Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Grims Grenka 5 stars

Kongensgate 5, 0153 Oslo, Norway

#114 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1099 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of my baby's cot. It was dirty n that is not nice. The keycard did not work the second day n the receptionist informed me that I should not have it near my phone. The funnt part was tat my phone was in my room.

    The staff at the madu restaurant were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could be slightly larger.

    We loved the roof top bar, it was very trendy and cool. I staff also at reception at the restaurant where amazing and always accommodating. Even packed us some fruit and croissant from the breakfast for a picnic we went to!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange with the bathroom mirror only to the left of the sink and none in front of you. There was a small shaving mirror, but for people 185 or taller and in front of the light so it was in the shade.

    Very quiet. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t tell me the restaurant wasn’t open on Mondays when I booked so missed dinner that evening. Great ‘mood’ lights in the room but no instructions on how to use them..

    Location, peaceful, comfortable, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, its ventilation(which did not exist), the heating in the room (there was an electric heating element already in the room to supply general heating which did not work well. But it had a smell of burn dust. The photos show a much nicer hotel than it really is. But for the price it is well worth, because the location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to charge us for an extra person in the room, saying we’d only booked for 1 person instead of 2. A mix up between their system and booking.com. We had in fact booked/paid for 2 people. They did amend this when we double checked.

    Good central location, walking distance from the main train station. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit stuffy and I would have preferred a window looking somewhere other than another wall but I didn’t ask. Also all the mood lighting was a bit much and With no directions it took time to play around with...time Indidnt need to spend on the intracies of the catwalk vs the bathroom.

    It was good. The rooms were nice. .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was a very cool corridor-type layout, and felt very luxurious and special. Bed was really comfortable and the WiFi was also impressively quick for a free service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staf at the reception wasn't friendly. We left hotel before breakfast - it is not possible to have something left before. I asked for twin room instead of one- it didn't happened! Uncomfortable shower - water everywhere all around bathroom. I would stay somewhere else next time, it does not worth for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, perfect English and very polite, gave us great advice and emailed us information on things we enquires about. buffet breakfast was amazing, Scandinavian, continental and full English. Our room was clean, modern and had everything we needed. Was excellent value for money considering the area. 2 minutes walk was a major bus terminal were we could get to anywhere from and very convenient for the cold. Central station 10 minutes walk if that and the centre 10 minutes the other way. Beautiful city would love to go back, will definitely be staying in this chain again if we have the option anywhere else in the world. Pure class and sophisticated, yet very homely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. They gave me the wrong room, when i told them, they made me think they were gonna give me an upgrade but i paid for the room with the Bath! They took my card and charged it for the authorization even if i called the concierge three days before then to make sure they were not gonna take any authorization. To have my money released it took 10 days, but when i was there the manager said it was gonna take 48 Hours. I had to call them everyday for a week. The staff Was really not professional. Honestly, not what you expect from a hotel like that!

    The position is very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One negative is that when my boyfriend went down to the reception to tell them there was a mysterious stain on the shower curtain, the receptionist flat out ignored him. It was a male receptionist, but that was the only negative.

    Close to Karl Johan, which was nice. The lady who checked us in was superfriendly and we got to check in early, which was awesome as we were tired. The bed was amazing, the TV had a lot of channels and the sofa was really nice. The room was a little bit cold, but the bathroom was really nice and warm. They also provide an extra heater in the room so wasn’t cold for long! Breakfast was ok, had all the basics. Easy to check out as well, and they have free coffee all day long! I will definitely stay here again :) also had a safe storage room we got to keep our luggage in until our flight after checking out. The receptionist is also very helpful in giving directions to places you want to go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was 14 degrees and NO the window was not open. Used to be a design Hotel, How???? Have rarely seen such poor finishes even in former soviet bloc countries...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms!!! With a window that runs at head-height around the box that is the bathroom there is little privacy! What a weird 'design' feature? Bathroom was absolutely tiny so I suppose the glass allowed light in but it's very odd and intrusive. The lighting system also requires a user manual. I would request a different room with better bathroom if I were to go back.

    Loved the location of this property - easy to access the Fjord, castle and Aker Brugge. Would also highly recommend the irish pub around the corner. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s really outdated hotel , everything starts to become really old with really weird technology, the beds are so cheap along with the comforter , no Cafe maker , the WiFi didn’t work during our stay due to hardware problem as the receptionist said , when we came at night we were expecting a real five star hotel with valet service and someone will carry your bags and bright reception with nice bar or restaurant next to it but the reality was only the receptionist is there , you have to carry your own bags with no bartender at the bar , the hotel was approximately empty . The Furniting was very cheap, all of it was from ikea with a lot of stains on it specially in the mattress . Even if you want to order some food at your room , you will be charged with 120 NOK just for delivering the order .

    Normal hotel nothing impressive, the location is good , breakfast is accepted, staff are nice .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 light bulps not working, glass broken at the handle and the shower water kept adjusting hot and cold. Expect it to be all perfect when you book the most expensive room (Suite)

    Big and spacious and comfortable bed, nice and quiet and good Aircon with good smell.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dark, dirty, rundown hotel. It has/had a lot of potential but due to very bad management this hotel goes through the drain. WiFi drops constantely, toilets are dirty from previous guests, rubish under the bed, coffee machine but no coffee, only towels are changed by staff, floor and couch full of dirty spots, when you get coffee the coffee cups are not cleaned, etc...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The guy at the reception was so very unhelpful. In fact, it seemed he went out of his way to be unhelpful with either restaurant directions or key events happening in the city. This was my first trip to Oslo and it was rather surprising as every where else I've been ( more than seventy countries ) , individuals at Reception and Concierge service see it as part of their role to be useful when it comes to identifying and recommending such things. Also it seems to me that the room's size and facilities and ambience was oversold on the hotel's website. I would have taken a different type of room.

    The lady at the bar was a fantastic hosts all through. Kudos to her.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shaving mirror was awkward to use in our particular room. Yes, it's that good a place when that's all you have to complain about. I look great with a beard anyway. :)

    Staff were so very polite, experienced and helpful. We were allowed to relax and felt welcome and worthy guests at all times. It's a great location, away from the central bustle but just a ten minute stroll away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Besides a very small shower, the only criticism is the wifi. The wifi was probably more off than on which is far from ideal when you have to work online.

    The staff was great - both at check-in and check-out as well as in the breakfast restaurant. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of delicious food. And finally the location of the hotel was super...right in the center of Oslo!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not looked like the fotos at all! It was old, with dirty walls and floor. The ceiling was full of strange hatches and in bad condition. There was some strange locked door just opposite the bed. There were some forgotten caps from pepsi and shampoo in the room. The dust was flying in the air. Scratches covered all furniture and other surfaces. The internet was really bad. I’m not recommending this hotel to anyone.

    The breakfast was really good with a big variety of dishes. The waiter was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problem with the rooms overlooking the lobby is that the curtain's didn't close completely (there were gaps between them) which meant the bright lights in the lobby came through. If management read this - buy some curtains that fit the windows, or turn off / dim those lobby lights (see picture). The corridor, stairs & doors of rooms looked a bit shabby & could do with a coat of paint. The amenities in the room was limited / poor. No Kettle or tea / coffee in room. Breakfast hot selection looked of poor quality & the orange juice tasted like it was 50% water.

    The cleanliness of the rooms was good. The design was interesting. The concept of the restaurant was good. Dinner was good. Most of the cold range for breakfast was okay. The staff were great. It was warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't turn off the heating, despite being set to the lowest. I had to open the windows as it was too hot and dry and didn't sleep well. The bathroom is also very small. Definitely not a 5 star hotel

    Nice location, bar area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dated, it had obviously been state of the art several years ago but their was a broken mirror that had just been tapped over, the light fitting were broken, the volume control wasn't attached. I got an exceptional deal on price but in my opinion this isn't a 5* hotel, dark lobbies also don't help with the guest experience.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were extremely soft and quite uncomfortable. We didn’t sleep well all 3 nights. Note: we were in the only twin bed room of the hotel.

    The location of the hotel is good and the staff are friendly, plus the room was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Narrow and limited lobby bar. No option to have a dinner on Monday. Bathroom lightning and interior weird, doesn't work well for a lady to put on makeup and hairstyle.

    OK hotel for overnight stay with no high expectations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior is beautiful. But it is a bit dark, which made it feel as if it is night all the time. Also caused because none of our rooms had windows.

    Great food. Really liked the rooms. Very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not as clean as I’d hope, and the restaurant on the property Madu was horrible, the staff was weird they said things and it didn’t happen. Me and my partner was very disappointed.

    The bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room needs an upgrade. It was worn and details shows that nothing has been done to the room in a long time. Cold atmosphere, no minibar, tv channels not as explained in the material, and just enough comfort to defend its status as a high end hotel. Not enough to satisfy price/quality though. The staff was nice enough, but all showed lack of capacity to go the extra step for the guest. A few more smiles and hospitality would help.

    Breakfast and common areas of the hotel. Location is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was tiny. Every time I took a shower all the water came out the bathroom. It is not a 5 star hotel. Its quality is not worthy for the high price that you pay. I will never come back

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room layout (rm 608) was very cramped. Could barely have two suitcases open. Lighting was minimal in the room - very dark.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was comprehensive and delicious. Bathroom was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite dirty, the screens weren’t so good, and the bathrooms very small with very strange showers.

    The breakfast was absolutely amazing and the lounge, bar and beds were really of high quality as well!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are poor in this hotel. There is not even the usual complementary bottle of water or tea/coffee service in the room . A 4 start hotel shall provide this minimum of comfort for guests.

    Location, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unlucky because during my weekend trip to Oslo on Sunday in the hotel has not electricity and hotel wasn't prepared on this. There wasn't any light in the bathroom and the water was really cold and I couldn't dry my hair. The breakfast wasn't fully served and was only in very basic standard because they couldn't do anything in kitchen.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff checking us in changed the room which I had pre-arranged prior to arrival and I had to ask to have it changed back. The rooms placed on the inside of the hotel that look down towards the lobby, if people are talking at night, it echoes up to the rooms. The shower in our room was ridiculous! If using the free falling shower head, it floods the bathroom in seconds! So to shower we had to use the shower head that is removable. Terrible.

    The location is this hotels best attribute.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was like a room in Space shuttle. I am not sure, if the Facilities Management has tried taking bath in this bath room. I am skinny, I got hit at least 3-4 time when I had to apply soap. The first one was a hard blow as I got a serious shock in my hand I am just wondering how a person who is slightly oversized will fit in this?? Probably, It is only to get wet in water(stand still without moving)

    Very Innovative, New rooms..Fantastic, Very nice people, very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious, clean, very comfortable bed, quick check-in process, fast internet, calm atmosphere, nice design and a large working desk with a comfortable office chair in the room. A very different experience from those expensive claustrophobic seven square meter boxes that pops up everywhere in Oslo. I'll definitely go back to this treasure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dark room in general. Heating does not work properly since the bathroom was very hot all the time whereas the main room was quite cold.

    The location. Everything is really close to the hotel. Breakfast is great, lot of food!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for elevators was annoying. Hallways were tight. Bathroom was beautiful but small. Never did figure out how the light switches worked. Curtains could have been a little more light-blocking.

    Everything was okay. They got us in before they had to. Staff was very helpful. Nice and convenient breakfast. Room was comfortable except for the temperature. Thank god they had a fan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms was cool but it fails on details... No hanger at bathroom; it is difficult to control lights and room temperature; no window to outside.

    Location is perfect. Very good internet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small shower(but as i see this is normal in Oslo), not to clean zofa with white marks in room.

    Good location, good energy and friendly staff on repection;)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dark room, too small shower.

    Great service, all stuffs are really care and help with the baggages, especially Mr.Makro who have a great service-mind. Breakfast is good, not too big but quality I suggest the guest try to test the coffee & mocha.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean room during the stay dust and cobwebs. Also staff that were unhelpful and check in staff that checked me into the wrong room at first!

    Easily acsesable from Oslo S and walking distance to the centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not good value for money, rooms are tired and no restaurant when I visited and the terrace was shut. No mention of this when booking and that is what you are paying for.

    The breakfast was excellent, a great selection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT was a bit dark in the hall and the reception area.

    The breakfast was really Good. The size of the room was surprising big if we consider the fact that the hotell is located in the center. Nice design in the bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too trendy for its own good. A classic example of style over substance. Lighting controls a complete nightmare. Breakfast area gloomy and dominated by an artificial waterfall.

    Central location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For £160 a night it was such a let down. The first night I got there i rang and said "Hey, i forgot my toothpaste can you send some up" to which the reply was "We have toothpaste but you can come to the reception and get it yourself". I have been in budget hotels where they dont mind doing that. Also the room was tiny, especially the bathroom.

    The bed was incredibly comfy. Also, the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink wouldn’t drain. Out dated for a modern hotel. Didn’t feel clean. Only had one outlet and it was across the room. Not good when you need to charge your phone when you sleep and set your alarm to catch a flight the next morning. I purchased a suit, total waste of money...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seemed slightly understaffed. The gym is pathetic, but at least they tried.

    THE EGGS! The scrambled eggs at breakfast. I'll say no more. Just try them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dark and gloomy. The mirror in the bathroom was useless - had to bend in an awkward position to see myself. Had another small make-up mirror, but the lightening in the bathroom made this almost impossible to use as well. The staff was nice and polite, but not very professional.

    Very central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like movies available to rent since tv programming is in Norwegian

    Very nice boutique hotel. Staff was excellent. Very nice rooms, very comfortable bed. Would definitely recommend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole hotel is in VERY DARK TONES which is a bit off putting especially in a country that is already struggling with lighting

    The design of the room was original, and has more room than most hotels in Olso. The couch looked very inviting but proved not comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stylised lighting which resulted in gloomy areas such as the bathroom. Coffee machine provided but had to carry it round the room to find a plug point. There was a lock on the door of the toilet but no corresponding lock in the door frame! Although a lot of attention had been paid to design, each floor had an open cage of towels and linen which rather took away from the aesthetic.

    The staff were really helpful, polite and efficient. The hotel' s design was very cool and it was in a great location. There was a great range and diversity of choice in the breakfast buffet. Staff very attentive to replenishing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is dark, very dark. The rooms are dark, the bathroom is very small, the mirror on the bathroom can`t be use if you want to put on some make up (you just manage to see half of your face). The corridors are claustrophobic and dark. The street just in front of the hotel is full of prostitutes and strange people on the evenings (Pimps? drugs? I did`t fell safe. Would`t recommend it at all.

    The breakfast was good, the staff was kind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had this time had a very small bathroom, especially the shower was difficult to access and was tiny.

    The general atmosphere of the hotel is very nice, with a good breakfast selection and comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly, easy going and helpful. The breakfast was great with variety and everything was fresh and good quality. The Nespresso machine in the lobby can be used anytime during the day/night. Our room was big and had great street view. The location of the hotel is great, close to the center, harbour and Radhuset.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice rooms, although perhaps a little too modern- meaning the water covered the entire (tiny) bathroom by the time my shower was over, and the lights worked from one main control panel which was odd and not convenient in the middle of the night.

    Overall, a good value and nice place with friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was great and the wifi was fairly good. I picked the place on the location without knowing Oslo at all, but now that I know the area a bit, I would still choose this place again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you get claustrophobic attacks in most of their rooms - we had no daylight at all in our room - staff was what you would expect in a 2 star hotel - so considering the amount we paid it was a very bad choice -

    the bar on the roof top is really nice - location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whoever designed the rooms lacked experience. The showerhead wasted water and shot it out requiring an extra curtain and defeating the purpose of the glass shower partition. The hotel needs to change those showerheads. There's a terrible noise of backpressure unless the shower faucet is turned on full blast. It can be heard from other rooms. Then the bidet head only works while the showerhead is pouring out water because that is how much water is required to operate it. Horrible decision for a bathroom. We hated the "smart" light system. It was stupid, not smart, being forced to turn on all lights when entering, and having no instructions to program the lights the way we like. It wasn't worth the trouble to figure it out. We had an L-shaped room near the stairwell, and there was barely room to pass the bed into the sitting area. That room needs a smaller bed, or a reconfiguration. We didn't use the adjustable bed function at all, nor did we care about it. There were no luggage racks. We used the couch to place our luggage; we are not into unpacking and repacking. Not pleasant. The rooftop bar, though pleasant to occupy, had unknowledgeable staff. Don't bother asking for a Hendricks up. You'll get a mixed drink instead.

    Great breakfast with soy milk available. The style of the hotel is trendy and there's a rooftop bar reminiscent of boutique hotels in New York or LA. The beds were mostly comfortable, but a bit warm. The location is excellent, walking distance to City Hall square, but away from the shopping hub and noise. It was also easy to walk to the opera house and the train station. There is motorcycle-only parking across the street. We loved the front desk staff who were helpful and did their best. The late night staff even packed us some fruit for our early morning departure since we were going to miss breakfast. In spite of all the things I didn't like, the hotel had such a great vibe and positive energy. I really really hope they change a few things. Then I would be happy to return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very well finished but unfortunately unloved and does not look like the pictures advertised. The room was grubby in general with stains and marks all over the walls, floor and cushions. Dim dark lighting and only half a roll of toilet paper with no spare to be found! unfortunately we did not notice this sooner.... I'll let you figure out the rest, luckily we always carry some spare! The staff at reception were miserable, but the breakfast staff were lovely. We had to go elsewhere for dinner as the restaurants at the hotel were sadly closed. I would not stay here again or recommend to a friend. Shame as this place could be something really special if it was loved and looked after.

    Good Location. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the loft and our first night was excessively loud due to the fact that the Rooftop Bar was located directly above the room. We would have appreciated some notice. The room was dark and tired looking. So was the entrance to the hotel and the breakfast room. The sofa and bed in our room was stained, there was a streak of toothpaste on the front of the bathroom vanity from the day we arrived to when we left. The handle on the safe was missing. Overall, it was adequate but not great.

    The breakfast buffet was good and consisted of a variety of options. The presentation was clean and well organized. The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was dark from the entrance to the breakfast room to our room. The place looked tired, dated and could use a face lift. Also, we were in the loft room and it was beyond noisy Friday evening! It would have been nice to be forewarned about the Roof Top Bar being above our room.

    The breakfast buffet was good, with a variety of options, fresh food, and friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not meet my expectations of a boutique hotel as there was nothing overly boutique about it. Seems it would have been great in its glory days but is starting to get tired and outdated. Staff were polite but not overly informative or welcoming. Check in consisted of Hi, your room is ready, please pay, the elevator is over there. Would not stay again as the price is too high for what it is.

    In a great location between tourist sites and shopping district. Restaurant had nice features and buffet breakfast was nice. The beds were heaven!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is big with its 9 floors and shape inmidst the market square and one could argue with regard to architectual fit into the Solvaer city.

    Design of room was very nice, modern style and colors. Breakfeast extraordinary. Nice view on habour. Friendly staff, helped us with arrangements for booking return flight and taxi to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark, shaby rooms, poor lightning, noise from the roof top bar, one lady receptionist was unprofessional an rude, other were helpful, pictures on the web are much better than reality. This was one of the worst hotels we have ever been.

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if in my booking it was mentioned that we are the family (1 adult and 2 children) our room was set for 2 persons only and I have to request additional bed after we went into the room as it happened that my booking request have not been taken into account. Initially I asked lady on the reception if the room will be good for 3 of us and she confirmed that room has the sofa. But sofa turned to be a narrow bench on which you hardly can sit. Gym is tooooo small. Base of the bed is bigger than the mattress and I hurt my both legs while moving around it. Be carefully while moving around the bed.

    Nice hotel. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacked any sense of vibrancy - lobby was empty, reception staff were often gone. Our room faced a wall on the side of a courtyard, it felt closed in and no connection to anything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is nowhere near being a 5 stars hotel, ill give it a max of 3 stars on a good day. No room service (even though it is mentioned here that they have), and the only restaurant in the hotel was 'seasonally closed'. Outdated rooms with broken furniture. No coffee or a water kettle in the room, if you want a cup of coffee you have to go down to the lobby and use the coffee machine (very inconvenient).

    Perfect location between karl johans gate and aker brygge. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't say anything negative.

    THe bed was fine,the breakfast was satisfying,the receptionists were very good! Special thanks to Alvin! He was perfect:attentive,considerate and polite! The property is very close to the central station,in fact it's 10 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keeping shattered my iphone screen while cleaning, did not apologize or leave a note. Horrible experience, horrible,horrible and horrible!!! Do not book at this property all they will do is try to charge your card several times without your knowledge and break your phone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tried to charge my card several times. No room service. Hotel has two sections an old one and a new one,rooms differ from the old section and the new section (old section rooms were very cheap and small, new section were spacious and more modern looking) but they were all the same price!! They tried giving me a room in the old section even though they had free rooms in the new section and i had to specifically ask for the new room. You can't change the AC temperature. No water heater in the rooms, you have to go down to the lobby to make coffee. Not coming here again.

    Comftable beds, nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing stands out

    The hotel staff was overly accommodating and very friendly. Always a smile and willing to help with any questions needing to be answered. The hotel is quiet and very very clean. Overall very classy place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porter, no pool, very small gym.

    Location of the hotel is perfect,close to city center yet in a quiet area. , clean ,value for money,good breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little cold in a room. I could not switch off the main light without switching off the bedside lamp, at least I could not find it.

    Close to city centre but in a quite street. I got room upgrade for free. Wi-Fi worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for one night, don't have any complains

    Spacious rooms, great location! We left the hotel at 6AM before breakfast and the recepcionist gave us some fruits for the journey, that was kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse First Hotel Grims Grenka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: