Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St. Olav 3 stars

Mauritz Hansensgate 3, 7030 Trondheim, Norway

Review score

Based on 618 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told no double beds.

    Very clean and quite spacious room. Staff very helpful. Location is very convenient to walk to the city centre. Restaurant is also very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was disappointing. Not much in the warm selection. Also it felt like a hospital canteen instead of a hotel. Would not recommend this hotel unless you are visiting someone in the hospital. Disappointed over the twin beds that were not facing in the same direction.

    Nothing much to like except perhaps the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Interesting Place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, basically this is a hotel close to a a hospital, so mostly the guests are patients and families of the patients for that hospital. The hotel itself has a a "hospital" feeling as well. I guess it is because most of the guests might need some kind of care as well. I choose this place because compared to other places in Trondheim, it had a more affordable price and was in the region that I was looking for. It is in walking distance from city center which is nice. The breakfast is good and staff are friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Very clean room - as clean as a hospital bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not the friendliest , but I could say that about almost all places in Norway.

    Very clean room - as clean as a hospital bedroom. Top class breakfast with great choice and quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, tidy and great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I thought was a bit odd, it seems to be a hotel, but also hospice? Did see a newborn a couple of times. So I guess they combine the two. It did not, however, impact my stay at all.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, location walkable to center, great beds, breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for budget travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - For some strange reason, the only way to switch off the lights was to remove the hotel key from the holder, but that meant the electrical sockets had no power. - Wifi connection was good but lost connection on occasions - Located in the university/shospital area, and it is about 30 minutes walk from the Rock museum, but 10 minutes to Nidaros!

    - I was checked in earlier as there was an available room - The reception was very friendly and helpful with suggestions/advice - The breakfast buffet was great, and included a hot meal (which was British breakfast during my stay). Wished I could have tried the lunch and dinner buffets :( - The bed was firm and comfortable (good night's rest) - Very safe (it's Norway) -Very clean (connected to the hospital)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Third time I have chosen to stay in this hotel in the past year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    coffee making facilities in room would have been good

    The hotel is very clean. It is part of the hospital and some people my feel a little too clinical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    accommodatiom/room price, a little bit above its category in other European Countries. And the room I stayed was always cold, thru out my stay.

    A busy hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Uncommon hesitation but the rest pk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be told at arrival 5 min before check in time to wait and kook for the chambermaids to come out before check in.Passive and not to serviceminded staff when I caiied to Collett å forgotten scarf .Hesitation instead og welcomingprofesjional attitude .It dermed like some members of the staff were too shy and insecure to work in the reception.Rhis was a vi annoyinh but the rest was wellfunctionin

    Location reception sees breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Normally I dont like "modern" with clean open spaces, im antique, but this one i will pick next time too.

    Clean hotel. Was basically "work, eat, work" trip I was on, and found it very neat for that purpose. And the food - i loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast, and a lovely walk over the bridge to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking offered by the hotel. The area has a lot of construction goin on around it. The hotel is attached to (and possibly once was) a hospital.

    Great breakfast, and a lovely walk over the bridge to the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi did not worked due to the fact that I could not get SMS on my phone with the code.

    Everything was great. Do not aspect lux, but a clean and great hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a challenge. No parking available on site, the parking garages nearby are expensive. The wifi was not working in the rooms

    Location is good. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.8
    Only location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bad is to narow, should be bigger. For the carpark you should pay extra, price should be included with the car park it's about 10 euro extra. Construction workers starts work 6 am accros the street, not so good when you staying with the child.

    Only location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Very clean, everything organised. I would return there anytime. The buffet is great and very good priced for Norway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean, but too clinical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too clinical. It felt like we live in a hospital.

    Breakfast was quite good. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking! Having to get up early to pay and move car

    Breakfast was superb. Easy check in. Quiet room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was too narrow for two adult persons.

    Very clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Sengene er for smale og madrassen alt for myk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sengene er for smale og madrassen alt for myk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    very very good lunch, very good service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very very good lunch, very good service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    hotel is not far away from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is not far away from the center quite and Scandinavian-like decorated room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a hospital hotel, very simple and functional. Breakfest buffe was ok, but nothing special.

    Cheap and practical

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    The One lady in Reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The One lady in Reception. All say that she was a not good person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok apart from starchy itchy bedsheets, poor breakfast choice too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheets so itchy still itching days later! To much detergent? Or worst 😬

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Would be Nice to know that this was a hotel connectedvto a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be Nice to know that this was a hotel connectedvto a hospital when booking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to centrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems like hospital

    Close to centrum

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    so fresh so clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed too soft for me wifi required phone number (but the front desk hooked me up, using her own phone)

    so clean! and breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt any shampoo or a hair dryer....

    The bed was comfortable. The shower nice....the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Best choice when visiting St Olav hospital
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Healthy food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    A comfortable base during a difficult time while a family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed too soft for my liking. Rooms somewhat stark

    A comfortable base during a difficult time while a family member was in hospital. Excellent choice of food throughout the day, made it very easy to concentrate on visiting the hospital and not worry about having a break for meals. Perfect location to hospital but also close to cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.9
    Quiet and peaceful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was way too warm and it took ages to turn the heating down. Aired the room out repeatedly but it was still too hot. It made it hard to sleep.

    Quiet and peaceful. Outstanding breakfast. Accommodating staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    It is close to the hospital where I was visiting someone .
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of hair dryer

    It is close to the hospital where I was visiting someone .

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.1
    I did not know it was an hopital hotel, I mean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not know it was an hopital hotel, I mean... directly connected to the hospital... wierd surprise, ok, maybe my false.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    5.0
    The rooms are converted hospital rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are converted hospital rooms... A bit clinical for my taste...

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller

    The room was rather spartan

    Friendly and helpful staff. Connection to St. Olav's Hospital. Excellent breakfast included.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: