Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Det Hanseatiske Hotel 4 stars

Finnegaardsgaten 2 A, Bergenhus, 5809 Bergen, Norway

#9 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1624 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is in the heart of the centre (100m from the...
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no airconditioning though not really needed in the night, but at daytime... (we stayed in the heatwave).

    Location is in the heart of the centre (100m from the airport busstation). We had the jr. suite, very romantic. Breakfast is plain but oke.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Bergen stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people walk around constantly upstairs - all hours. Twin beds pushed together for double but still single sheets, single doonas and unfortunately one bed lower than the other w mattress w soft, non supportive edges so sunk down when trying to get close to partner!

    Fantastic size room including a huge bathroom with great size separate shower and bath. Breakfast good. Location great. Even going around the rabbit warren hallways to get to our room was cute and quirky. No aircon but didn’t need in late July. No flyscreens in windows but no flying insects came in to worry about. Even our washing surprisingly dried very fast (within half a day) in the room! Pillows were comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to arrive by car. Hotel could have helped more by reaching out to us and asking how we would arrive and then describing options. Outside hotel is very touristy. Inside hotel is quiet. Our room had no view.

    Can walk to city attractions Staff very helpful Quiet, smaller hotel (didn’t see bus loads at breakfast) Good breakfast Modern bathroom Comfortable bed Authentic interior

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great location, simply the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, simply the best. Unique Brygen original timber style. The staff are very warm and helpful. Thanks Vankia and Eric, I really enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    A really beautiful and unique hotel with lots of character. A great option for staying in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few areas looked a little tired and the wallpaper in the room was a little dark - but very minor things!

    Staff were friendly. Good size room, comfortable bed and really clean - probably the best hotel bathroom we have ever had! Great breakfast with really good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in old world charm rooms at very competitive price in most excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were comfortable but wee bit small. Furniture dusting was not the best.

    Old world charm. There was A/C and heater both in the room which was of great help as we could keep the window closed if there was noise on streets. Breakfast good. Croissonts were fluffy and yum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    I had to book this last minute because my flight to bergen...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to book this last minute because my flight to bergen was cancelled and i arrived later than i expected. After a day of waiting 9 hours in an airport and my luggage going missing, I arrived at this hotel and they told me I got an upgrade. The location is marvellous, right next to where I had to catch a boat the next morning and in a neighborhood with very nice ambience. The breakfast was delicious. Top marks to everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    An old building in the heart of the World Heritage Bryggen part of Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the modern decorations in the old building. There were beams in the ceilings and the elevator overlooked one of Bergen's old 1700's wooden alleys. The hotel is next door to the Hanseanic Museum and across from the old building housing Starbucks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite was on 2nd floor (first floor if you are British)facing the street;the ideal location would be third floor. No fault of the hotel.

    Beautiful room, great location. Breakfast was as one could expect. Comfortable beds. Very quiet- no street noise. Very charming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Helpful friendly staff and good breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was expecting room to be one of those with exposed old wooden beams as per the photos at booking; slightly disappointing but room still good.

    Helpful friendly staff and good breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful accommodation which expresses the essence of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow (but typical) Wifi speed. Not a problem for us, but this is not the place for those who might have difficulty negotiating multiple flights of stairs.

    Charming and knowledgable hosts who live on premises. This B&B is just one room on the third floor of a typical canal-side house with one host's custom hat shop on the ground floor. The room overlooks the intersection of two picturesque canals. Stylish room with king-sized bed. Large modern bath in the room. Separate toilet down about seven steps from the room. There is no elevator but hosts will help with luggage. Sumptuous breakfasts with everything you would want, and then some.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Gorgeous hotel, excellent breakfast, unbeatable location—but maybe avoid the top floor?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our rooms were on the top floor with very low sloping ceilings. It was quite hot (June), and the skylight windows were very heavy and hard to open. One of our rooms had a fan in it, but the other didn't. Room was accordingly quite stuffy.

    The hotel was lovely—nicely decorated while keeping the old-building feel—and the breakfast was excellent. It had the only decaf coffee we managed to find in Norway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    i stayed 3 or 4 times at the hansecatic hotel in bergen - it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i stayed 3 or 4 times at the hansecatic hotel in bergen - it is always a pleasure - and it will remain my no one choice in the future unless something dramatic changes........my best recommodationts for anyone looking for at hotel in bergen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Noisy, uncomfortable, rude attitude from managemeny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room had 2 twin beds put together (not very comfortable, and definitely not as described) - A super-noisy party seems to be going on just outside which is very hard to sleep through - The day we came it was also very warm and it didn't make sense to close all the windows (there is no cooling A/C), so the noise was just TOO much. To top it all, after discussing the beds situation with the manager he simply dismissed us saying 'it only happens once or twice a year that people complain, so it's not really a problem' Bottom line - I'm sure there are better alternatives.

    Breakfast was great, location is very central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely city and a good base for exploring it if you don't mind noise at night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was very hot and the hotel has no air con; we were given a fan, the windows opened and so it wasnt too bad BUT there was a very noisy club across the street and at the end of the week, on Thursday and Friday, the noise was terrible until 4 am. The night reception chap was very dismissive of our questions as to when the noise would stop. He just told us we were in a city with a lot of clubs so we must expect it. Housekeeping was a bit hit and miss and they left their trolleys and vacuums in the corridors all the time which was a bit of a hazard.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially on reception ( one exception) and in the restaurant. The location is very convenient for all the touristy things if a little removed from Bergen proper. It is a nice old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    PERFECT location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PERFECT location. Very charming, VERY clean and comfortable. Was unseasonably hot when we were there so the hotel was hot but it's very old. They put a fan in our room - not much more they could do than that. The breakfast (included) buffet was very good. Helpful staff at front desk - very friendly. Loved it - would come back for sure - wish we had more time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    If you're looking for location, this is it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I upgraded to a pretty room with beams (according to the picture) but our room was old and tired with a view of a bright green tarp and scaffolding. Not impressed. Also fridge made a strange noise off and on the whole time.

    Location was by far the best part. Place was cozy. Bed was comfy. Included breakfast was a nice large buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Cozy interiour and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit rundown but nothing really to complain about. Breakfast ok but could have been better.

    Location perfect. The room was really nice, we stayed in a double delux, it was nice and spacious, bathroom looked new and had both a shower and a big bath. Staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Dissapointing and uncomfortable. Pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internal room very dark. The double room/double bed. Bed was two singles which were put together but would not stay together. Consequently very uncomfortable and disturbed night, waking with back ache, due to the two beds separating. Very early morning noise in the glass covered service passage under window. No where to put out personal toileteries in bathroom.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    The first room we had on the 4th floor was completely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we had on the 4th floor was completely unacceptable. My husband couldn't stand up and to enter the bathroom, you had to duck under a rafter - we were concerned we wouldn't necessarily remember during the night. Tiny- no where to put anything. We were moved the second and third nights and that was acceptable - nice big bathroom, comfortable room. The disparity (without any reduction in price) between rooms is VERY problematic, though. Be sure you know which room you're in!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    the breakfastLady was a bit beasy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfastLady was a bit beasy.... Quiet working in the morning would be mor „agreable“... The helping new girl was very nice! But a little bit shy cause of the other one may be...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    It felt like an upmarket youth hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast choice was very poor and the service was shocking. It was almost as if we didn't exist! The water from the shower went everywhere but on you. The beds were too soft for my liking and were tired together to make a double.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location,very comefortable,nice breakfest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect so I dont know anything

    When We arrived to the hotel we got a small room which was noisy,staff was so nice and they change it for us so we got a bigger one with a big bathtub.Our staying was very beautifull.Great location in the citycenter,we couldnt ask for better ,also the breakfest was delicious and somany kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    very central location, the room was clean and nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was smiling but their smile seemed not a real one, they did not care about special question just said no we can not, sorry and we received a fake smile again.

    very central location, the room was clean and nice, breakfast was really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Location is not Everything!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The specific room 445 was very dark and not really clean. The hotel has a very worn atmosphere and could be cozy if attention is paid to the details. The staff is friendly but in the breakfast room I had the impression that I was an invisible guest. For the price of 143€ a very uneven price-quality ratio. To be fair I have not seen other rooms but I would not be able to recommend a stay there.

    Location is superb. Easy access to major attractions. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Staffs were friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management automatically upgraded our room to Penthouse. But we are not really enjoy it. As we need to carry the 25kg luggage going up a long staircase after open the door of Penthouse. It’s really not enjoy this little staircase.

    Staffs were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was delicious. And the hotel was located at the premium location in Bergen where it just next to UNESCO World Heritage Site - Bryggen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in historic Bergen harbour front building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,

    The room was large and beautifully appointed. It was excellent value for money although this was not peak season. Location on Bryggen was good for access to historic Bergen. We had a super meal in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some dust on sprinkler system in room. The towels were changed even when I had hung them up (I like to be eco friendly).

    The bed were really comfortable. I had a big room. The shower had a good water flow. The staff were really nice. The restaurant has really good food. This historic hotel has a lot of personality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location and outstanding service
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was an outstanding buffet. It was typically Norweigan but had some American staples for those who demand other than local food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and rooms with a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t all that friendly, at breakfast the staff on duty barely looked at you and didn’t utter a word. The breakfast room didn’t have much ambience and it felt a little awkward.

    It was a lovely hotel, beautifully decorated and a really old (in a good way!) and historic building. It was in a great location, right next to Bryggen and 200 m from the Floibanen funicular. We were put into a room on the top floor with very small windows, so we requested to change rooms with a better view and luckily they did.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Great centrally-located option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little pricey, for what it's worth. I wish we'd had a view of something other than the back of an office/apartment building, considering we reserved a deluxe room.

    We had a lovely stay at Det Hanseatiske in Bergen. Upon arrival, we took the airport bus to the town center and walked a couple easy blocks to the hotel. Easy check in. Spacious room. Our bed was comfy and the bathroom nice. Super clean. Great complementary breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. You really can't beat the location, either.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice but won’t be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast really miserable Food that should have been hot was cold and you really wanted to get out of the breakfast area ASAP rather than relax

    Hotel room beautiful and location perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, great location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfy, but was two beds put together so there was a small space in the middle on occasion. We also ran into an issue where there was not a changing table. This was not specific to the hotel, just a general problem in Bergen.

    The staff was friendly and helped bring our bags upstairs. They also upgraded our room so we had extra space for our 1-year old daughter. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel was centrally located. Truly unique architecture as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant location, friendly staff, would recommend to a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly noisy on Saturday night. Wifi slightly unreliable.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Complementary tea/coffee in reception a nice touch. Interesting and slightly quirky hanseatic style building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    good breakfast cool themed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we got the last room on the higher floor and it was close to the airsucking machine so it was a little bit loud even with the closed windows. it could be worse on the summer

    The breakfast was super good, there were plenty of food and it was very various. The room was clean only a little bit dusty. The staff was nice, the bed was comfortable but a little bit soft for me. We had some problem with the guys next door, they were loud and took off the smoke detector and started to smoke. We called the reception and the guys were kicked out of the hotel in 20minutes. It was very professional! Higly recommended place, it is right in the center so you can reach everything easily.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    The staff lent me an umbrella, and were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast too late for the morning train to Oslo. Best if hotel checks arrival and departure schedules and adjusts their hours to match, or provides early buffet.

    The staff lent me an umbrella, and were very friendly. The restaurant was excellent....and had a nice variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Loved it! If you want a unique historical experience with modern day comforts stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came on the off season - there were limited hours on the shops in the area.

    It was an amazingly beautiful and historic hotel. It is part of an old settlement so it is like you are staying in the modern day comforts of a historical site. Complimentary breakfast was delightful. The bathroom was roomy with heated floors!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Superb location, unique style and very warm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely, comfortable and unique hotel in a superb location right in the port. We had a really nice, memorable time staying here and will definitely book again and recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for our short visit. Bergen is fun, wet, chilly, pricey, historic and interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be warned, extremely high bar prices - not just at our hotel but everywhere in Norway. A round of 6 gin & tonics nearly £100.00.

    The hotel is quaint, quirky, old style in a perfect location. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were made to feel most welcome. The location of the hotel is perfect with easy access to all sightseeing points of interest, bars and restaurants and transport. For our one day and night - nothing more we could has asked for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location and by the looks of it a good place to eat dinner as well!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were lovely but strangely ill informed about the touristy things i.e the boat up the fjord etc BUT they did go to the trouble of looking the details up for us as well as bus times to the airport (every 10 minutes!!)

    My bathroom was beautiful with a roll top bath as well as a separate shower. Totally unexpected. The breakfast was delicious with lots of different types of coffee to choose from and as for the bread .....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Charming, eccentric and rich in history, right on the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly but disinterested. Didn't seem to know much about the town

    Fantastic location in a quaint hotel. The location on the harbour is perfect for exploring and understanding old Bergen. Charming if eccentric rooms. The hotel is old so the floors slope and the beams are exposed. This gives the hotel considerable charm and with a little imagination an understanding of the history of the place. We had a sofa and a desk for extra comfort. Great breakfast provided and very pleasant restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Great breakfast, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy (there’s a reason for the earplugs on the bedside table). There’s cleaning tools scattered throughout the hallways (at least on the 3rd floor).

    Great breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Not the cosy, romantic room I was hoping for!! The bed was a serious let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked a double room, was given a room with 2 single beds pushed together. Hard to cuddle or feel romantic when one person ends up falling inbetween the two mattresses. Very disappointed with the bedding situation in what should have been a very romantic, cosy retreat. Some rooms also face a local bar so they can get noisy at 2:30 - 3:00 am when everyone leaves the bar. Complimentary ear plugs are provided for good reason!!

    Great location and wonderful cosy feel to the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, nice atmosphere, we were given a room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made in China toiletries branded "Nordic Spa"

    Perfect location, nice atmosphere, we were given a room with both bath and shower as an upgrade

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    6.3
    next to a club, super noisy at night.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    next to a club, super noisy at night. The first time I slept in the hotel I was on the other side and I slept pretty well. This time our room was on the other side, just in front of a club, and almost no sleep at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar wasn't open when my client can to visit just before heading out to dinner.

    I have stayed here a few times before, I like the location and the lack of fuss when checking in. There are many options close by but I like to stick to what I know. This time I had a small room but it was still very next and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was great, especially the bacon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a loud buzzing noise outside our window from some kind of mechanical plant (air con?). Ear plugs were provided for night time but it wasn’t very relaxing when we were awake in the room.

    The breakfast was great, especially the bacon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been better :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n't have been better ;.)

    Excellent hotel with period features, great atmosphere, good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. I would gladly book this hotel in the future

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Good but not perfect.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast buffet ist unfriendly and very cool. The don‘t say good morning. While they clear off the buffet, they make a lot of noise. The message they transfer is that the guests are not welcome and should leave now.

    The staff at the reception is friendly and helpfull. The room is nice. The location is central and convenient. Breakfest is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for a central location in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt like the staff were somewhat distracted on front desk but good kitchen staff at breakfast.

    the inside / outside feel of the place was quirky, the location was awesome, the breakfast good and the room (bathroom) fun. Super easy to walk to all major sites in Bergen from here and loads of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Loooooved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loooooved this place. Very cute boutique hotel in the center of everything. The hotel had a lot of character & wood elements. Would love to go back. Breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Amazing place in amazing city!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No weak points!

    Amazing place with unique atomosphere. Beautiful room, bathroom with lovely bath. Breakfast buffet - just perfect selection! Completely satisfied with my stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel in the heritage area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud. you can hear the noise from the neighbour room and from the street as the windows are very old also but it was not disturbing i could sleep well.

    Very nice hotel in the heritage area. I loved the old wood floor and decoration. The breakfast is superb. The ambiance of the hotel is quite unique. I was lucky because i could book it on a very good discounted price just one day before.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, well located, good breakfast. Dispite some small details, I got what I paid for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was slow. My room did not had a proper window, so it was not such a nice place to spend too long. I had to work so I found myself a café during the afternoon. Some decoration was lacking some taste.

    Good breakfast and cozy atmosphere. The room was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel - great town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The top floor room only had small windows in the roof. Try and book a lower florr.

    This is a very old and historic building and was just beautiful. The floor of our room sloped but this is to be expected in an old wooden building. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom good and the breakfast enjoyable. There was a cosy fire going on our arrival (it was pouring outside) and it felt very welcoming. The hotel is in the most historic part of Bergen and central to everything you need for an enjoyable time in the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The bed was amazingly comfy and the bath was a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was amazingly comfy and the bath was a wonderful addition! It was huge and luxurious. The breakfast was incredible; very high quality and all your heart could desire!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    A terrific place to stay in Bergen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems.

    We loved this hotel. The room had old-world charm and modern conveniences. The pillows weren't too fat, the bed was comfortable. Great location, too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Atmospheric hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only down note was that when I left some expensive toiletries behind in my room, and tried to recover them, I was told they had been thrown out.

    Great location, generous sized room, good service. Lovely old refurbished building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Cool, pretty and comfortable hotel, very noisey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't aware there was a cycling competition in town and had a significant issue getting to the hotel and when we got there we asked about parking and only after about 5 minutes they THEN told us that most of the city would be shut off/closed off for DAYS. We would have been stuck in the city. The front desk guy didn't know which roads would be cut off - THE WAITRESS gave us a map of the shut off streets! Thank goodness for her!!! Also right outside our window at 3-5:30am they town was doing very loud garbage bin emptying and dragging concrete street dividers around the roads - impossible to sleep. An email or phone call warning uswould have been nice.

    Beautiful and cool hotel, close to restaurants and the harbor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great location, excellent service and lovely feeling about the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was of a good size, excellent bathroom, tea and coffeee in room, Location, location easy walk to bus station and huntigren terminal Breakfast excellent Staff excellent nothing to hard Quiet Lovely building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Greatest location in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noise was a little bothersome if you wanted to leave you windows open. I guess that is why they provided you with ear plugs. :-)

    Greatest location in town!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place ... except during a great race!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious. Breakfast buffet was excellent! Staff was exceptionally helpful ... and here's why: the hotel is located dead center of the "restricted zone" for a weeklong cycling event ... no cabs; limited movement. Unfortunately, we were also connecting to a Viking cruise. Staff was very helpful in "navigating" our way to the correct cruise port!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the room didn't look like the photos in booking, we booked lux room, but looked like the photos showed for normal one, i complained, but couldn't change the first night even we just used the bathroom - too expensive for what you get due to the facilities in the hotel.

    - Breakfast was quite good. - The lady in the reception was nice. Let us got some food to take away in the early morning. - Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms are accessible by elevator, the fourth floor requires stairs. Room 455 is in fact in the attic.

    Location, location, location! The hotel was quirky (layout spans two buildings) and full of hygge. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    The best way to end my holiday was to live in this historic, gorgeous and charming hotel 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs at breakfast are great. However breakfast could be better if there were more options for vegetarians 😊

    Room bed and bathroom were like my dreamland! I got so excited about the decor I wished I had atleast stayed there for 2 nights 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    A very welcoming place. Staff were friendly and helpful. The old building was beautiful and the location excellent. Having stayed at some ordinary but expensive establishments during our Norwegian travels, this was a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect, and staffs are so effective, kind and responsible. The breakfast was very variety and delicious. Though the hotel is very old, it has been well maintained, and renovated inside. The water system in bath room was so good. Both bath tub and shower made us very relaxing. Overall, we were so satisfied with this hotel Makoto

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, historic, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Some people think street noise a bit loud. We loved it. They offer ear plugs for those that need quiet.

    Location was perfect! Right across from Warf and part of historic district. We sprung for a suite; well worth it. Huge area, tall ceilings ( top floor plus open attic). Staff was great. My husband said eggs and sausage only ok. However, I ate herring, smoked salmon and espresso. Couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location in the old Hanse area of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the hotel consists of two adjacent building with a small permanently covered corridor in between, the rooms to the "inside" have no option to cool down in war summers. An AC would help, but is lacking.

    Excellent location in the old Hanse area of Bergen. The hotel is located in a historic building and includes the matching furniture style, which adds to the charme.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Amazing room, amazing location, shame about the rain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The bed was amazingly comfy and so were the pillows, which is amazing as my pillow comes everywhere with me! The room was large and well equipped. The location was fabulous, right in the thick of things.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    A cramped windowless attic room with indifferent staff....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures on the booking sight bear little relation to the rooms. Our room had two very small sky lights and we felt as though we were in a dark cramped attic. Very different to the spacious and light room we thought we had booked. The restaurant also required bookings on a Thursday night and we were usehered to a small table in the back by a toilet...apparently no other tables were available that night. The staff were indifferent and seemed to know nothing at all about Bergen (where to eat, where to get boats etc).

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but the room was a little below expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room at this hotel as a surprise for my partner looking at the pictures. Sadly the room we were given was nothing like the pictures.. disappointed. Might be a good idea to show pictures of all the rooms available not just the best ones to avoid disappointed customers.

    Breakfast was outstanding

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful city, wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, despite of being beautiful and big, there were 2 sinks but no room at all to put the personal toilete articles or a piece of clothe, a pair of hangers would also be very helpful. A better lighting over the mirror would also help a lot the contact lenses users.

    The location was perfect, walking distance to the vast majority of the interest points in the beautiful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Delight in Bergen. Sleep at the Den Hanseatic Hotel..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location-in the heart of Bergen. This hotel was part of the history of Bergen-the Hanseatic League-there were ghosts from the past. Loved it. Comfortable accommodation. Interesting guests. Felt like a B&B.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Tradition over comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon and hoped for a double bed but the hotel does not have any of these. Also we thought it would be a lot more luxurious than it was.

    If you want to experience the old buildings of Bergen then this is a great place for you.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Det Hanseatiske Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: