Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel 5 stars

Karl Johans gate 31, 0159 Oslo, Norway

#9 of 193 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1953 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Amazing location, great breakfast and very polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit loud from the street (we could hear the music) on Saturday night.

    Amazing location, great breakfast and very polite staff. The family room was very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Grand hotel that needs to understand the needs of tea drinkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For those with trouble with stairs, the lack of some form on ramp access in the foyer is a major oversight. At breakfast, being provided with a pot of hot water and a tea bag is a very poor response to those who drink tea. It would be like providing instant coffee to coffee drinkers. Unacceptable in a top class hotel.

    This is a classic grand european hotel. Room was very good and staff attentive. Location is great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small with small towels and there was no drinking water provided

    Good view, excellent staff and very good cocktail makers. Wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.8
    Froth and bubble but no substance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and pretty basic. The shower over the bath very dangerous and extremely hard to manage. Very basic bathroom with not much room. The restaurant inside very expensive and fairly ordinary. Overall disappointed with this hotel. Much preferred the hotel over the road. We lashed out for our last night stay and I am very glad now that it was only one night. Totally not worth it.

    Great location and looks impressive

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfy and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was not nice.

    Nice bed, comfy with a good mattress Nice shower. Nice entertainment system. Clean room Good location in the middle of Oslo Perfect breakfast with lots of choises

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.4
    The hotel lobby was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a long distance from the lobby. The room was very cold and the staff did not offer any solution apart from an electric heater. The room service was terrible and my order for a sandwich took three phone calls and about one hour to deliver. The service delivery charge was not clearly set out on the hotel menu.

    The hotel lobby was clean. The hotel was very central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Bollinger champagne by the glass in the lobby bar. (However, the waiter very kindly opened a bottle of Ruinart for me instead. Very much appreciated)

    The perfect location Breakfast omelette (room service) Staff Bathroom had a proper shower, not one in a bathtub. Comfortable bed Tea and kettle in the room. Dark chocolate in the minibar (did not eat, but appreciate the quality)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.3
    I checked in Monday afternoon and checked out Wednesday...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I checked in Monday afternoon and checked out Wednesday early morning. There was no hot water on Tuesday morning, only lukewarm. There was no heating in the room they brought in a portable heater. Nobody came in to fix my bed at any time during my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Loved it! But next time I will ask for a room with a view and a bath!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bath, only a shower which my friends and I didn't enjoy. It was our first time in the Grand and we could see we were given rooms off the main corridors. It didn't seem as grand as the main areas.

    The staff in the bar, restaurant and cafe were all friendly and attentive. The decor and artwork was of the highest standard. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. There was a lovely feel to the hotel. Location was perfect and really central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff are super friendly and the location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room giving to me was at the hightest level, the window was covered with some Wooden columns which blocked the view, plus the roof was low.

    The staff are super friendly and the location is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Everything, the ambience, the location, the comfort, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything, the ambience, the location, the comfort, the staff and care, the space to be able to pack up after 6 weeks away and the ability to rest even in the heart of a city. Roof top bar was wonderful and the breakfast included with our room was lovely with lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Beautiful hotel in excellent area, terrific service, but won't stay again due to stairs problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the hotel's fault that I can't walk very well and the constant up and down stairs were a little much for me, we had to change room so I wouldn't have to walk up and down stairs to reach elevator, and the new room was so tiny it almost made me claustrophobic! Again, not the fault of the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good, staff was helpful and friendly, hotel is gorgeous, located in middle of everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Almost as good as a Hilton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room,uncozy Bar.It is a big Hotel without a lot of service--kind of the feel and room type you would get at a Hilton or other 4 star hotel.

    The Grand Cafe was terrific,location was terrific

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    The pool in the spa was an added extra to the trip. Really enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room turn in the evening down not complete - and the leaking shower door made this necessary!

    Excellent staff on reception and concierge services. It was the Oslo marathon when we stayed, so hotel was full (as was Oslo). They made sure we had tips to avoid the worst congestion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful and advised us very well on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was NOK400/night, which is a bit excessive in my opinion, especially as the drive in is VERY narrow and the whole experience was rather cumbersome, requiring the parking staff to find your name on the list and open the car for you if you forgot something. There's no lift from the parking and the cars are parked in 2 rows so if you are unlucky it may take a bit longer than you expect to leave. There was no staff on duty at the parking at 8:30 in the morning, which delayed our airport departure by 10 min.

    The staff was very helpful and advised us very well on sightseeing. The room was spacious and the balcony was a very nice addition. Breakfast was nice as at most of the Scandic Hotels we stayed at in Norway

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Great hotel, but needs reconstruction and probably new management
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside of the hotel everything needs reconstruction. Rooms and public areas are like 50 old. Expensive suites do not have any view

    Historical building and its location are perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Incredible lobby, outstanding staff & great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was Contruction work being done next to the hotel which made it noisy for our bedroom.

    Incredible lobby, outstanding staff & great location. Loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff who were extremely accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mirror light in the bathroom was broken. There was some rubbish in the container for the teas and coffee. A few hairs in the shower. I specifically paid more for a bath in the room but this was not provided.

    Very friendly staff who were extremely accommodating and helpful. The room was spacious and available to us before the check-in time. Breakfast was delicious with a perfect variety of choices available. The gym facilities were impeccable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Didn't meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked based on reputation and recent upgrades. Bed much too soft; sink broken; no USB ports; lighting controls bizarre; flights of steps within hotel wings to manage; poor temperature control. Need for night lights.

    Location. Staff very helpful and courteous. Quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good except I was surprised that there was no welcoming complementary fruits and drinking water in the room 😊

    Location, lovely welcome from stuff and Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Best location and hotel in Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really...

    Staff very helpful. Rooms clean and efficient. Excellent location. Breakfast very good. It is the best hotel in Oslo, in my mind, and has a good atmosphere (light hall, good service). Will come back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Never stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overrated, overpriced hotel with no air conditioner, and no complementary bottle of water. I have chosen the hotel for my BD - what a disappointment!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was excellent although having to walk past hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Storage carts in the hall.

    The hotel was excellent although having to walk past hotel multiple linen storage carts on the way to our room made us feel a little like we were in a laundry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive and not as accommodating as I expected. We paid over $700 per night and they did not allowed early check in or late check out. There also is no business center .

    Great location and beautiful rooms!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Elegant and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to the information in the room spa was open until 9 pm but reception told us they were closed at 7 pm and we could not use it.

    Location hard to beat. Nice huge bedroom with two massive beds which was great for a family of 3.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Not up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps everywhere, corridors like a maze, dirty carpet in corridors, dirty room service trays that were there from 8 at night and at 9 in the morning they were still there, tiny room with very outdated decor, looked more like an average b&b room from the 90’s than “Grand”, tiny bathroom, very soft mattress, hotel is not very dog and dog owner friendly: 50 euro extra charge, where as most top hotels I normally stay in do not charge extra or 10 euro maximum and they give you a normal room, not the last one from the corridor. They told this was for possible allergy reasons, which is nonsense, but we’ve noticed Norway isn’t very dog friendly unfortunately.

    The location is perfect, the staff is friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Not so Grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways were dark and dingy. The room was small with nowhere to sit for our 4 people. The ventilation did not work so we had to keep the window open and were woken through the night by outside noise. The shower leaked and sink wouldn't drain. There was a step into the bathroom (clearly to prevent the leaking shower from going out of the bathroom) that I tripped on and nearly hit my face on the sink. Very dangerous. They say there is an elevator but we still had to climb about 8 stairs to get to the elevator and then about 8 more to our room. Not great with 2 kids and 4 suitcases. Also there is a pool but kids under 12 can't use it. For a country that prides itself on family, this makes no sense. Overall it was a horrible experience that cost a lot of money. This hotel is supposed to be the best in Oslo but it is far from it.

    Not much. Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, very difficult to reach via car...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning...

    Nice roof top bar, excellent food at Grand Cafe down stairs. Desk to small for such a huge hotel, staff rather stressed. Very difficult to reach via car... Location top though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic old world hotel with modern comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been an error in the booking so we had not been allocated a room that was large enough. Due to the error we had a complimentary upgrade to a lovely room. Whilst waiting we were given a free coffee in the bar. Also I unexpectedly needed the doctor on the trip. The concierge went out of his way to personally take me there himself.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Centrally located within walking distance to all historic sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right from the beginning, the staff was really very helpful, and polite to us. The room 614 was a wonderful Junior Suite and it was already ready with 2 rollaway beds for our 2 kids. It had 2 TVs, a walk-in closet, and views of the inner courtyard. They have an amazing gym, great for bodybuilders, and also a nice spa and pool. It was within 5-15 minutes walking distance to every place we wanted to see in Oslo.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise of the ventilation system outside the room.

    Very nice people,, good info about the city (on the TV screen in the room). Good parking facility and beautiful interior.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom towels were very dirty with large stains on it. Please ensure you bring your own towels. 😊

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Perfect location. In the heart of Oslo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    won't come again and won't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    got my booking all wrong and we have to change our rooms (3 rooms in total) in the midnight. took us almost an hour to settle down. one set of our keys expired the next day (we stayed for two nights), and when we went to remake the keys the front desk can't find our information, again. the cleaning staff took the wet bathrobes but forgot to replace them with clean ones. by the way, no staff answers the phone no matter what number you dial. so for the bathrobes i have to go downstairs twice, the first time it didn't arrive for some reason that nobody knew.

    location. rooms are spacious. the hotel itself is quite good looking. that's all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    The location of the hotel was excellent and the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet at the room stoped working during my stay. Also most of the towels in the bathroom are very dirty with very clear stains on them. I had to change them many times.

    The location of the hotel was excellent and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Special treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, which was the night of our wedding anniversary, there was a misunderstanding which negatively affected our first night. We spoke with The Service Manager, Nuri Melwani, in the morning, who went out of her way to make our stay truly special. We would happily return to the Grand Hotel Oslo. Our room was beautiful and the location was perfect.

    Special treatment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, breakfast and comfy bed. Room facilities, for the price, could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in room. No soap (asked at reception and also the maid but told they only had shower gel). No moisturiser or body lotion, even a small bottle at this level of hotel expected given how little people can take on planes. Shower head / water flow was poor. Again at this level of hotel you expect better in room.

    Great location!, Comfortable bed, quiet room and Spa and fitness room very good. Breakfast was very good. All the staff very friendly and welcoming at reception and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not available and unlike other 5 stars we have stayed in, the hotel only accommodated a late check out by 30 minutes.

    Location was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was the best point during my visit in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room pricing Very low quality of first room - deluxe Room After our escalation we had changed room but with additional cost for upgrade.

    Breakfast was the best point during my visit in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall, The Grand Hotel gets a 6 out of 10 for its location and wonderful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The temperatures outside exceeded 28 degrees C, causing our 6th floor room to heat up quite a bit. We were given a small fan that did help a bit, however, the hotel should upgrade its HVAC as it was unpleasantly warm in the bathroom. Additionally, there are no GFI outlets in the bathroom, therefore, I had to style my hair in the dressing room, which was not convenient.

    A prodigious selection of items to choose from, including made to order omelets to a wide assortment as well as other items for breakfast was very much appreciated.. Double sinks in the bathroom as well as a separate dressing room was terrific. The room was also facing the street, however, the double paned windows kept the noise from the Pride celebration under wraps. The spa was modern and very clean, while the staff was knowledgeable about different types of massages. The Grand Cafe was a wonderful experience in the afternoon, with the small plate options being delicious and honoring the Norwegian native foods.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt that the room was army sleeping room. That means all the design and decoration looks like sterotyped. So, the second night was boring to me. For the more, the breakfast room is of too many people and therefore is so busy.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was very central and close to National Theatre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet access was not secured.

    Location was very central and close to National Theatre Station so easy to access when using the express train from/to airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    The spa facilities were excellent and would really recommend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late on a Sunday evening having travelled on the train from Bergen and were disappointed to discover there were no options for late night food - as a 5* hotel would anticipate that something be available if needed. The mini fridge in our room was broken but staff were good and swapped us for a different one (although the fridge was still not great we had a balcony in this room so didn't want to swap again). The main disappointment was that this was the only 5* hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon and it was the only hotel that didn't acknowledge this. All other places we've stayed on our trip - about ten in total - have provided a nice gesture even if it was a small note wishing us well. It isn't something that was mandatory so it won't affect most customers, but generally it's a little disappointing that the hotel with the best service rating didn't make any special effort.

    The spa facilities were excellent and would really recommend, the gym is decent. Loved the location and especially good if you are sightseeing. The beds were also very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    great bed, fancy, unbeatable location, probably a little fancy for us simple folks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price is high but Oslo is an expensive city. Fall risk is high, lots of stairs, not handicap friendly, and I tripped over a board holding down carpeting in the hall; there were probably 50 of these in the hotel.

    The location and history are definitely the stars of this hotel. The spa upstairs with float pool, wet and infrared saunas was much appreciated after a day of travel. Breakfast was good but not better than other places we stayed and pretty chaotic. Best part of breakfast was the fresh from the oven Danish and this is from a girl who tries to avoid carbs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    For a first class hotel no excuse for this room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room offered up a significant stair case,. No elevator. Could not be accessed. Second room on top floor, but really just a converted attic that was poorly remodeled for quest rooms. Windows in ceiling that could not be reached except with a long pole that was very difficult and trying to manipulate. Access to tiny closet and bed partially blocked by immovable furniture and a TV. No place to unpack luggage. No shelves or drawers to place clothing. Had to use the floor for lsuitcases and clothing. Very large and very empty bathroom. No place to put toiletries and shaving items. Towel rack several feet away from wash basin so very inconvenient to use. This was rated and priced as a superior room a grade above the hotels standard room. . For a first rate hotel this room has to be equipped with electric controlled adjustments for Windows and shades, put furniture in bedroom and bathroom for guests to unpack and use the bathroom. Also do not offer room without full elevator access, or clear warning that room not to be used by those with mobility issues or have much luggage to be dragged up along flight of steps.

    Location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    The people make the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint is probably regarding the Freedom Forum that happened during our stay there.. I heard that the new Marketing Manager has begun marketing The Grand as a “Conference hotel”. Being that this has hosted celebrities, presidents and what not- this is a strange turn of events. When you walk into a 5* Hotel you expect to walk into a peaceful, calm, glamorous environment, NOT 50-60 people blocking the entrance, the stairs, the elevators, booking all the restaurants (so hotel guests can’t eat at the hotel). And the noise- don’t even get me started. They were the LOUDEST set of Americans I have ever heard and I am an American and was genuinely just embarrassed by them. They were rude and ignorant of their surroundings. This put a damper on the first week of our stay. However- this isn’t the “hotels” fault, rather a decision made by the latest Marketing Manager which I find rather confusing. In my mind- you’re either one or the other (a five star luxurious hotel or a conference hotel). And The Grand being a old, historical building, does not have the facilities nor space to be a conference hotel. Just my two cents.

    Per Christian at the reception was exceptional at turning our experience around. When we arrived my boss wasn’t very happy. The staff didn’t pay attention to his needs (like getting the lift down for him) or helping at breakfast (as he has disabilities). I was lucky enough to meet Per Christian who turned the entire experience around- from reserving a table for my boss every morning at breakfast, changing the chairs, having the staff help with the lift, booking taxis and informing drivers where my boss was going.. he went above and beyond to prove that The Grand is deserving of their 5 stars..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is an old building so there are many staircases...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old building so there are many staircases for going into the rooms. It is a little inconvenient for strollers and people with disabilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the heart of Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge gave us bad advice. She said that despite it being Sunday, being that it’s summer, most stuff would be open. It wasn’t.

    Very nice and clean hotel. Great location. Easy to walk to lots of great parts of Oslo. Short walk to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast was not included for $359 and $550 a night - I felt we were breakfast worthy!

    The location was ideal! The room was lovely. I was sad they changed the grand cafe. It was a landmark.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at your lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough closet space, no draws to put shirts,underwear, etc, into. Feel closet space & dressers are very important in any hotel. This was only thing I was not happy about.

    Excellent location, clean,friendliness, helpful, great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel in these times and paying those prices that it is wrong not to have breakfast included.Only hotel in Scandanavia where this has happened

    The hotel was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    This is a grand, old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a grand, old hotel. As such, while it had nice character, it felt old. We also requested a roll-away bed for our son, and the bed squeaked each time he moved which interrupted my sleep so much that I slept on it the second night we stayed there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely hotel with smartly decorated rooms, wonderful concierge service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful Hotel with lovely rooms. Our room had a wonderful view of the square outside. Very nice fitness center, pool, and spa. Very good breakfast. The concierge was really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Location, look of hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot breakfast foods should have been hot, not cold. Room showed some lack of attention to detail (no toilet brush torn seal on shower door). Duvets are hot when room is very warm.

    Location, look of hotel,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed here for 3 nights over Norwegian National Day. The parade passed right in front of the hotel, perfect place to be located. Great staff, clean, room was incredibly quiet. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, loved it!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A superb experience - far exceeded our expectations. The staff at the hotel made the trip for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast option very cluttered / very busy but it's OK - we chose not to have breakfast at the hotel as it wasn't included in our room rate and instead had a coffee / croissant at a great coffee shop around the corner. All good!!

    Comfy bed, clean rooms, superb facilities. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff gave outstanding restaurant recommendations and great ideas of where to go and explore the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at Grand Cafe was excellent. Hotel’s architecture is beautiful. I was a solo traveller, loved the safety and quality of sleep. The location is perfect for exploring Oslo. Absolutely loved my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was excellent and the double bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The extra bed for our 16-year-old daughter was very uncomfortable and the room was extremly small for 3 of us. The room had a window with a firewall look, it was awful and disapointing. I had been waiting much more from a 5 Star Hotel's room.

    The breakfast was excellent and the double bed was very comfy, super location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    The room they gave us was under expectations but even though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, the only thing I can say, each room is different than each other and they are not identical to each other. Therefore, it might affect your expectations and demands, but you will ignore it as you will stay there in fabolous hotel.

    The room they gave us was under expectations but even though the efforts of Front Desk to meet our expections, I have to give my biggest thanks to the Housekeeping lady that she tried her best for us and got the great room for us. I have to give my special thanks to the Housekeeping lady who talks Nordic great and the bellboy at the gate who is tall and looking like Viking. ;) The location is awesome and I heard from many that it is the best hotel in Oslo. Even the local people and staff made it awesome as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not have been put further away from lift if they tried. Had to go down 3 long corridors plus a flight of stairs to get to lift. Very awkward with suitcase & a bad back.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Still grand in many ways but too inconsistent to be great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inconsistent staff performance. No bath in room Poor bikes in gym

    Breakfast was mostly excellent though restaurant staff were unreliable. Nice decor and impression. Comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A great 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Served a full dinner at 2300 when we didn't expect to be fed Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful Hotel had real character and was in walking distance of the main station,palace ,shops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Splurge and enjoy this hotel with its surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all was great.

    The location cannot be any better. The hotel staff were extremely nice and accommodating. We arrived before the check-in time and since they did not have a standard room ready, they upgraded us to the next category room for no extra charge. They provided helpful recommendations on what to see and what to do in Oslo for the weekend. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall a very pleasant stay, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft in my opinion, and the breakfast area was dark and a bit outdated

    We had a lovely room with balconies, the room was big and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location everything was near, very neat and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far from the elevator

    Amazing location everything was near, very neat and clean rooms with comfortable bed. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Very polite and helpful concierge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    If you’re looking to made to feel special on your honeymoon this isnt the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our honeymooners room was lovey except it had a small window that looked at scaffolding on the interior window (we booked this room 3 months ago) and it is the one in photo (no window photo’d apparently). We asked if we could switch because it was making us clastophic (literally reminded me of when or cruise ship flooded and they had to put us in a windowless cabin overnight). We were told the hotel was full (something we found was not really true perhaps (lots of rooms on booking.com)). They moved us to a room with a window but so small between us and our luggage we couldnt fit a shopping bag. Our guest requested seperate beds on booking.com and it was confirmed at check in... the room was not set up that way ... but it was twice the size of ours with a tub and two large windows (and paid less as it was a grade lower (boy did i feel stupid). Our guests didnt complain to the hotel because they were sure there room might be downgraded as we percieved ours to have been and they didnt want to upset me anymore. I was so disappointed, after all-this was the hotel I booked at the end of our honeymoon because I thought it would be special and memorable... I ended up needing to get anxiety medication because it was so not special, and lacked intuitive service.

    The property and its amenities are lovely. Roof top bar overlooking the city was only eclipsed by the spa and pool which was free to guests. From lobby to library to restaurant the hotel paid great attention to details (they dropped tge ball in guests services...i had to go get anxiety medication becuase i was so disappointed on my honeymoon)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Manificent stay in perfect location with luxury service and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only low is that children under 12 are not permitted in the swimming pool, I guess some people will appreciate this but I've seen some of those much less educated and bad behave than my daughter who is 8. Education do not come aging.

    The premises are really good, swiming pool, gym and restaurant are great. The breakfast is amazing with plenty of fresh products and the possibility of cooking what you ask for. The concierge service was excellent with good restaurant bookings an excellent reccomendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel but could be perfect
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bar/cafe staff were quite abrupt. Did not clearly state that children were not allowed in swimming pool which was main reason we chose for our little one :(

    Location, front desk staff were great, value for money, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved our stay at The Grand, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in, and the staff were so helpful. We cannot wait to return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Management will need to work alot harder for me to come back or to recommend this hotel. Not GRAND.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception didn't have anyone there on arrival. My room was "miles" from the reception although the hotel wasn't at all near half full. The cafe has been ruined in the refurbishment and now feels and looks like a typical boring middle market hotel restaurant and isn't at all "grand". The waiter was rude and unhelpful at dinner and the floor around our table was dirty and covered in crumbs etc. The food was not particularly special. In the morning the breakfast was good but there was loud rock music playing over the loudspeakers at 7am!

    Good room with updated facilities in bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Hotel needs a major makeover regards to the rooms, small restrooms, and style in the room needs a major upgrade

    Breakfast, bed and location was awesome,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Just a very nice relic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I was quite pleased with the entire experience.

    Just a very nice relic. They have maintained it quite well and the public spaces are very attractive. The rooms are comfortable, nicely large and quiet. The bathrooms are modern, clean and bright. They have added electrical services to the rooms because of the need for more outlets to meet the demand of modern travelers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    2.5
    Manager rude when facing challenges, we booked because of the spa and couldnt get in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for the spa and we couldnt get in as much as we wanted. The manager was rude when we asked for a solution. They said we needed to book in advance and nobody told us that and in booking.com didnt say that either. They said they had no responsability on what booking was promoting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location, check your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got upgraded and our rooms was very very small. More importantly the bathrooms was very old and truly ugly for such a hotel. Looked like a 3 star hotel at most.

    Amazing breakfast, great staff and perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Barman from Sheffield was really personable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly disappointing for price, quite small and no view. But very clean and lovely facilities.

    Barman from Sheffield was really personable! He was very friendly and an excellent cocktail Maker!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Exceptionally comfortable beds and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately staff were abrupt at times and the foyer/ lobby is clearly not accessible to guests all the time and no notification is provided when this is the case. This results in confused guests.

    Exceptionally comfortable beds and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: