Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Breiseth 3 stars

Jernbanegaten 1-5, 2609 Lillehammer, Norway

#9 of 12 hotels in Lillehammer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1334 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t open the windows or get the ac to work. Our room had a beautiful view but we had to keep the curtains closed to minimize the heat in the room.

    The rooms were large, the beds comfortable and the location was super.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little dated and some things need updating or replacing. The sofa was almost unusable, over-large desk (for the room size) next to the bed kept catching me out. But I would stay again.

    Only a short stay, arrived nearly 11.00pm left 9.30 next morning. Close to the station and only a short stroll into town centre. Reception was helpful and check in easy. Bed was OK but a little soft for me. No noise. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady who checked me in was very unhelpful and unfriendly. She did t tell me about facilities that were available,l. When I asked questions she was reluctant to help.

    Everything except the rude lady. Thomas was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blinds on windows rather tired & didn't function well - need renewing. Too many emails re check in & check out.

    Clean, comfortable, warm & convenient hotel, nice staff & decent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the room on line and I got a notice to reserve the room. When I tried to fill out the form it kept telling me I didn't have a reservation. Why would you notify me if I didn't have a reservation. So the price I paid was higher than the price I had to pay because I didn't get a confirmation from you.. thanks but no thanks :(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were good. However, there was no facility to make pancakes for breakfast.

    Comfortable, warm, friendly and relaxed. Easy to catch public transport to the ski resort etc. Near train and main bus station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furnishings are a bit old but not without charm.

    Good value and conveniently situated in Lillehammer, near bus and train station. Good starting point for ski tours or even base for alpine skiing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quick check in (even after midnight), welcoming staff, spacious and immaculate room, great breakfast. The free parking was a massive plus - the location is also very convenient for the bus and train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts a little tired. Eg Drain plug in our bath broken enabling water to leak from bath onto floor (luckily to a floor drain!).

    Excellent breakfast. Coffee always available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered twin-bed room, got single queen sized bed. Receptionist stayed on the phone without acknowledging me, or helping in any way, on two occations.

    Good location. Easy parking. Quiet room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    have to say i can find nothing negative, even though the hotel is portrayed in one review as being a little tired.................it's still very clean and comfortable.

    overall excellent value for money, staff, facilities, location and parking all exceeded our expectations making our return trip to Lillehammer very enjoyable, in less than 15 minutes by car you can be on the slopes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, bathroom was not nice. Breakfast option swere very limited. Car park was small so in season it could be difficult to get a space.

    Really friendly staff, great location and the parking was free!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water flowed all over the bathroom floor, so we had to mop it up the avoid getting our feet wet later.

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Next to train station. Friendly staff. Great value. Cozy warm. Heated bathroom floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once a grand hotel, it's still rather upscale but does show signs of fraying around the edges. Our room was large and came equipped with everything we needed (including kettle and coffee and tea). Bathroom was large and warm (with floor heating). The location is right in the city centre, across the street from the Kunstmuseum and around the corner of the main shopping street. Breakfast was plenty, all fresh and high quality. We did have an issue in the middle of the night where one of the guests couldn't sleep and turned on their TV full volume. The sound come through the ventilation and it was like someone turned on the TV in our room. The night watch handled it gracefully and put us in another room in a different part of the hotel where it was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here! They had a wonderful breakfast and exceptionally comfortable beds. We told them it was our honeymoon and they treated us like royalty. Very close to the train station, probably a half block. Would definitely recommend staying here for a short trip or if you're staying in lillehammer for a while.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, very nice hotel. Nothing negative.

    Great location and free parking. We had a large corner room. Furniture is kind of dated but the bed was comfortable and the linens good on both the bed and in the bathroom. These are always my primary concern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower/bathtub flooded , the tub was not sealed and did not fit tight to the wall.

    Good location, walked around town. Short distance to the ski jump area, wonderful view from the top.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is i very expensive for a quite basic hotel.

    Stayed for Birkebeinerrittet. They had storage possibility for bikes and had extra early breakfast during the day of the event.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture needs to be updated as it is looking tatty.

    Our room was comfortable and spacious, with a balcony. The room had charm, even though the furniture is looking very tired. The bed was fabulous as was the linen. Breakfast was great also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very ok but a little worn out, hair dryer in the bathroom doesn't work and is very old. Carpet on the room was not vacuumed properly, there are strands of blonde hair on the floor. Would have been nice to have more electrical connections beside the night table where you could charge your phones during bedtime. Toilet paper holder is a little too far from the toilet and would have been nice with a bigger mirror on the room.

    Good location in centrum, just a two-minute walk from the Lillehamer train station, great breakfast esp. croissants and scrambled eggs, they're really delicious. Free parking place. Very comfy beds, slept good at night:) all in all, the stay is great and hotell staffs are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture in the room. The size of the sitting room.

    Good breakfast and good beds. Close to both railway station, the main pedestrian street and a nice park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Menu for Breakfast is not many options, for asian traveler will be hard to have germany food better to have Norwegian food.

    The size of the room is quite nice and big as we want it. We stayed 2 nights here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms really need to be refurnish. Very old furniture seems from Olympic games 1994.

    Good building in Lillehammer center with very polite personnel free wi-fi and free parking. Very good breakfast plus free croissants and coffee in very comfortable fireplace hall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Two minutes walk from the railway station. Complimentary tea and coffee available 24/7. Free waffles also provided for supper. Basic room, but clean and functional. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only ventelation in our room was the window and a small fan in the bathoom. With outside humidity at 99 %...I think we had 95 in the room when we got in from the rain. Good thing that windows could be opened.

    Good breakfast, quick respons at the reception, perfect distance to train station and city centre. Good beds, we got a renovated room. Nice that the hotel has kept some of their more than 100 years of history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the floor carpets old and not cleaned properly (may be it was a season related issue, still proper cleaning should be a priority)

    Location close to the pedestrian street, shops, restaurants, good breakfast, free car parking, free WiFi, friendly and helpful staff, nice old paintings

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some room fittings, although clean, were in need of a little tlc.

    Great staff, good breakfast and clean, comfortable room. Nothing was too much trouble for the receptionists. Ideal location for rail, bus and city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit expensive.

    Very helpful personnel, excellent bed and a great location! It's right next to railway station and in the city centre, with restaurants and shops close by.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to train station, bus stops and city center. Very helpful staff. Free cookie for the evening and nice breakfast. The ski bus is 50 meters away from the hotel, and it takes around 20 mins to reach Hafjell ski resort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really do not know what could have been better....oh.... maybe parking?

    The breakfast was awesome! Lots of different meats, cheese, hot eggs, bacon or sausage, and lots of other breakfast choices☺ Our room was quiet and we slept in most morning. Only noise was people coming from train station in late evening. Convenient location! We stayed a whole week and enjoyed it all. About 1 block up to the "pedestrian" sheet where there is lots of shopping

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in Lillehammer when it was hot, even by our Australian standards, and understandably there is no airconditioning in the rooms so it was warm at night. Fortunately, because of the Windows we were able to get some flow through air.

    This is a comfortable hotel in a good location for exploring Lillehammer on foot, with free parking, free wifi and very pleasant staff. We also liked being in the old part of the hotel in a top corner room. Lovely!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very few plugs in the room (only two were working).

    Very nice staff, great breakfast. Room was very cozy, bathroom was nice. You could also get free tea and coffee from the lounge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    carpets were really old. our shower was horrible. we had a slanted roof so it was literally 5'3 inches high and about 2 feet across. I have never been in such an awkward shower

    bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, clean hotel, very good breakfast, good WIFI

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs to be updated.

    Staff was top-notch, but hotel really needs to be updated or renovated. Carpet needs replacing, as does furniture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful front desk.small room, but you get what you pay for, I guess.

    Fabulous breakfast! The best of all our travels. Very helpful front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old tatty furniture and very old fashioned , too noisy on the streets outside

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi, smal room

    God location, helpful straff, god breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furnishings a bit worn in our room.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near train station. Located centrally for everything I wanted to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious waffles and warm welcoming by the staff. Nice and quite hotel with early breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the male staff member was too lazy to make waffles one evening.

    Waffles when available

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful room/suite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud ventilation in the room. Quite small room.

    Everything worked fine even if the hotel is not that new. Nice, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in my room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    been here before very good breakfast very very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not hot water.

    It was not hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no restaurant

    location bed breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large room. Excellent breakfast. Warm room (huge bonus when cold outside!) Bang in the centre of Lillehammer. Great hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quiet town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access. Very good breakfast. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located central

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the deep Chairs were VERY deep (lacked spring support).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in the morning.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good selection of food and beverages for Breakfast. Room comfortable, good to have an elevator. Close to town and a good Genius price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was good

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Best location, clean room, friend staff,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk service excellent & helpful. Marvelous breakfast/make your own lunch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is rather old fashioned, but it's ok.

    Location and kindness of the staff. Room size is also good. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower!!! Only a tub!

    Good location, clean, nice view, yummy breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely view over Oslo

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Wonderful room - excellent breakfast- great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific breakfast and central locatuon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was old in the room. Sofa and the chair. Could not hardly sit on them.

    The staff was exellent and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a bit dated

    Good location. Decent selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels in room

    Old style hotel - with that traditional charm - staff were very helpful. The room was spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waffles with strawberries and cream both afternoons. A delightful way to end the fsy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff. Nice breakfast, well located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Sofabed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception Person very friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: