waffle/supper buffets added tremendous value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No towels in the room when we checked in - but the staff was quickly responsive and then kept sending us extras

    Perfect location for a visit to historic Bergen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Location was perfect for anyone wanting to make your stay in Bergen easy and convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was above and beyond!

    The staff and hotel were incredible!! We arrived with twenty roses in our room (our 20th anniversary) and it just kept getting better! Food, bicycles available and attention to any needs were 100%! If you are ever in Bergen, the Clarion is THE place to stay. Location, location, location! None better. Close walk from train station and multiple things to do. Don't forget to take a walk up the tower at night!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    A stylish, comfortable and central base when in beautiful Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower - because of the shower doors, I think - created a little puddle outside the doors of the shower

    The hotel is very stylish, it's a lovely setting to relax in and the building has an interesting history We sent our bigger piece of luggage ahead of us and the hotel kindly stored it for us The buffet breakfast is hearty and there is a great selection, including smoke salmon, fresh fruit, good bread, etc Our room superior room had a a great view of the water Staff were very responsive to our requests Staff were very friendly, especially in the restaurant The free waffles in the afternoon was a fun bonus and the light buffet dinner included in the price of our room saved us from having to search for somewhere to eat for dinner each night The location was very central to everything we needed and wanted to visit, including the airport bus stop just outside the hotel (in front of the Radisson) The room was very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    we had two rooms, one was deluxe with a great view of port...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The girls' room (regular room) was tiny and face a parking lot and dumpster. The bathroom in both rooms was very small and not enough towels. Breakfast is fine but dinners (incl. in price) were terrible, no variety and not enough food.

    we had two rooms, one was deluxe with a great view of port and mountain. The Bed was very comfortable. the room was quiet and nicely decorated. The hotel is very central and the lobby is beautiful, as are the corridors. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    This is a very comfortable easy to use hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the hairdryer would not have kept shutting off.

    Wonderful dinner as part of the package. Long comfortable bathtub. A hair dryer in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Classy hotel in heart of Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not have a view at all, which was disappointing.

    Breakfast and the evening meal were great and a *must* when travelling in pricey Norway. They also have waffles in the afternoon. The airport shuttle literally drops you off outside the hotel, which is so convenient! The location is really excellent. Rooms are small (typical European) but nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Everything was so good! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Just that the rooms facing the harbor have a lot of noise coming in from the boats and ships.

    1. The airport shuttle stops right in front of the hotel! 2. location is amazing. Walking distance to everything. 3. Excellent staff. They're all so helpful and kind and courteous. My baby's stroller was left behind in Oslo. Luckily the hotel had one that we could borrow. 4. Rooms were clean and comfortable 5. Breakfast, and evening meals were great! Didn't get a chance to try the afternoon pancakes

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location. Check that you have not been allocated an attic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the bedroom & bathroom did not feel safe. The bed was located next to attic wall which meant it was likely to hit one's head upon waking. The bathroom had a glass wall which was easy to bump into and a small step to trip over (particularly in the middle of the night). The elevator was slow and so we often use the stairs.

    Location was excellent. Comfortable and inviting foyer. Staff welcoming & helpful. Easy access to internet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Good option for a relax stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms a bit small and looking to the patio. but the rest of the hotel was very nice.

    We really enjoy the service of breakfast/tea and dinner. good food and nice variety. the tower view on Bergen port that could be accessed through the 6th floor if you ask the reception for the key

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Very satisfied would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of dining out and food and drink in general was expensive.

    Location in the centre of the old town and walking distance to many tourist destinations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    An excellent expierence, so happy we stayed there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like Clarance, I think he's the hotel manager but I'm not certain. I might have found I liked him very much if he'd ever taken the time to say hello to me, I started playing a game of how will he not speak to me. While sitting on the tower he came up and talked to two other groups passed directly in front of me 3 times and never once spoke to me. Maybe the pressure of the Marcus concert was weighing him down. Holding the door for others then for my wife and I and not a word. Standing at the front desk while my wife got her coffee, yep you guessed nothing, not a single word. The rest of the staff were so pleasant very accomadating.

    The location was awesome perfect downtown area close to everything. The tower views are fantastic I spent time up there reading and looking out over the harbor. What a tremendous savings the meals were, and they were delicious. Working staff was helpful and always pleasant. I would go back there in a second.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was connected to the bedroom with a glass door so if you got up in the middle of the night you would wake up your partner. The bed was a little quirkey with a comforter you unfolded to lay under but was not tucked in. No night light available.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Lovely staff & property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small by US standards but certainly not an issue. Quite a walk from the train station so on our return trip to Oslo the front desk reserved a taxi for the next morning.

    Beautifully decorated. Very, very clean. Secure elevators operated with key card. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. The light evening meal was great. A buffet with cold salads, hot soup, and a different meat/fish dish and side each evening. Served waffles with various toppings in the afternoon. Located right at Bryggen with shops & restaurants, local buses available. Short walk to fish market, funicular, Hakon's Hall and fortress and museums.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    This hotel has a very interesting concept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room on the side of the elevator was noisy.

    Fee evening meal was so tasty for me! Room was small but clean. Best location for sightseeing. You should definitely go to the observation deck.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with wonderful amenities, friendly and helpful staff, and beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect! It was even very sunny while we were in Bergen.

    This hotel was excellent in all aspects. We were a family of six (four adults, two children) traveling across Norway, and the rooms we were given were top-notch with beautiful views of the Bergen harbour. The dinner and breakfast were outstanding. Above all, one of the receptionists (Camilla) went above and beyond what could be expected from a hotel. My husband developed a toothache shortly on the morning we were to catch the train from Oslo to Bergen. When the Clarion was called to see whether they could find a dentist who would be able to see my husband once our train arrived in Bergen, Camilla did the needed research and found a dentist who could see my husband later in the evening we arrived. We thanked her profusely and were quite relieved that the dentist was able to detect the problem (an abscess) and prescribe my husband the needed medications for the rest of of our trip. We would definitely return to your hotel and will have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends traveling to Bergen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Great location. Common areas were nice. Roo.s were uncomfortably small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small. Bathroom small with little counter space. Shower door leaked water everywhere.

    Nice breakfast. Comfortable and attractive surroundings.Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough plug points in the room, although they did bring an extension when asked. Only one creamer supplied with the drinks in the room .

    Location great, really helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall it was a very good stay. We were able to walk to our cruise ship when it arrived. Bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I realize we were in Scandinavia not the US but the amenities were not on the same par. For example, the hair dryer provided in the room did not work for more than a few seconds before it overheated. Thank goodness I brought a converter with me. We were so fortunate to have beautiful warm weather in rainy Bergen. I understand air conditioning is not normally needed, but it would have been nice 😊.

    The evening meal was a very pleasant surprise. I actually took pictures of a couple of the salads so I could make them at home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Offered a free evening meal, a buffet with excellent food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of air conditioning, but window opened.

    Offered a free evening meal, a buffet with excellent food and service. Location near cruise ship terminal and Bryygan shopping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, be specific about room requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had requested a sea view, it turns out that despite being right on the Bryggen area there are very few rooms with direct water views. Our original room had a balcony, but it looked out towards rooms at the back of the building, but they were able to move us to a partial water view that we were much happier with. Front desk was either very good, or somewhat indifferent.

    Excellent breakfast, close to all Bryggen shopping, biking, and waterfront activity. Beautiful historic property. Great base for Bergen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    2.9
    Very poor experience at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Painfully small and uncomfortable room (409) even by European standards. Enclosed courtyard view of a giant trash bin. Booked a king size bed and got a queen. Requested 2 extra bath towels and one additional pillow. Never got them. Had a 7:00am departure time and was told that on Sunday the included breakfast did not start till 8:00am. Went down to catch our cab and they had opened up breakfast early because of a large tour group. Never informed us of the early opening.

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location but quite expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seethrough bathroom door which wasn't lockable! Dinners weren't great and often had chilli or spice with no other options - should be choices and veggie options

    Free waffles Sauna Comfortable bedding Friendly staff Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT - lovely Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Maybe a better view, but not always available.

    The bed was fabulous, breakfast excellent and to top it all - we got dinner, which was unexpected - GREAT bonus!!! I would really recommend the Clarion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Acceptable but nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was not a nice experience, I was a bit early and my room was not ready which was understandable, however the receptionist told me it would take about 20 mnutes, gave me a cup of coffee and told me to take a seat, all good up to here. But afterwards she forgot about me, after more than an hour walked up to the reception to find out room was ready. The view was not very nice, room at the back looking out at office building and parking lot.

    Location is good, next to the harbour, underground public parking next to it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I look really hard I may find something I did not like, but was not on this trip. The place is one to visit.

    The beds were excellent, the staff was awesome, the two ladies that cooked, served and cleaned the evening meal were very impressive. The location was perfect as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.0
    Great Location, Stingy on the towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and they only provided two thin, small bath towels and two thin hand-towels. There were no wash-clothes, nor was there a bathmat despite the fact that the water from the shower ran out under the shower door into the rest of the bathroom. Therefore, you had to dry yourself off and put your bath towel down to sop up the water on the floor. Our "standard" room looked into a business courtyard -- so it was an unpleasant view with people and trucks all day long. Both the breakfast and the dinner were great and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Hotel location excellent people freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms: toilets and bathroom separate only.with thin door Bed is about 20 cm from toilet You have to change inside design

    Hotel location excellent people freindly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Loved the location, the free meals offered made it feel like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keys didn't work on several occasions which made it quite inconvenient to keep going down to the front desk and wait in line to get them reactivated. Several guests had the same issue.

    Loved the location, the free meals offered made it feel like home, and the rooms were very nice and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found this gem in Rick Steve's Norway travel guide and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect for a stay in Bergen as it is so close to everything. And the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were greeted by Camilla when we came and she made our 3 day stay in Bergen perfect. She had great tips on where to go and what to see. She booked us 2 dinner reservations and helped us find the right fjord tour. We felt like we had made a new friend by the time we left and we would return here in a heartbeat. And the food options that were included made this place a bargain. A huge breakfast buffet every morning. Make your own waffles in the afternoon and they were delicious so you should definitely do this. And a dinner every night that had several main course options. We met the chef and can verify that all the food was wonderful and there was plenty of it. The rooms were great and we had a view of the whole harbor area. We would highly recommend this lovely hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I truly cannot think of a single thing.

    We had booked two, two-night stays - both before and after a trip on the Hurtigruten line along the Norwegian coast. The night before our departure (March 5-6) we had an unexpected health problem and the staff - ALL of the staff - were the BEST - from approximately 3 a.m. through a hospital stay and up until our late afternoon departure. I truly felt they were "family". When we returned March 17 they couldn't have been more caring and accommodating. Even if our emergency hadn't been part of our experience I would still write a rave review - the room, overlooking the enchanting harbor - was absolutely beautiful. The delicious buffet meals (including the afternoon waffle "snack") were particularly appreciated as we didn't have to (or even want to) leave the hotel. I would go beyond "five stars" to a universe of stars!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Best Hotel in Bergen that goes the extra mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love this hotel. Stayed here several times and will do so again without doubt. Perfect location right next to the old town. Easy to reach with the Flybussen, and walking distance to all nice things to see in Bergen. Great room, great bed, very nice staff, good breakfast and evening meal, and very nice interior design and architecture. Without any questions the best hotel in Bergen. They have the best customer service of all hotels I have been too

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant location, right on the Harbourside, next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location, right on the Harbourside, next to the historic Bryggen district. Comfortable rooms, and helpful staff. Tariff included good breakfast buffet and more than adequate dinner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.6
    Best Hotel in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that somehow wasn't perfect for me was the softness of my bed. It was the softest bed I have every slept in. However, it depends on the person.

    The staff is extremely friendly and open to help. The hotel is very central (right next to the UNESCO Heritage Old Town). Very clean and renovated facilities. Breathtaking breakfast and evening meal. My room had a very nice view to the waterfront. Great wifi. Overall, best hotel I have been in Bergen thus far. Would recommend it to everyone who wants to have a perfect hotel in the heart of Bergen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location, fantastic food, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only real letdown is there were no doors to the bathroom - it was just a clear glass partition which really was not conducive to any sort of privacy. Also, we had some trouble with water pressure and temperature in the showers.

    Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people traveling to Bergen. The positives far outweigh the negatives. The location is very good - right on the Bryggen. The breakfast, afternoon waffles, and dinner that were included in the price were very good - great selections and quantities. The housekeeping department did a fabulous job of cleaning up after us and providing us with plentiful clean linens and towels. The quick tour we did up in the tower was a neat addition to our trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location and a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room looked into an alley and was across from an office building. It was very easy to see from one into the other, but besides blackout curtains, there were no other drapes or shades to allow light in while maintaining some privacy. If I wanted natural light I exposed the whole room to the offices. Rooms on the outside of the building are more private.

    The location was perfect, and it was very easy to walk to the main sights and attractions around the harbor. The complimentary daily breakfast and dinner, while nothing amazing, were good enough to help keep dining expenses down, and that really adds to the value of this hotel. Don't miss going up to the rooftop tower for a great view of the harbor.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    The best in central Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a hand rail for front entrance steps.

    Perfect location in old Bergen, with great breakfast and dinner buffet included. We had a handicapped room that was perfect to maneuver...and the role floor was heated! Also towel heater. All the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    great location, very nice and helpful staff, clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    reservation of paking didn't work, hair dryer worked just 1 min (room 611), Breakfast: poor quality products, only one type of coffee to choose, no pastries :(

    great location, very nice and helpful staff, clean room, good quality of WiFi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Great base in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal was included in the rate. This was good for the first evening as we arrived late. The cold cuts were fine but the hot meals were bland. we ate out on our second night.

    great location and atmosphere of a grand hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    We stayed at the Clarion Collection hotel Havnekontoret for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are small and not well laid out. The attitude of some of the staff.

    We stayed at the Clarion Collection hotel Havnekontoret for 4 nights. We booked “Superior Double Room”. On arrival we were greeted by Camilla who told us she had upgraded our room because we were staying for 4 nights. She also was quick to recommend her husband`s restaurant. When we went up to the room my wife and I could not believe what we saw. She had given us a room that was no larger than a box room. It was dark and dingy looking and the bathroom had a sliding glass door because there was not room for a hinged swing door. Nothing like the photographs of the room we originally booked. I went straight downstairs to reception and spoke to Camilla. I told her it was totally unacceptable and unless she moved me I will seek other accommodation. She gave a lame excuse that all hotel rooms in Norway were on the small side. I told her that may be the case but not when you are paying £173 a night. When she saw I was not buying into her lame excuse she said she will be able to move me to a “Deluxe Double Room”. This room was larger and had a nice view. However, the bathroom again had a glass sliding door and the distance from the bed to the toilet was only 3 feet or 1 metre. Apart from the episode we had with the room. We were happy with the rest of the hotel. The lounge was very comfortable and the hotel overall was clean. The breakfast was very good and the evening meal was adequate with no frills but when you look at the cost of eating out in Bergen it serves its purpose. The position of the hotel is excellent making it easy to get to the main attractions. Norway is not a cheap country but it is a beautiful country. We spent 5 hours on a Fjord cruise, a train trip through the mountains and I hired a car for 1 day so we could see the Norwegian countryside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    The best place to stay in quaint one-time Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk folks were extremely helpful and warm, like I had been coming to the hotel for years. June was like a friend to me. Lovely smiles and so gracious, but they all were.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location, large comfortable room, very helpful front desk staff. Good breakfast. Right on the harbor and easy walking distance to everything in Bergen. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Lovely old building, very well located near the Hanseatic Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waffle iron needed replacing. Food in the evening was mostly vegetarian with just a bit of meat.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Comfortable sitting area in lobby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.3
    Some of the worst hotel i have ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safety box in room, dark bathroom with poor light, small rack for luggage impossible to use. Hotel overbooked so they offer a worst room.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC Didnt work very well and with a harbor facing room not easy to keep the windows open. Room was a bit warm.

    Location was wonderful. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is beautiful and the tower lovely addition to be able to have the gorgeous views of the harbor. The hotel staff were very friendly and heldpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    A sunny day in Bergen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our boat arrival time got us to the hotel just as dinner was shutting down but they graciously kept the food out so we could grab a quick dinner which we very much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Free food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Breakfast, afternoon pancakes and buffet evening meal (one hot choice) every day. Saves us a lot when Norway is so eye wateringly expensive!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Great option for a stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very much overlooked by the office buildings behind.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, great selection of food and the ability to go up into the clock tower was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfy bed, good breakfasts, afternoon waffles and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a superior room but it was rather small. You had to unplug the telephone and electric appliances in order to close the curtain. No hooks for coats; no shower mat, no bathrobes. The bathroom curtains were damaged and dirty.

    Comfy bed, good breakfasts, afternoon waffles and good suppers - all complimentary. The relax space (gym, sauna, massage chair) is super. Very helpful & friendly staff. Situated next to Bryggen & surrounded by museums, lovely views , public transport and a stone's throw to the harbour. Splendid.The airport bus stops in front of the hotel - very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Stunning harbor views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, in spite of the excellent location, was a little small.

    Our 6th floor room had a wonderful view of the harbor . The elevators were very efficient. The hotel offers free waffles, tea and coffee in the afternoon, as well as a free buffet supper. There' s an impressive spa in the basement, which we didn't have time to try out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The rooms were spacious and the decor was lovely. The breakfast and dinner were excellent. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful with everything. It was a joy to stay here!! Position is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Good practical choice in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    See-through bathroom door - I don't want to watch my partner in the bathroom! Tourist coaches permanently blocking the main entrance to the hotel made for an uncomfortable arrival in pouring rain.

    Location was excellent, staff friendly, and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.5
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very late check in. Reception desk staff were hit and miss. Some really nice and helpful, some very poor and let the team down.

    Location is fantastic. Food was very good, much better than expected including the free evening meal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    Excellent staff at checkin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure on 6th floor in mornings wasn't the best, didn't prevent shower but was inconsistent

    Excellent staff at checkin. Rooms were very nice with modern bathrooms. Our view wasn't the best looking at office building, but these rooms had balcony unlike street side. Breakfast buffet was very good, saw the evening free light meal looked good but didn't eat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Loved the breakfast and dinner, the room was very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna/steam room/ shower in the relaxation area were set up in a weird way-there wasn't a way to not make the floor wet and slippery-ended up using many towels to safely go from sauna to shower so the floor didn't get wet. Would prefer women only sauna/shower area.

    Loved the breakfast and dinner, the room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff were really helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Third visit and hope to be back-we love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little problem with shower in the morning. The water ran out when washing my hair but came back again. Realize that lots of people using shower at the same time could be the cause.

    This was our third time at the Clarion. Beautiful location. Liked having access to coffee throughout the day especially if it is wet and cold, Waffles very welcome and thought standard of evening meals had improved. Staff very helpful and bus service to airport very convenient. A very comfortable and happy stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: