Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ole Bull Hotel & Apartments

Øvre Ole Bulls plass 3, Bergenhus, 5012 Bergen, Norway

#19 of 55 Holiday rentals in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1139 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Good stay but need some improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need an upgrade for this price we've paid especially the shower room and toilet and internet connection as well. And cleaning need to be done more often even we were not given enough towel but staff was generous to provide us more.

    The location is fantastic, within minutes walk in the central. Overall is fine

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Spacious and centrally located with well equipped kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was pretty tired, overall the apartment was practical. If you are looking for something chic this is not your place

    Spacious and centrally located with well equipped kitchen. The view was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Only place with a kitchen I could find in central Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building that could use room refurbishment. Small bedrooms. Minor maintenance and cleaning issues. Unusual check-in hours. If front desk (open 07:00-23:00) is locked up during the day you will need to call them on your phone.

    Great safe central location with studio, one and two bedroom apartments with large kitchen and living area. Easy walking distance to train, airport light rail, fish market, groceries, restaurants, shopping and parks. Helpful front desk personnel. Easy after hours check-in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Great budget accom, for short stay. Has everything you need - but it's nothing flash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Backed on to a nightclub, so very noisy, especially when they threw all their empty bottles into the dumpster - which seemed to happen a LOT. Average bed. No towel rails or hooks in bathroom. Dated hallways / older building that wasn't looked after.

    Location is great. Laundry availability was handy. Check in was easy. Very spacious studio with lounge area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    4.6
    The was not at all what I expected for the cost...it is very much overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much else to like the staff at the front desk were very nice with the exception of the first morning man....he was very rude.

    The Beds were way too small for anyone larger than a child......the showers in the bathroom the average size person could not fit in the stall...there was no daily cleaning service ie: changing of towels and general straightening up ...these are the main complaints oh additionally having to step over every entry way into a room major nuisance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall good and suited our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior has seen better days and is quite tired looking in terms of maintenance like rusted paint etc, Some of the kitchen cabinets are damaged and the lower drawer of the dishwasher can't be pulled out but can still be loaded.

    Very central location. Spacious apartment that was very clean. Staff very helpful and useful for us to drop off our luggage early in the day with them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy pub downstairs open until early morning so could not sleep almost all the evening

    good location.in the city center.45mins by light rail from the airport.15mins walking to the train statin.15mins walking to the fish market.many restarants nearby.very nice staff at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Spacious flat for family of 5 in the middle of Bergen, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price, I think we can not complain about anything!

    Lots of space, big living room. Pretty much in the center of the town. Easy to walk, allowed us to drop "home" many times during the day and even leave the kids at home. WIFI good! Kids were gaming and streming Video

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Despite some shortcomings .... our stay in Bergen was indeed an enjoyable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a. When we checked in on 31/7 - we were given a small room nicely fit for all 4 of us with excellent view fronting the main square . Following day, the Mgr was kind enough to move us to a bigger room up on the top most floor ( as we were putting up for 5 nights ). This new room will provide more space for all 4 of us. We accepted without realising that we were compromising with one that has no view and the Freezer was out of order. c. One of the washing machines in the Wash Room was out of order. Need to queue up for yr turn. Took a bit of our time. d. We need to check out very early around 6.00am inorder to catch our flight onward to Reykjavik. The front desk was still closed. We checked out vide email and was not able to seek some explanations ( in person ) on some charges made.

    a. The Location is superb. All within reach at the center of all activities took place in Bergen b. The staff ( Lady - cud not remember her name ) was really helpful and friendly. c. We rented a car and drove to Voss + Flam. Really Great !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit old, and we would have liked an oven in the kitchen.

    Lovely staff, perfect location, awesome view, very handy to save money by making your own meals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment could sleep 4 people but there were only chairs for the table for 2. 2 extra fold up chairs or stools would be useful. The wardrobe is very small. Fine for us but if you are in the apartment in the middle of winter I'm not sure where you put big coats and your clothes. More hooks in the bathroom and apartment would be a small thing to add, but would be very useful. No kettle for boiling water.

    Great location. Lots of space in the room/studio. Staff friendly and helpful. Washing up supplies were appreciated. Would stay again if ever in Bergen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Good location in the center of the old town of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking the car is very expensive though the parking lot is always available and close by. At first we were given a smaller apartment on the 3rd floor but after our demand to change it we received the top floor splendid apartment. The refrigerator's freezer was full of ice and the door won't close properly. The blinds on the windows were a bit challenging.

    Good location in the center of the old town of Bergen. Very nice apartment on the top floor of the building. Very well equipped with everything needed in kitchen and bathroom, fresh towels every other day, garbage collection every day. Very nice and welcoming staff. Beautiful view over the old city and the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change the room, the first night we spent a nightmare in a very dirty and noisy room. The second day the receptionist made a great effort to change us in a crowded hotel. It isn’t worthy the experience

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom has to be more (m2) - the living room can be less, to have more air in the bedroom

    We had no problems. Staff is very friendly and responsible. Very successful location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Aamazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were super small and very uncomfortable like paper thin mattresses.. A proper bed wouldn't hurt .

    Location.kitchen facilities..staff was very helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipped with basic amenities only - would have benefitted from more plugs and kitchen equipment etc

    Close proximity to light rail station (to/ from airport) and major sights. Good wifi. Staff was generally nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok....nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a. The front counter was ckosed when we wanted to check out in the early morning as we hv to catch our flight for our onward trip to Iceland. Not able to clarify why the the extra costs charged by the property for the extra beds on my credit card. b. The freezer ( Fridge ) in our room 802 was not working. Not able to store cold dishes we bought in the fish market. c. One of the washing machines provided in floor 3 was out of order. Need to queue our turn. It took awhile. d. We stayed for 5 nights - no cleaners came to do our room during our stay

    Centrally located. Right in thr middle of where all the actions took place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    The location and friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. Our room faced the inner block of a building. We kept the windows open for cool air but it was noisy in the early morning. The sofa bed in the living area is just under the Internet box (fixed on the ceiling). At night with the lights out you have a blue light straight in your face which disturbed my sleep - good thing I had an eye mask.

    The location and friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and Minimalist
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit small. We stayed in a room with two separate beds. It felt like we were in kids beds. Open window is needed for fresh air in the room otherwise it would be too hot inside. A small fan is provided but too small.

    Cozy room with nicely designed furniture. Staff were very friendly and patient with all our touristy questions. Wifi was strong. Location is just minutes to attractions nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, walking distance to train and the Hurtigruten terminal. Staff were fabulous, friendly, helpful and accommodating. Lovely pubs and restaurants surround the hotel. Held our luggage to accommodate late departure on the cruise ship.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    The whole experience over the 3 days was very enjoyable & memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower recess was on the small side & the shower head not perfect, though I would not go so far as to say I disliked it.

    Staff local knowledge, the view, location, proximity to eateries & public transport were excellent. The room was a good size, table & chairs & sofa were good. There were plenty of electricity points, though the one in the bathroom was a challenge to find.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    All over all, it's good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All over all, it's good. We have very pleasant stay. There are a few minor things, like elevator is kind of small, and there should be more hooks in the bathroom. But nothing major.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Front desk is not 24 hours. It turned out to be from 9 to 11 only 2)Room rate was very high at the time of my visit

    1)Excellent location 2)Very spacious apartment containing all necessary things 3)Apples instead of candies at the front desk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    It was fine. Location and price, great! Amenities, meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived early and asked if our room was ready (it wasn't), so we went to the single-stall bathroom in the lobby to freshen up as much as we could, since we'd been camping. When we came out 15 minutes later, we started to hand our bags to the man at reception to store them for us, but he said, "Your room is ready." Annoying, but glad we could put our bags safely in our room instead of the staff closet. Bergen was in a very rare heat wave, so this wasn't the hotel's fault, but it was painfully hot in our room, and we couldn't open the window more than a crack to air it out, so we left the door open while we were in there. They do have a laundry room, but the machines are dated and finicky. The washer we used leaked all over the floor, and the washer another woman used ran for about 2 hours. Again, it was annoying, but still glad to have clean clothes.

    It's located right in the middle of everything, so it's very easy to find. They had key card entry at night, and the room was big enough for us to really spread out, which was nice after having been in hostels and camping for several days. The bed was either very comfortable or we were just very tired. Either way, great night's sleep! Though if city noise bothers you, know that it's located on a pedestrian walkway with lots of bars and restaurants, and the hotel is on top of a club as well. The decor of the room was minimal (not "minimalist" ... just minimal), but there was a couch, two chairs, small table, and a bed that can be separated into two if needed. It had a kitchenette, but we only used the fridge, and the shower was great (until I ran out of hot water).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is great if you want to visit Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The apartment is worn and needs renovation.

    Great location. You are right in the most beautiful part of Bergen city center. The apartment works well with plenty of closet space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking Return on our money

    Excellent location. Room is spacious for 2 people and for a couple with a young child. Kitchenette is well equipped. Bathroom lacked - we expected better toiletries and much better toilet paper. Staff was very helpful and went out of its way to accommodate our needs. Parking is a killer. Staff recommended we use a public garage which cost a fortune. We looked for a place with parking and this was far far from the advertising.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    This is hopelessly over valued
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    It was like Faulty Towers. The bed was almost bigger than the room and very difficult to move around, the basin light did not work, there was no plug, there was no mugs, there was no iron. Crockery was pathetic. It was way too expensive for the value. I should get a 50% refund

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    A very well located, spacious and comfortable apartment with friendly on-site manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no micro wave cooker, toaster or grill

    The location, within about 400 metres of Vagen harbour and the Flybussen (airport bus) stop, is excellent, close to restaurants and shops. The on-site manager is very helpful and friendly. The apartment overlooks Ole Bull Plas which is interesting to look out to. The apartment is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Centrally located self contained apartment in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single beds were very narrow but that seems to be a Norwegian thing. No plugs for the sinks.

    Centrally located with good security. As described in their website.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location and great kitchen space!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the room wasn't as clean as it could be. The walls were slightly dirty and the surfaces dusty. The bed was decently comfortable but they had only made half of it, since I was a solo traveller.

    The location was perfect and having a kitchen to prepare meals in was an added bonus in Bergen. I also thought this hotel was great as they allowed for a late check out (5pm!) since no one had booked the room after me. This allowed me to stay in the hotel and escape the rain before heading off to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great location, service, and apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that I did not receive any instructions how to find a key. Luckily, there were people who also just arrived. They opened a lock box for me and I have found an envelope with the keys addressed to me. It could have been might fault. I might have missed the message with instruction some how.

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great location for a pleasant stay! The appartment is peret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, this place was perfect

    Location is just perfect. Very clean and confortable. Kitchen has everything you need for cooking. The view is wonderful. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Perfectly located, nice and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be nice if can provide full length mirror and electric kettle. Can hear glass bottles rolling into bottles bank at some hours. Woke me up in the middle of the night, wondering where the sound came from.

    Situated at the shopping district. About 10mins walk from Hurtigruten Cruise Terminal and also 10mins walk to Bergen train station. Spacious, nice and clean room, comfy beds. Basic cooking facilities but that is enough for us to do cooking. There is floor heating in the bathroom. With the price that we paid for, I have nothing more to ask for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location just need to work on the decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was old and tired. View to a back courtyard not very nice. Personally we didn't feel very safe in our room.

    Bedding was very comfortable. Location was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    The location and cleanliness of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no power socket attached to the hairdryer in the bathroom.Room 303

    The location and cleanliness of the apartment. Towels change daily & friendly staffs . 5 mins walk to shopping malls & supermarket

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Apartment was OK, clean and the kitchen well equipped incl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apartment looks definitely more modern on the pics than in reality. Despite sending the details for late check-in, that envelope with our room keys was not available in the post box... luckily there was a receptionist on night duty and he committed that they mixed up two bookings so we needed to wait like 20 mins (at midnight) at the reception to get the room keys finally. Apartment was loud due to nearby bars and did not have enough windows esp. the bedrooms were very dark.

    Apartment was OK, clean and the kitchen well equipped incl. dishwasher. Great location in the heart of Bergen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    location is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water ran out for the 3rd person in the room..but everything else was great.

    Spacious room with facilities. Location is the best..closer to everything .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little old. Door knob was missing from wardrobe. Tends to get noisy because you can hear people walking and closing their room doors so not for light sleepers. Couldn't work out how to use hairdryer because it was not the portable kind and there were no power sockets within reach.

    Stayed at the studio apartment. Room was spacious and definitely worth the money. Kitchen was clean and good for cooking too. Walking distance to Bryggen as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Good location and Comfortable apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took the 2 bedroom apartment, unfortunately not all bedrooms comes with heater. But the hotel quickly gave us a portable heater that works really well.

    Location was exccellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was only 1 cup in the room so we had to use a paper one from reception for hot drinks. The kitchen in general was not well stocked. The shower head didn't work and the water came out more like a tap.

    The hotel is in an excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Good service and good value in Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was super comfy. Staff allowed us to check in early one of the nights we stayed and even brought our luggage to our room while we were out dropping of the rental car! Perfect location for a short stay in Bergen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent base to explore Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from a nearby bar went on unil about 3am on Saturday night

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were greeted with an up grade! How amazing. A very roomy one bedroom apartment on the top floor. There are very good laundry and drying facilities available for 50 NOK. Very pleased with the strong no smoking policy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellence!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place may not suit the one who prefers a peaceful night- especially Fri & Sat night.

    The property is in a very good location, not too far from tain station and tram station, also nearby the main oturist spot. There're bars nearby for the ones who likes bar. Groceries are also in walking distance. They have everything we need just by walking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked the hotel partly because it stated it had parking, but we weren't able to drive to or park at our hotel due to the World Bike Championships and had to return our rental vehicle early. We didn't know about the parking situation until after booking the hotel.

    Close to the train station, food places and shopping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Ole Bull apartments - great accommodation in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location perfect. Few minutes walk to everything and food and bars in the building and all around. Staff were very helpful. Close to stop for the airport bus. We were upgraded to a penthouse room which was spacious and comfortable with full kitchen, huge bathroom and full lounge room as well as a spacious bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    Bergen experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartment was noisy but we loved our stay in Bergen and were very sad to leave.

    Location was excellent. It suited our purpose but we found it noisy. Had to close windows to cut out noise. Staff were helpful- a positive experience overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, friendly staff, basic facilities in apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities pretty basic (apartment didn't have toaster or electric jug), no freezer in fridge and hotel did not supply ice for drinks, bit run down - could do with refurb...

    Great location, 24 hour reception, handy to restaurants and bars, 10 walk to waterfront, brygge area and fortress, 5 minute walk to train station, 10 walk to ferries...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    Large apartment in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking on site (although public parking available at cost nearby). The entire building needs a renovation. The apartment was not really clean and tidy. Only basic kitchen eqipment.

    Large apartment in the city centre, very quiet, overlooking the city (when located on the upper Floors as we had it). This really central location in the relatively large city makes up for most of the disadvantages listed below.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location and nice-sized apartment with lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was the fact that the noise from the street late at night and in the early hours of the morning was very disturbing. Every night we were awoken by individuals shouting and swearing as they walked past the hotel/apartments.

    The self-catering facilities were most useful and the view from our top floor apartment very pleasant. As the apartment is very close to supermarkets, it made the purchase of food convenient. It was also very conveniently located to places of interest such as the fish market, waterfront etc, and the free use of washing machines was also much appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Central location with the comforts of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange to have a wall mounted hairdryer in bathroom, but no socket, so unable to use it.

    We were able to check in early, which was a huge bonus for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.6
    Misrepresented. Will not recommend at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very run down. And that is different from basic . It is definitely not 4 star. The rooms, linen, no Housekeeping ( which is not what it says on the booking site ). We had booked an apartment, and it was quite disappointing. It' cleanliness was unacceptable.

    Nothing except the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location. Spacious apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor lighting in living room, impossible to read. No plug in kitchen sink.

    Excellent central location. Helpful reception. Very comfortable bed. Spacious apartment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Ole Bull Hotel & Apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was basic and requires some refurbishment, especially the bathroom and the bedroom. The area around the elevator also smells, which is very unpleasant. The beds were not very comfortable either. I would say, this is an OK place to stay for a very short visit, but I think it is overpriced, as everything in Norway.

    Ole Bull has a very central location, airport shuttle bus stop is within 5 min walking. There are many restaurants around, and the shopping street is just a stone's throw from the hotel. The room had a fully furnished kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was making some noise while sleeping and turning side. There should be soap holder in the shower area. I had forgotten my charger in the room and tried contacting hotel directly and through Booking.com as well for possibility of delivering the same to oslo but no one bothered to acknowldege or respond to email.

    Everything was excellent. Person at the checkin was very well indormed and helped in lot of way. Room size and facilities were apt. Will visit again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    The location was good, the apartment was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was good, the apartment was quite warn/tired. There were no condiments e.g. milk, tea, sugar in the room. For the price I expected a few more extras and certainly not such a tired apartment. The apartment would be better served turning the dining room into a third bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    Ole Bull Apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There needed to be a towel hook/rail in the bathroom.

    We liked the size of the apartment and the central position. We liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay here - you can do much better elsewhere in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apartment was smaller than most hotel rooms, felt very dorm-like and was unattractive - very basic. Beds are small. Building is very unattractive and almost creepy on the inside. It does not have a nice feel compared to other options in Bergen at the same price point. There are no amenities in the room, and even the toilet paper is rough and as cheap as it comes. You'll get a much better value and more pleasant service going with an Airbnb, if you're looking for an apartment. If you just want a hotel room, go to a better hotel. Bergen is easy to get around, so you don't need to be right in the middle of the action to have a nice visit.

    We didn't like anything about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Very central hotel. Beautiful gardens in front of the hotel. Near opera house. Walking distance to the harbour and fish market and plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location with a kitchen if you wish to cook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, just 10 mins-walk from central station, and you can easily get access to airport coach with 3 mins walk. Large supermarket nearby, just next to the fish market, you can do your own cooking. You can also find a lot of restaurant and also convenient stores. It's recommended to family travelling with children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    It is perfectly located, next to the central station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not the best and It broke down a couple of times

    It is perfectly located, next to the central station and also pretty close to the main attractions in Bergen. The rooms where comfortable and perfectly equipped to cook yourself some meals

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.4
    Feels like a cheap motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrrible bedding especially pillows. Twin beds are attached with absolutely no separation space. Very noisy neighborhood with a bar and a night club next door. People were screaming on the streets until 4 AM. Laundry cost is 50 NOK. Hotel feels like a cheap unkept motel.

    Good location within walking distance to Train station, central bus station, Norled ferry terminal and all Bergen attractions. Nice kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice apartment near the middle of Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much not to like, but boring view and why no shower mat? Expensive by UK standards, but par for the course for Norway.

    Great if you want a convenient apartment in Bergen, with kitchen facilities. Reception staff were cheerful and very helpful, let us keep our suitcase at reception before check in time and put milk in their fridge. Room was nice and spacious, bigger than we expected. Location easy to walk to from fish market.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were not good - too thin and lumpy. Noise was an issue as the common doors in the hallway were very loud when they closed.

    Nice kitchen area and semi-separated sleeping area. Great value for the amount of space and very good location - just around the corner from the heart of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice choice but with flaws.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is very unstable under even moderate amount of connections and usage. A upgrade on network infrastructure could be very appreciated. Also not as well equipped as some other counterparts in other cities.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free car park. However, nearest parking garage was 2 only minutes walk. Not the hotels fault, car parking in Bergen is not cheap, 230Nk for 14 hours (max 240 Nk for 24 hours)

    Location was great, minutes walk to fish market and old town precinct, wharf, cable car. Also supermarkets nearby. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways to the rooms need updating. The room was a little small for 4 people, but we were only there 1 night. It isn't easy to drive in Bergen, so it was a little hard to find when driving.

    It is close to the train station, restaurants, and shops. Great location in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    A cozy room and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the bathroom was not warm enough at the first night. What's worse, there was no hot water at the second night. The staff called the janitor to fix it, but he failed to find anything wrong. Therefore, the staff kindly offer me to take a shower at another spacious room.

    The room is spacious. The kitchen is clean and everything is handy. The also have a laundry room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very helpful, the rooms are big and comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately many rooms faces the street with extremely noise!

    The staff is very helpful, the rooms are big and comfortable, location right in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location with good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower screen is a little too small and the ventilation in the room is not the best.

    Great location, everywhere is within walking distance. The famous fish market is only 8 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Mixed feelings - room was comfy but the noise from the street kept us awake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the area to be quite noisy at night. We were on the 7th floor. It was so warm out that we needed the window open but then we could hear all the noise from the partying below. If we closed the window it was quieter but then we were too hot. I think if the room had air conditioning it would have been perfect. We were maybe there at an unusually warm time. The lift in the building is super small and smelled terrible when we first arrived. The hallway by our room also smelled bad. I think they were working on cleaning that up as it did get better over time. We stayed for 3 nights-June 28, 29 & 30. The 29th was actually quiet but the other 2 nights we could hear the noise from the streets and it went on until about 3:30 am. We did like having a little kitchenette in the room and the room was spacious, bed was comfy and bathroom was nice.

    The location was good for getting to see things and for getting to the local rail system ant to the rail system that goes out of the area. The hotel is not on in the harbour area- it is in an area where there are many pubs. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    A place to stay in downtown Bergen Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an apartment building that rents by the day. For longer time occupants, the garbage is taken out four times a week and the room is cleaned and linen changed once a week. Driving to it is not easy, due to one-way streets in Bergen. A parking garage is about 4 blocks away. During the night you may hear glass bottle noise from one of the courtyards. The availability of morning coffee and tea hot water at the desk depends on how busy the clerk is when they arrive that day. For long term, shop and make your own breakfast.

    The property is in central downtown Bergen. The old harbor and surrounding sights are a few blocks away, easy walking distance. The apartments are roomy, one bedroom units. There is a self-serve laundry facility in the building. Breakfast is available at a hotel next door for an added charge. The clerk was very helpful when we arrived, explaining where to park and finding us a second room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    A good location in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor looked ok on the surface but when water leaked out of the shower and I wiped it the paper was black! Also, the check in time starting at 4 was a bit of a pain, we had to hang out in a coffee shop for a couple of hours as it was raining.

    Functional apartment in great location. Comfortable bed, good shower. It was nice having a fridge and dishware etc. Norway is becoming more and more expensive four outsiders we were able to eat in the room and save some money. Apartment was also very pricey compared to the US and most of Europe. However we love Bergen and would look at staying here again if in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There may have been miscommunication with the staff as we ordered a taxi through the front desk, but in the morning there was no taxi waiting for us. This was easily resolved as there is many hotels around the area where we were able to flag down a taxi.

    I was pleasantly surprised with this property. I had read reviews (after booking) on sites where travellers had not such a great experience with noise or cleanliness. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable too. The noise from the bar downstairs was there but not disturbingly loud. The windows seemed very soundproof from street noise so we all slept well at the Ole Bull Apartments. Our apartment was on the third floor. There are lots of restaurants close to the apartments as well as shopping and grocery stores. The staff was helpful, recommended a great spot for breakfast down the road as we were not able to check in at 8AM when our bus arrived. They kept our suitcases for us before check-in and then checked us in earlier than the regular check in time. Overall, comfortable and accommodating stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Location was great- within walking distance to most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like most hotels in Bergen, the price seems too high for a hotel that is not even 4 star. There is a nightclub downstairs and even on weekdays you can hear a lot of noise even on the 4th floor until 2 am.

    Location was great- within walking distance to most attractions in Bergen- Fish Market, Mt. Floyen, train station, etc. Room was big and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel in a Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property feels like an apartment complex that was converted into a hotel. Bathrooms are fairly small and it has a different feel than a traditional hotel. That's not bad, just different.

    This was a solid property that was generally clean and well maintained. Staff was awesome and very friendly. Every room has a kitchen and small refrigerator with utensils, pots, pans, etc. It is not a 5-star hotel, but you also don't get the high price of a 5-star property. The location is awesome as it is within walking distance from the pier and everything you want to see. All in all, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: