Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elveseter Hotell

Sognefjellsvegen 2363, 2687 Boverdalen, Norway

#2 of 3 hotels in Boverdalen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent location with wonderful amenities and beautiful antique decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better internet access. this is becoming more of a must-have for me when I travel.

    outstanding location with a great breakfast. the made-to-order food was excellent and a nice change from the standard buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in the foothills of the mountains with very good service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely main building to relax in and enjoy the views and crackling of the log fires. Also had a very good main meal and breakfast in the huge Vallhallen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    This was a delightful place to stay as we started our drive on the mountain road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Beautiful location with walking path nearby, very friendly staff, delightful old lodge with lots of history and antiques. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Our visit to this unique, museum-type hotel was well worth the long drive to get there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't say we didn't like our rooms, but they were very simple with only a bed, nightstand and closet in addition to a simple but clean bathroom. Of course, we had selected the cheapest rooms we could get. The paintings on all the doors in the hallway were amazing. I tried to photograph many of them. My room was called "Viking." We also had to drive quite a bit to get there.

    The hotel itself is amazing. It is like a museum of olden times, focusing on Norse mythology. However, there were many items/artifacts not from mythology, including a beautiful old sled and paintings by well-known (in Norway) artists.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, comfortable and welcoming inn set in stunning scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could improve their breakfast by offering a wider variety of fruit, more lox (a small amount was available on our first day but was mostly consumed by a large tour group and never replenished or offered the second day) and loaves of freshly baked bread (vs standard grocery store bread).

    We thought the inn was beautifully decorated, warm and cozy (fires burning from late afternoon through evening) and perfectly located for hiking in the Jotunheimen Mountains. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful answering questions about nearby hikes. We had their three-course dinner the first night we arrived, and although there is only one set dinner, they will make accommodations if there is something on the menu that you don't eat. (Note: cream seems to be used in many of their dishes). The breakfast was adequate with eggs, yogurt, cold cut meats, potatoes, cheeses, bread and waffles (much of what you would expect), but it fell short of many of the breakfasts we had at other hotels during our stay in Norway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a superior room and that means in the newest... part of the complex. 2 plastic chairs, 2 beds, but the view was absolutely wonderful.

    Very beautiful surroundings. Interesting hotel with all the different components. The main building is like a small museum. It turned out to be a nice experience. Great mountain setting and an interesting 3 course dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Location amazing place, it is lobby museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location amazing place, it is lobby museum. Simple room, but view and around nature and holel desing ir is something special , real museum good local beer , we are really enjoyed in lobby Wifi in public place, price contain brekfast and all staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location and beautiful hotel for an extended stay, but don't expect much for your bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are very small and very Spartan. Fortunately, I only used mine for sleeping. The breakfast buffet was okay, but didn't compare to most of the other hotels I stayed in on my 5-week Norwegian trip.

    For an extended stay like mine, the numerous lounges and beautiful/interesting antiques everywhere made the stay very special. The area around the hotel is beautiful, with great drives to mountain valleys and lots of areas for hiking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Authentic Norwegian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cosy hotel, owned and run by friendly norwegian family. There is a living room with fireplace (perfect, if you have to warm up after a day long motorcycle ride through storm and rain) Nice view from the dining room as well, anytime again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    So much charm! Delicious breakfast and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff, great breakfast. Charming hotel with loads of character. They moved us from modern redesigned rooms to older family room for less money and we loved it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Charming hotel in a historic building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower gets the whole bathroom floor wet. I know this type of shower is typical for Norway, but this one was especially bad. The squeegee they provided came in handy.

    The property is historic and has great character. The breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Authentic Norwegian getaway-worth the detour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We are touring Norway and were looking for a place to stay.Write ups were ok.On arrival it was far better than what was expected.Fifth generation guest house, great atmosphere and the lady that runs its fantastic.A one night stop unless one wanted to chill out for a day and do some bushwalking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Hiking paradise. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an amazing hotel - both hotel and art gallery/museum. So much character in a fantastic setting. Staff and food was brilliant. Loved it! Perfect base for hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and an original themed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to breakfast at 8.15 which was after a coach load of guests. The plates were ofton not replenished.

    Friendly and helpful reception staff. Great artwork on display.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice summer holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the bed were too small.

    The environment and the staff of the hotel. One of the staffs were so kind that she taught me of a nice hiking path nearby the hotel. The old Norwegian "Gård" style archtecture of the hotel is well preserved and very interesting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Hotel has lots of ambience, many, many lounge seating areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Yes the dining room can be a zoo, as it is enormous and there are bus loads. They deliver the food pretty well though, in the circumstances. There are lots of buildings, so you don't really notice the crowds, only in the dining room.

    Hotel has lots of ambience, many, many lounge seating areas on the ground floor, all nooks and space, with lots of paintings, antiques and features, very charming. Room was quiet in the main building. Dinner 3 courses includes a bucket of soup, main and small dessert. Lovely staff. Remote location, out of Lom, so it is the only place on that section of road, if you like peaceful mountain views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location, comfortable enough, interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom very small and poky. Dinners variable - set menu not always to your liking. Breakfasts good selection.

    Good location for exploring Jotenheimen National Park. Rustic hotel with lots of art and historic things to look at on wall, fireplaces in central seating areas. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Memories are made of this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not exactly soundproof, so the quality of your night's sleep will be at the mercy of your neighbours.

    Like staying overnight at a museum full of interesting paintings, antique furniture, tapestries and wood carvings in the common areas. The rooms are sparsely furnished and decorated - the contrast is refreshing Obviously great attention is paid to upkeep and cleanliness. Good breakfast and cheerful staff. Very nice surrounding park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Such a gorgeous property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a real disappointment. We go through a charming door to an austere, bare, undecorated, no frills, no amenities, no anything except 2 beds, a plastic chair and a small bathroom. We were aware that we were mostly paying for the grounds and lobby areas, but the rooms weren't cheap and it seems they could make them a little nicer. Also, we were charged more than what Bookings.com said we would be charged. We didn't notice until we got home, but we expect to be reimbursed.

    Such a gorgeous property. Loved the atmosphere, the grounds and especially the amazing art and décor. Every room in the common area is amazing, inviting and lovely. The painted doors, carved woodwork, gorgeous ceilings, antiques, etc. are a joy. Loved the fires, the cozy corners and the personal family heirlooms that made us feel like we were invited guests of the family. The owners happily told the history of the family and farm and we loved it. The food was good, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    A top class hotel in all aspects. From arrival to departure everything went smoothly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine list is well chosen but expensive. A cheaper red and white perhaps.

    The location is magic....great views. The staff throughout the hotel could not have been more efficient, friendly and personable. Both dinner and breakfast were exceptional in both quality and presentation, especially dinner. The room was a little small by US standards but the view was terrific and furnishings pleasing. Altogether a highlight of our trip so far.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Amazing location in a historic setting, great hikes and wodnerful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like everything...in a place like this, who cares if your room is perhaps smaller than one is accustomed. You have to consider the property and its historic significance. the rooms are comfortable and have wonderful views.

    The Elveseter Hotell is a unique historic lodge with ancient but updated and extremely well kept up buildings and wonderful artwork and antique furnishings that provide a mountain farm/lodge atmosphere that is both genuine and moving. I went there 30 years ago and returning now, I understand why it was so unforgettable that I looked forward some day to going back. There are moderate (very doable if you are in a modicum of shape, just go slowly) hikes you can take right across the street or out from the back of the hotel that provide amazing views of the tallest mountains in Norway. Bring hiking shoes and rain gear and layers, and enjoy! The food is very tasty and prepared with skill and care. The hostess and staff are attentive and jovial.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Stuck there in the snow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was the only place for miles. Makes it necessary to eat there because there is no other place. Food was delicious but only one option (no menu) and quite pricey.

    Hotel was in the mountains. It was a beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Very.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My. Room Was very. Sparse no. TV - no radio -

    Very. Clean, very warm, great location, great friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    the room was smallerr than i expacted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was smallerr than i expacted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice stop enroute somewhere..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uninspired food..

    Many paintings and antiques

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Despite shortcomings of room, the setting and ambience make the Elveseter a great place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small and in need of renovation. Tiny shower.

    Location and setting are spectacular. Dinner and breakfast were both outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    host was incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    host was incredible! super location, breakfast, room... wonderful place to stay!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Great authentic place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, terrific food, great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful old restoration with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Veal dinner not so great and breakfast was just okay

    Loved the bathtub,balcony and ambience of the entire property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    The lobby after dinner was a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby after dinner was a treat

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful traditional Norwegian setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location in historic family building. Lovely dinner in the restaurant and very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Worthy for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom to tiny, and easily got floated.

    Location and hotel style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn't block light at all

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    A must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor and art was fabulous. Hiking was immediately available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    6.7
    Main house / dinner room was very nice and cosy - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Several of the hotell-roms do not look very nice - you would like to escape to the dinner rooms etc.

    Main house / dinner room was very nice and cosy - very unique

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.8
    Very small room decorated like a cheap basement play room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room decorated like a cheap basement play room for a high price. Just no value for the money. Charged for coffee in the guest lounge which most hotels give for free.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful location, very helpful staff who made the effort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit pricey. Shower flooded in our first room - but the manager organised a plumber immediately and changed us to a different room

    Wonderful location, very helpful staff who made the effort to relocate us after a fault with our shower, lovely breakfast. All in all a really nice place to stay

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi was quite inconsistent as they would turn it off for the guests when the hotel needed it for business purposes

    Beautiful boutique hotel. Very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    This was a very special hotel - it's a retreat, an art...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was NOTHING that I did not like

    This was a very special hotel - it's a retreat, an art museum, a quiet get-away, a refreshing change of pace, a beautiful location and a superb 3 course dinner. Fantastic

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.3
    Staying in the hotel is like staying in a museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was average.

    Staying in the hotel is like staying in a museum. Amazing ! The view from the room window is wonderful, snow on the top of the mountain, the sound of the brook.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    the hotel was older, but had a lovely charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location of the hotel was a little out of the way. If we could have gone up to the summer ski area or hiking, the location could have been convenient.

    the hotel was older, but had a lovely charm. The staff was wonderful. The weather was so bad and we couldn't get out to do what we came up there to do, so the staff allowed us to cancel our second day even though we were past our time to be charged. They were very helpful getting the plans changed with booking.com.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Location, art, effort by staff to meet the needs of guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, art, effort by staff to meet the needs of guests.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    wonderfull - i would recommended this establishment to only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wonderfull - i would recommended this establishment to only my best friends. Beutifull, relaxing, I plan to return some day

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location to explore the mountains in the National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit of a zoo because there were 3 buses in..

    Great location to explore the mountains in the National Park. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.4
    History of the building and its art works!
    • Solo traveller

    Very very basic room, no wifi and breakfast very basic, quality of food and spread of it, so so!

    History of the building and its art works!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Very nicely decorated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in was quite basic.

    Very nicely decorated hotel. Excellent location to visit the Jotunheimen park.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful and considerate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were uncomfortable so therefore glad it was only for one night.

    The staff were extremely helpful and considerate.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.5
    Staff was super helpful and friendly - rooms and hotel were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-Fi was very spotty and would drop connectivity often

    Staff was super helpful and friendly - rooms and hotel were clean!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.6
    Lots of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were spartan Tour buses Communal feeling of restaurant

    Lots of character

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: