Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Clarion Hotel Tyholmen 4 stars

Teaterplassen 2, 4836 Arendal, Norway

#2 of 4 hotels in Arendal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    totaly relaxing enviroment..made a week seem like two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really we have no complaints..

    beds were very comfy.. breakfast was really good loads of food and coffee ect and loads of time to enjoy it lovely views from all windows...staff very helpful and pleasant.nothing was too much trouble we will definatley be staying therer again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel in a good location with stunning views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the shower really wasn’t great. We didn’t get the room we ordered on booking.com; our “superior room” faced the wall of another building.

    Pleasant hotel in a good location with stunning views from the restaurants. Breakfast was great. Rooms were pleasant. Parking right outside for a reasonable fee although limited spaces. There seemed to be a parking garage but didn’t find info about this in advance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location, and breakfast at Tyholmen Hotel, Arendal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had carpets, not hardwood floors, affecting air quality. The interior was dated, and had seen better days, but will be renovated in 2018. It was very cold inside, and it was very easy to see how to regulate the heat.

    Very good & substantial breakfast. Not often you get fresly made omelet on a Norwegian hotel breakfats buffet. Very new and modern bathroom. Great view from my room. Had two sets of windows, one facing the harbour, the other the old town and the beautiful church. Absolutely fantastic bed. Great with water kettle so you can make your own coffee before breakfast. Great wifi!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful waterfront hotel, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't have hoped for a better view and the rooms are super comfortable. Staff are warm, kind and professional and everything runs like clockwork.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking was difficult to find.

    Lovely location. Nice hotel. Spacious and comfortable room. Good breakfast. Only stayed one night, would have been happy to stay longer - would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    As friendly as coming home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is fabulous. Rooms with a seaview is great, staff is marvellous and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Nothing really except one of our rooms was not cleaned before we checked in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    A room with a view!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu in restaurant could have been a little more vegetarian-friendly.

    Room was pleasant and comfortable. Bed linens were very very nice silky good quality cotton. Nice view on water side of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    already commented on my last review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    none

    already commented in my last review

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything perfect even the staff fight against the ants at the juice station.

    check in on arrival allthough it was 8 am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautifull hotel with view on the water. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice room with view On the water Great breakfast Clean Friendly Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent for business and vacation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking space around. You have to pai during day.

    Excellent direct on the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Perfect i beautiful hotel! Hight quality, bautiful place, profesional staff, delicous food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -----

    Greit place, fantastics Staff,delicous food, quality perfect!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really..

    Very good breakfast...Excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and View

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location and lovely views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a central location and is very comfortable. The restaurant was nice and the breakfast buffet choices were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.5
    Mangler lading for el-bil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mangler lading for el-bil

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Perfect location in Arendal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable beds, nice staff and perfect location! 😄

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Great location and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we disliked.

    Great location and helpful staff; good choice of breakfast items; beautiful views from the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    8.8
    being near the town centre and adjacent to the little ferry...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    being near the town centre and adjacent to the little ferry terminal, there is a fair amount of noise (diesel engines, people etc). To be expected, really, and I love taking the ferries so I can't complain too much.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.9
    Location and views of the fjord were fabulous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant drinks prices were too high but this is fairly typical of Norway in general.

    Location and views of the fjord were fabulous. Restaurant meal very good but wine very highly priced. Bedroom was very comfortable and well equipped. Reception staff were very friendly and readily offered coffee while I was waiting for the airport bus to depart.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    The views were amazing, staff really friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking could be a pain but knew that before hand.

    The views were amazing, staff really friendly and the quality of the breakfast was worth waking up for alone.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    We had an exceptional view of the sea from our room the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We had an exceptional view of the sea from our room the minute we stepped into the room and added to that the room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    The friendly staff, the complimentary warm drinks on arrival...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly staff, the complimentary warm drinks on arrival, the beautifully decorated and comfortable rooms and the view! an incredible setting.The breakfast and the restaurant are fantastic. I am looking forward to returning in a few weeks. Simply fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not many facilities although had a gym elsewhere

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel with great sea views.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No business facilities to print paperwork out.

    Nice hotel with great sea views. Nice area

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    The room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room with a view

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.3
    Nice facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff need proper uniforms, Much to long queue in front of the buffet in the evening meal.

    Nice facilities

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.3
    right next to harbour.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing.

    right next to harbour. food excellent diner and breakfast staff attentive and resolved issue with room

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    The view of the harbor was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would like a little more charm in the rooms.

    The view of the harbor was incredible. The location was great. Delicious breakfast in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    The view
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The view

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    We looked right over the water and so it felt like we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We looked right over the water and so it felt like we were on a cruise ship. The room was immaculate and the beds were great.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.2
    Good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good service!:)

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Paying for car parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paying for car parking

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unable to stay longer...

    Everything was great. Fantastic view from my room.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Clarion Hotel Tyholmen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: