Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Alta 4 stars

Løkkeveien 61, 9509 Alta, Norway

#7 of 9 hotels in Alta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1425 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice rooms, good services (gym free of charge cross the road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was poor, we didn’t get any info on breakfast times, gym/pool or even where elevators were located. May be related to one single person, but not the best possible welcome.

    Nice rooms, good services (gym free of charge cross the road and pools for free or for discount?) Breakfast was suberb! Good location, close to a shopping centre with several restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    On the top of Europe in the midnight sunshine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electrical installation in the room required an extension cord to use the hairdryer. They should reinstall the hairdryer to make this unnecessary.

    Breakfast was excellent with great variety of choices. Espresso coffee was available 24x7 without extra charge. Hotel centrally located for shopping, eating and visiting the cathedral on foot. Direct flight from Oslo. I rented a car to visit nearby places like Kautokeino and the North Cape. I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one power outlet in room making charging very difficult. Fire alarm went 3 times and staff seemed incapable of handling the situation. No information, no apologies. Very dirty windows in the room spoilt view. Stains on restaurant chairs.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    standard offer hotel at a reasonable rate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern hotel that's central and comfortable. missing the friendly hospitality element and items like kettle in the room like found at another major chain in Alta. with such a large lower floor and distance to lifts, they should consider luggage trolleys closer by; not everyone travels with a wheelie case. breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent facilities and standard of stay, friendly staff. Parking is a problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel relies on the outdoors municipal parking space for its parking (paid by the hour on weekdays) . In my opinion, this is completely unacceptable for a hotel of this kind. I had to leave the car the whole night outdoors with -10C, and found it back in the morning with ice everywhere, including the wheels.

    Nice hotel of the "classical" Scandic chain, good facilities and helpful staff. Located in the centre of the city, excellent standards in facilities and service alike. I had a room with stunning views over the fiord and the modern cathedral with ice sculptures, really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Scandic Alta is one of my “home from home” hotels.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    My sincere thanks to Emil & Natasha who went above and beyond their duties in making my enforced stay (due to adverse weather conditions) most enjoyable, thanks also to the great kitchen personnel, food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Grea hotel in Alta’s center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we overnighted there was a big party at the hotel, thus it was a bit loud during the night, but it wasn’t a big deal anyway.

    The hotel is really nice and its position very central. The breakfast is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stop on the arctic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the free car park was not available on that day.

    The breakfast was amazing, full of various choices. The northern lights cathedral is just opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Central, convenient, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway on 6th floor was really shabby, but that didn’t affect our stay, just surprising. Not great view from our room.

    The bed was really comfortable! Breakfast was excellent and so many choices. Free coffee all day in the lobby was nice. Great location near the mall where many restaurants are and close to the bus station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Ticked all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault anything.

    Amazing breakfast spread, one of the nicest I have experienced in a long time. Burger in restaurant was delicious, we had it twice during our stay. Free tea & coffee was a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    We had a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We had a pleasant stay. It was perfect for what we needed. The staff was helpful and the rooms good with comfy beds. The breakfast was amazing and included in our room rate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    In my opinion the food standard has dropped!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 4 nights, our bedding was not changed until I did it myself, nor was the room cleaned!

    In my opinion the food standard has dropped! There are lots of bits and pieces scattered over a wide expanse! Coffee machine was being cleaned at breakfast time leading to queuing! More supervision/help required getting tables Cleared/setup at busy times! The few staff on duty are kind and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was not in the hotel but you were allowed to use a local gym. Unfortunately the gym closed early two of the days we stayed and was closed for the other two days.

    Great location and staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great view of the cathedral from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was available outside the hotel at a charge even for hotel guests, which was disappointing. Hotel corridors and general feel of the room was a little dated, but the bathroom was newly refurbished and the room had been touched up.

    Great view of the cathedral from the room. Superb selection of food at breakfast - you could even make your own waffles (sorry for making a mess!). Location is right in the middle of Alta.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people! We had more than our share of help from everyone who worked here from finding good places to see northern lights; food and other travels! Bonus was excellent spread of breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No " shoe cleaning machine " before entering the door from outside. After walking in the snow, can not clean our shoes before entering the lobby

    Best location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    Overnight with clean room, and food available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid parking in just open lot. Restaurant had limited choice. Breakfast good. Reception ok to surly.

    Clean room, easy to forget the night and love Alta. Nice view of cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, rude staff. Wouldn't book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. Surprised to see that in Scandic. Due to early checkout at 5.30 am asked for snacks to go instead of breakfast (starts at 6 am). Reception said "impossible" and that is it! No alternatives ( fruits behind reception desk), just no. Worst part: breakfast buffet was already there ready at 05.30 am by staff refused to serve us food and tried to get us out!!! And yes, of course, breakfast is included in the price.

    In the very city center, good views from the window. Hotel has 2 parts, the new one is quite modern and comfortable to be in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Convenient and clean hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When checking-in, we were asked to park our car at a public parking behind the hotel with a small fee. Why the hotel does'nt have an enough space for parking for the guests with a fee less than the public ?

    Easy to find the hotel which is located at the city center. Restaurant was a bit clouded around 19:00 with a big group. We were arranged with a table close to the reastaurant entrance which was not so good. The room was clean and the facilities were modern. The breakfast quality is excellent with wide selections.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The situation is excellent for the access to the airport, but in a modern surrounding with no particular interest.

    It's a well situated hotel, close to the airport and a good shopping center, very modern. Room, bed, bathroom were quite good. I have appreciated the sauna, with an easy access, quite luxurious. We had a very good breakfast (included in the price of the room) and a very good dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Good and convenient accommodation for a short stay in Alta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected more kindness form personnel. During our stay the hotel's alarm system went out of order and it took several ours until it was fixed.

    Big hotel with high tourists turnover, perfectly placed for those who need a short stay in Alta, with decent rooms, and very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    the president have been here... great unexpected free upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but boiled eggs 4 minutes or 8 minutes were the same... not many fresh fruits I was expecting something better but probably due to my 'presidential' status. The presidential room is in the newest area of the hotel with a new elevator in front of the entrance and check in desk while the oldest room firstly received was on the back side with very old look like wear carpets on the aisle and walls in need of some fresh paint in my opinion. I have not seen the standard room because of the dark anyway the door and the carpet at the edge of the room was not giving a great impression. The key ring itself was a cheap plastic label and in fact it resulted to be a spare key. No products in the bathroom I used my toothbrush kit, stuff like that would have been available on demand only but I was not ready to dress me again and go down again looking for the guardian... this was really unexpected in a room of such category.

    the hotel was fully booked and at the arrival after midnight the door was locked, a very kind guardian opened the entrance door and toke care of the check in with some difficulties but with good attitude. unluckily he gave me the key of a room already occupied with some disappoint of the person that I waked up opening the door. I don't know how they manage the keys but the double keys shouldn't be accessible for the guests. Anyway once I came back to the desk he was pretty shocked receiving the call of the other guest while I was explaining my surprise seeing shoes in the middle of the room and a man screaming some Norwegian words, so he apologized and because of the full booked rooms (even the junior suite) I have been addressed to the so called "presidential room" which was pretty nice. two tv, two bathrooms, a enormous balcony and living room, really exciting. The bad was fantastic and all really confortable. the area reserved for the breakfast is enormous and all the common areas looks comfortable. Modern magnetic Card door locking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    The gateway to Nordkap hotel need pampering their business clients
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not very informative, when I arrived and they seemed more interested to receive payment up-front. I expected that the hotel would offer a free secure WIFI connection to business clients, but this was not the case. The WIFI was just an open connection and this is not sufficient in these hacking times. I had to leave the last day before breakfast and the hotel reception promised to make "take-away" breakfast, but they forgot it. The hotel restaurant did not offer the fish dishes announced in the "a-la-carte" dinner meny and consequently, I decided to dine in other restaurants in the neighbourhood. The accomodation price is comparatively high to other hotels in Europe possibly, because Alta is the gateway to Nordkap for many tourists.

    The hotel is located in the small city centre facing the Northern Lights Catedral and there is easy access from the airport. The rooms are equipped with a nice bed and a small office corner with multiple outlets for powering computer, mobile phone etc. The blackout curtains efficiently darkened the room, which is important at summer time. The bathroom is very good and everything worked fine. The hotel has a cosy lobby, where it´s possible to have a chat before going to the restaurant. Breakfast buffet was excellent with all kinds of foods, juices etc. and especially the variety of sea food was impressive. There are great bicycling paths just outside the hotel and I used these for an early morning hike out in the nature and dowm to the famous Alta river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    7.1
    Unless you book thru the hotel (expensive) you will NOT receive points.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very small, very smelly storage room which was so packed with skies equipment as to render it unusable.

    Breakfast was wonderful with so many choices, attending staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little on the small side. Too few electric outlets. Outdoor parking cost 80SEK/24h

    Awesome breakfast buffet - very rich selection and good quality. Super location - just next door to everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    Typical Scandic Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside parking. Parking ticket machine didn't perform well in freezing cold in winter. Would like to pay inside. Breakfast was good, but no white bread. Only "healthy" full grain options. Limited meal option in the restaurant.

    Typical Scandic Hotel. Everything works but not too fancy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel, incredible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in front of the hotel was not free but then again it was cheap.

    Nice hotel in city center. Staff was friendly. Good bed, good shower and good wifi. I got a free room upgrade. Nice materials, everything feels new and premium. The best breakfast buffet on Earth! Incredible variety of breakfast. I also had dinner in the hotel restaurant, also very good!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    6.3
    Fabulous breakfat but bad night's sleep
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not make a very clean impression. Air fan in the room made a very loud noise. It turned off after 23.00 (about), before this time it was not possible to sleep.

    Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    A pleasant hotel with polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no sandwich in the 24/7 shop in the hotel. So, I had to have a pack of chips as my dinner :)

    The location of hotel, in particular the distance from the bus stops, the room, its view and comfortness of the bed, all was very good! The breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Great food (poor behavior)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alta is not a tourist town. Really if all you want to do is visit the Artic Circle it's ok. About 10 minutes of walking you can safely say you have seen Alta. A little more walking you can see the fjords. Never saw the Northern Lights. The dinner meals I ate there, were disrupted by 4-5 children 4-9 years old running around the dinning room and the hallway outside of the dinning room screaming and yelling. No one including the hotel staff could not (would not) stop them. This was the only reason I ate my last meal at Nordly's Café which was almost right outside the door of the Scandic Alta. The food there was just as good as the hotel's, but without the screaming kids. I have been to Norway (Oslo) 5 times in the past 3 years, a for pleasure. I have visited a lot of places on these trips including restaurants (and public transportation) and I have never seen a display of such disrespect by children or adults any time before like in Alta.

    Their rooms are comfortable but their dinning room is outstanding. Breakfast is great and their dinner menu was great. I eat there 2 out of the 3 evenings. Mohamed was my waiter for both dinners and one breakfast. You couldn't ask for someone more knowledgeable and helpful. He made sure the dishes I ordered were the way I wanted them.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Its a very nice modern hotel located in the middle of Alta...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a very nice modern hotel located in the middle of Alta such as it is. The parking at the front of the hotel is chargeable but the parking at the back is free between 20:00 and 10:00 so i only spent about 13 NOK to park which isn't bad by Norwegian standards! There is a shopping centre next door and a few places to eat within 5 minutes walk. The rooms are clean and modern. I had a good nights sleep. The breakfast wasn't bad either. The staff are very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast buffet, the waffles were my favourite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a very nice hotel, but lacks distinctive character: more of an "adequate 4-star hotel" than "charming local place to stay".

    Excellent breakfast buffet, the waffles were my favourite. The room was clean, quite big, and tasteful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    4.6
    Don't ever book a single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was appalling. I was like a cheap student room. Electrical sockets were cracked, pillows worn out, shower tepid, plumbing noises all night. When I asked for new pillows, the next day the bed wasn't made properly, wet towels not changed and washbasin not cleaned (toothpaste from the morning). When I complained about that, the staff was sarcastic but upgraded me to a standard room, in which absolutely everything was so much better. Why treat single room customers so badly?

    Good central location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is well located in the middle of the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were a bit cold, dinner was overpriced, but there wasn't really any other options in town at that time (20:30 on a Sunday).

    The hotel is well located in the middle of the town centre. We had dinner there and the waiter was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    We have stayed at better Scandic hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant cooks were on vacation so menu was burger or steak or salad. Some hall rugs were stained or worn.. Expensive

    Attractive dining room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Good modern hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner choices limited. Restaurant prepared dinner to suit tourist group requests.

    The hotel staff were very friendly. Restaurant food was excellent. Very modern hotel. Liked the free coffee from the restaurant and free water taps in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Spacious room with good storage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive especially considering it is outdoors.

    Spacious room with good storage. Bathrom/shower better than average. Wi-fi very fast, but initial log on to system a bit difficult

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Alta, a very suggested stop-over on the route to Nord Kapp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should clarify with booking.com the reason why this reservation problem occurred.

    Very comfortable rooms and soft beds. Excellent breakfast with great salty and sweet variety also of fresh fruits. The location is in the center just in front of the Arctic Cathedral and nearby bus stop in front of tourist information. The bus from airport stops just in front of the hotel. When we arrived our booking wasn't present but staff immediately solved the problem.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    For High end Travellers.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a bit high, but nothing to lose sleep over.

    Scandic Alta was definately the most comfortable hotel that i have ever been. Staff was super friendly and breakfast was insane.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.9
    Big, clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area not big enough for big groups: we ran up against one and it was hard to find a free table (not to say cleaned), a cup for yogurt and so on... improvable! You have to pay parking in front of the hotel! Fortunately the one on the back was still for free...

    Big, clean and comfortable hotel. Very nice room. Nice staff at reception

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small space room, no windows view

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Modern & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested minibus to airport but sent taxi

    Modern & clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Location is in heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea coffee facilities in room not there. Provided in distant reception area then carry hot drink back to room. Not safe.

    Location is in heart of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    breakfast, clean, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast, clean, comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    very good breakfast, restaurant is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good breakfast, restaurant is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast is great.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the front desk staff was very unhelpful. She did not give information, you had to ask for everything.

    The breakfast is great. Lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff, very helpful, great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was bland looking, not a big deal but all I can think of on the negative

    Nice staff, very helpful, great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Location was great for seeing the northern lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Right in the city center, friendly staff, good breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View out of the room was: the hotel itself; room was a bit dated.

    Right in the city center, friendly staff, good breakfast,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, clean and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I especially liked breakfast. Was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed was not a double, but two twins pushed together. No tea/coffee in room.

    Great breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We liked everything and most of all our experience seeing the Aurora Borelis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.0
    Excellent as you would expect from Scandic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking would be good

    Excellent as you would expect from Scandic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    extra costs to park the car outside

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good. Very fresh and had gluten free options available

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in a convenient location in the Centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was on the small side.

    Bed was comfortable and bathroom facilities modern.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    I got to check in early, and check out late
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The firealarm went off at 06 in the morning..

    I got to check in early, and check out late They put up a babycrib for us

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness

    Ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Downtown location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Downtown location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern and comfortable hotel. Excellent breakfast. Plenty of restaurant options nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no fridge

    great breakfast and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast could be earlier to suit flights from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service e.g. Service bus stop from hotel to airport

    Breakfast could be earlier to suit flights from airport

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    This was an expensive stay, but a really nice one close to town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one waffle maker, large line for that, but tasted delicious!

    The variety of the food at the buffet was brilliant!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Travelling with electric car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good. Charging the car (electric car) was easy but it would be good if it could be booked beforehand.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice village, used tripadvisor for restuarants, ended up in Du Verden which was an excellent choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Great one night visit on our way to Tromso.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    very pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extraordinary hotel, very friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Overall stay was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    No parking area for hotel guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking area for hotel guest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    Expensive land and people can't speak english very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People in Norway was quite noisy at night. I got allergic reaction about that shower gel what they have at hotel room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    All liked it! highly! Wonderful staff! Wonderful breakfast! Very spacious and clean rooms! Really wa
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are met with a smile and try to do everything possible that would be good for you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Comfortable place to stay and only a few steps away from restaurants and shopping👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast👍

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Alta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: