Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Europa 4 stars

St. Olavsgate 31, 0166 Oslo, Norway

#67 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 277 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous shower room. Protective glass panel was so narrow one could not avoid flooding the shower room floor.

    Exceptional buffet breakfast. Very comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not happy with the hotel. I was overcharged for the stay and my 2 emails quering this were ignored by Thon Hotel. I paid for my stay on my arrival and noticed that I was charded again on the day of my departure, I did not have anything from mini bar. At the time of check out I asked for the bill but I was told that there was a problem with printer and I would need to wait. I was in a rush to catch the plane so I had to leave without it. First time something like this happend to me and I'm not able to get a reply from them.

    Good location, good breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just some minor points: -No air condition, but is normally not necessary and we got a fan :-) -No walls at shower so the floor in the bathroom got wet -Curtains where a bit too small, which is a bit tricky as it‘s almost v not dark at night in May/June

    +Breakfast (hot & cold) was awesome and really delicious +We got an Upgrade: a room with a balcony with a great view of the City +We got a fan because it was unusually hot outside for Oslo (30 degrees Celsius) +Next to train station „National theatre“ (direct connection to airport) +Next to the city centre (almost all sights in walking distance)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If to be very picky, I didn't like night check in. Lady wasn't aware where is gym and didn't guide where breakfast and till what time is check out. A tiny bathroom without small baths items (shampoo, condition, body lotion), which you will definitely expect in a 4 🌟 hotel. But it's if to be very picky.

    Great location. Very clean room, very quiet - never heard my neighbors. Amazing breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff!!! Nice coffee at reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking our rental car in an old fashioned car park. Took us a long time to produce a parking ticket. But then it was fine.

    Very good selection at breakfast. Freshly cooked options in the open kitchen. Attentive manager. We walked everywhere: to the harbour, to the opera house via the royal palace gardens and the main shopping streets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tiny sink in the bathroom, no parking connected to the hotel, very expensive to park the car nearby

    Awesome breakfast, great big room, comfy bed, safe in the room, very central, nice staff, good view from the room, very modern style of the whole hotel, very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thon is Thon. I always enjoy staying in Thon hotels. I have never had better breakfast than at Thon. The location of the Thon Hotel Europa was just perfect in the very center of Oslo. Very convenient location close to the public transport lines. The room and the whole hotel was super clean. The bed, the pillows, the blanket were just perfect for a good sleep. I would always recommend to stay in Thon Europa however would recommend booking in much advance becuase it can get pricy or even overbooked. It's Norway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I'd question about this property is room cleanliness - my white socks turned black in a minute after taking off shoes. Dust under the bed is also a poor experience if you are an allergic person like me.

    Great location! You can walk to pretty much any attraction. Very good breakfast! We've enjoyed meals and coffee every morning. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a discounted parking nearby. Parking prices in Oslo are outrageous....

    Very nice and comfortable hotel in excellent location. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only disadvantage is you cannot connect google chrome to the WiFi. Speceially worse when TV doesn't has a functioning smart TV.

    Pleasent stay, nice hotell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Over the weekend, the breakfast area is really crowdy. I will stay again in this hotel, but I might avoid staying there over the weekend ;-)

    Great comfort, friendly staff. The breakfast buffet was amazing, I highly recommend it. Great location of the hotel, close to the Karl Johans Gate and close to the bus terminal of Flybussen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hide a bed in living room was difficult to sleep on as i have arthritis. it was warm in bedroom so could not turn up heat.. but with high ceiling in living room....it was quite cold there and had no extra blanket or duvet.

    spacious accomodation....close to everything. large bathroom. primary room bed comfortable, very clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A nice quiet room with a comfy bed. Kettle in the room was a nice bonus. A great choice at breakfast. Considering the where the hotel was located and the quality of the facilities the price was an absolute bargain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of touristgroups, very noisy at breakfast.

    Close to all the things you want / need to see in Oslo. Great beds, great breakfastbuffet. The hotelrestaurant serves decent food. Carpark just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for three nights the the house keeping put soap, lotion shower caps and bath gel only once!

    Very helpful and friendly welcoming staff, very good breakfast, comfortable beds good location the hotel also offers ☔s for borrowing, I loved also the free coffee machine service in the lobby for a 3 star hotel in a pretty expensive city it is value for what you pay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location, next to the Royal Palace and historical musuem. The staff is very friendly. And the room is quite comfortable. Compared with the stay at Scandic, I will definitely choose Thon next time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it was summer some fresh berries at breakfast would have been nice. Also coffee was just OK.

    Room was spacious and bathroom newly renovated. Full breakfast buffet, something for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were really nice, good sized rooms, coffee/tea maker in the room always a plus. Checked in very late and got a late check out which was nice. Breakfast was good too : )

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old accomodations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor shower pressure Very slow Wifi Overall decoration

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noice caused by trams/metro

    Excellent bed, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe in my room was broken and WiFi wasn’t good in the bedroom.

    Location, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was extremely good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices of minibar and prices in the restaurant

    Great staff, nice breakfast, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central clean excellent breakfast and good lighting system and fitness room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproof, hear showering and flush from neighbors as its in your bathroom

    Location, freshly renovated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    interior hotel somewhat outdated

    central location - quite room(s) good price - quality relation

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit cold in the room.

    Location and the food was very good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit hot, you couldn't adjust the temperature.

    Amazing buffet breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with clean room and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was big with a great variety of tasteful choices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely uncomfortable bathroom; you have to literally squeeze yourself between the sink and the toilet... No smoked salmon for breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street kept me awake. Interiors could be freshened up.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and location. Staff was always willing to answer questions. Good hearty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water on the bath room floor

    Location, Breakfast Personell

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was perfect Good breakfast, breakfast room a bit crowded

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and need renovation. Doors are ugly , dirty and old.

    Very good service , loved the stuff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast and the entire staff was very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blanket too heavy.

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Great location,excellent choice of breakfast, free coffee in de lobby

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great! Big choice of all kinds of bread, milkproducts, fruits, cheese and meat, boiled and baked eggs etc.!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tea/coffee making facilities

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door cards are bad , had to change it 3 times

    Perfect location , Perfect breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit tired - feel's a bit spartan and could do with a freshen up. Bit of noise in street-facing rooms from traffic and trams

    Decent breakfast, good location, fast and free Wifi

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bathroom floor wet after shower The floor of the room by check in was full of sand. Informed. But It was really clean on the third day since we came.

    The Breakfast is great! It was the best i've ever had for a 3 star hotel. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The location is good. Tram 11, 17, 18 direct to the main railway station (4 stops (?) ) are reached in 1 minute from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Electricity contact for shaving in bathroom was not functioning, and after informing staff at reception desk, was not repaired (within duration of my stay)

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredibly loud guests in the room above us (I know that's not the hotel's fault, but only getting a few hours sleep did affect the weekend!)

    Really friendly staff, good location - we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel. They even lent us an umbrella when it rained!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionist who received me had a bad day.. Got a room on the 6th floor and the wifi connection was very unstable and slow

    Location is good. Nice and clean room. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The menu for the pizza delivery in the room was out of date which ended up costing us more, and the cost of our room also went up from what was confirmed in our booking.

    Excellent shower and very comfy beds. Free coffee and tea in the lobby and the breakfast was fantastic, great range of choices.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are a few things that can look better, like the painting on the walls. But nothing major.

    the personal customer serivce, they were great!! Very helpfull and in a good mood. The Breakfast is 100% worth it!! It might be a 4 star hotel, but everything is perfect for a short weekend in Oslo.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No lounge area to relax in evening. Breakfast area very overcrowded

    Quiet location but fairly central. Excellent buffet breakfast and staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast room feels very crowded. Can't take a shower without getting water all over the bathroom.

    Very good breakfast. Decent wifi. Nice staff. Central location.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was the perfect hotel for our stay, it was located a short walk from the shopping district, theatres, palace and Aker Brygge - where we went in the evening for dinner and drinks. The beds were sooo comfortable and the staff were really helpful in helping us plan our early morning return to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very frendly and helpful. The hotel has a perfect location, near the harbour. The breakfast is complete and has a good service. Everything ok.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom: way too cramped, lack of a proper shower door/curtain means everything gets wet.

    Very good location. Breakfast with many options. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was disappointing for a Scandinavian smorgasbord. Some of the food didn't seem fresh to me.

    Great location and comfortable rooms With friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room - much too small, not even a place to put your book or glasses over night The service: our room was not made up at all and so we even did not have a second set of the - only two - thin towels. The TV had snowy picture

    The location

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not all rooms are as pretty as the web site pictures however was resolved on the second day. Could have done with air conditioning as had to sleep with the window open however appreciate weather was unusually warm for the time of year. Minor issues still a great hotel.

    Great staff, great location and great breakfast choice, also liked the free coffee at reception. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is perfect for getting around the city center. And being next to the Royal Palace made it easy to find. Being a hiker, it made walking around the city perfect. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    - single beds are very narrow

    - very polite staff, ready to help - free of charge coffee and tea 24hours - very rich breakfast, till 11h at Saturday and Sunday - nice inner garden - office facilities - PC and printer - free of charge - - perfect location - very close to all main attractions: airport bus stop - just 2 min to the hotel; central main street with Parliament - 5min to the hotel; historical museum - 1min; City Hall - 10 min; Palace - 6-7 min;

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    502... There are flies in the room, cause the trash can in the backyard and that's what I see from my room's window, don't choose the room on the back side. I saw other rooms when the cleaning time, much better than this one.

    Location is good, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overall nicely decorated rooms, walls little dirty, needs re-painting. No air-conditioner for very hot summer days.

    Great breakfast selection. Great location, walking distance from bus terminal and sightseeing's in city center. Wi-Fi working good. Great value for money, paid 340 eur for 3 nights!

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel is located on a corner where a streetcar passes frequently and where there is a street light that beeps all day and all night. Since it was summer we needed to have the windows open. There was no escaping the noise! See if you can get a room in the back of hotel.

    We liked that the hotel was within walking distance to many museums and the waterfront. There were two nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We also had an amazing deck that looked out over the city.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we were checking out for an early flight home, asked for a breakfast box. We never got it. Room was quite stuffy & we couldn't find the air con controls. Had to keep logging back into wifi after returning to the hotel

    Location (city centre) Room well furnished Nice breakfast Some nice staff Really good price

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bath - although shower was very nice and no complaints there. No milk for tea making facilities. Asked downstairs but they only have coffee whitener.

    Good location - 5 min walk from royal palace and Main road Karl johans gate but still quiet to not disrupt sleep (gay pride parade happened to be on the weekend we were there). Very clean and comfortable room. We were pleasantly surprised as it was bigger than we thought from pictures. Shower was nice. Beds really comfy! Wifi worked great

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great central Oslo location just a 5 minute walk from the train station. The breakfast buffet was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very hot. Heating wasn't on, window open all day and night long (temperature outside never got above 11 degrees), but still the room felt like a sauna. Unfortunately no aircon to be discovered.

    This hotel is well situated. Not too far to walk to the waterfront, sights in town and Nationaltheatre train station. When you arrive from Gardermoen airport the stop Nationaltheatre brings you very close to the hotel. Rooms are not overly big, but big enough for two. We requested twin beds and a quiet room, both of which were granted. The beds were fine, the room had coffee and tea making facilities and free wifi (although you had to keep logging on). Breakfast was very efficient. Lots of choices in cereals, bread, fruit, warm beverages and meat and cheese. Staff were always quick to refill if something was running out. All in all good hotel for a city trip to Oslo.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was grey and really basic and did not match at all with the picture of the colorful room I chose. The bathroom is ridicously small and unconfortable, and I could not expect to find this in a room that was publicized as being 20 squares metres large. I suppose I got a different room than the one I reserved on here. The breakfast staff does not question who you are when you arrive and I suppose that any stranger could just enter and have breakfast for free there. They start putting away breakfast items 10 minutes before the end of the scheduled time, that is quite annoying. The "star" of the breakfast is one single machine to make fresh Waffels, and there is always a pathetic long queue to use it... They can't realize that they should put more of those machines?

    The hotel is well positioned, and I enjoyed the free Nespresso coffe in the hall. The staff at the reception is really kind

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaning of the rooms could have been better. Still of a good standard but little attention to details were missing. The maids need t up their game as the rest of the facilities are excellent.

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Location is perfect to get around Oslo.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - a bit farther away from the city center than expected, but not alot.

    - A great Breakfast, a large variety of food (sweet, salty, fresh or cocked) and very tasty - nice looking room - quiet area

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's easy to get the bathroom floor wet during showers, but since the floor is heated, it's not a big deal.

    The room was big and very confortable. Breakfast was very good. Very central location. I got a good deal, and for me the cst/benefit was fantastic.

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: