Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Storgata 108b, 2615 Lillehammer, Norway

#1 of 12 hotels in Lillehammer

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 639 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location on the main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast needs more choice. Need more seating areas for breakfast and evening. Paying for parking.

    Nice location on the main street. Nice comfortable rooms. Nice to have desserts and evening snack. Good to have radiators to dry clothes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    7.9
    Cozy hotel with nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no fridge in the room, nor kettle. The carpet in the room was dirty. The breakfast was below average: very little variety and choice (one type of cheese, no breakfast rolls, no biscuits / cakes, no porridge).

    The evening meal was quite nice. There was enough variety for vegetarians, too. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.2
    Overall a nice place in a good location👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some closed stairwells and had to carry luggage to some areas of the 4th floor from 3rd floor

    Friendly staff with great location. Nice breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not very big. Not very small either but certainly not very big.

    Very good evening meal and breakfast, very accommodating staff also. The hotel is situated very close to the town centre and also within walking distance of the train and bus station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    7.5
    Good Location, friendly staff, room clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food (Dinner and Breakfast included in room rate) was average. Not enough tables and chairs for all the guests. Setup was more like in a cantine then in a hotel. Most staff of young people were willing and polite but mostly inexperienced. We think this Hotel has a management problem.

    Good Location, friendly staff, room clean and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    7.1
    BAD DINNER, GOOD BREAKFAST, BAD VIEWS FREE PARKING OUTSIDE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner included in half board was worthless, if you are vegetarian do not eat there. Anyway they offered only chicken drums, salad, cuscus and bread and fruit, only the fruit and the bread was tasty. The recepcionist when we arrived to the hotel was not so profesional laughing at our requests or questions to her. We had a litle fridge in the room but was not working. The views from the room were not good, just to another rooms, we had to have the courtains all day closed to have some privacy. The double bed for two people is small.

    Wifi was good. Room was clean and spacious and breakfast was quite ok. The hotel is nice decorated and cosy. You can park free in the street just outside the hotel from 5 p.m to 9 a.m (they do not offer this in the description). There is lift.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    6.3
    central located hotel with astronomically overprised alcohol
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no mini-bar in the room, nor a cosy bar in the hotel. Alcohol is only sold in the reception. The alcohol is astronomically overpriced. A beer starts around 10-12 euros/ 100 kr, a bottle of wine starts for around 400 kr (wines that do not have a value over 2-3 euros). No coffee fascilites in the room. Not very good coffee in total. the style of the room and bathroom is not very modern, but still ok. The double bed was 2 beds put together instead of one double bed, which resulted in the beds slipping apart by movement. I was hoping for a bit more choices for vegetarians for the evening meal and for breakfast. No coffee fascilites in the room. Not very good coffee in total.

    Its nicely located in the Storgata which is (the only) shopping central shopping street of Lillehammer. Easy to locate and easy to check-in. Fairly ok looking hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had some disruptions with the wifi, but only used it a little bit, so hard to tell if there's a pattern to it.

    Nice quiet hotel just 5-10 min walk from the train station. Right on the main pedestrian street, but towards the far end of it, just enough far away from the last noisy pubs. Don't get the wrong impression from the 2-story wooden facade on Google maps - it's bigger on the inside. Nice room, not too spacious, but perfectly OK for a short stay. Got a twin room instead of a double, but the beds are actually wider than you would normally get in a twin setup and very comfortable to sleep in (loved the extra-large pillows). Also, cakes in the afternoon and especially the included buffet dinner are what really makes this one stand out. Would totally stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    9.2
    The hotel exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not easy for us to find the parking garage. Doors in the rooms are very difficult to open (heavy doors and door closers).

    Tasty and diversified breakfast as well as dinner in the evening. Very good location. Friendly personnel. The hotel exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    I highly recommend the Clarion in Lillihammer, it is unassuming outside but inside it is quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I tried to reduce my stay by one day on booking.com it allowed me to do it for my sisters room but not my room, it was very frustrating as the website said it was accepted but when I checked the email it was the original 4 days, I booked both rooms. Christina didn't charge me for the extra day, she was amazing and understanding.

    Christina at the counter was amazing, great personality and gave us good advice on where to do our laundry.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    9.6
    Just what we needed, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, good local knowledge with helpful suggestions of where to visit. Room was very comfortable, nice décor throughout, 'light supper' offered a lot of choice and was delicious. After a day of walking it was lovely to come back to a welcoming cup of tea/coffee and a waffle!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, but bed too small and extra charges for baby bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have expected the baby bed, which we asked for later after our arrival, to be free of charge but it wasn't. Usually our kid can sleep in our bed but the double bed was smaller than expected. When we asked if we could have a room with a tub instead of a shower (because our 2-year-old doesn't go into the shower yet) we were changed into a room on a different floor, which was much older than the room we were booked in before. Also the double bed was even smaller than the one we had in the previous room! Way too small for two adults!! Therefore it would have been nice to at least get the baby bed free of charge. Unfortunately, the walls are obviously very thin, there was lots of noise on the hallway so we woke up several times during the night.

    The food that was offered was free and delicious. Absolutely fresh, we would therefore book here again because it was perfect for our one-night stop in Lillehammer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, good food and coffee. Gym and sauna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sehr nette Atmosphäre, gutes Essen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.3
    Staff in the dining area was very friendly and welcoming!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in the dining area was very friendly and welcoming!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was terrible apart from breakfast. Did not cater for children

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.1
    Lack of A/C in room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of A/C in room. Slim beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    10
    Recommend to take the dinner served by this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommend to take the dinner served by this hotel. Worth it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    10
    Excellent location comfortable rooms friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The complimentary evening meal was excellent Tesla charging v welcome! Thanks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent accommodations. Meals fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    7.9
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed's upper madrases moving and throwing me down to floor

    Quitness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.3
    Noisy air conditioning that cannot be controlled on room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy air conditioning that cannot be controlled on room level; rather pricy for what's offered

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    5.8
    Pricey hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms have poor standard not worth the cost of 1685 Nok. Thin walls tou hear people speaking next door.

    Good parking outside hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    7.5
    Good location, OK hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    Starts looking a bit worn down

    Good location, OK hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    friendly, comfortable, well situated and good prize
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and friendly place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.8
    Real poor breakfast without porridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Real poor breakfast without porridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.6
    Great stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pay for parking.

    Very comfortable, great breakfast and evening meal. Staff very smiley.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good evening meal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    8.8
    Staff were grea, facilities were good, breakfast and dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a mildly offensive smell coming from the shower drain.

    Staff were grea, facilities were good, breakfast and dinner were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    10
    breakfast great , staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast great , staff helpful. teas /coffee always available

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved it here. Lovely clean tidy rooms. We had the superior room and had a balcony and had pleasant views of the mountains! Food was fabulous too!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    9.2
    Room, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room, breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    8.8
    Good for a one night stop over on a road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Near a parking lot, but it would be expensive to stay there with a car for more than one night.

    Right in the centre of town and the food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    10
    We know where to live next time we are coming to Lillehammer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of fruit and vegetables.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    2.5
    Forced into eating dinner at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Forced into eating dinner at the hotel. Food was awful. Very expense for very little.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    8.3
    Our Go-2-Place in Fredrikstad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking is expensive

    we had a great room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    10
    Clarion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great stopover between andalsnes and Oslo. Includes afternoon waffles and evening meal so complete value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    10
    Extra evening meal was included in the room price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra evening meal was included in the room price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    10
    Nice stay in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The scrambled eggs were tasteless

    Breakfast was OK, but a little boring..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely comfortable hotel in central Lillehammer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor disruptions due to hotel upgrades. Didn't affect us much as our room was on the top floor.

    Lovely comfortable hotel in central Lillehammer. Easy access from Bus and Train station

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    7.1
    We reserved a superior room but it didn't have elevator...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We reserved a superior room but it didn't have elevator to the floor. We took a regular room that was very basic although the price is not low. Loud noise of renovation in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    10
    the delicious waffles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The construction in progress. Our window was obscured by tarps and workmen clanked noisily over the metal walkways outside our window each morning.

    the delicious waffles! The friendly & helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    8.3
    Hotel is located in downtown, close to the shopping area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a room at 4th floor. No direct access by elevator. Avoid to take heavy luggage with you if you get a room on 4th or 5th floor. Very limited parking places in front of the hotel. There are other possibilities on other streets close to the hotel. The space for breakfast is quite limited. We were there during summer, hotel was full and a lot of people for breakfast. There was a chance not to find a table.

    Hotel is located in downtown, close to the shopping area. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    7.1
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Construction workers started at 730 with drilling Breakfast average Little space in breakfast room. Additional dining room down the hall Dinner below average not much choice Desert was strawberry soup wich was very below average

    Parking Free coffee Staff

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    9.2
    Except problem with parking everything else is just grate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You will have to pay for the parking and find a place where to park by your own.

    Except problem with parking everything else is just grate. Good quality for the money that you pay. Especially good idea was to have small place where you can eat 24/7. Except free tea and coffee you'll be able to get fruits and pancakes not even mentioning that the dinner is already included in the price. Concerning the fact that food in Norway is over priced in 2-3 times this may really help you. Room and bathroom were very clean. Location of the hotel is in the center of the city.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    7.9
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not warned that we would be in a basement room with scaffolding and building work going on at window.

    Location good. Staff friendly. Room was big. Wifi fast and was throughout the hotel.

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    7.9
    The room I stayed in was clean, fresh, comfortable and well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Due to renovation the view was not optimal.

    The room I stayed in was clean, fresh, comfortable and well maintained. Beds were of good quality and slept well. Curtains were keeping the light out during the nights of these long days!

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    2.9
    Nothing at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything We received one towel in the room And when asking for a second one the girl kind of argued I die not look Well...dinner was included but the the proposed buffet was extremely poor in choice..slices of chicken And slices of cheese as a starter And one fishplate. Only Bread. And to finish kind of badtasting cake...all this for 200 euro for one night, just one hotel to avoid. They did not mention there are important rebuildings going on so sleeping later than 7am was also impossible

    Nothing at all

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2015

    7.1
    Hotel room was ok, allthough price was quite high if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is too bad the elevator only went to the 3rd floort (reception is at 2nd). Our room was at 5th floor at the far end of the building so it was heavy and a longwalk to get al the language up.

    Hotel room was ok, allthough price was quite high if you look at the room size. Free evening meal and breakfast were average.

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    5.0
    The location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really geared up for tourism. Bordering on xenophobic. Hardly any info in English. Reception staff insincere and not forthcoming with information. Fail to see how this hotel is No 1 in Lillehammer. We had high expectations and were disappointed.

    The location of the hotel. Inclusive evening meal.

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    9.2
    Lovely ambience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lovely ambience..

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    10
    Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    10
    Evening buffet and afternoon waffles included in the price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Evening buffet and afternoon waffles included in the price, awesome!

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2016

    8.8
    Small nice, quiet hotel with dinner in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were lacking of play room for kids.

    Small nice, quiet hotel with dinner in the city center. Like it!

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    8.8
    In spite of the reconstruction work everything was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In spite of the reconstruction work everything was well functioning. Free dinner is a generous gesture.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel and the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    the noise for the remodeling

    The hotel and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable & the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is remodeling so there was a lot of construction noise & interior detours

    The room was very comfortable & the staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.8
    Very nice and helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and helpful receptionist. in the afternoon they offered the guests to make waffles and it was very nice. The Wi-fi was great.

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    10
    Breakfast was included in price and was better than average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was included in price and was better than average. The hotel is centrally located and a short walking dustance to stores.

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    7.9
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were very small.

    Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator to 5th Floor.

    Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2015

    7.5
    It had everything we required for a comfortable stay plus it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not thing

    It had everything we required for a comfortable stay plus it was in a great spot.

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2015

    8.3
    All OK particularly the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extensive renovations underway so some disruptions to normal service. The buffet dinner was very poor.

    All OK particularly the location.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    9.6
    Location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Remodelling of the hotel in progress.

    Location; Bus, Train,Restaurants,Grocery stores within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2015

    8.8
    the staff was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms and bathrooms are a bit old!

    the staff was amazing

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2015

    10
    The brilliant atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The brilliant atmosphere Good food. Flexibility

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: