Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Ålesund 4 stars

Moloveien 6, 6003 Ålesund, Norway

#11 of 16 hotels in Ålesund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1357 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Would not choose to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere in the hotel was run down and breakfast area not big enough for a full hotel, lobby was worn and small

    Disappointing in relation to other Scandic we have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    A very good location in Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms that do not overlook the sea is fronted with the buildings across the street. So all your curtains should be kept closed. Thus, you have stay in a dark room. Rooms are small for two adults and there are no slippers in the room.

    The hotel is very near the central part of Alesund and easy to reach on foot. Sea view rooms are nice. Breakfast is overall good. Reception is helpful and very polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in the heart of Alesund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk clerk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was excellent and the eating area was attractive looking out onto to the water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Due to an early check out we would miss breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in need of a makeover.

    Due to an early check out we would miss breakfast. The staff offered to pack a picnic for us to pick up on our way out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming hotel and great view from restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved Alesand and the hotel staff in reception and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. There was a pleasant sitting area in the lobby and a wonderful view over the harbour from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Family room was large, clean and set up when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated hallways- no sprinkler system. Restaurant in hotel was closed on Sunday.

    Family room was large, clean and set up when we arrived. Staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet was large and delicious. Great location in the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking instruction is not clear. Hair dryer is old, you need to borrow one from reception. The staff working on breakfast shift is a bid rude by taking your plates without asking if you’ve finished

    Good location. Spacious room. Good variety of breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    Will not return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean; we had to change rooms because there was mold in the first bathroom; bed was very small; there was dust everywhere; towels not properly cleaned; shower gel not refilled and it was empty in our room; definitely not a 4 stars hotel ; way too expensive for what it provides

    The Location was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent stay in Alesund
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish parking was included in the price.

    The hotel is conveniently located in the central area with easy access by foot to everything. The room was fairly small but clean. Bathroom did not have a vent which would be helpful especially for our family of four. Breakfast was very good and checking in and out went smoothly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced hotel with decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get the room i booked, They gave me a room for disabled people instead. Room was shabby and outdated. Room surely not worth the money.

    Location near the center of Alesund was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    We were only at the Scandic Alesund one evening but it met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit outdated and the view from our room was directly on the street.

    The hotel is centrally located and check-in was really easy. The parking garage is located close by, although you have to pay to use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    1) Good location on the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) No electric kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms 2) Getting into and out of bath tubs was very risky. No grab handles present on the walls 3) Floor mat towels not provided 4) Room lighting was very dim/poor

    1) Good location on the sea front 2) Decent breakfast, although coffee could have been better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The Scandic Allesund is Propped Up Over the Pier--a Perfect Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Scandic Allesund is right on the water and is part of the iconic view of Allesund. The location is superb. The staff was helpful and kind. The breakfast is exceptional and they offer a bag lunch addition, which is a great for travelers on the move. The hotel is close to everything we wanted to see and explore and the walk around the pier is first rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    This Old hotel and city of Alesund were underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was old; furniture arms were dirty; wifi was slow; beds were thin. TV had 1 channel only and wifi too slow to be able to watch Netflix from your device. Alesund in general was underwhelming - not as picturesque as we thought, very few good restaurants, and very little to do.

    View of the water and town was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the price - good place to overnight but hotel needs a bit of upkeep for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some TLC. Paint in the hallways. There was a pizza crust in the hallway that was there for over 12 hours. A bug in the kids play room. One of the front desk clerks was very unpleasant and unhelpful however the next day the bartender and a new clerk made up for it.

    The breakfast was great, very nice. Great view from breakfast. Location was perfect. Kids play room was also great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast buffet was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a comment specific to this hotel, but for all European hotels. They only provide a large, usually heavy thick duvet for the bed. I find it too warm and there is no alternative. I've resorted to pulling the duvet cover off and just using the cover. A thin blanket would be a great amenity for those who want lighter covers.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing! I have never seen so many choices and everything was delicious. The breakfast room was set on the water's edge as was our room with a wonderful view. The staff was wonderful, friendly and very helpful. They even have a small area with items to purchase like personal things and food and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Art Nouveau architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating! Lights next to bed need replacing because they flash off and on.

    The decorations in the lounge and restaurant are beautiful with a great view of the pier and the islands. Our room also had a great view with gulls coming to visit on the window ledge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great breakfast, fantastic staff, great...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very worn hotel, could do with a brush up. Free wifi didn´t work for me, but I´m pretty sure that´s more a fault on my device, rather than the wifi. Extremely expensive parking!

    Great location, great breakfast, fantastic staff, great location. Great hotel alltoghether

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel with lovely staff that at least needs maintenance, ideally a full refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even a standard room should have a tea or coffee maker and just a small bottle of water. Here all need to be bought in the shop beside the reception. The dull and outdated interior is far over the due date and the carpets in the hall way should have been replaced years ago.

    The staff is great and very helpful. The location is super as well and with a good breakfast and decent services it in general is a good hotel.....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Ålesund. Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was useless and did not want to help. The room was not cleaned and when i reminded it was 4pm and "too late". They cleaned it anyway. Room for 2 had 1 chair and no shelves. Bed was ok. I feel room needs renovation.

    Centrally located, next to the water. Great breakfast as usually at Scandic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    great staff, good food and amazing views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleaning wasn't the best, the rooms are in need of a freshing up, e.g. some of the lights in my room were not working, a part of the wallpaper was torn, overall furniture was a bit torn of age

    very friendly and professional staff, great breakfast, amazing views from the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    It was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two separate beds in a double room and they kept rolling apart from each other. Maybe the could fix the beds together

    The breakfast was great! Best waffles I've ever eaten!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff no so helpful, very hot room. Very old and used, needs a restauration. The parking is tiny, difficult to handle, and expensive.

    It's right into the downtown. Big room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    great place, simple hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic, no extra chair, no mini bar

    The reception girl - Svetlana was very nice and helpful, although it was late at night, she did her best to help us planning our next days in Norway. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    The location is good and the staff behind the check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short time for breakfast during the week days. The rooms really need to be overhauled. Short of staff at breakfast; Coffee machine ... maybe needs a fix? No bacon at breakfast!

    The location is good and the staff behind the check in/out counter were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice Stay in Beautiful Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the appliances in the room are outdated. The parking is expensive (like everything in Norway) but the staff can guide you where to park overnight on the street for free.

    The staff were really friendly. It is one of the best accommodations in Alesund. The rooms were clean. Very good breakfast! Nice Central location with restaurants around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    I mentioned them that we are here for a special occasion, but our request was completely ignored.

    Great location, friendly staff. We had a double bed (two single beds pushed together) and they kept moving apart so it was a bit uncomfortable, but overall great experience. Would 100% recommend! the breakfast was very good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Fresh memes each morning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't any plugs close to the bed, but that's really it.

    Really good breakfast and friendly staff. The dinner was excellent too. I think the complementary meme laid out on the pillow each morning made my trip though :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, well located hotel with nice rooms and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is non existent and onsite expensive. Ripoff and not fair considering on street parking is almost impossible

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. Bread great, smoked salmon abundant, lots of variety and quantity. View from the restaurant was amazing! The gym was adequate but amazing with the same view as the restaurant but right on the water!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.6
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because they offer the room included bath tub, similar price with other hotel. But when I checked in, room does not have bath tub. Even worse, hotel employee never tried to solve this problem. She just said that they do not have room with bath tub on that time. I do not kow who deceived me. The hotel has parking lot. But you should pay for that and can not pull our your car freely. (Everytime you put yoir car in, should pay for that again.) And it is very difficult to park in basement. The room is noisy. When the room next door use bathroom, I could hear the sound of water loudly.

    Breakfast is good. It is very close to old city center but Allesund is very small city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was convenient but very tight to manoeuvre. Had to go in to find out where the access to the car park was.

    We had a free upgrade to a very spacious room. Restaurant open until 10pm was good as we arrived late. Great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well-kept hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. Our rooms were nice and clean. Wifi worked well. Very good breakfast with great views over the water. And it was great that there is underground parking with an elevator that takes you into the building. A few times bus groups showed up at the hotel and there was a wait for the elevator and I would have preferred not to have to pay for parking each day and just once at the end but these are minor points. All in all we were very happy with our stay and would gladly come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Received great help from the staff when we checked in, who gave us detailed parking information on the street in front of the hotel, saved us money in comparison to use the hotel's underground park. Nice location, close to a wonderful restaurant Maki inside Brosundet Hotel. Room with a beautiful harbor view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Right in the heart of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free to use bikes need a bit of mechanical attention.

    The best breakfast so far in Norway! And we have been traveling around for five weeks. The location of the hotel was fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.9
    Very kind and helpful staff, quite nice rooms, but the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was definitely due for renovation

    Very kind and helpful staff, quite nice rooms, but the best attribute of this hotel is its location. Considering that it is right in the center of Alesund, it is very convenient that it has its own garage (although it's quite compact, so beware if you are coming with a larger car).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Overall I had a good stay at Scandic Ålesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay Nok 150 per day to park my car. Shower zone was leaking water into the bathroom floor. Bed was good, but only one very small pillow.

    Location was excellent, breakfast as well. Nice and big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Nice location with a beautiful view ofthe sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious with a nice view of the sea, smooth and soft bed, delicious breakfast! It was a nice experience! Ålesund is a beautiful place and the hotel has a very good location accessible to all your needs!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location and easy to walk all over the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and need some improvements. There was hair all over the bathroom when we got there and the chairs were incredibly dusty.

    Great location and easy to walk all over the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the fact that we had communicated after 10pm and that in the booking we had said we needed assistance with dinner, when we arrived we didn't get any help. We were just pointed to a street shop where we could eat something. There was at least one restaurant we could have gone to.

    The Location was ideal for us. We were there for a night and a day so we needed easy access to the train station and the port and both are within a 10 minute walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Best Scandic Hotel in Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the best hotel during our first stay in Norway. Great location for walking to the sights and a beautiful view of the harbor from our window. Excellent breakfast, which is included in the room fare, and we enjoyed our dinners in the restaurant also (good value). Extremely helpful staff at the front desk allowed us to end our vacation on a positive note. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the lobby the hotel seemed quite dated. And my breakfast was cold :(

    The bed was comfy and we had a room with an incredible view! The staff were really friendly and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Dreary down at the heels , but a great location and dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very worn out feeling. Furnishings need replacement including beds . Carpets are stained and musty smelling. There are lots of visible marks and holes on the walls where things had been mounted in the past. Of about 4 scandics we stayed in this one didn't measure up

    Location was great for seeing the sights around town. I liked the windows over the water. The dining room was very good with both a la carte dinner and buffet breakfast being very fine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Only location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have booked two standard rooms .. one queen and one twin . the twin had all the facilities of coffee and tea , iron board , new furniture, whereas the queen was woth old furniture no coffee and tea facilities and no iron board and we paid the same price for both rooms so dissapointing ! The door hanger in the bathroom was broken too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Great outlook from the restaurant at breakfast time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the restaurant was booked out for dinner due to the volume of people on bus tours which is probably something that happens on a regular basis.

    Comfortable and busy with 4 bus loads of guests. The restaurant was booked out due to the influx of bus guests which was inconvenient for us as it was cold and raining outside. However at breakfast the bus loads had already left the hotel and there were very few people for breakfast. The breakfast was very good and had a great variety of foods on offer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Ok, but they need to fix the bed stupidity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower door was broken at the bottom. The room had 2 single beds pushed together which is ridiculous. they move apart if you roll over the gap and you then fall down between them. Also, our fridge died which spoiled our chocolate milk and other dairy products over night. I took them down to reception, and asked if we could get compensated, to which she replied "yes of course" but no discount was given on the bill. They pretty much ignored it. For these reasons, we won't stay here again.

    Staff were friendly, rooms clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.8
    An average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels pictures lead you to believe it is a modern hotel, but it's rather dated, its had a few of the rooms updated and the reception decorated, it's a miss leading advertisement, a value for money hotel

    Friendly staff with lots of local knowledge, a few minutes walk from centre. Lovely views from restaurant,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We requested for upgrade to a suite room with a beautiful view. As we need to add a roll away bed, the staff was so kind to extend a discount for us. We had a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.3
    We spend one night only, the breakfast was excellent and one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to get dinner, we arrived sunday afternoon and almost everything was closed, including the restaurant at the hotel.

    We spend one night only, the breakfast was excellent and one of the best we had for our 1 week stay in Norway.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Clean, beautiful, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two Scandic hotels in the area - pay attention when navigating!

    The breakfast was delicious and the bartender was very welcoming and friendly. Our room had a lovely view overlooking the water. We appreciated the hotel lobby "friends zone" as a place to talk and drink and play games after a long day of exploring Norway. Parking was very close by as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice Central Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice position in the Alesund center, rooms are big and cozy (even if not really renewed) but very good quality / price performance. Amazing view on the Aklsa Mountain and on the sea side. Very confortable even the parking under the hotel (you can reach the room directly from garage) - 150 NOK/day

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    The room with sea views had 2 roof windows facing the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Norway is a very expensive country.

    The room with sea views had 2 roof windows facing the city and sea with outstanding views of the port and the mountain. Although outside it was very cold, in the room the temperature was warm and the floor in the bathroom is heated. Breakfast is delicious and with very diverse options of food to choose from: bread, eggs, waffles, fruit, salmon. The city is very secure and people are very friendly. We rented a car and went to the North Atlantic Road to see the bridges between the islands and tunnels below the fjords, it was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful and well located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was amazing. Svetlana, Astrid, Nathalia were helpful, smily and always remembering names of all customers. The restaurant and sauna have an incredible view on the sea.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.4
    Bed and pillow were bad and specially the small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and pillow were bad and specially the small "baby" pillow and no extra in room. Bed was two separated bed, not tight together.........

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful view!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on reception should to be better informed about parking space front of Hotel. They was tell us that we can't park car outside because there is no available place, even I was show them one free parking place and after just 5-10 min,another guest was parked car, when we was ask her "what is this?", she say "Oh I..I..don't no...!" and we must after to pay garage 150NOK..

    It was very nice, but short visit. Recommend! Beautiful room with so beautiful view on town. :-)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    5.4
    Beds VERY uncomfortable. Do not book this hotel if you expect a decent nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were horrendously uncomfortable. We got no sleep. We ended up putting the mattresses on the floor. We stayed 2 nights then went to other parts of Norway and on the last night stayed a third night. We were promised a different room and we were ensured this was booked for us. Yet, they messed up and failed to do this and so we ended up in the same uncomfortable bed. The breakfast could have been fresher. The coffee was appalling.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Weekend break to Ålesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Nothing remarkable.

    - All the amenities you can expect of a Scandic Hotel in Norway. - Perfect location in the city. - Very good Nordic breakfast. - The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay - Parking place close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice place, but needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs a makeover, looked like nothing was changed for a long while. Room was dark, and brown chairs/ cover for the bed did not help to make it brighter. Where where only some spots on the wall to create light, and all of them pointed down, tried to rotate them up but they fell back down. They should update this hotel to be more like the one on Trondheim. There was some rotting wood in the bathroom (next by the shower)

    Staff was friendly, good breakfast / dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Good breakfast, very good location, nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bacon was put on fried eggs only (not available separately). I like bacon, but prefer scrambled eggs...

    Good breakfast, very good location, nice and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    Perfect breakfast and good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old, you can see it especially in the corridors to the rooms. But good so far!

    The hotel is located in the centre of Ålesund, easy to reach the main touristic sightseeing areas. Amazing breakfast!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Good views from the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a chain hotel without any particular wow factor- (apart from the harbour view) but is perfectly adequate for a stay in Alesund.

    The hotel is well situated by the harbour and the Old town museums. Also close to the main town. The rooms are quite big- perhaps a little dated- but everything works well. We had only a side sea view. The breakfasts were good and plentiful- although the hot food is not freshly cooked. Like everything in Norway it is very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    6.7
    Not my 1st choice if i had to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the quality of furniture and amenities in the bathroom needs an upgrade seriously! no one to help you with carrying your bags so you better be prepared.

    The view is amazing and the location is in the center of the city and close to many restaurants and attractions

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Close to Alesund centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious but looked a little tired with some older style, slightly dirty furniture. I saw photos of much better fitted rooms, so maybe we had rooms that were not yet renovated?

    The hotel is close to the centre. Breakfast buffet was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location, unique style in Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't the newest hotel in the area and could use some updating, esp in bathroom.

    I loved the location right near the pier and lighthouse. Also, the wood floors were bright and new feeling. Customer service was really wonderful. We booked a family room which had a broken bathroom door (coming off hinges) so they gave us two rooms next to each other for the same price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dated room

    good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Great idea with widening the window,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great idea with widening the window, Restaurants Windows views, nice breakfast,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    We got good help when having problem with the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got good help when having problem with the car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location: good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Standard average...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So many...

    Breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Central location, very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking slightly expensive

    Breakfast good selection, including porridge and waffles. Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Bar in room was empty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar in room was empty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washbasin was block

    Nice hotel with good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.4
    Overall I was disappointed, it was very, very basic accommodations--beds were comfy, breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty, ragged carpet in halls, property looked aged, no facial wash cloths (had to use hand towels to wash face)

    Bed very comfy; great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room

    Very good breakfast with good view

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: