Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gaustad Hotel 3 stars

Sognsvannsveien 20, 0372 Oslo, Norway

#115 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 281 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    3.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a former hospital and it shows extensively. Especially the bathrooms are typical hospital bathrooms which are built for necessities and less for any type of aesthetics. The rooms are similar (there are still alarm switches on the walls). If you have any type of bad association with hospital stays, I would not recommend staying here. Additionally, parking is not included and rather expensive in a parking garage about 300 meters away (250kr a night).

    Very close to public transport. Rooms were of adequate size and cleanliness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value for money! The hotel is located right next to Rikshospitalet (15min to and from Oslo Sentrum) - Tram stop, with connections to the Oslo Metro (Oslo T-bane). The breakfast buffet is very good and abundant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The necessity to pay extra fee for Wi-Fi.

    Clean, quiet, well-equipped, the fridge in the room, underfloor heating in the bathroom, the tram station just behind the building, compared to other accomodations in Oslo, it was awesomely cheap...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clearer directions from the city centre using the tram (17 or 18), which stops right outside the hotel. When I used the tool on the website, it only gave me bus directions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not exactly near downtown Oslo, but the good thing is there is a tram just outside the hotel that will take you close to the Gallerian, if you are in the need of an airport bus to travel onward to your destination.

    Nice personal. A comfortable bed and very clean and high Scandinavian standard throughout the room. The breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were friendly & helpful while others not so much.

    There's a tram stop literally on the door step & it's a short ride into the main area. There's also a train stop nearby. The rooms are basic but sufficient. Quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially they had no record that I booked through booking.com so I paid more than I was supposed to until I proved that I had booked through booking.com

    The room was a perfect size and had rather comfortable beds. Breakfast was a pretty traditional Norwegian breakfast with bread and sliced meats and cheeses

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was rude (I asked them to order a taxi. They told me that I could do it myself), the hair dryer was broken, the food was not good, and the price was more expensive than announced be booking.com

    It was clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a disgrace of the hotel. During check in I got the information that the room that I have booked is taken and that they can offer only the apartment over 3 times more expensive. I had to make several phone calls which took about an hour in front of the desk office, when they suddenly said that the room I have booked is now free (it was late afternoon, so that was no check out time or anything, what means they had it all the time, so obviously they wanted to charge more and to give me something I didn´t ask for in the first place). It is a lie that they have free parking! It is hospital parking nearby that hotel has nothing to do with. So they also give false information regarding that. They are not guest friendly, it is not sure if you will get what you ordered, they gave false information in their description ... this is not a hotel, it is a disgrace. I will never visit it again!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not good enough. I have more "spreads" in my own refrigerator... No hot meal. No wifi included. Very expensive car-parking.

    nice price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love Norwegian hospital hotels. Really good food and always peacefully and comfortable. For me location no problem since I had car. Generally nice and different Recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign is small and easily blocked. When I first got there I had no idea that was the hotel because a van was parked in front of said sign.

    The bed was heavenly!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean, minimalistic, comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Singel bed is too small

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Clean and right by the station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was fine

    Perfect place for a university conference participant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is good between the centre and Holmenkollen. Well reachable by tram and T-bane. Service/price rate is good and affordable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty Old Hotel and No parking in the hotel.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of town but zero parking space

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ability to have a cigaret with my coffee on the terrace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great price, tram stop and metro station close to the hotel, rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a hotel, here was my first experience that i had to pay extra for the internet.This is outrageous.

    Breakfast buffet was fine, bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free wifi Fridge didn´t work

    Near to the public transport and safe area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so so ,bed are small

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like that there was no wifi in the rooms, only at the reception down in the lobby. If you want internet connection you can only have in your room if you have a computer, then you have to purchase internet cable plus the internet service aswell, which is not good in my opinion. It should be wifi for free in every room.

    The staff at the reception was very friendly, also the cleaning service people aswell. The breakfast was beyond my expectation, wide choice of everything. Location also very nice, tram, bus and metro station were very close.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I booked a room for 3 nights, but on my arrival I said I will only stay 2 nights. They still charged me for 3 nights, although it writes free cancelation before 12:00 am. I canceled 2 days before and I still had to pay. What can I say? Gongrats for the great deal, Gaustad Hotel. You are now richer with 600 kr. They don't have wifi in the room so if you want access to the internet, consider bringing a cable with you (otherwise you have to borrow one from the reception for 75 kr).

    The breakfast was ok

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is primarily a hospital accomodation facility, although it is run as a hotel. For people visiting family members etc in the hospital it will be a perfect and comfortable place to stay close and have some privacy. Yet for other travellers (like us) it feels a bit like you are intruding or at least are part of an institution. Particularly the breakfast hall feels institutional, although the breakfast is OK (yet very basic). Some areas of the hallways even smell like a hospital. Conclusion: Everything is clean and OK, staff are very friendly, yet next time we will probably rather stay in a youth hostel.

    The rooms are bright, clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Couple

    It took some time to have hot water in the shower and beds though it's comfortable to sleep with, it does move away from each other.

    The breakfast was superb. Quiet environment. Easy access to transportation.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Getting hot water in the bathroom takes looong time, and it is unstable. We reserved twin room and got one large bed instead...

    Direct tram to the center, decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to wait about 5-10 minutes until you get some warm/hot water when taking a shower. And it's a hospital hotel (which I didn't know before): The rooms are accessibly designed with lots of medical equipment. This sometimes convey that one is living in a hospital.

    very good connection with public transport to the city center (tram station right in front), nice hiking surroundings (wood), very good breakfast buffet with a wide range of food (also vegetarian and lactose-free products)

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It is impossibble to have a car in Norway, you have to pay hilarious much money to park your car as well road tax and expensive gasoline.

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free wifi is problem because you have to buy on cable in your room to connect your laptop. Free wifi works only in reception area. Expensive parking.

    Good value your money for hotel night. Good connection to the center of town by tram.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is not easy to find. The hotel has a very small sign name and a common address with several other buildings

    The fact that it was clean and they has a diverse breakfast and access to coffee and tea 24/7

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold water in shower (though there will be hot water if you leave the water running for 10 min.), inability to open the room window, beds are easily separated from one another and are too narrow even for slim body type females

    Room temperature, nature, quietness, free coffee and tea

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I noticed some comments stating there's an absence of facilities/it's part of a hospital complex - present facilities are clearly described in the hotel, as is the connection to a hospital. The TV channel selection isn't great (for an English speaker) but it's great for a place to sleep between sightseeing days. Returning back one night took a while to get back in as the front door was locked - took about 5 minutes for someone to come and let us in. Area safe tho, and it didn't seem to be something that happened a lot.

    Location not central, but tram stop literally seconds from front door. Airport bus stops about 5 minute walk away. Clean rooms. Ace breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed wasn't really a double and its 2 parts were constantly sliding away. No free WIFI in the rooms - somewhat old-fashioned.

    It's not in the center but well connected by 2 trams that run often and stop just outside the hotel doors. There's a park just in front of the hotel and its design is quite interesting tool. They've got great breakfast. The buffet restaurant is open up until 8pm and you can save a lot of money if you come and eat there instead of eating in the city (you don't have to live in the hotel), from 7 to 8 it is 39 kr which is a price of a half-glass of wine in the city. Free tea, coffee and cakes are available the whole night long.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It shold be more clear at the web that this hotel is a part of the hospital. The breakfast was simple and it was school atmosphere in the dining room. Very simple. You get much better value at the other hotels in oslo.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The address when put into google maps sends you up the wrong street. Would have been helpful if there were more signs around the area because we thought we were just in a hospital/university area; doesn't really look like a hotel would be in the area. But once found it was in a convenient area with tram stops just outside.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was warm.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect value for someone who wants easy access to the city center without paying the price of city center hotels. Located at the end of trams 17 and 18 so was super easy to get exactly where we wanted to go. Also within a 5 minute walk of both a bus and metro station. Room was larger than we were expecting as we were expecting your typical tiny European hotel room. Bathroom was huge, sofa and fridge in room were a pleasant surprise! Man at reception when we arrived was so friendly and kind! Highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bar

    The hotel is a little hidden gem been here 3 years on the run. excellent transport links lots of nature walks on the door step big field to make snowmen with the kids cant recommend it enough

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One bed was too soft. Too Close to a noisy elevator.

    Ok price, good location, Close to the tram and metro.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

    I like breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You have the airport transfer bus with stop next to the hotel, also the tram stop, night bus stop, and T-banen stop.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Oslo is a little too expensive, so accommodation was a little expensive too.

    Clean, tidy, staff were very helpful, good overall atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no proper signs to reach the hotel first time

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room.

    Breakfest

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't have free parkering place for the Car

    The Breakfast is super and very variable

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fuss, helpful, friendly. Very good value for money. Very easy to get into Oslo with the 18 tram stop right outside.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast .

    the cozy room , perfect location especially eazy to go palace.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi only available at the lobby, very weak in the rooms

    Public transport in front of the hotel, ~20 min to the center

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom could be cleaned better

    Location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small beds but not really a problem. There was no hot water one night..

    View, breakfast, room, access to tram

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can not fault this hotel at all, brilliant for the price that we paid.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great staff, easy public transport, clean and modern rooms with comfortable beds

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: