Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kronen Gaard Hotel 4 stars

Vatne, 4309 Sandnes, Norway

#2 of 7 hotels in Sandnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing we did not like. For us us it was perfect.

    Very spacious and clean room. Very comfortable beds (possibly the best I have ever slept in) and beautifully kept gardens. Our dog was allowed to come with us. The breakfast buffet and restaurant were both excellent. We liked the location as we wanted to be a little out of town for dog walks in the morning and evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. I booked it actually for an overnight stay, but location is worth spending a whole day if you are looking for some relaxed time. Great staff, good clean rooms, good breakfast. Room had kettle etc. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness, of bathroom in particular, could be better The restaurant serves two different menu's, which are of good quality. During my stay these menu's did not change.

    Hotel is conveniently located for a visit to Stavanger (when you have a rental car) Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe an English menucard would make things a little bit easier when eating here in the evening.

    There is a very nice classic and traditional atmosphere in the hotel. Clean rooms, a smile at the reception and a good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is perfect for a visit of Stavanger and Preikestolen. The surroundig is amazing. We could rent bikes for free. The hotel offers also canoes for small price. The staff is very attentive. From the staff I would like to mention Mrs. Diane who was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom walls and light switch need to be cleaned between guests. There was a menu in the room but at dinner none of the options were offered. We didn't understand that.

    The room was quiet (No weddings going on during our stay so that's good) and the hotel is in a peaceful area. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was fantastic-- friendly and professional. The restaurant food was good (try the deer!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service, poor rooms, no lagre cabinets, no space for toiletbag in bathroom, no refrigerator in room, noone who welcomed us when my son checked in, used, wet towel on sink when se arrived.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wall heater was not working. Outside temp was good so was not a big issue for us.

    Amazing breakfast, including fresh gluten free bread!!! Wonderful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice smal rooms. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's window could not be shut so it was a bit cold

    The bed was very comfortable and big pillows. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more helpful.

    I like how cozy it is and the spirit of the place. The rooms are nice and old school. Lovely place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was amazing, everything was fantastic. ++++++++

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced due an Expo in Strvanger

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the weekend the restaurant closed too early to have a diner.

    Everyhing was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff could have been a bit more welcoming on arrival.

    Really nice historic atmosphere. Good family room and great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking not free. rooms rather small.

    breakfast with large selection.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Very nice atmosphere. Great food

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location as a base

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kronen Gaard is a lovely hotel in a great location. The restaurantis great, the rooms very comfortable. We wanted accomodations near Stavanger but with a more bucolic feel and Kronen Gaard was perfect! Walking trails are accessable by merely walking out the door and up the street, and the drive to Stavanger and the airport are convenient.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found by chance, it was one of the best hotel we found in Norway. The open buffet as dinner, if you are quite hungry, is very good. Good rooms and no noises all around the hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You cannot get this ambiance in many places anymore. They have done a stellar job of maintaining it's charm and comfort. Very relaxing place, wonderful food, and super clean! Will stay there again next year.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was bad for the type of activities we wanted to do (hike Kjerag/ Pleikestolen). For hiking, it's best to stay in Stavanger. But it was fairly easy to take buses/taxi to Stavanger.

    A very charming, historic, beautiful quiet hotel. We really liked this hotel, the staff was so friendly & accommodating. The breakfast was amazing! The room was big w/ a seating area, free wifi & great shower pressure.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small & a bit outdated rooms (I like "romantic" design, however bathroom equipment could be in better condition), poor breakfast (which is however common across the Norway, i.e. I don't mean bad quality but selection)

    Friendly staff (first time I heard "welcome to our hotel" in Norway), nice charming-style design of the hotel itself, free parking, close to ferry to Preikestolen, bathtub instead of typical shower), own restaurant (didn't have a change to try however)

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wardrobe or drawer space in room rubbish bins not emptied daily

    Location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Kronen Gaard Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: