Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quality Hotel Edvard Grieg 4 stars

Sandsliåsen 50, Ytrebygda, 5254 Bergen, Norway

#25 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1257 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice breakfast.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not that good. Layout of the room was strange;made it difficult to use every space of the room although it was not a small room. I guess it was worth with 20% lower price.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Poor Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place does not stand up for its name. Googles Maps guidance could not find the right way to the hotel entrance and brought us to a private road. The room was dusty and dirty as if it hasn’t been cleaned for some time, dust on chairs and all surfaces and in all corners, finger prints on the TV, dirt in the empty minibar and hair in the bathroom. The walls have marks on them and it felt very uncomfortable. There is no air conditioning and barely any ventilation which turned to be a necessity in the hot nights of July, and when opening the window, noise came flowing right in from outside as the room was on the entrance side. The curtains did not cover all the windows which is stupid and inconvenient especially in the very short nights of Norwegian Summer. The list of TV channels is very short and poor. The bathroom does not have any hangers for clothes or towels ( go figure!) The restaurant is very pricy for the poor quality food, and it needs some professional cleaning, especially the floor. In short; the place has potentials but it lacks any sort of QUALITY control.

    The lobby is beautiful and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Decent stay close to Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, with the windows right to the elevator and inner court, missed day curtains and when we wanted to change the room, we were offered a room with a bad smell and also without day curtains, so we had to keep night curtains all the time and be in darkness.

    Good place to stay in case of having car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    New hotel, clean and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a little hard to find after 3 pm. Moreover, if you arrived at the same time as some group of tourists, you may find that the lobby is way toooo busy and noisy. The other thing is that go to breakfast before 8 am is a better choice. After 9, breakfast was too busy.

    This place is very new and beautifully managed. Staffs were super friendly. Breakfast was very very nice. We arrived at the hotel at 10 am but the staff managed to give us a room without any extra charge. very good hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Large hotel. Good value. Nice place to stay but you really need a car. Free Parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air Conditioning. Most hotels at this price have free coffee and/ or tea 24 hours a day. There seemed to be confusion on this issue as at the reception area they wanted $3.50 for a cup of coffee (there is a sign ) yet in the back of the building where the conferences are held coffee and tea was available at no charge. They also have a machine there which serves soft ice cream and also a popcorn machine. There is an outdoor patio in that location. We were told by a staff member it was for those attending conventions. Good Tea and Good ice cream. Did not try the popcorn.

    Friendly staff. Fast check in. You can even check in yourself. The self-serve check-in is near the hotel reception area. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. You need a car as the bus stop is 1/2 mile from the hotel. Uphill on the way back. The staff went out of there way to serve us. Brought us extra pillows on request. Always polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Isolated but 10 mins to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been delivered early no lunch available on site and nothing around

    Had to leave prior to breakfast and they could not manage the breakfast box to be delivered to our room ,hence we didn't bother as we left at 4.50

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Convenient to the tram. Modern hotel. Nice gym! Free coffee and tea. Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The website says the hotel is 20 minutes from Bergen by train, and it's more like 40-45 minutes. You could take the train from the airport to the hotel, the train stop is about half a mile away but it's an uphill hike to the hotel. I would not recommend it if you have a lot of luggage.

    The breakfast buffet was outstanding! The hotel is nicely decorated with Scandinavian and had a lot of comfy sitting area. The fitness center is on the top floor and had an amazing view. Free unlimited coffee and tea is a bonus. Staff, think her name was Herethe (I think) at the reception area was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Corporate rather than individual but convenient location, good standard and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is more about convenience than anything else as it is close to the city and particularly the airport but consequently its not a location with pleasant views.

    The hotel pays particular attention to cleanliness of rooms and public areas. Also the breakfast is a fabulous buffet with so much choice its hard to know where to start

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and good value for Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from no safe in room, nothing of note to complain about.

    Nice modern hotel with comfortable and quiet room. Bathroom was fine and beds were comfortable. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Free secure parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Was comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no early breakfast like in the other hotels around the airport. Bathroom was kinda cold.

    Was comfy and clean. The bed was big and soft. The whole place had very modern and fancy vibe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.6
    Friendly staff, ok breakfast, ice machine in the conference...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dusty room, family room which is not save for smaller kids, room booking didn't work (not even after a phone call 2 days prior arrival)

    Friendly staff, ok breakfast, ice machine in the conference area (great for the kids), free parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Super clean, excellent breakfast and great public transport to and from hotel and city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's really not a lot that I could say here - only minor things - a bathmat in the bathroom would be handy to stop the floor getting so wet (we just used a spare towel though so it wasn't that big a deal) - tea or coffee making facilities in the room would be nice but they had them in the lobby so that wasn't really a big deal either - I'm nit-picking really because overall the hotel was great.

    The hotel was so new and clean and it was so convenient to jump on the light rail and get into the centre of Bergen, as well as to get from the airport (worth noting that the light rail isn't yet on google maps, but it is there and its SO useful). The breakfast was great! Having a fridge in the room was also handy, and 24 hour tea making facilities in the lobby were handy! We have already told friends we can recommend this hotel to them, and if/when we return to Bergen this hotel will be our first choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay before returning to UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car sat nav brought us in the wrong way i.e. up residential road to barriers

    Big pillows, speedy lift, general ambience and dog watching........restaurant staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant staff and extraordinary breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant staff and extraordinary breakfast. We came by car so we didnt mind a bit isolated location from Bergen downtown. Absolutely worth of the price, when you're around Bergen certainly consider your stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Restaurant was understaffed. Got food poisoning from either dinner or the breakfast the morning after. Required trip to ER.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Right place to stay if you want to be close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have fresh croissants/pastries or famous Norwegian waffles for breakfast.

    Nice place for a short stay (we stayed 1 night). Convenient location close to the airport (5 minutes by car). Stylish lobby area. Decent breakfast buffet. Very good coffee in the room. Hotel offers a 50% discount to Leo's Lekeland (7 minutes by car) - our kids spent 3 hours there and didn't want to leave...) Our 6 years old son got an ice-cream from the reception staff during check-out and was very happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Convenient when travelling by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal. Staff could be more helpful in letting g travellers know where tea and coffe are (which were readily available) and explaining train / parking options for Bergen.

    Lean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Easy location for night out in Bergen and early morning flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was a bit of quantity over quality, coffee was lackluster; perhaps espresso machine near front desk is better?

    Close to airport and easy 10 minute walk to light rail heading to Bergen sentrum; free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, stylish, but business-like, not very accessible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not very accessible with public transport (about 10m walk up-and-down to closes tram station). Did not find info on public transport. No fridge in room. Only shower in room, no bathtub (typical business hotel), small desk. Bar wasn't open in lobby. Free coffee, but milk sometimes ran out.

    Very close to the airport, less then 10 minutes with taxi (240 NOK). Stylish clean hotel, good breakfast, free coffee and tea in the lobby. Very big, but wasn't crowded. The gym at the top is fabulous. Restaurant is nice. Fast check-in and check-out. Administration almost nonexistend (e.g. for breakfast). I would mostly recommend for business stay, but for a few days, if you don't mind the distance the public transport / city center, it is also OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Kokapena egokia izan daiteke hegaldiren bat hartu nahi bada,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kokapena egokia izan daiteke hegaldiren bat hartu nahi bada, tren arinez aeroportura 8 minutuan hel baitaiteke. Gosaria primeran dago eta goizeko 6etatik aurrera har daiteke.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Good value for $131 paid. Only 5 minutes to hotel from airport, 15 minutes from hotel to cruise shi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant seemed challenged by volume of evening diners. Taxi driver from airport to hotel not particularly courteous. Hallway carpet from elevator to outside room needed to be vacuumed.

    Room was clean. Bed comfort very good. Breakfast variety & quality very good. Front desk, housekeeping, restaurant staff courteous and friendly. Taxi driver from hotel to cruise ship port friendly, courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous stay, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located approx a 10 minute walk + 50 minute train ride into the CBD, but train ticket very cheap (approx AU$6 pp).

    Amazing included breakfast with a huge range and nice, light area to eat it in. Fabulous, well equipped gym with a lovely view. Staff very helpful, as provided a kettle and bottle opener immediately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    4.2
    👎🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were dirty and not cleaned . When we told the staff , we were informed that the cleaning will only take place the next day. We were then given another room but which was inferior to the one that we booked . We had to go again to the reception to demand for a better room . Plenty of hassle .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.8
    A great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's some construction work near the hotel till 2018, may disturb some who are sensitive to noise.

    The hotel got its own sauna facility and a gym room, which is great! The breakfast is nice and the staff are friendly. Good location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Liked the set up of the rooms, most staff were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One in particular member of staff at breakfast was a bit abrupt and seemed a bit moody

    Liked the set up of the rooms, most staff were helpful and really polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel near the airport. Reasonably close to Bergen if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very nice, but some pastries would have been nice.

    Free parking. Not too far from the city, if you have a car. Beautiful lobby. Free tea and coffee all day long.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.6
    The wifi is stable, the breakfast excellent, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cellphone reception might not always be great in the rooms so leave your phone on charging when in the rooms. Walking from the tram might be an effort, though it is the cheapest and with a 24 hour ticket you can use the tram to go/come to/from the airport or central Bergen which might make the tram walk worthwhile.

    The wifi is stable, the breakfast excellent, the staff friendly, the rooms efficiently designed and the indoor gym well equipped. The bed is biiiig, the bathroom great,it is a great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Gym is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is in the inner side of the hotel and you can hear the voice of another guests chatting in the lobby late at night.

    The room is big enough for three.The gym is excellent. The hotel offers fruit and free cleaning for your wet clothes after workout. The view of the gym is also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    Nice but distant hotel in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location; distant from the city centre (16 km). Unless you drive your own car, you may end up paying more than 50- 80 Euros for the taxi trip.

    Room size, price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Only stay there if you have your own transportation or you enjoy hiking to your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'art' in the breakfast area of the 'priest' with the wine glass was offensive. Not fun, not cute, not even amusing. The hotel design was an odd mashup of Japanese, Indian, and a long wall of what appeared to be nails sticking out of the wall. It didn't make any sense and was very disjointed in appearance. The almost 1 kilometer walk from the light rail uphill was difficult. No shuttle, taxi or bus was available to to take to the hotel. We had to haul our luggage up the hill. When we got off the tram there weren't any signs for the hotel despite the email I receive from the hotel staff - it said there would be signs. If we hadn't found a local to ask we'd still be standing there. The shower wasn't safe. There is a significant drop between the floor of the bathtub and the floor or the bathroom which is not uncommon. No safety grab bars for those who might be unsteady or short. The hotel had a techno music night playing in the bar - loudly until midnight. We could hear it clearly in our room. I tried to call the front desk and they couldn't even hear the phone. I know because I could see the staff from my room. Finally I got dressed and went to the desk to ask how long the music would play. The front desk person blew off my concerns. The room was warm without air conditioning and only one window opened a little over an inch to the warm lobby.

    The room had a separate sitting room. It gave us a little more space. The lobby area had a piano and guest often sat down to play. That was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited breakfast options for vegetarians

    The hotel is very close to the Bergen airport. Its a modern styled hotel with plenty of parking spaces. Check-in and out was very smooth and quick. Cleanliness is evident from the moment you step-in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    It was good to be able to get a meal even though our plane...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff did not seem interested in determining our requirements or travel needs.

    It was good to be able to get a meal even though our plane had arrived late in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Spacious rooms, good facilities for price compared to rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extensive but not superb. A bit far from Bergen, but that we knew when we booked of course.

    Spacious rooms, good facilities for price compared to rest of Bergen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Overall an excellent stay, well located and very nice and clean rooms in good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attitude of one of the receptionists was not at its best. One made a mistake as we had a special wish to get some rice for the dog and somehow this went forgotten (the one that did the mistake was the day after honest and did apologise and all fine), but the one fixing the issue was neither polite nor service minded and we wanted a simple bowl of cooked rice and nothing special at all and I never experienced wishes like this being a problem or that you got a strange look. Very simply said - I do not like if people do not show a positive attitude when working in service areas and I expect that I got the same polite and nice treatment back that I offer when I take a service.

    Was a family room and therefore very spacious with a big bathroom also. Beds in good quality and also very dog friendly. If you are by car it is supereasy to go into Bergen city and to see the fish market, go up to fløytoppen or just enjoy this superlovely city that Bergen is (give gamle bergen museet a go also if you are there). Breakfast buffet is fine, but keep in mind that this is a big hotel and large groups are there all the time, so it is not a cosy place, but due to the spacious area it is at least as good as it could be. Det er en fin hotellet og vi hadde en fin tid. Jeg tenker at jeg vil komme tilbake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localised outside city but next to a tram/train going to the city centre so it's not that bad.

    Clean and spatious room, friendly staff, wide selection of hot and cold meals for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Good access to airport, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The airport shuttle only runs on certain days - not the two days we needed it! There is no coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms, you have to buy them from reception.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious, clean and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    Over priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the cost of the accommodation, I expected a higher quality room and some kind of a view (flat roofed extension under the bedroom window with a solid barrier prevented any kind of view.

    Comfortable room and well appointed bathroom. Free parking available non site was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realize how far hotel was from center of Bergen. 15 min drive. There is a light rail station about5 mins walk.

    We were only in Bergen for one night. Very comfortable hotel with awesome beds and very comfortable room. Helpful staff and excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel short distance from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner menu in the bistro could be a little more adventurous. Advertised shuttle bus does'nt operate in the summer. .

    Reception staff friendly, always had a smile on their faces. Breakfast buffet good plenty of choice hot or cold. Beds comfortable and bathroom well equiped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Very busy hotel,but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more friendlier, but taking in account for so many people around, it was O.K.

    It is a "Big" Hotel. Restaurant with basics menus. 4 or 5 dishes. Lot of busses which means lot of people around. Breakfast good, lots of variety of tasty foods, hot and cold. Easy parking in underground garage or behind the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, staff needs a bit longer though due to problems in the system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com is not user-friendly when it comes to cancellation. It took two days to solve the problem and we had to book other places to be able to move on without knowing if we can book out. Not using that site again ever.

    The view and the bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Fab location - fab breakfast - great for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that seems to be inherent in Norway is no in room kettle - there is free coffee and tea in the lobby but us Brits do like to make a tea in the morning before we have changed out of out PJs

    Amazing buffet breakfast included in the room price - as food is so expensive it Norway it was pretty extensive - full english to full continental - go up as many times as you like

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a balcony in the room, directed to the lobby of the hotel. Very early in the morning one annoying guest decided to play (very badly) the piano in the lobby. Suggestion for the hotel, is to lock the piano in the lobby to prevent the annoying guest to disturb the others.

    The hotel is located very close to the airport and that was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Its a premium hotel so maybe bathroom slippers, electric...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a premium hotel so maybe bathroom slippers, electric kettle and an iron would have helped. Other things were as per expectations. However 6th floor rooms have no lift.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.7
    Good location for car - but disappointned with housekeeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping didn't clean our room any time during our 2 night stay. And we had to ask for new towels. Also, the TV in the hotel didn't work - and it took the reception staff quite a few hours to come up with an alternative (suggested by us). When we tried to solve this problem, we felt like a burden - and was not really happy with how this made us feel. But in the end, we where allowed to borrow another room, where the TV was working.

    The location and atmosphere was great! We also chose this hotel because of the free parking, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above & beyond. The breakfast was amazing. The room was clean & modern. The facilities were brilliant. Despite it being more of a 'business' hotel, it was actually the most family friendly hotel I've ever stayed in- not only were the staff brilliant with my toddler, but there was also a playroom & a movie in the evening. Brilliant location for the airport, but slight distance into town- not a problem for us though, it cost us less than £10 for the tram unto bergen centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    The room had all what we wanted and I wasn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had all what we wanted and I wasn't disappointed. I missed the breakfast as I had to leave very early for work but my husband told me it was so nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Very Nice Hotel close to the airport but a bit far away from Bergen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not many options for dinner close by. Quite far away from Bergen down-town

    Spacious and Comfortable room and bed. Very Close to the airport Good Wi-Fi Free Parking space

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Good rest, great gym!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in only good if you want to be near to the airport. Quite expensive but everything is in Norway. Breakfast could of had some more options for vegans.

    The room was super nice and dark so i slept like a baby. Gym was great with an awesome view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    Close to the Airport but silent area.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long connection via new train to town center - takes about 45 min.

    Close to the Airport but silent area. Good parking situation vs Bergen Town Nice, clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance was blocked so we had to go in a loop in the neighborhood to get to the other side that was not gated to enter.

    We liked the style of the hotel and the rooms were nice. The staff was helpful with getting us to the airport the following day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    An okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room isn't furnished well. The double bed is rather narrow for two, even though there's plenty of space, and it's also much too soft. For a four-star hotel, the room should have a safe, a coffee/tea pot would also have been nice. But the most glaring thing was that one of the nightstands' drawer was missing its front, and the bed linen had three small holes in it. Lighting inside the room was also rather dim. As for the staff, it was a mixed experience. When we checked in, the lady who was at the reception was very helpful and gave us plenty of information. There was also a slight mix-up the other day when the hotel recoded our room key card, but that was taken care of quickly too. However, the day before we checked out, I went to the reception to request a late check-out (by 1.5 hours) and a taxi for the day after, and the evening receptionist was entirely unhelpful. She said that since the hotel's full, she can't do anything, and I should check with the morning crew instead. I can understand that she couldn't help with the late check-out (not that there was a queue of guests behind me), but she should have told me then that you reserve a taxi yourself anyway, by using an internet terminal in the reception area. It was only the morning receptionist who pointed this out to me. On the bright side, the taxi arrived quickly. So, all in all, it was an okay hotel. I would not give it four stars though.

    A very nice building, and the surroundings are also beautiful, with public transportation not being too far away (10-15 minutes of walking). A good bathroom and a spacious room, even if it's not utilized well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    4.2
    The front desk staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cookie cutter hotel full of tour bus groups. Very costly rooms and far from Bergen center. Extremely overpriced restaurant for dinner. Tip: pizza paradise nearby has great pizza. Awkward vibe all around, from the moment you walk in.

    The front desk staff were friendly. The breakfast selection was huge and fresh, probably the largest we encountered on a 3 week road trip in the fjords. Fresh flowers in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful contemporary hotel close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance / exit to underground parking a bit narrow for comfort in unfamiliar hire car

    Beautiful contemporary style, clean, and very helpful staff. Friendly feel. Good size family room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely staff, great views, well presented rooms and great transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a walk from the bus and light rail (10 mins) but at least this meant the hotel was in a quiet area.

    The view from our room was amazing. The room and other areas were very well presented and the staff were fab. The hotel was a convenient distance from the airport, even for early flights. Easy to catch the light rail into Bergen centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    NO SWIMMINGPOOL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we choosed this hotel for the swimmingpool and the big surprise THERE IS NO SWIMMINGPOOL !! (anymore) and 1 of the beds was over-used and verry oncomfertabel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice hotel but a little bit far for city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con wasn't working and both rooms were really cold. The staff gave us a hot air fan but was very noisy and unconfortable.

    The breakfast was very nice and complete. The staff was helpfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    Looks very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of the way. Difficult getting luggage from car park to room, need to use 2 lifts as well as traipse through the bar/lobby with bags.

    Looks very nice. Pleasant aspect over a valley.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.9
    Could be better for the asked price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive. Hotel far away of everything. Difficult to find the Hotel even with the GPS. Mouldy glutenfree bread on the breakfast...

    Beautiful interior of the Hotel. Some enjoyable bonus like self service ice cream or popcorn. Pleasant interior design. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Looking forward for a future revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike really.

    Excellent place just twenty minutes outside Bergen. Quite modern and extremely nice facilities and the family room was very convenient. Not to mention the excellent value for money plus the amazing breakfast. Plus a ton of entertaining options. I strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Not amused
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at the reception told us that cash payment was only possible when we would pay a deposit of the same amount as the room charge. It was our last day in Norway, so we didn't want to take out cash, but obviously we had to. Another ride by car to take out money... What you're not really in the mood for after a long and exhausting day. When we came back to the hotel, there was another host at the reception who told us a deposit wasn't necessary at all. So we had hundreds of NOK cash with us that we didn't need after all + all the costs changing it back to euros. Not so happy with that! Also amazed by the fact that a hotel manager isn't aware of payment methods.... Rooms were on the 6th floor, where there is no elevator, so we had to walk far and up the stairs with all our luggage. Room was small with nothing extras while we would have liked a good glass of wine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    If you need to stay close to the airport, it is fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant. Food was quite standard, but I had to wait almost 10 minutes to be seated (although there were free places and 3-4 waiters). Than more 10 minutes to get my order. Than half hour until a hamburger was ready. After 8 hours work and 3 1/2 hours driving, it was not nice to have this poor service.

    Location close to the airport is ok, but not there are other better situated hotels for this purpose. The hotel is far away from almost anything else. Many parking places. Check-in fast and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful facility, classy dining room/breakfast, very freindly staff and good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no aspects of this hotel that we would change.

    The breakfast was amazing and such classy presentation. Impressed that there was an "early bird" breakfast available for early flyers. Parking great, Overall, outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Modern, elegant, very quite hotel in the middle of natur but far from attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its far from attractions and very expensive to use taxes for transportation. The tram could be a solution if you buy the bergen pass for transportation and museums. You may use all kind of transportation with this pass except taxis. And the hotel didn't have a working phone inside the room. We had to use our mobile phones to call for room service 😳

    a new hotel very clean and modern, its in the middle of nature and very quite and they have a tram station near by 10 minutes walk can take you any were you want

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    A very welcome break after a long drive before flying back to UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not find anything that we thought needed improving.

    A large Hotel but with good personal attention, excellent accommodation and a good breakfast choice. The hotel is very close to the airport, only 5 minutes drive, but is not effected by noise in the way that a Heathrow Hotel would be. Suited us perfectly when on a fly drive holiday to Norway from the UK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    Hotel with potencial. Not so much quality right now.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to try 5 times to make contact on phone, prior the visit. I didnt get confirmation on mail (as asked) that we could bring Our dog, so I had to phone to make sure. I have a strong feeling that the staff need a lot more staff, all over. We had a long day, and was looking forward to have a drink in the hotel, when coming back from the city. In the hotel bar, a sign stated that we could go to the restaurant to get most of the bars selection, thats fine. But when we went to the restaurant, a friendly lady, deeply appologised that we could only get "pure" drinks, aka no mixed. So no mojito or GTs this evening! The room was Nice and clean, not very big. But why did the designer think that it was a good idea to have every big light connected to one switch, so you couldnt turn down only the lights over the bed, and not the light in the entrance? And why is the handtowel-racks placed 10 cm over the trash at the bathroom? The breakfastbuffet was ok, but there where several Groups of youth sports children there. They where queueing up the buffet, and the forks etc used to pick up the cheese, youghurt, etc. where left in the Food and got all sticky. No one in the staff seemed to fix this. I only saw one ore two running around to fill up the Food. "If you like bacon, please tell us" Yes, but they didnt have time to talk to you this morning. They had made an "quiet" area for guest that are not in a Group, this is Nice, but all the adults of the sports-Groups where sitting there With their children, and didnt check on their Groups how they where behaving in the buffet. No one in the staff advised them to sit With their Group. The minibar was empty, and a note said that you could get what you wanted Down in the bar. But this we now wasnt thrue. I know I seem picky today, but it was just to many small Things that didnt work out on this stay.

    The staff was friendly. Petfriendly hotel. Room was New. Nice parkingfacilities. Quiet area. Ok prices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice big room with sitting area.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location could be a problem if you don´t have a car. There seems to be a tram stop about 1.5K from the hotel.

    Nice big room with sitting area. Really comfortable beds. Great breakfast. Nice hotel concept. It seems they have a lot of bus tours coming in but you would never know it because the place is really large.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent place in Bergen, if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is bad.

    Generally, everything was excellent. The bed is a little bit small but ok. There is a big lobby, which is very comfort for us. The staff were very friendly. They don't clean the room everyday as other hotels. They just change the towels. But it is still clean during our stay for four days.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Felt very safe and the atmosphere in the hotel was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath couldn't be filled as the plug did not work properly and the sink took a long time to drain (room 375). The other irritation was the coach trips who came into the buffet in the evening and swamped the food area with no consideration for other guests.

    Rooms were a good size and the beds were comfortable. The food was also good, particularly the breakfast and cold evening selections.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    Room upgrade, pleasant staff, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room upgrade, pleasant staff, comfortable bed. The quilt on the bed was too thick which made for a hot night's sleep but everything else was perfect 👌

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.8
    Exceptional selection for breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of tours stay here so breakfast was mobbed. However, the staff kept the breakfast area clean and well stocked.

    Exceptional selection for breakfast buffet. Play room for children in the restaurant. Beautifully designed modern hotel that feels airy and open. We had a room with a living room - more space and ingenious use of room dividers. Quiet and comfortable to sleep. Very reasonable price for expensive Bergen.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    in the morning the didn't make up our room also we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in the morning the didn't make up our room also we asked for it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Everything was really ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite far from Bergen.

    Everything was really ok. Breakfast was good, rooms are clean and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Great if you have to be close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a hard time finding the place .

    Loved the interior design

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a facelift ... can be much cleaner....hot ..breakfast was cold

    Welcoming staff

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Quality Hotel Edvard Grieg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: