Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Atlantica 4 stars

Rasmus Rønnebergsgate 4, 6002 Ålesund, Norway

#12 of 19 hotels in Ålesund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1707 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    Short But good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Two single beds put together as a double bed - it never works - found a big hairball on the floor in the room. But otherwise clean.

    - Varied great breakfast - view of the harbour from the room - pleasant and helpful staff - central location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    An excellent stay and would defiantly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a small gripe, there was no coffee making facilities in the room, maybe they dont do that in Norway?

    The staff in reception were extremely helpful after my bag failed to arrive trying to communicate with KLM , not an easy task. Thank you. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a car, parking is difficult, even for bag drop. But once you're in it's a nice place. Be aware of parking restrictions if you are from overseas.

    Great location, nice cafe downstairs, well placed near some good restaurants. Only in town for one night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and nice facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful staff, clean and nice facilities, excellent breakfast, excellent location in a very charming city. They offer to prepare you a takeaway breakfast if you have to leave early!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Between 4pm-8am you can park for free on the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was tiny, I kept bumping my elbows. It was very loud all night with the wind whistling through the windows, but maybe there is nothing they can do to change that. The breakfast was not good.

    Between 4pm-8am you can park for free on the street. I found a spot right behind the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Lovely view from window in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none.

    Lovely view from window in room. Close to bus terminal and shopping centre. Handy having cafe in building with excellent breakfast served each morning which was included in price. Would recommend this hotel to people wanting comfortable, clean and reasonably priced accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Alesund with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over starred. Weve been globetrotting for years now and have had stayed in "real" 4-star hotels so i know a 4-star when it's really a 4-star. ( examples: mini fridge in the room, free water in bottles, fresh coffee from cofimaker at breakfast, kids playplace etc etc) this hotel just lacks these things common in real fourstar hotels.

    The staff---- amazing. The saving grace of this hotel aside from its location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    3.8
    Noisy, old, uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just horrible. The room was nothing like the photo. Shower was broken. Asked for king size bed, but got two beds put togheter. Small room. Very noisy. Could hear traffic and party outside, and also the water when people took a shower upstairs. 3 TV-channels working. I felt like staying in a small box with nothing on the walls. Like a dungeon. The lady welcoming us in the reception was not welcoming at all.' The hallways looked like a office building from the 80s. This was a very expensive experience and I would never ever return. There are way better options in the city.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, very accommodating, very good breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have another chair in the room and some more hooks in the bathroom. Nice to have a good heater in the room but would have been quite nice to have a jug for a hot drink also. We would stay here again :).

    Great staff, very accommodating, very good breakfast and lovely stay. Great location also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent central location in the very heart of the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent central location in the very heart of the town next to the bus station and just one step away from all its central attractions. I even had a wonderful view to the scenic art nouveau town right from my window. Friendly staff, decent breakfast. Quick and easy online check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    nice view to the city, nevertheless we supposed to have city...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negatives

    nice view to the city, nevertheless we supposed to have city on the lake and mountains.Tea facilities in the room, balcony with chairs, comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.5
    Great location in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was two twins pushed together but not secured so they quickly moved apart if you strayed from your side of the bed!

    Great location in town. Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, adequate stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the lift next door. Had much better breakfast elsewhere. Parking. Our windows faced the next corridor.

    Liked the ample size of our room, particularly the seating area and the bathroom. Good position for wandering around town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel 're-new-ed' (or an attept to renew). Don't expect fancy stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -The showerfloor was the toiletfloor. no seperation. showering means the whole(!) bathroomfloor was wet. -Hallway was old hotel. -Mutual terras made it possible for strangers to stand in front of your roomwindow. - electricity not 100% functional. You want electricity.. bend on you knees to go unther the table to find a (the only) plug.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Unfortunately not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room furniture worn, maintenance needed. Parking was very expensive, even for a motorbike.

    Breakfast was abundant and delicious. The location was absolutely central. They handled our complaint professionally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Filthy and uncared for. Nothing to do with photos on site. Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has seen its best times and leaves an overall dirty perception. I am sorry, but in my terms this hotel is as far away from a 4* as I am from being Chinese. It's three at best, I'd rate it 2. We had two rooms. Both were not cleaned properly, in one bathroom we still had the towels of your predecessors (plus fresh ones...) and in the other bathroom the staff has left two used baby diapers in the bin. Nice smell, thanks for that. It was late, we were tired, we didn't bother and aired the room. The bed linen is clean, but used, with small holes here and there. Do not move the upper mattress, you'll regret it because there's dust and many other things I did not want to analyze further beneath. The chairs are used and sticky, all in all the photos on the booking.com plus the hotel website are misleading at best, I guess they were taken just after opening. There's a dance bar opposite the hotel, habor side, so prefer the rooms city side (if you have to go here in the first place). The floor did not pass our "barefoot-test" and we preferred to keep our shoes all day long in the room (don't worry, be took them off before going to bed). And it continued with breakfast. I do absolutely not understand the comments about the great breakfast from other guests. It is neither very various, nor especially delicious, nor presented in a particularly nice way. It's regular Norwegian breakfast, healthy but pretty standard. What is a lot more important: The dirtiness of the place is inacceptable. We came late, to admit this, 40min before closure. The place was already two thirds empty, the staff already very bad mooded. We struggled to find a seat/table where we were not disgusted by either the food still laying around on the tables, the floor covered with bread crumps and other remainders or the chairs being particularly stained.

    The hotel is in the city center, but in Alesund, EVERYTHING is in the city center, so it's not exactly cutting edge advantage. Everything else was a deception, except maybe the checkin where we were welcomed in a nice manner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and nice vintage feel with exposed timber beams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little restrictive in travelling around because the ferry to the other islands finishes at 5:45.

    Peaceful and nice vintage feel with exposed timber beams. The best internet tv of all the hotels so far

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    Not recommend for future travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning doesn’t work. Bed it too soft, that really bother my back. Too many tourists, it’s pretty crowded at breakfast time.

    Location, location, locations!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dated room without view I had been promised. Hallways and common area need updated and refreshed also. I was not impressed with the breakfast offered. The selection, freshness and presentation needs improvement. Overall impression is this hotel is too pricey for services received. It was quite different from our stay at the Scandic Alesund where the rooms were larger, staff organized and helpful and an amazing breakfast with a slightly lower price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    The staffs were so friendly and thoughtful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were so friendly and thoughtful. I needed to check out in the early morning at 0530, I was so impressed they prepared a light breakfast for me when I checked out. This is a kind of service straight from the heart, thankyou.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    The website says they have car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website says they have car parking. They do not in the sense most would interpret that claim. There is one hour street parking if you’re lucky enough to get it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    good location, convenient as airport bus dropped us very close to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    my children's room was very hot as the ventilation system wasn't working, they couldn't fix the problem and we asked for a fan in that case, but they couldn't find a fan either which we had to wait till 11PM to find out as the lady at the desk said that only the night manager would be able to help with this problem. And he couldn't help(he said he couldn't find a fan) so it was an uncomfortable night and it was too late at night for a room change as we had been up since 4.30AM as we took the 7AM flight from Bergen to get to Alesund.

    Breakfast was good. I had requested for rooms next to each other or close by and that request was honoured, which was convenient as I was traveling with my two teenage children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Solid hotel at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fantastic. Best breakfast I had in my entire trip in Norway. Parking is free after 16:00 at the rear of the hotel. Hotel staff was really nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly gloomy looking because of the colour scheme and a little worn out looking.

    The staff members were really helpful and the breakfast spread was great! I particularly enjoyed making my own waffles. The location is also great because it was within walking distance from where the ferry docked and the 418 steps attraction in the park. The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was central and all tourist attractions were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no TV2 Sport on TV for watching World Cup! The staff did try his best to help me out. Guests should be reminded on the courtesy tea/coffee corner during check-in.

    The location was central and all tourist attractions were within easy reach. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything you need for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in town, helpful staff, good selection for breakfast. We were catching a 1am ferry and they stored our luggage at no charge and were happy for us to wait in the lobby, which was greatly appreciated on a cold and windy night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Reasonable for a couple nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the common areas and room was a bit tired and in need of a refurb. Expected better for the cost of the room but then again it is Norway. No hotel parking but paid parking is nearby in a multistorey cark park.

    We stayed two nights. Excellent location. Decent breakfast although as others have said breakfast does get busy. Only one towel in room for two guests but this was soon rectified.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice big room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproof was very bad, we heard people from other room and hall too well. Plus elevator sound was on all night! The shower gel was empty and we didn’t have our own :D Breakfast wasn’t really good, because most of the thing were out few minutes after serving and nobody bordered to fill it up anytime soon. So that was kinda disappointing

    Nice big room, Comfortable bed, Big bathroom, Big TV, Near shopping mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in the beautiful Alesund City.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow is too soft

    Very good location for those who arrive in Alesund by bus. The bus terminal is just opposite the hotel. Easy access to bus for golden route to Geiranger fjord. Very good breakfast options. Main attractions can be access by walking. Situated strategically at the centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with many modern hotels it is a bit bland in terms of decoration etc but facilities very good. Also I would have liked some smoked salmon on the breakfast table! Quite a few business people seem to use this hotel.

    Travelling by public transport this hotel is in an excellent position for local buses and airport bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is located right in the center, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft and was bot very comfortable

    The hotel is located right in the center, very good location. The room was clean and with everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice but very very expensive in Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit too small. The restaurant needs to expand the menu after breakfast to hot food which everybody wants in a Norwegian climate. Not predominantly bread and fillings. If the Restaurant /Cafe had greater selection they could have a very good business as there is not much competition for affordable food. Norway is frightfully expensive.

    The location was very good for exploring the town and very handy location for both bus to Andalsnes and Port. The breakfast was really good for setting you up for the day. The bedroom was minimumal in size but the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Location was excellent, right in front of the bus station...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Location was excellent, right in front of the bus station and all the sights within walking distance. Alesund is quite small though. Clean room and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice view of the harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms and a bit dated - everything's clean, but there are marks on the walls and not a lot of furniture. For 1 night it's fine. We stayed for 3 and it was still OK. No parking, unless it's weekend/holiday - then you can park for free behind the hotel if you find space. Otherwise you're only allowed 1 hour (2 hours for handicapped). There's a garage nearby (Torghallen).

    Good breakfast. Free coffee and tea available near the reception, just ask the staff to show you. There's also a coffee shop with pastries on the ground floor. That coffee shop turns into breakfast room every morning. Everything's within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent in the centre of town, a minute away from the terminal for the airport bus and easily walkable to Hurtigruten terminal. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    Modern and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given was dreadful. It was dark, tiny, and looked into a small centre courtyard with a huge ventilation shaft. NOONE SHOULD BE GIVEN SUCH A ROOM!! I had to complain forcefully to get moved.

    Modern and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good which is just next to the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin is very small. I’m a 5feet1 Asia lady and I also felt difficult to take shower in the cabin. The socket inside the bathroom is very high and it’s about 5feet11 or 6feet high. Everyday I found difficult to plug in the hair dryer due to my height. The drainage system in shower cabin is very poor. The water was always accumulated very fast and was flowing out from the shower cabin which made the bathroom floor all wet with much washing water. The carpet of the public area has smell.

    The location is very good which is just next to the bus terminal. The staff is very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Room was modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from outside woke me up in the middle of night in 4th floor. The window was only 1 glass. Lamp shades were all broken allthough room was otherwise nice and clean. Ventilation pipe was showing...

    Room was modern and clean. Nice big bathroom. Good location. And the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what I needed - clean, no frills, right in the heart of beautiful Ålesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had hoped for a double bed - not two single beds placed side by side

    I thought the hotel met my expectations. The room and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a good size. I liked the breakfast at the cafe downstairs. Staff were constantly checking and replenishing the breakfast offerings. My friends came by to meet us there and it was great to be able to welcome them into the breakfast area, while they bought their own coffee. It made for a relaxed experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Good basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and fittings are in need of replacing. There are no fridges in the rooms. The rooms are dark with poor lighting.

    The staff are great. The room is clean and comfortable. We had a great view across the water and able to see the cruise ships coming in and out. We had a double room on the fourth floor. There is a good breakfast included and free tea and coffee available all day. This is a great bonus in such an expensive country. The location is great. Close to everything and the airport bus drops you at the bus station which is right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect. Very central location, smooth check-in and out, great breakfast and very friendly staff. Due to the public holiday many places -including tourist office- were closed, but we got all the help we needed from the reception. We especially thank Else-Britt for helping us plan our trip to Geiranger!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Near everything in Alesund city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    - good location, hotels in city center - convenience store near the hotel (3 mins) - Top of Alesund is gorgeous view (in walking distance or you can drive to the top)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Confortable and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast coffee was the worst as it is served at the same place you can get an awesome paid latte later. It was the only thing I missed.

    Recently renovated hotel, with comfortable bed and very fast wi-fi. The breakfast was delicious. With fresh bread, eggs, fruits and even waffles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of power outlets close to bed. No description that I had to put on separate power to the adjustable bed to enable me operate it. Discovered that in the morning.

    Friendly staff, good bed and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located in Ålesund, very spacious and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been handy a fridge in the room but really nothing to complain.

    Centrally located in Ålesund, very spacious and comfortable room, excellent breakfast. Free coffee and tea for the guests.The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay as the location was perfect to explore Alesland.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cruise ship dock across from the hotel and can be distracting.

    Nice location in the heart of Alesund. Great staff. Nice view of the fjord from the 6th floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Service was great, the bed was very comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a single room, and the room and bathroom were VERY small. There were also no floor or face towels in the room. There is very little parking so plan ahead for that. It was comfortable enough but a little expensive for what you get.

    Service was great, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    I had a comfortable stay with most things being like they should.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room lacked a refrigerator. Battery in remote control for television seemed to be depleted. Water pressure from shower could have been a little better.

    Very central location. Possibility for free public parking close to hotel during weekends. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    Views from the room were nice, hotel is just in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really small, unfortunately we didn't sleep good because we heard everything from street throw window-the sounds were like with open window. We also heard all notices from corridors in the hotel, so it was not comfortable. Breakfast from the pictures are not the same as in real life, yogurt with granola or nice bagels are extra costed, it is just normal breakfast. It is 4 star hotel but for me it doesn’t look like that.

    Views from the room were nice, hotel is just in the middle of center and close to the bus station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    + convenient location, very close to city center and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - limited (public) parking, only until 9 am - deserts sold in the breakfast buffet area - not a big issue, still a bit confusing and unusual; in my view, they should be all free during breakfast time for hotel guests

    + convenient location, very close to city center and walking distance from main attractions (like Fjellstua viewpoint) + comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    It was breathtaking. A trip into the surrounding hills is recommended. The town is lovely too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If your flight doesn't coincide with the bus timetable be prepared to re-mortgage to pay for the taxi. Northern lights rarely reach Alesund so don't expect to see them here.

    Stunning view across the harbour the snow capped mountains. Breakfast was great, no one hurries you. Hotel next to central bus stop is great for airport run or tour trips.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in centrum of Ålesund close to everything. Parking behind the hotel, easy access. Clean room and comfortable bed. Space to sitt with friends before going out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    The car park fee can pay a hour for each transaction only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park fee can pay a hour for each transaction only. It is so inconvenient. I am not recommend this hotel only if you have your car and drive to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Outstanding location, food, friendly, helpful, and a comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have been trying to think, but, I can't come up with anything.

    The breakfast would be almost impossible to beat. The staff was very helpful. Parking was no problem.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    we had a problem with our room on arrival so they upgrade us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had a problem with our room on arrival so they upgrade us instantly! the rooms are great and clean. Fantastic breakfast! Location is perfect. Very handy to have Wayne’s Coffee onsite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s located near the center of town so everything is within walking distance. I would also like to commend the staff for being so friendly and accommodating. They also serve great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Romantic & convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some facility is not checked and fixed in time. The window in my room is not able to close properly and allow cold air and noise seep into the room at night. But this can be overcome by the heater and low traffic in the town.

    Good location, next to bus terminal to airport, public buses. Good value for money with its rank. The staff is very friendly and help us to get through SAS strike crisis. Though there was some problem with the windows and door lock, they're willing to upgrade the room. Breakfast is awesome. The hotel room is clean, big and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Finally thick curtains to obtain the complete darkness in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast hall is quite small and crowded and the access of the guests is not separated from the public of the cafeteria.

    Finally thick curtains to obtain the complete darkness in the room! Large and comfortable king size bed. Large room. Although facing the front main street, there's was only little noise, not disturbing. It is possible free parking in front of the hotel from 8 pm to 8 am

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    It works if you are only there to sleep at night and have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff tried to over bill us about 150 euros (so almost 800 euros instead of 670) and they were doing that while we were in a hurry to catch the bus for the airport, after I had already paid for the entire stay upon arrival. The woman at the front desk didn t even bother to apologize, blaming it on the computer system. For a 4 star hotel, the room is tiny (I ve seen 2-star hotels with bigger rooms) and in one of the two rooms we booked, you had to shower above the sink (!!!). Also, there was no complimentary product whatsoever when we arrived (candy, tea, coffee, water...) and there was no kettle in the room.

    Very good location, close to city center, easy access to and from the airport, nice breakfast, clean rooms, easy to settle transportation with the hotel staff before arrival, nice view towards the port site of the hotel, shops, restaurants and scenery within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Reasonably priced, central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My side of the hotel was on a main road and so traffic noise and also many drunken revellers in the middle of the night.

    A great position, very near the "jugendstil" centre. Good breakfast. Lovely view of water and mountains from my room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in DELUXE room on the top floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of dust from the air-condition wich is little bit noisy in the morning.

    We had a nice room on the top of the building with nice view from the balcony, wich is perfect for having wine with dutch cheese and some german beer. Nice town and good location of the hotel withe parking place for our rent car. But please don't forget a parking ticket in the morning. Perfect breakfast - specially yummy waffels with jam. BIG THANKS to Rachel from the reception, she is fantastic host. If we will come back to Alesund one day, we will chose this Hotel for our stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, very nice view from our balcony, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could see dust and old gabage piece in a room. Also we did not like the old fashioned balcony - concrete floor was dirty.

    Friendly staff, very nice view from our balcony, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is less than 5 minutes from the bus stop. It's about 10 minutes walking to the park of the view point. The location of the hotel is awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy. Bar across the street was rocking very late Saturday night.

    Very nice staff. Amazing breakfast. Balcony view of the city from our room was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast was diverse and tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not be better for my budget.

    Breakfast was diverse and tasty. The bad is comfortable with a nice view. Bus station with the bus line to the airport is across the street. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in central Geiranger!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast selection. Hotel rooms are a little worn down, could use a facelift. Otherwise, good location and central to everything in the little town. Parking was easy as we had a rental car and took the ferry over. Would stay here again though!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit old-fashioned and basic room, doesn't really look a like a 4-star hotel room. Some problems with the shower (too much water or the floor).

    Great location, friendly staff. Looks like I was given a double room instead of a single-room I booked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disliked the wet floor tiny bathroom. It really was a very wet floor all over but the staff did give me extra towels. The WIFI system is diabolical. OK if you can connect, but seems to have a bug in it for some users. Hates Google Chrome and security warnings kept coming up..

    Clean, good breakfast that could have been replenished more regularly, room was small but quiet. Staff really went the extra mile to be of assistance. Just the best location for the buses to all parts. Wish I had stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location close to everything! The rooms are big and spacious. Good breakfast. Can't say enough about the staff -- they are all very friendly and goes above and beyond!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location for staying in Ålesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit of a tight squeeze, but not really a major concern as was only staying the one night. Staff weren't always able to assist with all enquiries.

    The hotel is centrally located. Next to the bus stop for arrivals from other areas in the region. Just a 5-10 min walk to ferry terminal. Room has bathroom accessories and a pleasant breakfast buffet was available. If you have a late check out you can sit in their lounge area and enjoy a coffee which was great to stay out of the rain outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is located in the downtown, within 2-3 minutes you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the downtown, within 2-3 minutes you will be in the shopping street, in 5 minutes you will reach the city park, from where I recommend to go up to Fjellstua to enjoy the panorama view. The bus station with connection to the airport is within 2 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel close to bus terminal, very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage storage is free but not actually locked so not for security paranoia ppl.

    Airport bus stops right at the bus terminal in front. Very convenient. Great selection of breakfast, comfy n adjustable hardness mattress. Spacious room n great view of the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel. Excellent location for acccess using the airport bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Within a very short walk from the bus station. Of all the places that we stayed during our vacation, this hotel was the most easily accessible one. The person at the front desk recommended a nearby restaurant where the food was good and we also got a discount because of staying at this hotel. The room that we got was a corner one with a nice view of the harbor and the surrounding hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is superb!!! So close to the us station where I can take the airport bus and also intercity bus. In addition, I was allowed to have an early breakfast at 6.45am even though it only starts at 7am. The staff there are really nice and very accommodating!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is very good, just 1-2 minutes walk from the bus terminal. Near to eating places and supermarkets. Not far from Hurtigruten Ferry Terminal, about 10-15 minutes walk. There is a stall selling the 'best fish and chips' just across the street from the hotel. Convenient to just buy fish and chips when we were hungry even late at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: