Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen 4 stars

Main Road, 9171 Longyearbyen, Norway

#7 of 10 hotels in Longyearbyen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 398 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    5.4
    We have had drinks at the Svalbard hotel and a diner at the Funken Lodge. We'll go there next itme
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are old and would need to be refurbed.The hotel was far from being full and the management was not helping when we tried to cancel 1 night.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 buildings and I was staying in the secondary building. This building didn't have a lift so getting a heavy suitcase up the stairs was a bit difficult.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and large. They had a number of different style restaurants on the property which made it easy. It was also easy walking distance to the main town and to the water front.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a junior suite. I was surprised that the suites were in a separate building necessitating a walk outdoors with no protection. In the separate building there is no-one from the hotel. The suite is not grand by any means and is not carpeted whereas the normal rooms I noted are. In near freezing temperatures carpet is warming, cheap bare floorboards are not. The bathroom was basic 2 star at best and not really clean. One day my shower was cold and told that was because too many were having a shower at the same time. It is 2:30 pm and my suite is yet to be serviced - I check out tomorrow from a three night stay. My next stay in Longyearbyen is at a different hotel.

    The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and spoke excellent English. Gave great advice on activities. Excellent laundry service. Very good breakfast in dining room with superb views. Much of the walls and doors display the fascinating history of Svalbard and the Arctic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast good room good restaurant nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the suites is from the outside up an inconvenient flight of metal stairs... and exposed to bad weather...

    Good breakfast good room good restaurant nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Good, but has room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For such an environmentally conscious hotel, the huge amount of water spent while trying to find the right water temperature to bathe with was wasteful. A solution needs to be found for adjusting the water temperature in the shower more efficiently.

    Location was perfect, in the middle of everything & good views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    Don’t stay here - it is the worst hotel of the three we stayed in while in Longyearbyen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone we met in Longyearbyen was friendly and helpful - except in this hotel. Some of the receptionists were rude (as were some of the guests), it doesn’t have a friendly atmosphere. It also needs to be refurbished - it seems very shabby and neglected, for example, the walls in the bedrooms have stains on them (that are not hidden by the patterned paintwork), some of the woodwork is broken (see photo), the flooring on the stairs is torn. We had two rooms both sold as ‘mountain views’ - in one the view was of the carpark and hotel entrance, and in the other the view was of the nearby cabin (see photo).

    The food in the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff but in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the hotel was a bit scruffy and could benefit from a good repaint. Also the main dining area was very open and barn like and lacked atmosphere.

    The location, and the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since all the G Expeditions leave and return from this hotel it would be nice to have some more facilities for waiting for the coaches, like extra seats and coffee facilities available for a fee. However this is not a big detraction. it is very convenient to stay here before you join an expedition

    Breakfast was excellent for someone on a gluten free diet, staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    A very enjoyable stay in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not book a table for dinner on our second night but we did find a good alternative which the receptionist booked for us. The hot tub was not working because of a fault which was frustrating.

    The restaurant was very good for dinner and breakfast was decent. The room was large and spacious. The hotel is well located and most of the staff were charming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    It was a place to stay in a remote town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the tariff it would have been nice to have some help with luggage. Breakfast was poor. Agin for the Tarif room was basic

    It was a place to stay in a remote town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A very good hotel close to the North Poloe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -somebody at the reception did not give me the proper Information so I missed out dining at the restaurant; - the curtains in my bedroom did not really to Keep out the sunlight. fortunately I had brought a sleeping mask from an Airline; so falling aseep was not a problem

    -the breakfast buffet; -the very friendly waiter at breakfast -my room (which turn4ed out to be a suite!) -the view from my window towards the Harbor -the very very comfortable Couch in my living-room -the pub/bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent night in interesting historical town before we started cruise, perfect start to holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very nice buffet breakfast. The large comfortable room had a fantastic view out over the fjord. Worth going for junior suites for that reason.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Try Elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lukewarm shower, no lifts and no help getting luggage to the third floor. If I find myself in Svalbard again I'll try Svalbard Hotel.

    Excellent, albeit expensive dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Sublime experiences of Spitzbergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom could have done with a coat of paint as the walls were marked and scuffed

    Excellent breakfast choices; all hotel staff very friendly and helpful; hotel in perfect location to watch whales in the harbour while eating meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Great base for a visit to Svalberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound isolation between the rooms could have better, otherwise, a great place to stay. Also, someone had messed with the thermostat in the room- took some time to get the temperature lower, below 30 degrees centigrade

    Breakfast was great! Location also was great, right at the center of the Svalberg. Pub and pubfood was good. Menu at the restaurant was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel that needs more staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like a lot of visitors at this hotel we arrived early morning on a boat, several hours before the check in time of 3pm. Like most hotels they have a store room where guests arriving early or leaving late can deposit baggage. We left our cases here but when we returned to check in there were another 20-30 large bags on top of ours. We asked about this at reception. They said that they did not know when we would be able to access our luggage and suggested that we could move them ourselves if we fancied a "workout"! We would have had to move 20-30 heavy cases into the corridor to do this. It was another 2-3 hours after check in time before we were able to access our things. The lack of porters/hotel staff to store and retrieve left luggage and move suitcases down the stairs to rooms was disappointing. - in a hotel that charges $275 for a night. This shortage of staff also meant that the lobby area was often crowded with people waiting to access reception.

    Nice comfortable room with curtains that blocked out the light at night, good restaurant and bar, central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    see above, the price maybe

    I know the prices for accommodation on Svalbard are disproportionately higher than elsewhere. Nevertheless, one could perhaps still do something about the price-performance ratio. The four nights cost me almost as much as two weeks in Gran Canaria with full board and flight. But there was really nothing wrong with the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Good and efficient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room on floor 1 at the end of the corridor. There was no lift down and the steps were not comfortable to carry the luggage down and up the following morning

    The breakfast was excellent. When we arrived at 1.30 am the check in procedure was very quick and efficient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    good location and good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heating in the room, which made it very uncomfortable. Should give a discount when you do not have a warm room to offer at Svalbard.

    good location and good beds. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was very basic. I’ve stayed in various Radisson Blu hotels all over the world, and this is by far the only one that I think is not value for money.

    Clean room. Decent accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The room is inside the main building opposite the junior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is inside the main building opposite the junior suite, which I prefer. Good location and great breakfast. Very friendly staff, great atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and breakfast very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like staying in the junior suite because I had to leave the building to have breakfast or to go to the reception. The bedroom windows had no blackout, being hard to sleep in the midnight light.

    Excellent location and breakfast very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Location, view from the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The settling of the bill was very poor. They didn’t recognize the booking amount from the booking.com voucher. And fortunately I remembered the amount, else I had paid 750 Kr more.

    Location, view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great base for introduction to polar life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location to town and activities. Great views from the hotel. Staff was helpful, pleasant, and attentive to our needs. All were genuinely interested in our enjoyment of the facility and the activities in Svalbard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing: not that much choice, and lots of things run out quickly without being replenished. Very expensive.

    Comfortable and central. Nice, helpful staff. Jacuzzi outside was super relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Well, it was a real pleasure to have breakfast with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We didn`t like to live in the "hunting hall" with a lot of the hunter's photos with the dead animals. One of such photos was in our room: dead teddy-bears with their mother (that we were trying to hide under the towel)

    Well, it was a real pleasure to have breakfast with an amazing view of a sunrise in the mountains and the hot bath outside in -15C degree. and also separately would like to mention the famous hotel bar where you can sit in socks (without shoes) in a lovely warm atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in the high arctic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna equipment should be renovated asap, it was below the level of hotel of this grade. Should be a small investment to buy a decent bucket for water and new scoop for throwing water into stone oven (which wasn't properly warm at times). At least for a Finn the sauna was disappointing ;). Staff could have been more numerous at the front desk, now there might be 5-10 minutes without anyone there to assist.

    Overall nice hotel with interesting decorations highlighting the location. Great breakfast. It was nice that they have an aurora alert service. Outdoor jacuzzi was great (sadly it was closed on second night due to storm). The room was very quiet, which was great. Hotel bar had excellent cocktails and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tables for breakfast, always full; not much variety / choice in breakfast, no water pressure in shower.

    Central location, nice bar, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    A lot of little things missing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no basic products in the room like shampoo, cream etc. For a chain hotel it didn't have the basics. A phone would've been nice in the hotel room too so that the reception could reach us to tell us about the Northern lights sighting

    The food at the bar and the staff at the bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent - Svalbard is a fascinating place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our only issue was that after an active day (and v cold) you want a hot drink in your room. There was tea and coffee supplied, but instead of a kettle, there was a fancy coffee maker with no instructions - when I asked at reception they said the machines didn't work very well and were no good with tea! On the plus side, the very helpful receptionists gave us a pot of hot water and milk every afternoon, so we could have a cup of tea in the room. This is a very simple fix - come on Radisson, just put kettles in the rooms!

    Warm and cosy room, extremely clean. Nice, friendly staff and good bar area with excellent meals, good value (compared with dinner in the restaurant which was ridiculously expensive). V good breakfast Staff very helpful and friendly. Best hotel location in town for access to shops/restaurants/front

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    An experience to behold!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the lighting in the room was quite dramatic but insufficient. Because we visited in the winter the windows were closed most of the time, it made the room a bit suffocating, i wish there was a way in which we could control the temperature in the room!

    The buffet spread was surprisingly good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful anytime of the day(in my situation it was all night!) and night. They kept an open for us for the Northern lights. Rooms are fair sized, hence two people do not feel cramped at all with bags lying around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpets needed hoovering!

    We really enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is in a very convenient location adjacent to the "main street" containing shops, bars and restaurants. There is a great on site bar with very reasonable food prices and you could see the northern lights from straight outside! Our room was spacious and nicely decorated with very comfortable beds, and the breakfast was brilliant with lots of choice considering the remote location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A general maintainance is needed to keep the value for the price.

    The location is very good, between the museum and the pedestrian area. Our room was a bit old but spatious and with a confortable bed. I liked the pub and the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent and very complete.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    we enjoied our stay, but prices on the different excursion was far too high!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was too small/old fashion + the the temperature of the water when taking a shower changes from cold to very hot constantly.

    The beds was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.4
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is limited space to relax and read or socialize. The place needs an upgrade as it is very dated and morbid. All brown and beige......

    Location & assistance Food was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in Svalbard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite not in main building where bar and restaurant are. The hot tubs where not working and there is no fitness room even if booking.com states otherwise in the facilities for the hotel

    Big comfy room with heated bathroom . Excellent breakfast included in room price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, has a great hot tub, friendly staff &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location, has a great hot tub, friendly staff & nice little pub/bar inside. Room was comfy & always nice and warm. We booked a lot of our trips online, green dog is great for dog sledding. We stayed for 5 nights and didn’t see the lights but the polar night was an experience in itself :) There a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotels which is pretty cheap and the best option.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    A proper hotel where you don’t expect it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No telephones in the rooms, bed is not comfortable, the mattress keep sliding off the bed. Pillow was small and thin. This is the most official hotel in the town, lots of people with suits around.

    Staff are very helpful for everything you need. breakfast was good. The jacuzzi is available outside in the freezing weather so you can enjoy 40C bath in a -10C climate. Soap smell very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Deluxe rooms are of good size , rooms were clean over all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no phone in room to contact reception and reception is not in same building ( so I has to wear all my warm cloths to walk to reception) just to request for simple stuff like a water kettle! Now coming to water kettle there was no kettle in room and when asked at reception didn’t get one they said there is nespresso machine in room you may warm water for tea- but I have asked for a water kettle :)

    Deluxe rooms are of good size , rooms were clean over all stay was pleasant hotel is very nice and located at one of best locations

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Food and rooms excellent - arrival and departure process need much improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There definitely needs to be a lift to all room levels, stairs were difficult with heavy artic luggage check-in was mid pm - rather late - needs to be better for tired travellers There was very little facilities to sit and wait before check in and after check out whilst waiting for bus The arrival and departure processes for guests need to be refined - even the staff looked hassled

    breakfast delicious bedroom and bed comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi really doesn't work inside the room. Tried to ask for fixing the problem in the front desk, but they did nothing. One could expect more from an expensive hotel like this Radisson Blu.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Expensive, but practical location. Not luxurious - but thats not why you are there.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    They never cleaned before 14-15 in the afternoon, so most often, we were home before they had even been there. Also - it wasnt cleaned nicely in the shower all the time. The bathrooms are old and spartan and nothing fancy - very spartan actually. I dont think I have ever stayed anywhere so expensive where the bathrooms were like that of a hostel.

    Location - it is very close to the main strip in Longyearbyen. The people who worked there were friendly and helpful - both reception and cleaning staff. The curtains were there to keep the lights out which was good. There was a nespresso machine, which I loved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Definitely the most expensive hotel we've stayed at in the world given the basic services provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is very pricey for what you get - basic facilities, tired looking rooms that need a face lift. Not fun dragging heavy suitcases up and down stairs (no lift) and no porters to help. Understand its a remote location but no doubt the limited accommodation options in town keep prices abnormally high. Nice idea to have old photos on the room doors but the photo selection could be better. Photos of killed polar bears etc. isn't really appropriate when most of your customers are nature lovers. I know its reality but not something I want to see walking down the corridor every day.

    Bed really comfy, tasty food at the Bar, good hot & cold selection for included breakfast, convenient location, relaxed atmosphere. Probably the best of the limited accommodation available in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff, simple rooms, too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely expensive considering that fact that the rooms are like in a 3-star hotel: the rooms are not really well-equipped and ask for some renovation.

    Professional and helpful staff. Perfect location in the centre (even though the town is not so big anyway). Easy connection by flight bus with the airport. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.8
    good to stay in Longyearbyen prior to a cruise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some of the staff were not really interested in clients some though were extremely friendly and helpful so: mixed welcome and friendliness

    bed is good room is large all is functional particularly good is the nespresso machine in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Good breakfast and nice cosy bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it purely to use the hot tub which was out of use. Surly reception staff. Could not get the shower to continually provide hot water. Which is pretty key in this cold location.

    Good breakfast and nice cosy bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing in this hotel to qualify it as a good choice! It is by far the worst Radison we have ever been: the quality of the room was average, the breakfast room oldish and service unhelpful. There is no lift in the hotel, so if you really cannot find a better place in Longyearbyen, ask for a room in the ground floor to avoid carrying your luggage throug the old staircase. Although we reached the hotel by 2am, we were told that chack out could not be delayed beyond 11am, no negotiations accepted (although the receptionist would smile non-stop and say she was sorry). When you check out though, there is no space for the luggage, as they only have a small room.... Maybe they know most people go that far only once in life, thus no risk of return anyway. So, overall, it is THE place to avoid and not to be selected. Check for Svalbard hotel if you are looking for a nice, cozy and worth-the-money place in Longyearbyen.

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Reindeers and polar bears
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    as the hotel is in two buildings moving between the two buildings was a bit of a pain

    The scenery from our room was exceptional. we woke in the morning to see Reindeer at our window. the rooms were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was great. The staff were very helpful and able to give good advice about travelling about.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    Good for Svalbard , Average for any other place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heating was not working in our first 2 nights and after complaining we were offered a better suite but also with no heating. Finally the system was up during our third day. You can not control temperature in your room !! Service is average, We were told that dinner was served until 11 pm and nobody told us that on our second day there was an exceptional closing of the restaurant at 10ps so we just had a few minutes when we arrived. They were not able to change my details at check Out and they told me that they need a week !!

    There are only 3 top hotels in Svalbard so options are limited. Of course you do not wait for a high standard hotel , but Radisson is far below that. Svalbard Hotel is by far better and same priced. Location is perfect but the hotel needs urgent renovation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phones in the room. We had to go to the reception each time if help is needed. No bellman service. No lift. It was hard to carry the suitcases on the stairs.

    Overall it is good. My room had a good view and staff was very friendly. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    All round fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Particularly liked the restaurant, all the staff were friendly and helpful. Bar staff are to be singled out as a highlight (bar food also couldn't be faulted). Fantastic location, breakfast superb, comfortable bed and great room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    2.5
    They bump to inferior hotels without apologies
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a rating of the sister property that they bumped all of us too. It was 20 minutes out of town and not good but when you book the Radisson you may find yourself bumped here without apologies. My reservations were made 9 months in advance and guaranteed by credit card and all I got from the desk was a shrug. Bad Service bad policy book elsewhere because you are not being promised the Radisson even though your booking is confirmed far in advance

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    Ideal Place to stay in Longyearbyen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A chest of drawers in the room would have been very useful to put items away. A double bed rather than two singles pushed together would also have been nice.

    This hotel is ideally suited for touring Longyearbyen and surrounds. The company organising most of the activities also owns the hotel and it all works seamlessly. Both the restaurant and the bar serve delicious food and the locally brewed beer is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Keeping guests warm and well-fed in the arctic night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Communications about tourist activities, lack of clarity lead to different expectations. Wifi is slow.

    Great breakfast! Good eating in the evening until late. Good infoscreens everywhere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Once in a lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant doesn't have a la carte menu and they only open at certain times.

    Breakfast is good. The bar is always open to serve food and drinks.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very good. the value for money is fair, as everything at Svalbard is expensive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Wild experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection of TV channels was minimal for foreigners.

    It is an experience different from anywhere else.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Warm outside bubble bath, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm outside bubble bath, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast is good in Longyearbyen, Room is clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pls keep the temperature of shower stable and easy to adjust

    Breakfast is good in Longyearbyen, Room is clean,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to carry your luggage up many stairs both outside and inside .....no help was offered!

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    It was an average motel for an expensive price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very busy people everywhere, the restaurant was closed due to a large tour group booking.

    The view was good from the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggest that early check-in for cruise passengers be considered.

    Very comfortable, very good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff and good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Winter stay
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poor walls were really dirty and need a good paint . Really poor room for price

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to mention

    See my Tripadvisor review.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Jacuzzi was closed most of the days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was closed most of the days...defect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel and very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub broken

    Great family room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    jacuzzi and sauna in hotel did not work bad shower in bathroom

    great location great bar great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is tied and suited to business events
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor atmosphere, out dated, small/limited lounge area

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some updating

    Friendly staff and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    comfort and pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Guest Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rate too high for what we get

    beds- comfi and soft and white breakfast- so so

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: