Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of GamlaVaerket Hotel 4 stars

St. Olavsgata 38, 4306 Sandnes, Norway

#3 of 7 hotels in Sandnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 249 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, at the sea side, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Nice hotel near the water. Friendly staff, good and clean room. Free WiFi. Breakfast was also good. Highly recommended. It is a 10 minute walk to the island next to the hotel, that is a recreation area. Very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy during the early hours as room backed onto high street.

    Comfy bed.very central.Good selection of food at breakfast. Lovely restaurant food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Slightly disappointing, but generally ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of room, dangerous electricity cable, facilities, lack of tv channels, no room service, noise from train nearby.

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Staff and hotel is the best in Sandnes, maybe even the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and hotel is the best in Sandnes, maybe even the whole area in general, especially Manuel the hotel manager absolutely fantastic person and made the stay so nice with his positive approach and playing with our two daughters and they loved him. Food is great, service is great just can’t say enough. Location is perfect with train and taxis just around the corner. We will come back for sure👍👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    A good hotel in a nice and cozy setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were very soft and worn down on each side of the double bed.

    The location was perfect, very central and close to the train station. Just a few minutes by train to the center of Stavanger. Large and beautiful rooms. Beware to turn the AC on and the heat in the bathroom on as well. The lounge area going through the building like a narrow street is very nice as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    2.9
    not comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel does not have the basics, like a reception person to call if you have any question, wait there is no even a phone in the room. The reception is taking care by the bar girls. The mattress was too old. Also, no parking.

    It is close to the shopping centers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, rooms not so clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletteries in room. Quite seldom now a days.

    The rooms were nice furnished, but unfortunately not so clean. The windows was extremely dirty, and the shower cabinet could also get an extra attention from the cleaning staff. My husband and I were staying for 1 night in this historic, nice-buildt hotel. The staff were very friendly and service minded. The breakfast buffet was very well composed with all you could desire a Sunday morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.1
    Location and general feel of the hotel is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    House keeping is HORRIBLE! Did not wipe the floors every day, did not collect the trash from the room everyday, changed the sheets only once (probably) during my 2 week stay.

    Location and general feel of the hotel is good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    5.0
    Interesting but tired hotel - stay in the modern part
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The older part of the hotel is looking dated and a bit scruffy and needs a repaint, so stay in modern part. Beds not made or room cleaned on 3rd day (staff shortage). As a hotel it could be a lot better run. Long term parking a bit problematic during the day.

    Interesting collection of old buildings. Good bar, good restaurant, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.3
    Cool old building and amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Have to pay for parking. Also our room was adjacent to the street and train station which was not too loud when the windows were closed. But the room was a bit warm, so we had to open the windows which made it a bit noisy.

    Amazing breakfast, comfortable beds and large rooms. The old building with the original factory elements gives it a nice charm and unique atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    Will not come back here due to quality of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    isolation between roms is far from acceptable. (203) we reported strong smell of smoke in the the bathroom. Nobody took actions!!!!!!

    Nice location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, good atmosphere and professional dedicated cheerful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toaster.

    Good selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Very cool boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cool rooms mix of old and new, a boutique hotel with great style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Will visit again
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Location, interesting building, nice restaurant, bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in bathroom sink

    Location, interesting building, nice restaurant, bar and cafe attached

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Heated bathroom floor was perfect for winter.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated bathroom floor was perfect for winter.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    6.7
    food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you hear everything that happens in adjacent rooms.

    food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.9
    Old factory turned to a cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Interesting interior design

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    Very good food
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the hotel was overbooked, and we were offered a singel room with a matdrass on the floor

    Very good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful staff as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was a bit small

    Very friendly and helpful staff as always. Great atmosphere and food. It is in a good location, near the station and city center.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    GamlaVaerket is a lovely little boutique hotel in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't a thing we didn't like about our stay.

    GamlaVaerket is a lovely little boutique hotel in the centre of the city. It's in an excellent location to visit nearby beaches, or pulpit rock. The rooms are large, airy and bright, and the bathrooms charming and functional (large shower, a bit more room than most). By far the best aspect to this characterful place is the service. We had an issue with our rental car and the staff were unbelievably helpful. It's the best hotel service we've ever experienced (and we're very well-traveled). We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant at night and chowed down on the fabulous breakfast in the morning. The food was lovely too - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    The position of the hotel and interesting interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We experienced a lot of noise on the Saturday night and didn't sleep well - street noise and music until early hours. We ordered 3 portions of chips, only received 2 but paid for 3. I chased but they still didn't arrive. Staff weren't particularly on the ball for food during the day but breakfast was lovely.

    The position of the hotel and interesting interior. The bed was huge and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    God seng.
    • Solo traveller

    God seng. God luft. Rent bad. Stille.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.9
    Little bit '1990's' impression of the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little bit '1990's' impression of the room

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the same level with the train station. No free parking

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Really enjoyed the staff as I had nice chats with them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really enjoyed the staff as I had nice chats with them. Breakfast was great and location was great for BLINK fest.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Great breakfast, kind staff, really nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, kind staff, really nice rooms. Great location in the center of Sandnes. I can highly recommend this hotel to other travelers :)

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.9
    old house
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed was too short for me:) 190 cm?

    old house

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: