Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel With 4 stars

Sjøgata 35-37, 9291 Tromsø, Norway

#8 of 34 hotels in Tromsø

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a wonderful view from out room and the breakfast was excellent - my husband wanted "soft boiled" eggs and the eggs here were soft boiled - not almost hard boiled. I liked the fact that there was coffee all day. and wine was available for after dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests can store luggage in the luggage room before check-in or after check-out but bags are not individually tagged to guests.

    The location by the waterfront was stunning. The hotel also had quaint maritime-themed decor, signs with humour reminding guests about the facilities and how busy the breakfast area would be at different times. My room was comfortable. The hotel also provided excellent value for money. Other than the included breakfast, the room rate also included waffles in the afternoon and an evening meal. So, one could save on money for meals and instead spend it on attractions. I thought the evening buffet (a few hot and cold dishes and a soup each night) was very tasty and included enough options for a vegetarian. I actually preferred the dinner to the breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions. Overall, a great accommodation option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds (too) soft for people with (serious) back problems... Hooks on bathroom door would be nice to hang the bathrobe Lacking time did not get around using sauna and fitness area :-(

    Great location & view (superior room), cosy atmosphere (unlike in some of the big hotels)! Pleasant lounge, breakfast/dining area. Free waffles for tea & nice dinner. Rooms nicely de- corated and comfortable. Excellent value! Very close to all busses (incl. to airport),

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water in the shower never got hot enough, even if I told them after the first day.

    Exelent breackfast and other food. Room clean and beds comfy :-) Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything - wonderfully comfortable room with glorious harbour view. We were able to check in early (8.30am) at the end of our cruise and invited to have free coffee etc. There was a complimentary afternoon tea and even a complimentary light evening meal offered. Breakfast was delicious. The location was perfect - close to all the major attractions of this beautiful city. 10/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly tired, could do with some surface renovation.

    Perfect location. The large room with harbor view, where all kinds of smaller vessels arrive and depart. Charming and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family atmosphere throughout the hotel; daily breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner (one main course with no choice) included; water and coffee available all day for free; excellent views from the roof-level gym and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a little delay in getting our room deposit back to us, but when we contacted them about it they were very good about sorting the problem out.

    The food provided was of a really high quality - we were really surprised at how tasty all the dinners they put on were! The location is lovely and the rooms were simple but comfortable, with a gorgeous view of Mt Floya that made waking up a treat!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to mention.

    The location was ideal as we arrived on Hurtigruten ship and view across to Arctic Cathedral from front of Hotel excellent. Staff friendly, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked a deluxe double room with a sea view and were allocated room 601, it was fantastic. It was a large room on the top floor with spectacular views over the harbour. The room had everything for a great stay, a comfortable settee, king size bed, bathroom with underfloor heating with large walk in shower. Included in the price was complimentary tea, coffee and waffles available in the afternoon as well as an evening meal of fish,rice and a selection of salads. Really good value as eating out in Norway is extremely expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lamp on the table always truns off automatically after 2 mins turn-on.....very annoying when I would like to use laptop and write something. The water cooking-pot is very dirty(yellow-brown color inside).... Cleaness in the room and bathroom need to be improved

    24h Coffee, afternoon tea, breakfast and dinner included View from the window Direct in the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super comfortable, and the room was a lovely place to spend time. I was really impressed by the staff, who were relaxed and professional; and by the general sense of homely relaxation. The afternoon bake-your-own waffles were a masterful touch! I particularly appreciated the hotel's policy of responsible sourcing: lots of organic food, no products containing palm oil, fair trade coffee etc. If only more hotels took such an enlightened approach!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room lacked any cupboard space for clothes.

    The location is superb. All the staff were friendly and incredibly helpful. Their standard of English was immaculate. We most often met Ingrid at reception. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Whether we were enquiring about the local bus services or which "Northern Lights" web-sites to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was quite lukewarm, not hot enough. No storage space in the room. Not enough space to hang up things in the bathroom.

    Service was great - hotel staff were very helpful. All the food provided was good. Large comfortable room with all amenities. Great location, very central, with a lovely view overlooking the harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a gorgeous boutique hotel. It is in an awesome location and the design throughout is themed perfectly. Our view was of the bridge and Arctic church. They provide free waffles in the afternoon AND supper which is unheard of anywhere. Such a lovely cosy atmosphere. We would definitely come back and stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a superior room with big double bed and harbour view. On arrival at 7pm, we were told that we had a family room without view. When we told them this was not what we had booked they did not believe us so they checked our booking. The best they could give us was a twin room with a small window looking on to the harbour. Beware!

    Very comfortable bed and pillow. Friendly hotel. Good food. Amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fab position. Waterfront. Very close to where all the tours pic up. 2 mins walk. Free waffles in the afternoon and free light buffet dinner. As food VERY expensive this really makes a difference. Close to tourist information which has a HUGE selection of tours and can be cheaper than booking UK. Staff friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, waffles and dinner. Reception desk extremely helpful. We were made aware of opportunity to upgrade to water facing room on arrival which was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe have a 2nd waffle machine! But not a major concern.

    Great location and incredibly cozy. Everything is walking distance and the hotel itself is very nice and the staff very friendly. Get a harbour view if you can. With breakfast, afternoon waffles and dinner available it is a terrific service, especially since dining out can be very expensive! And it was tasty :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property food was really good and very friendly staff saw lights from the hotel very clean rooms and comfortable only thing is cash is only taken in very few places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 504 was a little too small for a week's stay, (would have been fine for just a couple of nights). It had limited storage space and no drawers. No power point next to both sides of bed. No mini bar/fridge.

    Make your own waffles available from 3 til 6pm, hot drink facilities available 24/7, all food was great, good breakfast selection and tasty evening meals, which were all self service,lounge and dining areas comfortable, helpful staff, great location overlooking harbour. Would definately return,but would request a different room to 504.😁

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Synthetic bedsheets.

    These are rooms with a view (at least at the Waterfrontside). Not the great luxury but very comfortable. The situation is very near to all other sights and places in Tromso.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some cabinet or more shelfs in room would be gooooood, winter clothes were everywhere...... :-)

    Good level of quality, 2 1/2 meals included in price ! (at booking reservation was only breakfast, but dinner and afternoon waffels are always included). If you have a rented car, make a parking lot booking in advance, there is only 10 places available for two Clarion hotels ( In dowtown of Tromso, there is no free parking, public ones are about 250-300NOK/day.)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed only had one pillow per person. No toiletteries other than the push boxes. Only room for one suitcase. Quite expensive for a middle class hotel.

    The hotel is in a great location, right by the water front. The afternoon waffles are really great, even though the restaurant/lounge area was very cold to sit in. The staff was friendly. It is nice ro have included dinner even though the quality was mediocre at best. Parking possibilities close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no shelves and only one small drawer in the room. This meant that everything had to be left in the case and clothing for the day taken out when needed.

    In the afternoon waffles were available to cook yourself and in the evening there was a simple cooked meal or salad available. Excellent if you didn't want to go out and find something to eat. As elsewhere in Norway food is expensive so this made the hotel a good find

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wet sauna was broken and not mentioned but all was perfect

    room was big enough, all clean, perfect location, hotel personal very efficient, food was great and the best is to include dinner and afternoon sweet buffet in the room price!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is amazing: it make you feel like in a boat and the seaview is really worth the extra price. We saw the aurora from our window. Complementary waffers are offered in the afternoon and there is also a light buffet at dinner time, plus tea, coffee and fruit available for free all day long. This was very handy especially when you're tired and it is cold outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely basic, with narrow beds and view on some containers in a back alley

    Free breakfast, afternoon waffles and dinner were highly appreciated and the common areas are pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location, a beautiful view of the harbor from our room (well worth upgrading to a room with a view), complimentary coffee & tea available throughout the stay, nice breakfast, complimentary Norwegian waffles at 3pm, nice complimentary supper when you don't feel like going out for dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel undoubtedly exceeded our expectations. The breakfast, the afternoon snack and the dinners were very good. The service of coffe machine during all day, it is really appreciated. The location and parking are perfect. We were in a room overlooking the harbour that was very comfortable. In conclusion, if we go back to Tromso, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks guys!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room light is too dark, especially when we check in on December when there's no sun for two months. Suggest to hair conditioner as dry weather in Tromso makes hair very difficult to manage.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Complimentary Breakfast and dinner good to serve the purpose.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Super comfortable bed and pillows. The service and cleanliness was excellent. We will definitely return, a great ambience and superbly located, we even saw the northern lights from the hotel !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for just 2 nights before we boarded the ferry to go to Kirkeness, the hotel is right on the harbour so couldn't have been better for us, we liked everything about it, we had a harbour view room, the staff were friendly, the food was good, very happy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet style food and availability of hot drinks was excellent. The staff made one feel that nothing was to much trouble and we're extremely friendly and helpful. Room was excellent, very clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel had a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have a bit more "consumables" in the bathroom of our room, like hair softener or body lotion for example.

    The waffles in the afternoon were really appreciated, as well as the small buffé for dinner (all included in the price). We also loved to spend some time in the sauna after a whole day out in the cold!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely relaxed atmosphere among friendly staff. Upgraded harbour view rooms well worth the extra payment. Waffles and evening meal a real bonus. Recommend this hotel to all but get the rooms with a view!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was tiny so i wouldnt call double just onenandahalf. The sauna area and the gym is small and would be nice upgrade.

    I loved the location of the hotel and it worth to upgrade baysview. The hotel is charming and friendly as the Staff as well. Clarion offers almost full board and has a good kitchen, so its vise to choose breakfast and Dinner @hotel Regarding to the norvegian prices. Besides You can drink tee and coffee all Day, wich is Priceless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's a considerable noise from people who've had too much alcohol and stagger passed the hotel along the dock. Generally noisy out the front.

    The bed was large and sublimely comfortable. Good heavy curtains (for when there are long daylight hours. There's also an amazing view of the harbour front, mountains and Polar Church. Tea, coffee and waffles are available for most of the day; breakfast is from 7 to about 11, then there's also an evening meal provided. All the food was scrumptious and first rate. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No closet for cloths

    Because Norway is very expensive it was a good idea to pay a little bit more for this hotel. Now we had free waffles as a lunch around 3 PM. And the light evening snack was enough for us to serve as diner. So you save money on lunch and diner. We had a great room with harbour view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just average. A little bit overrated in reviews. Quite old hotel. Noisy ventilation.

    Very nice add-on ; light dinner, free of charge. Good breakfast. Easy and fast check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a superior room but they put us in a standard twin - when we realised and challenged we were provided with a refund although not equal to the premium we appear to have paid on booking.com. Subsequently provided with a voucher for a free nights stay as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Light dinner was very disappointing as only one soup and main - no other choice at all.

    Clean rooms with great view (slightly smaller than I thought they would be so not really superior rooms), comfy beds and very quiet. Great central location with beautiful harbour view. Staff very helpful. Breakfast and afternoon waffles great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have also like to know that an evening meal would also have been available as we were not aware of that when booking and therefore could not enjoy it as we made sure to eat before we arrived at the hotel. I would like to STRONGLY REQUEST that the hotel staff ask guests whether they would like to be woken up if the Northern Lights can be seen from the hotel. The first night we arrived and checked in we were not asked to be woken up and due to having travelled a number of hours we had an early night. We had also booked an Aurora night tour for the following night so were hoping to see them then. However when we woke up we were informed that the Northern Lights could be clearly seen above the hotel the previous night and weather was so terrible for the rest of our trip that we completely missed them. That was my BIGGEST complaint. Another thing that we noticed is that there was aircon in our room as it was pretty cold. During the night I wore Winter Pjs and put blankets on my bed.

    We really enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and big and it was really great getting the waffles free in the afternoon. The staff were friendly and our room was always kept so clean and tidy. The location was also fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only problem was having to pay for parking. At least pay parking at the hotel was available. Other hotels in area do not have that.

    Great location. Very friendly staff. Rooms were exceptionally comfortable and clean. We had to leave early in morning before the dining room was open for breakfast. The chef prepared to meals to go for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Reception - friendly and caring. Rooms - comfy, spacious and warm with amazing views onto the harbour. Breakfast - can't fault it. Afternoon waffles and evening meal - a great addition for a snack and lovely choice of meals every night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had double bed and it was tiny. Confy but tiny. Only a suggestion. It would be nice a 24 hr open sauna-after the failed northen light hounting would be nice sit and relax.

    Clarion Staff is absoulutely the most friendly and warmth Staff i ever met! Everybody Smiles and Helps and ansvers even the stupidest question u have :) They even given us northen light watching place advice in Tromso! The hotel is very well located and the sight to the harbour is lovely. The hotel was clean, like a 5star hotel. I must say the meal offer wich is included (breakfast, lunch-waffle, and Dinner) is a very good chance to save Money, cos meal is Pricey!!! and the kitchen cooks delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The automatic sensor in the toilet that switches off the light too soon. Annoying.

    This hotel has the best quality/price I EVER saw in 39 years of traveling. Nice stuff, breakfast, waffles with coffee and free dinner. I am still surprised all that was included, with sea view... amazing and hope to return soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! We were very happy.

    Location was absolutely ideal, food was always good. Complimentary waffles are a lovely touch and the staff were incredibly friendly and informative. This place was an absolute GEM!! Our trip could not have been improved in any way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not tidy, I found the same dust and the same garbage from the day before. For example one package form japanese pills stay in the same place when I arrived until I left and in theory they cleaned. The smell if the sheets was not really like a new pair of sheets and a lot dust under the bed .

    The room was lovely, the food really good, the breakfast, the waffles and the dinner. The size of the room was really good and the view fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great

    I had the BEST room on the top floor with the most incredible view - seriously good. I cannot rave enough about this hotel (see earlier comments on another visit). It is my new hotel in Tromso!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shelves to put clothes

    The hotel was on a great location. Our room had a lovely view over the harbour and was very comfortable. We also liked the opportunity to have a light evening meal that was part of our package

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't complain about anything.

    It was a great stay. The location is perfect - right at the shoreline. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free afternoon waffles are excellent - you prepare them yourself, so they can't be any fresher.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is non existent. No valet service and I was forced to walk many blocks to find parking. The hotel offered no help. I am a senior citizen and walking is very difficult.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to drink and no water heater in the room.

    I could check in very earlier (might have been around 11:00). The breakfast was great. The tea time with waffles and the dinner are also included. Because the dinner started at 18:00, I could take it before northern lights tour. It was delicious. Very good access to every sightseeing spot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing!

    I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The staff were amazing - super helpful and efficient and friendly. My luggage was lost in transit and they were just amazing with their assistance. The value is fantastic as you also get breakfast and dinner included in the cost. And the location is unbelievable - right on the waterfront and close to all shopping and transport. Just a perfect stay all round :). If you are lucky you will be able to see the Northern lights from your room!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Coffee all day, free waffles for afternoon tea, great breakfast, fresh fruit and free dinner every night. Also the view from our harbour view room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous room (603) on the top floor with a view to the bay. Spacious and nice decor. Really comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Breakfast was a buffet with a good selection. Staff was very friendly. Parking is not close unless there is a spot at the Clarion hotel across the street (there is a fee).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd give breakfast a 7/10, there could be more selection but what they had was fresh and tasty.

    Afternoon waffle bar! Evening dinner didn't have a large variety of choices but the food that was served was of a very good quality and tasty. The staff were very helpful. It's a wonderful looking hotel. With a boat/sea theme it's easy to get things that look like Guilligan's Island but not this hotel. The decorations are all very classy, like old pictures with descriptions or a part of a boat with information about that boat. The look of the interior hallways even feel a little like you are on board a ship.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service could be improved. The room was usually cleaned in the late afternoon around 2.30pm making difficult for us to get back in the room after been out all morning. Also basic clean, no dusting or hoovering.

    Excellent location, Lovely room and beautiful view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be appropriate if the price of wine could be lowered by half so that one could enjoy an otherwise modest bottle of wine with their dinner.

    Breakfasts, noon waffles and dinners were wide choice, nicely presented, and more than satisfying.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First they give us room on 2.floor which was like everyone can see in yourroom. Asked to change ,then after some discussion got on 3. floor which was better.

    Location , Waffles in afternnon , evening meal offer. Tea coffee all thetime available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside entrance to the hotel looked very dirty and plants beside entrance looked half dead.. it didn't look terribly welcoming..I thought oh no I've picked a grotty hotel..

    Location .. and the food provided for guests was fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While room was quite clean in the hygienic sense, some of the fixtures could have been repainted, refurbished, or given a deep cleaning.,

    Harbor views are breathtaking. I loved the nautical decoration throughout the hotel. Meals were a great value. I loved the attentiveness of the staff in keeping the dining area clean and well-appointed. Afternoon waffles were a treat. One of the biggest advantages of the hotel was its central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready when we were told it was, but a wander around the shops and back to the hotel gave enough time for an alternative room to be allocated

    Lovely breakfast, waffles available each afternoon, great buffet dinner. Tea, coffee and hot choc available 24 hrs a day and also a kettle and fridge in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    External decor starting to decline a bit. See past this as the hotel inside is great.

    Good food for an inclusive package. Covered porch opening onto harbour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are rather small. Sea view would have been great -- unfortunately I forgot to order this in my reservation.

    When we arrived in the afternoon it was waffle time & and when we returned from a stroll around the neighborhood in the evening, a free dinner was available. Together with the excellent breakfast this makes a full board. Nice surprise :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room overlooked the water and even though I thought that I had fully paid for this room with a water view before I left for my trip overseas I was asked to pay an extra 600 Norwegian when I arrived at the hotel, to have a room with a water view.

    The view from my room overlooked the water and the room was spacious and well appointed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was nice

    Free waffles from 3pm to 6pm and dinner is included in your stay from 6pm onward we didn't know about it till we got there. it was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing, in our view, that could be improved.

    Breakfast was excellent. Lovely room and very comfortable bed. Had a good evening meal within the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny and the thermostat on the heater did not seem to work making it very uncomfortable to sleep. Seemed like there were several better looking hotels nearby that cost about same. I've stayed in much nicer motels. For close to $300/night it's a pretty terrible value.

    Having free dinner was nice, nothing amazing but got the job done.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No drawer space for clothes One time they forgot to clean my room. I went to the reception and they sent someone to clean it immediately. Didn't replenish toilet paper Cleaning staff need some direction. They clean well but forget some things.

    Good location Lovely food The hotel was very clean The staff in kitchen were very kind,attentive and polite. The tables were cleaned very quickly I love the view I would stay in this hotel again if I come back to Tromso.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved the idea of the waffle machine in the afternoon but there was only one machine which meant some days you had to queue for over half an hour, its such a shame because everything else in the hotel gets top marks.

    The hotel, the location, the rooms, the food are all excellent. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Tromso.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The superior room was still quite small, and there were no drawers or cabinets to store clothes! Also, the double bed was quite small for 2 people.

    The good breakfast, the view, the location, the smiling staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice clean and comfortable hotel in a great location on the waterfront. Easy stroll to where most of the tours depart from. Bonus is the free evening meal and afternoon waffles served in the meals area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Moderate Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was quite high for this type of hotel. It is shown in booking that there is an airport shuttle service, but it is misleading, because in reality what happens is that the hotel it is near to the airport buses stops.

    The room was cosy and comfortable and the location was very good. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Clarion Collection Hotel With traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: