Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Marin 4 stars

Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergenhus, 5003 Bergen, Norway

#28 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3095 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Centrally located and in the vicinity of Bryggen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to rely on tour buses and big groups for business. Did not get the feeling that they will make an extra effort to satisfy a regular customer. Was not impressed with the cleanness . I do not think they have bothered to clean the sofa and make it inviting for guests. The fridge smelt and dirty. Room was not cleaned while we stayed, except for making the bed. Parking difficult and expensive. Breakfast average and not enough space. Was our first time in this hotel but I don't think we'll go back.

    Centrally located and in the vicinity of Bryggen. The hotel is old but the rooms are big. The staff are helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Love Bergen and loved the location. A little work could make it a lot better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ironing board cover ripped and shabby. Was put into family room even though I booked a double. When I decided to stay an extra night they charged me double for family room even though I had the conversation when I rebooked asking that the price will be comparable to first 2 nights. It was rectified after talking to a manager but disappointing that I had to.

    The location is excellent. The facilities are a bit tired.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Clean and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Is plentiful but not as tasty as the other places we stayed in Norway.

    Location is perfect. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff is fine but not outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Shabby, poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning, room was really warm/hot. Hotel was shabby and not very clean (e.g. the carpet in the 3rd floor hallway had not been vacuumed in ages). Wooden toilet seat in our bathroom was worn out ie. not very hygienic. No mini bar, no coffee machine in the room. Not 4 star quality.

    Excellent wifi, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    don't accept an upgrade without viewing first
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    we booked a room with a water view and when we booked in were told they had overbooked and they had given us a suite with a balcony. The suite was definitely not what we expected - small and a shared balcony with 2 other suites (each section was separated by plants). The air-conditioning didn't work properly and the bed was 2 twin beds put together with a mattress on top but the mattress didn't extend to the full width of the bed and wasn't comfortable. disappointed we couldn't get the room we actually booked. breakfast included but very ordinary and most plates I picked up were dirty;

    staff were pleasant and the location and free wifi was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and convenient hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only shower in the room and the bath room floor can easily get wet because there is no partition.

    Location was excellent. You can use airport shuttle bus because it is only 5 minutes walk from the final bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Comfortable but tired, not what you would expect for the amount of money it costs per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast although plentiful was disappointing. The "hot" choice was barely lukewarm on all ocassions I tried it, strange interpretation of fruit salad ( whole apples, orange quarters and chunks of pineapple, the chef when asked for hot milk which had run out merely said that there was milk (cold) in the machine, not acceptable in my opinion, but that did seem to be a recurring theme with the staff, yes, no answers to questions with no attempt to provide any further help. The cleanliness of the hotel, especially the bathrooms coulld have been better, mould on the bath sealants, lack of soap in the pump dispensers and generally tired fixtures and fittings, not to mention the threadbare carpets at the lift doors.

    The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, right in the centre of Bryggen and very close to the funicular and bars/restaurants. The Flybussen also drops off within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Best location in Bergen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's location could not be any more perfect. It had the great charm of an old hotel, and it was close to everything we wanted to see. The rooms were spacious, and we had a 'family room' for us and our 4 year old twins. Their separate 'room' was in our suite, and had no windows which was perfect for the 'light' summer nights of Norway. Breakfasts were superb and staff friendly. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    The location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luck of Services and staff, no trolley for luggage and no staff to assist you,, no phone answer from reception, very normal hotel and very poor interior design which bring you depression starting from lobby to your room nothing good,, I don't know how they got trip advisor,, no facility to move the trolley of laggard to another building because the hotel in 2 building like one,, I really suffer from this hotel in some time . Any way thanks for Begen city I really enjoy the beautiful Bergen

    The location only

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    nice stay in bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a watch near the waffle place and in the sauna would be nice :-) also there is no relax room after the sauna.

    nice stay in bergen. it was possible to stay with our dog. breakfast was perfect. nice people 🎈

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel near Brygge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location near Brygge and Norled ferry terminal, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Really generous breakfast! Coffee and drinks available throughout day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful building.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a "smart bed" so we could adjust how hard or soft it was. However, even on its hardest setting, it was still way too soft!

    Beautiful building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    TO sum up, I would NEVER stay at this hotel again and I would never recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What did not work: First off, the hotel advertises that it has a restaurant. It doesn't. It has breakfast service only and the breakfast service is like that in the U.S. hotels on the freeways, i.e. cold cereals, fruits and cold cuts (more than u.s.) and the ubiquitous waffle making apparatus. There was coffee. In the room in which one could get coffee anytime, the machine was broken. Furthermore, in our 'deluxe' room, the accommodations were garrot-like and very small. The shower had fallen apart. Yes, there was hot water, but it came out between the nozzle and the hose and sprayed all over the bathroom. The key card we were given had to be recoded three times during our short stay.

    The location of First Hotel Marin can't be beat. Right up the block from the Bryggen and very close to evertything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Bergen break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks soul and is looking very tired with worn carpets and chipped woodwork. Awful breakfast.

    Great location on the old town waterfront. Good sized room with good bathroom, comfortable bed - very clean and great reading pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Mediocrity in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a big hotel that caters for bus tour groups and has the drawback that can go with that - basic standard breakfast in a big, busy room, minimal hot water at peak times and a general lack of atmosphere. The hotel is very tired and in need of paint, new furniture and new carpets. Just felt old, sad and drab.

    Great location right on the waterfront and in the centre of the old town area. Spacious room with a nice view of the harbour and a clean bathroom. Comfy bed and nice sheets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    A very comfortable hotel in an excellent position on the harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I prefer a walk-in shower to one over the bath, but it worked fine so no real problem. The toaster in the dining room could do with replacement. Glacially slow and not always toasting both sides. Given how busy breakfast often was, a second toaster would be even better.

    We booked a superior room with a harbour view, which I thought was worth the extra cost. The room was spacious and well-equipped, with two slightly shabby but very comfortable armchairs as well as a desk and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very varied, with hot and cold buffet, a selection of different breads and plenty of fruit and cereals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location! Our upgraded rooms were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager very satisfactorily and very cordially addressed an issue that we experienced upon check-in. Staff arranged a dinner reservation at an amazing restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and great view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper a/c or ventilation in the room. Floor was not clean when we checked in, neither did it get cleaned during our stay - the same sizable fluff balls stayed there during our whole stay.

    Excellent location and great view from the room. Nice breakfast. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    the airport bus stopped nearby (but the trains do not!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast was quite boring and very basic. coffee was thin. the hotel is located next to the wharf, but it is not located anywhere near the buses that goes to ulriken/bus terminal it is also not located near the train station that goes to the airport, or have buses that take you to the train station. so very odd we visited during a heat wave (28degC) and it was very very very very hot in these rooms as there were no fan/aircon etc. but i guess this will work when it's cold.

    the airport bus stopped nearby (but the trains do not!) good food around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    Centrally placed at Bryggen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little dated and could benefit from a face lift. The rooms are of good size but seem like they have not been redecorated since the 80's. Air conditioning would also be expected for a hotel in this price range.

    Great location in the heart of Bergen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was the same every day. The hotel blocked 500 Kr as safety deposit and the amount is still blocked (two days after check out)

    Perfect location!!! Easy access to public transport etc. We were also lucky with the early check-in. It is a really good place to explore Bergen and the surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel in the heart of Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful , near the fish market and the excellent tourist information center of Bergen. The access is remarkable as well, very easy to take a bus from the airport, stop in the fish market and walk 5 minutes. The breakfast was very good with breads made at the premisses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, close to heart of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping poor standard, room not particularly clean. Tired fittings in bathroom and loo could have been cleaner....

    Fantastic location, amazing view from room. Nice breakfast, free tea/coffee/hot chocolate/chilled water in central area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellant value for the location ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could be refurbished a bit

    It has an outstanding location making it a good value..clean, good staff and excellent breakfast offerings. It could stand a little refurbishing but then it would likely also cost more so bottom line, a good hotel re cost and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Overall pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in room has tank behind the wall. There was a problem with it, staff should have checked before renting out the room. We had limited time and it wasn't worth the hassle of having to make a maintenance request. Probably not the norm and in fairness, I didn't give the staff a chance to correct because I didn't want it to take up any of my time in the city. I also didn't like that the breakfast doesn't start until 0730 on weekends and holidays. Just a personal preference, but we missed out on two of the included breakfasts because they were too late for our schedule.

    Excellent location, good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee kettle in d room and no mini bar or fridge ( being a 4 star ) bath tub had leakage and were casually given towels to protect the leakage . No offer to change d room or concern .

    Situated very close to the major attractions of Bergen. Good Breakfast , Coffee , Tea available in the lounge. Allowed us late checkout 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle in room. Everyday I need go to active my room card.Breakfast is just so so.

    The bed is so comfortable. The staff in dining room are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked and booked in advance 2 rooms with separate beds, as shown in the pictures on the booking.com website, but once there we got double beds and when we asked why we have been answered “we don’t have those kind of rooms”. That ruined the vacations a bit because people in the rooms didn’t exactly sleep so close each other.

    Very good breakfast! Amazing position!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms feels quite old. Get a feeling that this was great 40 years ago, but now it is outdated. Dirty windows disturbed sea view. Breakfast wasn´t great. A lot of party noice from the streets at night time. Logistics around staircases was poorly marked, we couldn´t find the fire escape route.

    The location is great. They were helpful to change dates of hour stay without any additional charge. Staff in general very nice and service minded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended stay in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location, walking distance to all the attraction, within 1 min walk to the beautiful Bryggen! room is very clean and bed is comfortable, variety choices of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Luxurious but disappointing :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were very dirty, really disappointing for a room with extra charge for the view. Receptionist did not seem to take issue seriously, still no contact since from the Manager as promised. Stuck in lift as Room key was not working correctly, told an ongoing problem...fire alarm went off early Sunday morning...

    Location, view from open window overlooking harbour, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    spacious and clean, coffee in lounge was welcome surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    improvement in breakfast would be great

    spacious and clean, coffee in lounge was welcome surprise. great location. wish there was fried eggs and omelette to go with otherwise nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    Staff too formal , bit lazy without basic knowledge /...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of top location hotel is not forced to improve rooms and hotel itself , they have still guests doesnt matter if they are good or not/ broken shower, old sockets, old key card system - often not working propely, old used furniture etc..

    Staff too formal , bit lazy without basic knowledge / about bus schedule for example/

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Good, but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no mini-bar in room (despite this being confirmed in reservation), hall outside of room was dirty and in need of refurbishment

    Nice and clean room, good harbour view, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend this hotel to anyone,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room. Springs coming out of bed. No on to greet you at front desk. Had to ring a bell. No one should have to stay in the awful room I had. Would not reimburse me any monies. Said that they couldn’t do anything for me. Place is very chabby.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    A really good , though short stay... our time was limited, so everything was within a short distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the ambience and friendliness of the staff.. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good too.. Location to areas of Bergen we wanted to see was very good... everything waswjothin walkong distance..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location & clean, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was easy, the staff friendly, the room comfortable & breakfast was fantastic. There was a wide selection of food which even included make your own waffles. There was coffee & tea available all day in the room next door to the breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress could have been comfier

    Lovely period hotel right in the centre of Bergen. Rooms were a good size, and the location was great, right by the Bryggen Breakfast had good choice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Historical old building on the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is pricey, street parking is cheaper than garage. Park across the river is free after 5. The wood toilet seats felt germy

    Excellent breakfast easy access to everything couldn't ask for a better location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it very much, would stay there again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This might sound silly but the silk flowers on the tables should be changed. That's the only negative thing about the whole place. Everything else was just great.

    Room was big and clean. Lots of natural light. Heated tile in bathroom. Great views from the room. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay there again. Breakfast was great, lots of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Over all, our stay is excellent. Easy access. Will definitely stay again if in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs before the elevator especially when with baggages. ( upon check in and out ) The breakfast menu is the same for the entire 5 days of our stay. Delicious but variety will be better.

    The location is excellent for us. The open coffee bar , tea and cold drinking water is much appreciated! The front desk staff is helpful and accommodating. Hotel has its unique old world charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect you are in the heart of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive, the room furniture was a bit dated and uncomfortable, the wood toilet seats need to go seems unsanitary. The front desk staff were very polite and helpful but need to be more well versed about the city.

    The location is perfect you are in the heart of Bergen. The breakfast was incredible especially loved the waffles! Thank you for the slippers nice touch. The rooms were very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Very Nice, classy and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bigger bathtub, but still it was a nice bath with shower. The pillow was a bit too hard.

    Two person room with one big bed: I had a beautiful bathroom and a very classy room. The bed was soft and good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Excellent one night in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a top floor two person room on the Brygge side of the hotel, highly recommended, lot's of space, nice atmosphere. Very comfortable bed. Very helpful stuff. Excellent location. Indoors parking space available on a fee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    A good, comfortable hotel close to the historic area of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little soft & bouncy.

    The choice at breakfast was varied - hot & cold & even make your own waffles. The room was comfortable & there was english shows on the television. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the historic Bryggn area. There is a great pub across the road with reasonably priced menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Good choice of hotel at the right price in central Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location around the corner of the main attraction, the harbor. They had a tea pot in the room, which for me is super important. My room was gigantic, the TV worked and had several channels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    The location is just perfect, you are only 2 minutes away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is just perfect, you are only 2 minutes away from bryggen, 5 minutes away from floibanen station, 10 minutes away from central station, and the airport shuttle bus stop is only 5 minutes away. Many restaurants nearby, shops and other attractions. The staffs were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were 2 old ladies left to carry our luggage up and down stairs and to find our room. It would have been nice to have been taken to the room.

    the free hot chocolate and coffee available all the time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found mattress too soft. Breakfast good choices but breakfast room a bit chaotic. Not very relaxing start to the day!

    Excellent quiet location for town centre, facilities and historic buildings as well as bus to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    All ok; good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The socket plugs from where the lights are getting power (and which are also the energy source where it is possible to connect the mobile phone charger) do not deliver power if the lights are switched off by the light switch on the wall. Therefore to keep the charger going it is necessary to switch off the lights one by one using the single switch on each light. Nothing terrible, but one needs to understand it in order to be able to charge the phone overnight.

    Very Spacious Room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect choice for Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toiletries were not enough

    Wonderful location, just off the harbour and a short walk from the famou brick houses. Rooms have a lot of character and a lovely feeling. The breakfast buffet has a lot to offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value place to stay. Lovely breakfast Would definitely stay at The First Marin again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up and down to the lift and having no help with luggage!

    Nice warm bathroom floor! Very comfortable beds and chairs. Fantastic view and right in the centre of a special part of Bergen!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    OK but not as good as I would have expected for the price and rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of information from the staff. There was no room service when we were there but we did not find this out until 9pm when we tried to order some food. Bed was extremely soft, OK if you like it that way

    The location was superb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Good base to explore Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning could have been better. Cooked breakfast was good but goes a little cold in the trays. Breakfast room layout is all wrong and causes some traffic congestion.

    Location is great. Attic room was good but some dirt around the dormer windows. WiFi was good everywhere. Not much choice in TV channels. Loved the free hot chocolate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the check-in, getting to our room, we realised it was not cleaned but they gave us an other room without any problem. The furnitures are a bit old and used, the need some refurbishment.

    The breakfast was really nice with a big variety of food - even a DIY waffel maker! There was a really good heating in our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked the room, it said there is ‘tea and coffee making facilities’ in the room. When we arrived, we were offered an ‘upgrade’ to a bigger room with tea and coffee making facilities, because ours didn’t have that. Except we had to pay 20 eur/day for that extra. We opted for an upgrade, because we really like our tea in the evening, and the room was really nice and had a great view. But that little situation of promising what is not there left a bitter aftertaste. I don’t think we’ll be coming back.

    Great location, nice breakfast (freshly made waffles, good variety of fruits, breads and cold cuts, eggs and everything that goes with that). They even have a small sauna, although it's awkwardly located in the gym room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, comfortable, elegant, a short walk from the train and at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV channels offered a meager choice. Toilet seats made of wood, even if ver elegant, are unhygienic.

    Great elegant rooms, even with beds with electronic setting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    We loved the location, super central if you arrive by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs at the breakfast. The lack of moisturizer in the rooms and reception, since they have it in the pictures in the tv, and it's really important when you're in Norway in winter.

    We loved the location, super central if you arrive by train. From there, you can easily walk the city. The staff was super nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    the staffs here were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none, everything is perfect.

    the staffs here were great! first they welcomed us with a warm greeting, and proceeded to check us in swiftly. upon check in the staffs are very informative. everything is as per stated in their description. worth the price, perfect location, close to restaurants, bus stop is just 2 mins walk away. we enjoyed our stay and if anyone would ask for hotel suggestion in Bergen, This is definitely the one, no doubt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Good quality hotel at good price
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening restaurant not available at time of stay Parking expensive

    Breakfast good, room large and well equipped Staff friendly and location for Bergen centre excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    OK but a bit disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I admit I booked this property on price. However, I feel I should have been warned that the reason for the low price is that the hotel is undergoing extensive renovation work and facilities such as the restaurant/bar, minibar are not available. The hotel needs a facelift and when it's completed I'm sure it will be worthy of its 4* rating.

    The hotel's location is excellent in the Bryggen area. Staff very pleasant and the breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor and bathtub in bathroom was full with dust and hair(not ours), the same behind bed, when we were searching for electrity contact to charge phones. Hallway to our room was very dirty,with peanuts and dust.Breakfast was emty for eggs,bacon :(

    Good location,good space in room,nice view over bryggen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    The location and the atmosphere of the room and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No noticable sign out the front for First Marin only a small sign that said first? We booked a double room and then we have 2 single beds stuck together which come apart!!! Very annoying on a romantic holiday!!! Stairs to get to your room which is really hard carrying huge bags up stairs!!!!

    The location and the atmosphere of the room and the view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, being very close to the water and everything was an easy walk. The funicular is only a couple of minutes walking away. The breakfast was also excellent. Lots of choice and hot and cold. I tried the sauna too. Don’t miss it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with a perfect location in the center of Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    The hotel is really in the center of Brygge and very close to old Bergen. It seems to be a little bit outdated but is has a good comfort status and the rooms are comfy and spacy. We also used the Sauna. The breakfast is good but not special. All in all it is the perfect combination of comfort and value for money but the best advantage is the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Costly laundry services. $7 for men's underwear is high. Erratic WIFi connection, needed resetting every day.

    Outstanding location and value. Very comfortable corner room. Good breakfast. TV reception was fine. Hot water shower and bath were easily operated and very satisfying after cold day outside. Comfortable and fluffy beds. Could open window part way to freshen up the air.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, parking on site, good free wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel exceeds all of my expectations. Staff were super helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. Loved the coffee , hot chocolate machine in liberary. Rooms were large , beds comfy , Toilet and bathroom were easy to use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel right near Bryggen and walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel right near Bryggen and walking distance to the funicular to Mt Floyen. Comfortable room and nice breakfast. Free tea and coffee available downstairs at all hour to help yourself. Our room had a nice view of the harbour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic value for money (I got a good offer though,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like other comments hinted, some areas could do with a touch-up, but all in all it's a lovely hotel.

    Fantastic value for money (I got a good offer though, cheaper than the "desk price") Beds were super comfy, you can adjust the softness/firmness of the mattress yourself Room was big, excellent view both to the mountains and city, but very quiet and well heated. Breakfast had a very good choice after 8 o'clock (though the official start is earlier, the fresh warm food like eggs and bacon came in later). Gym is small, but equipment very well thought trough, one can spend decent time exercising. Extra towels available for the sauna. Location deserves 12 points - plenty of restaurants/cafes nearby, funicular, Bryggen, Fish Market and cruise harbour all within a few blocks. +I think I had the fastest check-in of my life :o

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The harbour view room we originally booked was dowdy so would recommend you don’t book that side of the hotel (not renovated). One member of staff was somewhat rude!!

    Location of the hotel was great, and the superior twin room was lovely (far better than the harbour view room we originally booked). Gym facilities were great too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    Finally ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough toiletries for all the guests and they didn't offer others the next day. Plus no shower gel in the dispenser (which was also broken).

    I liked the location (next to Bryggen ) even thought you couldn't see the water nor the fish market plus the sauna and the gym. They accepted to keep the luggage for free after checking out. The room was big enough and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place in the most charming city I've ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The hotel was perfect. It was a beautiful building in the best part of Bergen. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff were welcoming and very helpful (especially Michelle who I had contacted via email to assist with some train tickets). The breakfast was great too. The view over the marina also spectacular. I couldn't fault the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent thankyou. Bergen is beautiful. Norway is amazing. The hotel set the tone. Well done.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were excellent and a real credit to the hotel. Aron at the front desk was tremendously welcoming, friendly and helpful. This gave us a great start to the trip, and will be remembered forever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and relaxing but no wow factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A staff member suggested nothing was open on Sunday when there were things to see and do. This came across a little abrupt. Bit noisy Saturday night with nightclubs close by. Needs new carpet and a bit of updating.

    Room was a good size for a single, had a fantastic view and a bath tub to warm up. Staff were friendly and helpful. In the old town, location for restaurants and easy to navigate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Amazing! One of the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful and we had probably one of the most comfortable beds I had ever slept on! The room was clean, we had a stunning view and were literally situated right on the harbour! The breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse First Hotel Marin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: