Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Norway hotel reviews
  3. Hordaland hotel reviews
  4. Bergen hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Terminus

Reviews of Grand Hotel Terminus This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Zander Kaaes Gate 6, Bergenhus, 5015 Bergen, Norway

#31 of 53 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2264 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    7.5
    Good classic hotel but not comfortable for the guests , seemed like good hotel for parties !,?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too much noisy due to wedding & parties upto the late night almost every nights on the open garden , we stayed at Villa Terminus and Garden is located just beside our room, Grand aHotel should consider the priority , should be hotel guest party should be inside of the special party room and should take some measures for noise protection

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.8
    All round decent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower in the bathtub. No handrails and could get v slippery getting out: Swinging panel doesn't help.

    Courteous staff. Good Housekeeping service. Quick checkout. Old world Ambience. Fantastic Location.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    7.5
    Location in terms of bus, train, Bergen light rail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall ambience

    Location in terms of bus, train, Bergen light rail connectivity but it’s 700-900m away from the main tourist area of Fishtorget, Bryggen etc

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    8.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very few choices for getting dinner in the area, weak lighting and inconvenient outlets.

    The location is great! Very easy access to buses and trains and a short walk to the town center and fish market.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    9.2
    Good hotel if you don't mind small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to walk for 15 minutes to get to centre of town and where the restaurants were located The rooms were very small. Ok for one but not for 2 people. Nowhere to put luggage or sit comfortably

    Excellent location for light railway from airport and the train station Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    9.6
    This would be a top choice for us if we were returning to Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff didn’t really seem up on the local restaurants - they could use a real conscious.

    Big, comfortable room. Close enough to everything without being in the middle of all the tourists. Especially nice being next to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    10
    Beautiful, historic, fans hotel perfectly located and perfectly priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no electric outlet near the sink.

    The hotel is beautiful and the location was perfect. It was across from the train station and close to the harbour. It was also near a park. They offered a laudry room and a fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    5.4
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very old n dirty. No rubbish bin . Only a small one inside toilet. No coffee or tea provided in the room. Need to get from downstairs. The bathroom is old.

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    We
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were here for 17 Mai Parade & festivity’s. It was a great location for all of that. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was out of this world amazing especially on the 17. Took train to Aurland the next day & just need to walk across the street. Can’t wait to come back. Marcus was so helpful & friendly. and everyone was so nice. We will be back for sure🇳🇴😀

    We

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    5.4
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can be cleaner. The hotel is bit old . The room doesnt hav drinking coffee . Need to get from downstair tea room.

    Location is excellent. Next to train station.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    9.2
    Location perfect for us, atmospheric and quite grand. Comfy with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly larger room would be nice but we chose the price point.

    This has been a stylish hotel. Public spaces delightful. Whisky bar a large, beautiful, atmospheric space. Dining room also. Nice outdoor areas. Excellent breakfast. Being 50m from station was great. No train noise - very quiet. Room small but adequate. Easy enjoyable walk to waterfront. Clean. Staff really lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    9.6
    Right next to train station and round corner from bus station. Very quiet setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food in the bar very poor and coffee left to go cold

    The breakfast was amazing, brad especially was lovely. A lot of thought had gone into selection and especially liked the sliced banana with white chocolate drops. Sadly the meal in the bar was very poor, so would not recommend eating in the hotel other than breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    7.5
    good for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff cold as ice - very official attitude, lack of customer friendly approach and ...smile.

    Good location in the centre, close to railway station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to ongoing construction work it was very noisy on Saturday morning.

    Beautiful hotel and building. Very good beds. The hotel is in a very good location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    10
    Great place, rooms were really big along with the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place, rooms were really big along with the bathroom. Great location just short walk into centre of town. Opposite the train station (no noise) would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    8.5
    Bed comfortabl.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Opening hrs.of kitchen. Arrive late ..kitchen closed.very good..will come agai

    Bed comfortabl.. bathroom very clen....and the breakfastbuffet very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    7.9
    Next to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was on 5th floor, still could hear lots of noise, taxis r parked outside train station and drivers get together and talk and make noise late night and early morning, so your sleep get disturbed and you can hear next room tv or guests talking to each other

    It is exactly next to Bergen central station on the right side, breakfast was also good

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    10
    THe location was right next to the train station yet only a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    THe location was right next to the train station yet only a 10 minute walk away from the harbour and entrance to the Floyen Funicular train so was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    8.3
    Does not feel like a standard hotel chain but has classy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room could have been cleaner, some noise from the repairs

    Does not feel like a standard hotel chain but has classy appearance, spacious rooms and good service. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    10
    Great location, very helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, very helpful and kind staff. We strongly recommend the hotel both for couples and group of friends. The breakfast was very nice as aswell.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.6
    Great experience, I hope to be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is extensive construction going on and it did get loud at times.

    Spacious room, great location, modern you with old class vibe, wonderful staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Great friendly staff in old world environment , if it was a lads trip , we would never have left the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two single beds held together by hope (no hope) I should have told the staff , no kettle , decorating needs redoing

    Awesome breakfast buffet , loads of salmon and mackerel.juice. Hot English as well as continental.used gym every day.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    The Grand Hotel Terminus has an excellent location to the train station! Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't understand why the scandinavians shower and let the water go all over the entire bathroom floor?? Seems like they could place an edge to the bottom of their showers?

    The breakfast that was included was EXCELLENT. The hotel is older with a classic vibe. Bathrooms could use some updates.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    4.2
    At the begining we got a room stinking with cigarettes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the begining we got a room stinking with cigarettes. after my complaint, we got a new one, very tiny and I believed older than me (35). Old radiators, old bathroom, old furniture etc. This hotel is very nice only in lobby, higher you go, worse you can see. Usually I'm quite far from bad opinions, but this time I must do that.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    8.3
    Good location, service and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very hot, even with the radiator turned off. There was very little noise installation, could here other guests using their bathrooms.

    Central location, very clean and great value for money. Comfortable beds and pillows. All of the staff very very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.9
    Amazing breakfast, fantastic location. Though stay tainted by one-off incident at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have done with a kettle. One-off incident relating to a wedding held on site on a Saturday evening that got very out of hand - so much that other guests in the hotel were disturbed by loud noises late into the night (past 1:00am), myself included. Two members of staff tried to deal with the situation - one was fantastic, the other was extremely unprofessional. My family and I were unable to get any sleep until 3:00am as the noise continued. Day staff tried their very best to make amends the next day, which we appreciated. Could do better to re-train that one member of staff on how to manage similar situations in future, and to better understand how customer service works.

    The free all-inclusive breakfast is the BEST feature of the hotel - the best I've had. Location was perfect, right next to the station (so you can easily get the train out to explore the Fjords). No frills room, exactly as advertised.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    Happy with room, food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist wasn’t helpful regarding location of nearest restaurants but there are quite a few, a short walking distance. Menu in hotel looked amazing but was expensive.

    Room was clean and comfortable beds. Buffet breakfast was really good, plenty of options for dairy and gluten free diets (me) Fantastic location, right next to the train station and light rail line to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and ensuite a little on the small side.

    Great location, train station and light rail within 200m. Easy walk into city. Great breakfast spread. Character hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.3
    Location was great, just beside the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't great though it was ok. 1 bed was squeaky. Eveytime I turn, the bed would make a sound.

    Location was great, just beside the train station. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    6.7
    bed is cozy and location is perfect - 1min walking from...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    old, a little bit too old, the painting are really terrifying... and towel can be newer and cleaner. staff at front desk were nice and helpful, staff at breakfast were terrible, they’re not serving coffee & tea, nor, responding to “morning” from guest.

    bed is cozy and location is perfect - 1min walking from hotel lobby to train stage.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Like the hotel

    Staff really helpful. Love the classic hotel, well facilitated with everything you need n a great breakfast spread. Hot coffee & tea at lounge. If I go Bergen, will definitely stay there.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel close to the Bergen train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed for two days and on my first day there was some brutal construction noise coming from the area right next to my room. It did not stop until about 6:30pm.

    I stayed in a beautiful Junior Suite on the 6th floor overlooking the city. It was very spacious and clean. Wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable and convenient but party noise was unfortunate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a function on the night we stayed - sounded like it was in the function room at the end of our corridor. Really loud music until about 1am and lots of loud voices - not great with an early start the next day.

    Very convenient location, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet with early start time (great for catching an early train).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    Great location with train, light rail & bus stop very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a big deal but would've like to be given kettle to make tea or coffee.

    Great location with train, light rail & bus stop very close proximity. Breakfast spread was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.3
    The place to stay in Bergen city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room phone did not work!!!

    The location is a bonus. It's right next to the Bergen station. We took the Bergen train from Oslo and having a place right across the street when u arrive at 8pm in the evening is a bonus. Places of attraction like the fjord cruise location, Hanseatic wharf, the fliobanen, supermarket, bus station, shopping mall are walking distances. The breakfast is good and the staff very helpful and polite. The rooms have a bathtub and the beds are comfortable. The hotel has retained their ancient decor and its looks very nice. They also have a laundry room where you can do your own laundry.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent and the hotel is friendly and homely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived very late (as usual) from London but there were no rooms in the main building and I had to stay in the annexe (Villa). Transfered the following morning, but was not happy at having to move around. This has never happened here before.

    Location excellent and the hotel is friendly and homely.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms in lobby could have been cleaner

    The bed was comfortable and the food was great! The location was awesome, minutes from the city centre. The staff also held our luggage after check out. I absolutely loved my stay and would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great bed, great breakfast good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms somewhat outdated - wall to wall carpeting - not my thing

    A great breakfast and a very good bed. Rooms somewhat outdated - but clean and propper

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.1
    If you like history and atmosphere then you need to check...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware that a historic building does not provide the same level of silence in rooms as brand new hotels and the heating might fail in the room - but stays on in the bathroom which has floor heating.

    If you like history and atmosphere then you need to check out this hotel. It's like stepping into a time machine and it's amazing how they manage to keep modern hotel standards in such a historic building.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could be a little bit more friendly and facilities were a little poor and outdated.

    The whiskey bar, the grand historic building, the hotel room, the location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    6.3
    Unexpected guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff after they checked us into the room, then proceeded to allocate our room and provide keys to another person. We were aghast when a stranger walked in whilst we were preparing to go out. The staff didn’t care to apologise nor recognise why we were paranoid that our personal belongings weren’t safe because they couldn’t be bothered to pay attention to room allocation and handing out keys to our room.

    The rooms are a good size and location is a plus

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.9
    Everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel need renovation....furniture, bathrooms. The sign terminus on the corner of the building is ugly....the building is so nice that the sign spoils it.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.3
    Incredible staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room layout and the BED. Who would put a four posted bed in such way so that when watching tv the person on the left side of the bed had a post right in their viewing area. The mattress was only one inch thick. We got up every day (3 nights) with a backache. This situation might have been an anomaly, but for us it made us think twice about returning.

    The staff which was friendly, helpful, and attentive; dinning room, and location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    Couldn’t recommend more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t recommend this hotel more. The location was fantastic! We got the light rail from the airport and got off right at the hotels doorstep. It’s is a short walk into the square and down to the water where there are lots of shops and restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful and spoke very good English (like most people in Norway). The hotels facilities were great! We used the brand new gym and although it was small it was perfectly adequate for a workout. The hotel also offers laundry facilities for free, you just need to purchase the soap and do it yourself. Lastly the breakfast buffet was incredible! A huge selection of foods and they even catered for gluten and lactose intolerances. We will definitely be staying here again next time we are in Bergen.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Convenient for city view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist is patient to help me in checking the routes, point of views, etc. The breakfast is delivery and abundant. Checking out is efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    8.8
    A large room overlooking the train station but very close to Bergen harbour and other facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant location next to rail and bus station and close enough to the town centre. Very old world atmosphere. Staff were very accommodating and informative. Breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    Alright but nothing special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-In was not possible before 3 pm (I arrived at 11am). Not acceptable for business travel. Bathroom: No shelf or other space to put toiletries. No glasses for toothbrush. Insufficient fan (sauna atmosphere). Bedroom: two single beds side by side that drift apart while sleeping. Very small rack to hang clothes. Limited international TV channels. NO ironing board in the room BUT provided in serviceroom that also has washer/dryer. Cleanliness: The room was NOT CLEANED UP TO STANDARDS. Nuts and hair bands under the bed and hair on the shower walls. The shower was old and could use a thorough scrub. Breakfast: Very crowded most days. Used plates stayed on empty tables a long time.

    The WiFi was reliable, fast, and usable for several devices at the same time. The room (double), although small, was comfortable and quiet. The hotel is in walking distance to the harbor and right beside the train and bus station and a small shopping mall with several supermarkets. Washer/dryer provided in extra service room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.8
    Classy comfort in a historic context
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know this sounds super picky but if they rotated the bathtub around you could have had a bath while watching the view. The cleanliness could be somewhat better - like lime stone sediments around the bathtub and stuff like that. But over all it was a good experience.

    The bed was great and the suite was large with a good view of the city and the surrounding mountains. The sheer size of the suite contributed to a very good experience and the hotel itself has a very nostalgic and historic feel to it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Breakfast was extensive and delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was extensive and delicious. The staff was extremely helpful regarding directions and maps as we were preparing to rent a car from the airport. The location is just steps away from the train station and couldn't be better for access to downtown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely dining and bar areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None of the 3 reading lights in the room worked and one had a bulb broken off in the socket. Lots of scuff marks on the walls. The common areas were great, but the room we were in needed attention.

    Lovely dining and bar areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    7.5
    The location of the hotel was great, right in the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the family room with 3 people. The room wasn't too small, but also not spacious.

    The location of the hotel was great, right in the city center. Approx. 10 minute walk to the fish market. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.0
    Good breakfast but everything else disappointing. Glad when it was time to check out. Needs modernis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms not very clean. Hairs in the beds and on bathroom floor on arrival. Curtains broken in one room. Shabby corridors and bedrooms. Hotel needs upgrade work.

    The breakfast was good to be fair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My twin room was tiny, really only room for 1 suitcase, in a small alcove. (The alcove helped enlarge the feel of the room). Barely a foot on each side of the bed. Bathroom also tiny but very well appointed and nicely renovated.

    Room and bathroom very small but well appointed and comfortable. Plenty of outlets. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is old but doesn’t feel like it. The service is terrific, including communication before arrival!! The public areas are grand and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom lights could be a bit brighter.

    Excellent location. 30 seconds from train station. Perfect home base to explore the region. Great bar. Liked the pizza very much. Friendly staff. Lovely vintage ambiance with updated decor and bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.6
    Love historic hotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful historic hotel next to the train station. The bar was lovely with a fireplace, and the breakfast was ample and beautifully displayed in the lovely dining room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Move the coffe back in the bar room where it used to be. I don’t drink, it liked to sit in that beautiful room with a cup of coffee. The coffee was never hot when I got it from the little hallway room.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Location was super.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.8
    Grand Old Lady
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General cleanliness was good, aside from small missed bits. Dust underneath beds, used glasses not collected. Having had the misfortune to see into a recently vacated room, I was nothing short of disgusted at the manner in which the "guests" had left it. And felt genuinely sorry for the housekeepers, as having this amount of mess to clear up would have majorly impacted upon their time spent elsewhere. Perhaps a monthly overall would be beneficial? I was also disturbed by the wanton waste of breakfast foods, people overfilling their plates and then not eating, so much got thrown away! Although the hotel does request you only take small amounts at a time but refill as you want I think it needs to make this more clear, as evidently the vast majority of guests chose to ignore

    Beautiful old lady of a hotel, in a truly convenient location, just steps away from the rail station. The linens upon the beds were the softest, and the bed itself was incredibly comfortable. Having access to your own fridge was great, as was underfloor heating in the bathroom. Although a little dated in places, this only added to the overall ambience. Breakfast buffet was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.6
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The surface of the hotel is not amazing, but after entering it, it is a very historic hotel, opposite the train station, very close to Bryggen Pier and Hus Castle and the fishing market. The breakfast was delicious and the waiters were very friendly!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.8
    The location is really fantastic, 100 m to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When asking for a heater, I was explicitly told that "just come down" to pick that up, and the staff even did not use the word, please. Given the price and the facts that this is a four-star hotel, the staff either needs to improve his English or to improve his manners. The facility is really awful and obsoleted. I am not sure how could such facilities lead to four stars, which are a lot of stars.

    The location is really fantastic, 100 m to the train station/tram stop. The breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    8.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room they serve dinner is small and uncomfortable. We had a bad experience on that day, food took too long to arrive. They take huge tourist groups. Breakfast time is busy, noise and in our case w people that do not observe lines and speak very loud.

    Location is great. Free laundry room to wash the clothes. There is a piano for those who can play.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    7.5
    Old fashion, big room, amazing breakfast, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Something should be fixed, the old fashion style is great, but thing are not really working as you expect from a 4 star hotel (for example in the bathroom the light was broken and the shower didn't work so well)

    Old fashion, big room, amazing breakfast, close to the station and to the center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    5.4
    Beds and breakfast good room ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building that WAS very nice but partially redone to pass the property as a heritage hotel, it is ild, tired, very much a train station stop for package tours

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.7
    Old and interesting but in need ofvrenovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning or fans would have greatly enhanced experience. It needs renovation.

    Generous breakfast otherwise minimal dining facilities. It is an old and very interesting hotel but in need of renovation. No AC and no fans. Clean. Location good especially if traveling by train.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    beautiful big clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no parking but they have an agreement (15% discount) with a parking garage that located 5 minutes by foot from the hotel.

    beautiful big clean rooms excellent breakfast buffet the hotel is right next to the central train station, and located a 5-10 minute walk from the city center and the Bergen harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.5
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for what I received. The room I stayed in was extremely worn down and in dire need of refurbishment. Bathroom was very old and faucets were rusty. When we arrived, the TV was unplugged so we spent the next half hour trying to plug it back in (tedious task).

    Location was excellent, close to all the main attractions. The breakfast buffet was also amazing with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.2
    Great charming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely historic hotel, everything can be reached in a few minutes, the room was cozy and comfortable even for four people, great breakfast and attentive staff. The whisky bar is a plus, with hundreds of labels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.6
    Handsome hotel in an excellent location for siteseeing on foot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was perfect for us because we had only one night in Bergen before starting the Norway in a Nutshell tour by train. The railway station is accross the road which made for an easy morning before boarding the Bergen to Voss train. The old town of Bergen and the harbour is a relatively short and scenic walk from the Hotel. The Grand Terminus hotel is very comfortable with a substantial breakfast buffet. There is a handsome lounge room and bar for a pre dinner drink or night cap. After this experience I am going to seek out other Central Railway locations, especially if you have only one or two nights in a city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only complaint we have is that the whiskey bar was closed on the sunday we were there and we came back specially to have a special whiskey. There was no notice of this.

    The room was very comfortable with plenty of space. The breakfast was really good and the staff were very friendly. The whiskey bar was a good feature in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms extra small , over priced, no air conditioner, very very small bathroom that u can’t even find a place to keep your toiletries. On request fan was provided but wasn’t working properly and was creating lot options f noise . During breakfast no tea was available. Staff simply replied on asking that they don’t have anymore English tea available and delivery is not expected till afternoon and I don’t drink coffee so it was my first ever experience that no English tea in the breakfast in a well priced hotel . Also staff wasn’t helpful to explain about any facility or nearby transport. Neither they wanted me to ask any questions and kept saying that read the information paper without listening to my questions. Terrible experience. Not recommended at all .

    Next to station but comparatively far from other tourist attractions and harbour and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful stone building from 1928 and a very easy walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No porters to help with luggage. No waitresses in the Whisky Bar. No air conditioning in the hotel or rooms. Unfortunately Bergen was having a heat wave during our visit.

    Beautiful stone building from 1928 and a very easy walk to the train station. The Whisky Bar is very comfortable and historic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel’s guest lounge - which houses it’s historic Whisky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel’s guest lounge - which houses it’s historic Whisky Bar - is an exceptionally beautiful room. Large and airy yet full of character and charm. The hotel is very well located right by the rail station yet without any noise from the trains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Incredibly helpful staff and delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pull out sofa a little uncomfortable. Some commuter noise due to proximity to train station.

    Amazingly helpful and friendly staff and fantastic breakfast buffet. Hotel had lots of charm and was conceniently located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Great location for transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car Park is not easy to get to if new to Bergen and it's some distance (walking) from Hotel. The car park is above the bus station/shopping centre. The bus station is next to the train station, which itself is adjacent to the hotel. We unloaded our car at the hotel and navigated the one way system to the car park. Took a while to find its entrance. It is in the opposite side of the triple carriage way to Avis/Budget car rental office. Bring the parking ticket to the hotel and they will stamp it for you to get a 15% discount.

    Great location for transport links. Also very easy to walk 15 min to Waterfront where the are UNESCO buildings and museums with restaurants along the way. Excellent gym with Lexco equipment. Reasonably priced food at the whisky bar room, relative to Norwegian cost of living.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great Norwegian city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is GREAT by the train station - literally across the street. Downside is it's 15 min walking from the Bryggen, so depending on what location is more important to you, that's a consideration. Breakfast was very very crowded and my least liked part of the stay - too chaotic. But still delicious!

    The front desk staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were very spacious, and we were with 4 year old twins, and the staff had nicely pulled out and made up the sofa bed for us before we arrived. Was a great hotel and I'd highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.5
    Close to station, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy at times during the night, probably due to being opposite the station and with fine hot weather a lot of people were out and about.

    We were upgraded to a large room (part of a family suite) and appreciated the airy space, as the weather was very hot. We were very close to the station and bus station. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Terminus Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: