Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Håholmen Havstuer 4 stars

Atlanterhavsvegen 303, 6530 Karvåg, Norway

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    It’s good for the mind and soul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best for cocktails .. with

    It’s good for the mind and soul. Heavenly. Relaxing . Don’t go with a closed mind . An experience on its own. Food delicious. It’s simole but comfortable, clean but yet a five star overall experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful windswept location near the Atlantic Ocean Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful windswept location near the Atlantic Ocean Road. The island is beautiful and great for scrambling around and there are sea kayaks you can use. The old bar as part of the hotel is fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Rustic and Romantic Hotel On Stunning Island by the Atlantic Ocean Highway
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything about Håholmen Havstuer. The island is out of this world gorgeous. The hotel room was much more comfortable that I expected, table, comfortable arm chairs, excellent wi-fi and a perfect place for a trip with pets. The cabin we stayed had amazing view of the sea and the harbor. The bathroom was new and the shower was excellent. The environment of the island is rustic and romantic and so very Norwegian. This is one the nicest hotels I have ever stayed, the location is just amazing. The boat trip to the island was fast and exciting. The days were sunny and warm and just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A unique travel experience in one of the world's most beautiful landscapes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is on an island you can only get to by boat. If you're keen to "get away from it all" this is the place for you. They have preserved the feeling of a fishing village while adding the comfort and convenience of a full service hotel. A truly lovely experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere! Worth to try.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was a bit slow to recognize when breakfast'd run empty as well as the selection was not too great but I guess the latter is rather difficult on a small island. Otherwise all good.

    Beautiful place with it's own boat transport. It's definitely worth trying. Cute room. Great staff. Alright breakfast, the food we tried tasted very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    We loved taking the boat to the beautiful island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved taking the boat to the beautiful island. The staff was really friendly and showed us more than one room to choose from. Excellent restaurant on the island, great dinner and breakfast. Very pretty room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Small, but comfortable room in authentic fishermen cabin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice at the restaurant is quite limited. There are only 4 main dishes: 2 fish + 2 meat. We didn't try meat, but fish was more specific than tasty. Obviously it was traditionally cooked, but for us it tasted quite strange

    Small, but comfortable room in authentic fishermen cabin. The island is not big, but there are no other people except hotel clients. So one has a chance to walk around almost alone. If you want to spend some time at the nature and keep using the benefits of civilization, it is the right place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel but with one issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not eat there as the staff could not guarantee that the food was not cross contaminated. This was due to a prawn allergy and if we had not asked could have lead to potential death. This affected all food apparently. My advice would be as a restuarant to manage cross contamination as this should not have been an issue in a clean kitchen.

    Superb hotel, superb location. Apart from the food issue one of best hotels I have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    What a special place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a special place! Will be back and this time stay for 3 nights. Island is small, but the ferry service makes it easy to go back and forth to the mainland to explore other areas. Magnificent sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Really interesting place in a super dramatic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food we had was great, it wasn’t actually what we ordered. Maybe something was lost in translation. Delicious nonetheless

    Location was so dramatic, transfer by boat very efficient. Food good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Want to go again......soon 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu options if you don't like fish, but the beef was excellent.

    Everything was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful location but maybe not one for the Sun worshipers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Quite and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location was amazing! We went mid September so it was quite. we were sharing the whole island with 8 other people and a few staff. It was quite, the beds were so so comfortable and the staff were super friendly. And the food, Oh the food! I'm not much of a sea food eater, but my partner said it was the freshest fish he'd ever eaten. I had some steak and it was cooked to perfection. Just be warned, you have to get there by boat, just leave your car at the terminal (perfectly safe). And you will not have much choice in dinner menu when you're there, they specialize and they do it fabulously!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    wonderful stay in an oustanding environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room was close to the washing machines, and we had the spin cycle of them at 10:30 pm, we asked to stop them, which was done, then it was restarted at 3 am...

    fantastic position in a small island, very nice views, many birds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    it's a splendid place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's a splendid place. I consider this is an over night excursion rather than just one night in a hotel. Hotel's shuttle is a wooden boat in old Vikin style. hotel's rooms are some red small houses, they are so beautiful on the water. the sunset was also splendid. should discover all these with your own eyes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could expand restaurant menu and offer evening food at the pub. Love the board games in the pub. Could add printout guide with things like birds of island so you can plunge deeper then a surface understanding.

    Unique property that we will remember. This is an old fishing village with even rooms/cottages from the 1700s that have old carvings in tables and walls. Has a viking ship that sailed the seven seas. You are out in the wilds of nature and close to civilization. You can feel what is was like to be a fisherman in the 1600's. Also take the fishing trip so you can see the Atlantic Ocean Road from a different perspective.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Unique location covers fails in hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seems friendly, but lacks customer orientation. Too many things went wrong during our stay. For example: Room was not cleaned, even after noticing front desk.

    Beautiful island where you can really unwind. It's really a gem. Spectacular sunsets. Unique experience to stay in a small Norwegian fishing settlement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    The location is great (very traditional Norwegian).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noise due to a parallel weeding ceremony (difficult to sleep....). The island is great BUT in a corner outside the housing area a lot of garbage was stored (did not look nice, but a bit sloppy). Got a old-style room (this was almost a museum). Fun but also a bit inconvenient (have stayed on the island before where I had a better room.....).

    The location is great (very traditional Norwegian). Getting picked up with the viking ship is cool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Atlantic island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the bed uncomfortable unfortunately.

    The setting is outstanding and getting to the island is a real adventure. Make sure to stop at the little shop on the wharf where you will find some lovely hand knits and other crafty items. The weather was cold and damp so we did not explore the island to its fullest but everything was quirky and most memorable. We enjoyed the meals greatly too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Unique experience next to the Atlantic Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in the staff seemed slightly busy (but efficient). Check the boat schedule - you may need to pay extra for off-hours transportation.

    This is truly unique, amazing place. After leaving your car to the spacious parking lot, a quick boat ride takes you once an hour to a small islet, old fishing base owned by a world-famous Norwegian explorer. We loved everything: A spacious warm cabin, excellent restaurant (we had dinner and breakfast) and amazing views to the archipelago. The worse the weather gets, the more beautiful it looks! You didn't come here for the Atlantic Road, you came for Håholmen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Actually nice....but a few problems during our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband and I arrived amongst a large group. We were told we would be attended to once they got the group settled in. They forgot to come back to us, and we had to get someone to show us to our room, which was not the correct room type that we had booked. However, the staff expressed their apologies, and gave us our room at a very good discount since they were booked solid and couldn't give us the type of room we had requested. They also gave us our very delicious meal for free, and the bartender and the young waitress were fantastic. The only other problem was that there was some sort of celebration going on....with very loud music until 3 a.m.

    This hotel is located off the coast of the Atlantic Road in Norway. It is really a beautiful spot. You are transported by their Viking style boat to the hotel, which is a very special way to get to a hotel! It is set up with many buildings around on the island....all old, yet very well taken care of. There is a nice restaurant and beautiful scenery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    very unique experience to stay a night at this peaceful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room and facilities are very basic.

    very unique experience to stay a night at this peaceful island. the island itself is worth a visit, plus amazing sunrise view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely magical little island. Very friendly staff who really made us feel at home. We were sad to have only had one night and will definitely come back again...but next time for longer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    10
    Idealic Island next to Atlantic Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is a gem! Many small cottages in a historic fishing village near Karvag but not accessible by car. You park near a gift shop and the boat will take you to the reception. There is a quaint bar decorated in fishing and sea vessel garb from the past, a lovely restaurant serving quality affordable food with great service. A short storm loomed over the village upon arrival and being located directly on the Norwegian Sea it was cold and windy for a while. I stayed in a small cottage right on the sea side of the village. The heater was incredible! I was so warm I had to turn it down. Beds, comforters and blanket were very clean and comfy. Bathroom was adequate size and well stocked and clean. Breakfast was a large variety served at 8am. You can leave anytime you wish. My boat driver noticed a gorgeous eagle on our way out and we circled around to get a better view. The sunset was amazing from the island. Enjoy! Sharon Seattle, WA

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.9
    A bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No one showed any interest in our request to go out in the replica viking boat and that was our main reason for choosing to stay here. Also they were burning off some very bad acrid smelling rubbish both the days that we were there and this was unacceptable. No fresh sea air .....

    We enjoyed staying on an island. We took out the kayaks. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    5.8
    Pleasant for overnight stay, needs better organisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lost one of the bookings, lucky to get room but no view disappointing. Short staffed so even buffet breakfast was running out of cups, decaf coffee not labelled, little things that should be better.

    Comfortable room and bed although compact.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.3
    Gorgeous location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of information at check in. The breakfast wasn't good. There was one hot dish only. Toast and cereal. The bathrooms were outdated.

    The location was incredible. Very relaxing atmosphere. Boat transfer was really easy. Very friendly staff on the boat. The beds were very comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    One of the Norwegian classic hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The activities at night is a bit limited

    The unbeatable scenery along the Atlantic Ocean Road. The boat riding between the hotel and the main island is stunningly good Friendly staff and delicious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.8
    Exceptional place - always worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff was unfriendly and non-professional. We would have expected more!

    Our stay at Håholmen was one of the best location we stayed during our journey through Norway. Incredible place on a stunningly beautiful island. You're picked up by boat at the car park on Atlanterhavsvegen. From here it's just a 5 minute trip to a different world on an island just some hundred meters away from the road but feels like you're on a different planet. The guy at the reception is very friendly and welcomes you in a very personal way. The rooms are in a nice, traditional style, well maintained and clean. It is hard to find words to describe the beauty of the place. This place ha a very special flair which sets you back in time. We stayed there in the beginning of july during the "endless days" when it's almost never getting dark at night. The sunset on midnight was stunning. We yould always come back to Håholmen! Dinner at the restaurant was good (except for the personnel), same for breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very very nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Lovely small cabins with beautiful views right on the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, accomdations, food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    The concept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The concept

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Overall a wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible coffee...

    Excellent wifi in the rooms. Wonderful dinner and great wine selection. Beautiful location and views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    A place one should not miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restorant was overloaded.

    Location and atmospher

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    In an island, very nice view and wonderful classic wooden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In an island, very nice view and wonderful classic wooden house. It is worth living two days just in the island, quite pity that I only had one day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    The female receptionist was rude otherwise would have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female receptionist was rude otherwise would have been 10 out of 10

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    endless ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very special and non traditional place, very quite with endless ocean view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is truly amazing. We enjoyed the Saga Signar show and learnt a lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location, lovely views, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Excellent location, lovely views, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Location, location, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was just OK. Has potential!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    It is such a beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is such a beautiful place! A real experience! Just go!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Everything - one of the best hotels we stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything - one of the best hotels we stayed at. Great experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Location incredible, ferry trips on Viking long boat amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location incredible, ferry trips on Viking long boat amazing for the kids, restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Place to go back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant surprise. Very friendly staff, top location, very cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.1
    Very nice experience but needs some improvement on organization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of organization. Not enough staff. Lots of day visitors make it difficult for the hotel guests to enjoy the place.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Everything was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything was awesome!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Amazing surroundings, you really get the connection with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathrooms could have been better for the price.

    Amazing surroundings, you really get the connection with nature. Good food at the restaurant, good service and a real break from everyday life.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none. Just do not expect to get so much fish joice. That buffet picture is a bit misleading

    Everything. Spectacluar. The location is incredible. How the bring you with a viking boat on the island is an experience. The hotel is on a small island all for them and you can walk around. Pure magic. Wifi very good. Rooms were soooooooooo large and the cottages where they were just incredible. Bed was sonconfortable and staff so nice

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.3
    Very amazing place, absolutely special, an island-hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have a room with obstruction view. We feel like in the cellar, two day we did not see the sun. I recommend to refuse accommodation in house "Parca" . They have vacation room with see view, but maybe not for us. The staff was inhospitality, perhaps because we are foreign, not Norway.

    Very amazing place, absolutely special, an island-hotel, near Atlantic road, but nothing to do there, is not any activity, one day we only sleep. Very good WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful location, of historic interest, great staff and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful location, of historic interest, great staff and a delicious breakfast! Lovely to be on a private island with views of the sea and even one of the Atlantic road bridges.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Boat to location and the organization to each individual
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything just not long enough but Halliburton has this hotel noted for the future, just a bit long away from Airport.

    Boat to location and the organization to each individual

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    After several days driving in the fjord regions, Haholmen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening meals weren't at the standard we'd experienced elsewhere for the same cost. Starters & desserts very expensive and uninspiring. Staff at breakfast time were not on the ball with replenishing supplies that had run out from the buffet. That said, these issues didn't detract from our enjoyment and we would still recommend.

    After several days driving in the fjord regions, Haholmen was the perfect place to relax for a couple of days. Room was cosy, spacious, comfy and we had a super sea view.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Extraordinary location, friendly and helpful staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extraordinary location, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    The guest is king!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guest is king!!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Free kayaks and row boat hire
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free kayaks and row boat hire peaceful beautiful

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    This is a place you must visit starting with a short trip on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    This is a place you must visit starting with a short trip on a Viking boat along with the most wonderful sunsets and delightful restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location and fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location and fantastic food

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.3
    The naturen, fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The naturen, fantastic

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing place. Stuff is really nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    We stayed in old rooms full of antiques
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in old rooms full of antiques

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    The views.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very minor complaint. The ferry to the islands only runs on the hour.

    The views. The restaurant. The staff.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: