Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden 4 stars

Tollbugaten 43, 3044 Drammen, Norway

#1 of 4 hotels in Drammen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Really comfortable room, quiet and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 1 out of the 3 buffet meals included in my visit were to my taste - the lack of choice was disappointing. More options on the main courses at least should be provided. Some cobwebs on the ceiling of the room by the window should be cleaned off.

    Really comfortable room, quiet and relaxing. All the staff are friendly and happy to help. The internet worked perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Not bad, but could've been better with just a little more attention to details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just okay. On first glance it looks good, but on a second look you start seeing some bad details. The room was quite clean, but not perfectly clean; the neighbourhood wasn't bad, but not so good either.

    The breakfast was really good. Enough to choose from and good quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    very good value as offers a stay outside Oslo (but close enough to commute if needed)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appeared to be a staff shortage, those on site appeared to struggle. Windows need some voiles to maintain privacy.

    The evening meal and breakfast was excellent quality and value (was included in price) Car parking below hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    A group of bus travelers from Russia with VERY bad maners, especially at the breakfast buffets. They where all over, taking food, putting it back at the buffet again and stood eating allover the area. Disgusting.

    The room was spacious and quiet. The restaurant fine, the included meal was OK. The breakfast superfine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast and evening meal buffet were good and included in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    room and bed fairly basic and décor a bit old.

    Breakfast and evening meal buffet were good and included in the room rate. very simple/efficient and friendly check in and check out process

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    breakfast and dinner are included in the room rate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    limited parking space in the area and parking garage of the hotel needs to be paid extra.

    breakfast and dinner are included in the room rate. nice rooms and meal selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast, nice room
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like that you have to pay for parking your car even if the hotel owns a parking space wich is more expensive than if you choose to park your car near the hotel in a parking space.

    Good breakfast, nice room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean, good food , great selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room over the restaurant was noisy. Next time I'd choose a room on an upper floor.

    Comfortable and clean, good food , great selection. The 'on the house' dinner was an excellent bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    a room totally has not isolation from street noise, it’s...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    a room totally has not isolation from street noise, it’s perfect hearing all night riding trains, cars. If you have an important meeting in the morning, be ready to be without sleep, ask to accommodate you in garden side of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Short but good stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minuss was when we arrived we got a room that it was very cold and heating didn't work..Went down to reception 2 times and only on second time they said that they will contact headquarters to fix it but other then that cant do anything..I explained that its too cold and we did order one of the best rooms in hotel..So then receptionist Thomas offered to give us heater but to be honest you dont book superior room to get a heater there..So i expressed my toughts about that and then Thomas offered to give us a different room..And the other room was nice,warm and everything else like it supposed to be..That was the only issue and overall the staff was nice and polite.

    The Superior room and bathroom was great,very clean and spotless.. Housekeeping deserves a 5 stars..Breakfast and dinner was awesome,big choice and very tasty..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.2
    By the train is usually not a good location, but the hotel and free food almost all day was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location: we walked briskly from the train tracks at night, not as bad in the day.

    The hotel was great; nice staff, comfy room, full door on the showers, and free food almost all day (late night soup was excellent).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stop over in Drammen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets looked in need of a cleaning

    Friendly and good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Very frenly personnel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very frenly personnel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and modern room . Very nice breakfast too .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A picture in the room would have been nice .

    Very clean and modern room and a very nice breakfast . Great location too .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    I will find another less expensive place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    high cost

    very private

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    everything was very comfortable and good 😀
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was very comfortable and good 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, nice staff, amazing breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok - nothing special

    Breakfast is amazing - so is the dinner...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Definitely will come back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, well run, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath, only shower, no coffee making facilities in room

    Friendly staff, great location, big room, great TV !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Free evening meal and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free evening meal and very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Exellent!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Evening food and breakfast was perfekt and I did upgrade the room, loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    room service was an absolute hit

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotell with good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking for hotel guests.

    Good beds and good beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    when in this area, will go there again. friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Evening meal included in room price and comfortable seating...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the station not very pleasant.

    Evening meal included in room price and comfortable seating areas. Free hot drinks available 24hrs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stay in not so interesting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated but still perfectly acceptatble!

    The food was very good and the staff was most friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Very cosy and confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diners ends at 21h. Should end at 22h

    Very cosy and confortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Great place, will return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was large, bed comfy, breakfast great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.1
    No croissants, but Breakfast Buffet fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inclusive evening buffet very limited with hot food. If you decide to dine out elsewhere there is NO CREDIT against not dining at the hotel. Bit mean we thought especially as we are pensioners. We did try to negotiate, but there was zero flexibility. None of the advertised satellite TV's existed.

    No croissants, but Breakfast Buffet fine. Nice rooms Good fridge & coffee machine.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.3
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea making facilites in the room-booking.com has wrong info!!! Cheap one ply toilet paper Loud ventillation system for light sleepers

    The staff was amazing!!!! All of them!!!!! So kind and nice people it really made my stay much better. I checked in 14.30 and the room was ready. I asked for a quiet room and they gave me the last handicap one, which was nice and quiet but the ventillation system ws too loud so as a light sleeper i woke up a lot. For the second night i switched rooms. You can make ur own waffel between 3pm-5.45pm. Tea and coffee available 24/7 Dinner is between 6-9pm and they serve soup, salad and first day it was pasta and the second day taco. Breakfast is reach and yummy food. Overall it was good. Gym and sauna available 24/7. They have like 5-6 machines.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff, excellent dining.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Separate beds when we booked a double bed. We did complain and we got another room which was smaller. In the end we settled for the bigger room with separate beds.

    Friendly staff, excellent dining. Breakfast and dinner were both included and were very good. They hosted a quiz night for the guests which was a nice personal touch. The basement garage was great too but initially I didn't know about it and ended up parking next door in a company car park.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    This place was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This place was amazing! The staff did every thing to please me. My first room for the deluxe room seemed small but it was my fault they gave me the balcony I requested the nice girl went out of her way and took me to 2 other rooms I loved the one with the sofa and bed. At first I was disappointed it seemed alittle out of the way well that was gone in 10 min. Everything was walking distance and they feed you breakfast waffles in mid afternoon and dinner I saved so much money here and feel like a beer front desk has that on Tap. As for the staff wow. The young guy whose parents were from Vitnam and the sweet women with short blonde hair who so kindly took me to other rooms in America they would of told me not so nice things and then the front desk over night man always with a smile and my sweet front desk girl from Serbia taught me a little pepper in hot tea does wonders for a cold she was so right. And I thank her. The staff at this hotel was special and amazing and thank you for giving me such a wonderful stay. This by far is the best hotel in Drammen or Oslo THANK YOU!!!!Ill be back soon. Room 261 rocks!!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service, suitable for kids, nice gym with mostly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking space in cellar is narrow and costs extra.

    Excellent service, suitable for kids, nice gym with mostly operable equipment, fine location. We got a free evening meal which was very convenient for our family.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    We essentially wound up in Drammen by accident and booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We essentially wound up in Drammen by accident and booked here at the very last minute. The hotel was clean and reasonably priced, although the neighborhood it was in felt a bit desolate. In general, it was average. But I doubt you'll find much better in Drammen.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    I just love this hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Have to pay for the parking now.

    I just love this hotel; the staff are great and the decor in the superior rooms is lovely and cosy! The free supper is a massive plus and breakfast is great, with masses of choice.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.9
    Not quite the riverside hotel we had imagined after staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not quite the riverside hotel we had imagined after staying in Stavenger and Haugasund. They claimed the food would be better, but it wasn't and they had no idea what was gluten free and what wasn't.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and informative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and informative. Breakfast and evening meal included and to a really good standard. So nice to be able to have coffee and waffles in the afternoon also

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    The staff and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One reason why I always stay here was the free underground parking with free car wash facilities. But now they have started charging for the parking and the car wash facility was not working on this trip. Pity really.

    The staff and the food. I arrived an hour after dinner was over but the kitchen staff still were able to serve some excellent food at 10 pm

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.9
    Staff are excellent - cook even ensured all was good by...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower head damaged Outside hotel is plain and depressing Directions to hotel - I did not see air Conditioning not so adjustable left the room a bit cold for a solo traveller

    Staff are excellent - cook even ensured all was good by asking each day Cleanliness Food very good Value for money Only hotel to stay in Drammen others disappointing

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    close to the town center
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    very close to railway and one of main street, so it is not quiet place

    close to the town center

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Comfort, the complimentary dinner and the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The train station is close and sometimes the trains can be heard

    Comfort, the complimentary dinner and the friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    I stay here all the time for the reason that the staff are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stay here all the time for the reason that the staff are great and helpful, the property I think is the best in Drammen also

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    room, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    room, food

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very helpful staff. Big clean room. Great breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    breakfast and dinner (wonderful buffet)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast and dinner (wonderful buffet)

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: