Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gudvangen Fjordtell & Apartments

Gudvangen, 5747 Gudvangen, Norway

#2 of 2 hotels in Gudvangen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1099 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    OK for Gudvangen ... but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't figure out how the ultra modern shower worked ... I think everything but the rainhead was disabled ... but at least it was a separate shower stall unlike many other hotels in Norway.

    One of the few hotels in Gudvangen ... but be aware they appear to have many different facilities/rooms. Mine was OK and they let me check in a hour earlier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the Tingstova annexe which was clean but had a very worn appearance in places - very expensive for what it was - our room was small & little more than a glorified hostel room...didn't help that we arrived in the pouring rain & there was nothing to hang our gear on to dry out. My bed had a bent leg which meant it tipped to one side which also wasn't great. Our room was on the road side and the lorries start hauling into & out of the quarry up the road very early in the morning - not the best nights sleep!

    Stunning location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    It is a nice area with a fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited this appartment because we wanted to walk along the Nærøy fjord. But I would have preferred to stay in Aurland or Undredal which is close a a more cosy village with other facilities and more places to eat.

    It is a nice area with a fantastic view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Outside sitting area from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Viking room became a sauna on a hot day in July and no ventilation except a door. No air-con nor fridge. Located just behind of the huge car park for tour buses and was busy with tourists until late evening. It was rather expensive even considering the location and Norwegian prices. More than half the rooms were empty in top season.

    Outside sitting area from our room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, peaceful once the buses leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's expensive for what it is, but it's the only accommodation in that area.

    A lovely location that's busy during the day as passengers transfer from buses and ferries, but absolutely beautiful and peaceful in the evening and early morning when it feels like you have the place to yourself. Stayed in a Standard Double room, which has twin beds and a private bathroom. It's a basic cabin that's a short walk from reception (which is good as tourists congregate in the shop and cafe at reception, and right next to the river. Great view of a waterfall from the room. Breakfast was standard. Staff were friendly and stored our luggage for free after check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Awful, expensive hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful reception in middle of huge resort restaurant. We stayed in an annex to the hotel. Enormously expensive for accommodation worse than most backpacker places. Very small room, sparsely furnished, with only a basin and a few coat hangars. Shared showers and toilets on different floors from room were OK, but not all had soap/shower gel. All the carpets were very dirty. Price was a rip-off. Gudvangen Fjordhotel has a monopoly on accommodation here, and obviously cares very little about its guests. Hotel restaurant is the same one used by all the day trippers - restaurant and self-service meals are of average quality and extremely expensive.

    Gudvangen is a fantastic location at the end of a beautiful fjord - especially when the huge coach park emptied and the mass of day trippers had disappeared. Unfortunately the Fjordhotel did not match the location, but did give us a chance to enjoy the location in peace and quiet during the evening and early morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is nice and quiet, very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sign is not very clear for the apartment so it took us a while to figure out where is the reception for the apartment.

    The location is nice and quiet, very peaceful. The apartment is decent size with clean bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean and spacious and the outside annex a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noy enough time spent here-only 1 night. It is beautiful-nature at its best! More pillows would have been good and better quality towels.

    The room was clean and spacious and the outside annex a good feature. Bed was comfie.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Room interior and concept was so interesting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm little bit but there's no air conditioner. and there are so many mosquitoes in front of the door.

    Room interior and concept was so interesting. I feel like being viking. Window on the ceiling was good to see the sky view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Shame, i expected much more for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work near the hotel which was noisy, not told about this when we booked. Right next to where the ferry docks, which caused problems to us when we arrived as there was so much traffic. Breakfast was very poor, Disappointed with our stay, thought it would be much more peacfull

    close to the fjord and staff friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Would stay in an appartment next time. But the setting is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old style hotel could do with updating. The carpet had white marks on it.

    We were impressed with the new appartments and especially the Viking themed appartments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was an old bathroom ... literally had the old hook ups you could see and with the 2 singles we could not move.. not impressed ... also the food was not great at all

    Beautiful view of the fjords

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting for a nice hotel/motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information given out by staff tended to be only half the story - better training would possibly help. No evidence of recycling options in the café or room.

    Spacious room and oh, so quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, you can paddle your kayak here....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starting to be a bit touristy when the buses arrive in the morning.

    Location is amazing, very scenic. Motel room was three and a half star, met all our needs but no great sense of luxury. Food was fine but simple fare

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Located in a very nice scenic area and the restaurant has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite old and the shared toilets and bathrooms are located at quiet corners in the building, don’t feel good about it. It is located in a very pretty scenic area, I would suggest to book a room with private bathroom or even a apartment. Our room is upgraded to 3ppl room size, otherwise the original budget twin room with shared bathroom doesn’t look that nice when I walked by a room down the hallway

    Located in a very nice scenic area and the restaurant has good view by the fjord.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Gudvangen is a very nice place to relax and Staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have reserved the single room with share bathroom and the room DOSEN’T match the photos shown on booking.com. If I could have seen the “actual” pictures of the single room , I wouldn’t have booked the apartment.

    Gudvangen is a very nice place to relax and Staff are helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Best of Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want the Viking room you need to book it. Our friends booked through Norway in a nutshell and apparently didn't have the option to to select rooms. The other rooms are located a little further away from the lodge and are just regular houses. Which you don't ever see pictures of online. Glad we didn't book through Norway in a nutshell!

    Great friendly staff with outstanding views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was overlooking the street and was a bit noisy. Some indications in the little house to the toilets and bathrooms would have been useful.

    Staff was polite and efficient, single room was spacious enough and the shared bathrooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant offered good meals and had a great view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Great position at the end of the most amazing ferry journey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite sure the Viking theme park element was us! Also for an ecological country like Norway, far too much use of plastic.

    Great position at the end of the most amazing ferry journey we have had in Norway. Comfortable and clean and perfect for an ‘overnighter’ for a family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful but remote and odd design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms next to the main lodge have huge windows in the ceilings. While this seemed interesting at first, there is no way to block out the light from them and during the summer, there is basically perpetual light so this made it very hard to sleep. The room also became very hot during the day and there is no A/C and no fan. There is pretty much nothing else in Gudvangen and if you want to get to Flam, you must drive or take a 500-700 NOK taxi (one way) or the local bus. However, the local bus stops running around 1800-1830 every day.

    The location is remote but absolutely beautiful. Is was quiet and the main lodge provided everything we needed. The ferry is right next to the hotel so very convenient if you want to use it. Parking was very easy. Very close to hiking. We highly recommend the Rimstigen hike. Breakfast was buffet style and good overall. They offer kayak rental right there as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    perfect place for a stop when travelling around the fjords
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the day time, day visitors are common due to the location close to the harbour

    Perfect location directly at the (small) harbour; welcoming bar/restaurant in the evening after the last boat has left

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Gudvangen is an amazingly beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dark curtains in the room, no soap in the room nor in the shared toilet. Steep staircase, no handrail. Found no sign for the shared shower. The lunch at the restaurant not so good and rather expensive. Did not find many paths for walks or hiking in the neihbourhood.

    Very beautiful surrounding, very nice annex (Tingstova) and a very nice and clean single room with a wash-basin. Fridge and hotwater for tea in the corridor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    I would choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is near the road. Many trucks and buses pass by with noices. However, it is a tiny area for residence buildings near the cruise pier. All houses near the pier are having the same issue.

    Very close to the cruise pier, petrol station and supermarket. Room is big in space, shower and toilet facility are good. Parking is easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful location! Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is amazing! Gorgeous views! The room we were in was pretty basic, but it was fine. The dining area is nice, with great outdoor seating, and a very good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Anika in reception was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are giant cruise ships coming to Flam now which they really need to limit. They keep their engines running all day and the port area smells like diesel as a result

    Anika in reception was great!! She was friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    I loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved this place. On arrival Gudvangen felt like gas station at the end of the universe. But the hotel was warm and welcoming, and sitting at the end of a fjord drinking a beer and tucking into deer stew was a highlight of the trip. Not sure where else you can lie in bed looking through the skylight at a waterfall tumbling off a mountainside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great view to the fjords
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's restaurant is the only choice nearby for a meal. The meals I tried were good. But if you stay more than a couple of days you might run out of options, since they are few.

    The view is simply astonishing. You will be facing fjords everywhere you look. Few other hotels in the world have such. The breakfast was nice, staff always friendly, and the room was simple, but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt it is pricey for its simplicity. The breakfast was also on the pricer end and had to be purchased separately.

    The location is great! Gudvangen is a tiny tiny town and the hotel is right at the entrance where the ferry docks so there is no need for a bus or taxi. It’s about a 3min walk to the reception. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Accommodation at Fjord end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the Viking room which was fun but do check to see if you’re happy with the very large skylight without blinds. As this is Norway the sun comes up very early in the summer! Bring an eyemask!

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    the breakfast was good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's noisy when the tourist buses arrive. the floor in the bathroom is very cold. old furniture and pillows.

    the breakfast was good enough. comfortable beds. VERY beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay with great location, good food and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Family rooms with decks are so nice for relaxing. Great for kids. Food at dinner and breakfast was good and generous portions. Wish we could’ve stayed longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    We had "Viking room" with entrance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had "Viking room" with entrance from the parking side. The room was stuffy & everyone who stayed there opened their doors to get some fresh air. So you stay in your bed while tourists walking on the parking & see you and everything in you room all the time. This place is overpriced even for Norway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.0
    A bit like Disney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Viking rooms offer no privacy, tourist taking photos inside the rooms. No ventilation apart from a very small window. Sun was beating down through roof glass making it very hot inside, no way to cool down. Too close to shopping area. Moved to an apartment, better facilities but poor view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Beautiful location but would never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the annex. It was a very uncomfortable experience—steep and dangerous stairs with no handrails. The entire building smelled very musty and bad.j. We would never recommend it.

    Location, attractive dining room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is very busy all day. Lots of tourists coming and going. The hotel needs to pay attention to the restrooms and keep them clean. Souvenir shop is expensive

    Breakfast was included. Quite a small selection Very average

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location. Magnificent views. Read the small letters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skylight that cannot be covered Internet did not work Tiny kitchenette Staff were friendly at the desk but not so in the restaurant

    We had 2 rooms - one with a kitchenette and another room, a Viking room. The Viking room had ‘mountain view’, i.e. a skylight that cannot be covered with a curtain. During the spring and summer, this become a nightmare as there is light 24h and the sun comes up at 4-5am! We couldn’t sleep. The room with the kitchenette was much better. Basic IKEA furniture. Beds were comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.0
    Superb environment !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room with one single bed and a bunker bed. Only the bottom bunker bed was stable enough for my husband.

    Superb environment ! Well located for the ferry and tourist sightseeing buses. Lovely fire and atmosphere in restaurant on cold wet days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The skylights in the room made it possible to view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't any hooks in the bathroom to hang up the towels or your clothes while showering.

    The skylights in the room made it possible to view waterfalls coming down the cliffs of the fjords, while you lay in bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location with higher price tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is very high as compared to the quality of facilities provided. The apartment which I visited was at good location with reasonable facilities. No double beds in an apartment hired for 4 adults with 2 kids. Quality of furniture, Sofa and beds were also has scope for improvement at this price tag. No intercom.

    Location is the only point which will drive you to this hotel. Very scenic, peaceful. If you hire an apartment, the nearby food malls can be of a great help. Staff was pretty helpful too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were wrapping up some construction around the facility. Would have been nice to not have it, but I am sure it will look great when done.

    beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced dinner menu which wasn't very good food. The room had a glass roof which is great for views but terrible for sleeping when you're that high up in latitude.

    Amazing staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening and were welcomed by the staff and treated to an upgrade to our room. The views here are so beautiful and easy access to the ferry. We also did a kayak tour from Gudvangen which was the highlight of our stay. The room was very clean, lots of hot water and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good, with hot and cold options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    beautiful stay in the fjord
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the rooms were rather on the basic side, facilities just the minimum required

    - the staff upgraded us to a better room with private bathroom - the location is perfect, just at the foot of the mountain - with gorgeous views of the waterfalls

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and beautiful, but very quiet town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got very busy when the tour buses arrived. Not very much to do in Gudvangen.

    Very friendly staff and very beautiful fjord. Absolutely lovely if you know there's not much there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, relaxing, and a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The things at the hotel were super expensive. Even the small salads were like 80 krona.

    It was a lovely hotel and a perfect end to our First full day on the Norway in a nutshell tour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing views, incredible customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was beautiful. Upon arrival we received a free upgrade to their Viking suite, complete with glass ceiling! The staff were really amazing and accommodating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very quaint. It had a washer and dryer! Also a big bathroom and nice kitchen. The boat trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is wonderful to look out and see the fiords mountains. I think double beds in the rooms would be better. Only one room had a double the rest twins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Overnight for fjord trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free room upgrade, as ‘Viking’ rooms were available Magnificent location and landscape, right by the fjord cruise pick-up point Traditionally decorated room Very rich and tasty breakfast (extra cost)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Overall, I would recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our electric water boiler wasn't working but we went next door to our friend's room to get water so it wasn't a huge problem. There was also a crack on the glass of the skyroof that was making us a bit nervous but overall the experience was great.

    We got the Viking room and there was a skyroof where you can see stars at night and wake up to a nice mountain view. The design inside was very nice and the room was very warm. It is located near the two fjords and the dock.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Great view of the fjords
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the Viking rooms are quite stunning. My finance an I took the fjords cruise from Flåm to Gudvangen an knowing that we would be staying so close to the white caves mountains made for a magical evening. There’s peace an quiet all through the night and the host was amazing (he spoke Spanish, English, and norgeweigan). I’m glad I took the chance with the beautiful cottage feel hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff, good wifi, nature around the place is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy (practically no isolation from other rooms), tv was not working for most channels, no clear parking

    Friendly staff, good wifi, nature around the place is awesome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    I stayed in a Viking room with glass roof, which is really a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a Viking room with glass roof, which is really a very nice experience. Everything is clean and comfortable and there is a restaurant included in the hotel that opens late. The breakfast is nice as well. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, pretty area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been a bit warmer but we were there in November and nobody else was there

    Got a great upgrade to a vicing room with a glass roof. Awesome room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful fjord visit on the cusp of winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Fjordtell exceeded our expectations.

    We stayed here off-season and it was absolutely one of the highlights of our month long Scandinavian trip. I would avoid this area during the high season if you don’t like crowds. Menu was limited, but all was delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was very helpful. The Viking-inspired room was spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed having a sitting area with not one, but two comfy chairs. Very cozy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Fjord tell at Gudvangen advertises the rooms smartly. They showed us one type of room and had another for us. Besides the property there is nothing much to do in the area and hence this place can be given a skip. Moreover, this property is more commercialised than other places in the area.

    What we liked was the fjordview.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    Location is spectacular, but budget room down the street is dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not in the Viking rooms. For a budget price we were directed to a location down the street from the main restaurant and gift shop area. The "hotel" felt like staying in someone's Grandma's extra bedroom. The stairs were very steep and dirty with no hand rail. The bed was clean but the room was very dated. Dinner and snack bar were very expensive. We bought groceries at the nearby grocery store/gas station.

    The location in the fjord is beautiful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Great views and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked about the local bus back to Flåm and we're given information about a private shuttle at several times the cost of a bus ticket. Pro tip: If you look on the counter to the left of the shuttle bus info, they have the local bus schedule taped down. The stop is about a five minute walk through town to the main road and worth it.

    There was no beating the views and the location of this hotel. There were insane waterfalls all around, even out of the window in the bathroom. The rooms were clean and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Run down tourist trap
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We so wanted to love this place. The location is stunning with the waterfalls, the fjord and dramatic cliffs. Unfortunately, that's the only positive thing we can say about this motel 8, with 4 star hotel pricing in one of the most stunning landscapes and tourist traps in Norway. In order to enjoy the views, you have to look past the bus loads full of tourists, all of the busy traffic at this bustling ferry stop right at the front doorstep of the apartments. That, and the dumpster strategically placed by the front. It doesn't get better when stepping inside to avoid the bustle. The apartment is ill equipped, smelled of mildew, had frayed worn black "blinds" in the bedroom. The bathroom has a shower positioned above the toilet, and an extremely slippery floor our son slipped on and fell and hit his head on the toilet. Broken glasses in the kitchen, a freezer in dire need of attention, and broken refrigerator door storage, weathered and limited kitchen utensils, just made the situation more frustrating. There was exposed and frayed wiring by the doorway entrance. Considering it was one of the most expensive places we stayed in Norway, I would recommend staying away from this run down tourist trap. Unless you want to stop and have a drink on the way to the ferry. It does make one wonder where all of the profits from this hotel go, unfortunately not to the upkeep.

    Views, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is in a very beautiful location surrounded by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building, its rooms and the furniture are very old and uncomfortable and need to be renovated. One can see that there has not been any significant investment in improving the confort for a long time.

    The hotel is in a very beautiful location surrounded by the cliffs and cascades of the fiords.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    We were tired and hungry. Staying there was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, breakfast, bed. Room, safety issues. Service.

    We are senior citizens and they put us in an unfinished building, in a bunk bed that almost fell over on my husband when he tried to climb up to it. The building was not up to code...no hand rails going up steep stairways. It was a disaster for us. The building was up the road from check in and no one was available to help. They were very busy and seemed under staffed. We were very worried about getting hurt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Unique place in a beautiful location but a bit too popular w buses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken, the coffee was awful.... just awful each morning. It's run by Spaniards, not Norwegians. They were nice but not what I expected. The daily flood of buses of tourists was a real downer.

    Unique location and accommodations that are extremely varied from unique to hostel. The glass roof was neat and the hostel area had a washer dryer that was super convenient. Buffet was simple but tasty. The coffee was absolutely horrid. Spring for a cappuccino from the machine... trust me. Tremendous view! Great hikes nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing. Unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for the evening shower, the other guests had used it all.

    Beds were super comfy, amazing location, really appreciated checking in at 11.30 when the bus arrived!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice, simple rooms. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eye-wateringly expensive for a small simple hotel room. I suppose it is Norway, and the scenery was pretty hard to beat. The shower had no tray so flooded the bathroom with every use.

    Comfortable, clean rooms and a free breakfast for all guests which wasn't listed on booking.com and was a pleasant surprise. Worth breaking up the Norway in a nutshell tour as we were worn out by that point.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    3.8
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was terrible accomodation, all the impression from the trip and this spectacular view of the fjords was totlly ruined because of the this satu at the hotel. The view from the window was amazing, but we couldn`t really enjoyed because, it was impossible to stay in the rooms for the long time. It stank, horribly dirty, there wasn`t even handtowels in the toilets. Everuthing is very old and nearly to fall appart. For sure not worthy for this money, moreover what is even more worse, we couldn`t fuly enjoy the beauty of the nature. I would highly recommend to come to this viewpoint, but stay at another accomodation.

    View

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    It was a perfect moment to rest, to admire the landscape and to enjoy that corner of Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a very minor issue for our hosts: there was a little leak in the bathroom

    I have appreciated the position of the apartment, the intimate atmosphere and the equipment, the breakfast as well was rich and good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely and quiet. Great breakfast included at motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camping quality cabins. Clean but rustic. Fold up bed collapsed on our son in the middle of the night.

    Peace and quiet. Ferry landing for Flam is right there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    convenient location for our next day tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    space was very limited. creaky 4 bunk beds were tightly fitted into a small room. Bathroom with no screens so water got everywhere including toilet etc. bed was of poor quality.

    convenient location for our next day tour. Nice sceneries outside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A good place to take a rest from your Norway in a nutshell journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't shops around, only a few souvenir shops and the sole restaurant (which was a little pricey) but the food was decent. You also get flocks of tourists passing by for meals when they get off the ferry. The toilet is a little small but otherwise useful.

    The view from the restaurant in the hotel where you have breakfast was really nice. The staff are very friendly as well. The room was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Beautiful scenery but wouldn't recommend spending the night here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are bombarded ALL day with tour groups and and not in the mood to treat their hotel guests with kindness based on the shear volume of people they see all day. Everything was outrageously expensive and all they seemed to care about was charging you for everything. This was the only place we wished we didn't stay on our trip to Norway. Would suggest taking ferry around fjords and then staying in Voss which looked spectacular as well.

    We rented kayaks for an hour right here and was the highlight of our trip! Amazingly beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The skylight window from the bedroom ( so that you could see the mountains and waterfall) was quite dirty and really needed a clean!

    Stunning location with amazing views of the fjord! Just magical. Rooms are very big and they were really helpful providing the baby cot and bedding. Loved all the traditional wooden "Viking" style decor! Very good selection for breakfast and dinner too which is handy as there is no where else to go!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    This place is fine if you stay one night en route to Flam or Voss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You are limited to dining at the hotel's restaurant if you don't have a car. The breakfast buffet is very limited and not that appetizing, apart from the make-it-yourself pancakes. Dinner was mediocre and expensive. You are charged for the salad/desert bar when you order an entree whether you use it or not.

    Location was perfect for anyone traveling on the Norway in a Nutshell route by public transportation. Bus drops you off at the end of a short road where the hotel is located. Room was adequate and clean with a large bathroom. No refrigerator.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be improved by adding a chair and small desk, and more power outlets since everyone has devices to recharge these days. It's an old building so has steeper stairs and narrower doors - more tricky with larger backpacks. Better suited to the young and nimble.

    Supremely beautiful location, especially the huge dining area overlooking the fjord, where the buffet was good value. Rooms in "Tingstova" (a quaint old building) are cute. Large showers and washing machine and dryer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Beautifully located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too cramped up. Tried calling on apartment's number but no one responded. Restaurant's breakfast menu should have labels on dishes.

    Location was beautiful Souvenier shop had good collections.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Themed hotel primarily servicing Norway in a Nutshell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room faced the parking lot which is quite busy with the Norway in a Nutshell bus station. The animal skin rug on top of the bed provides an interesting theme but does not provide the most confidence on cleanliness. The facilities and service are not exclusive to hotel guests and are primarily servicing the fjord crews, it would be nice if there had been some recognition for hotel guests. If you are not doing Norway in a Nutshell and are driving yourself, I would suggest looking at alternative options.

    The room is purposefully decorated and has a very nice shower. The surroundings outside of the room are incredible. The quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was quite high.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Amazing surround-sight scenery and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Viking Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a hot-spot for tourism and the ferry arrives right on site, which is both convenient and annoying (floods of tourists arriving at certain times throughout the day). However, to the credit of the hotel, they create an environment in the room(s) that makes you feel like you're not surrounded by tourists/crowds. We stayed in two separate rooms; the Viking room with the windows on the ceiling was AMAZING -- well worth the extra cost for the room. Viking Village is a short walk across the bridge. The scenery is world-class amazing. So, overall, this place is pretty awesome.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gudvangen Fjordtell & Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: