Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Bergen City 4 stars

Håkonsgaten 2-7, Bergenhus, 5015 Bergen, Norway

#46 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1190 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property does not accept foreign currency like USD and the lady on the reception is rude when she refuse to pay in US dollars and said the Property policy is accepted only Norwegian krones.

    The rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast, location, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family room had 2 beds that pulled down from wall, with 2 children it would have been a pretty small room.

    Excellent breakfast which was included in the cost of the hotel. Very comfortable beds, and we asked for extra pillows that quickly arrived. Excellent location near the centre of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Bergen has a lot to see and do. Enjoyed every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very expensive. Very annoying as I would have loved to have stayed for longer. £1.70 for a bottle of water, £2 for a hot chocolate, £40 for a decent meal

    Room was clean and comfortable. Good location, only 10 mins from Fish Market and Tourist Information Centre. Brilliant buffet breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location for Hurtigruten
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are quite dated and in one of the bathrooms were no surfaces to put stuff. We stayed in the house across the road. It looked rather run down and to our room we had to lug our bags up a few stairs and into one of the rooms too. Not an easy task for elderly people. Noise from a party across the road meant I had to call reception. There was no chance of sleeping, despite keeping the windows shut and drapes closed.

    Very friendly reception staff. They sorted out the noisy party across the road within 15 minutes. The rooms are very spacious! And it's in a great location for Hurtigruten. Less than 5 minutes from the terminal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    For a 3* hotel, not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were three buildings and our room was situated in the oldest one. The tapestry had holes, the elevator seems neglected and this not give a good first impression. When we enter the room, we see some dust in the bathroom, I had holes on my blanket, the paint on the wall is peeling. The windows were really dirty. There was dirt under the sink. For the price and a 3* hotel, this is not acceptable.

    The breakfast was really good and there was a lot of choice. The beds were comfortable and the room was big.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location in Bergen, very central to shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a Family room the bedrooms seemed a little small.

    Excellent location in Bergen, very central to shops and harbour. Very comfortable beds and room was at a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    Location of the parties good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the parties good. It is the walk to the city center square. A lot of places to eat around. But the property itself is very old and needs renovation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.3
    Avoid it The worst ever scandic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty hotel,with dirty carpets and old furniture They gave us a room in 7th floor and the elevator was out of order, after the 5th floor

    Good location and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    no information even when previously requested about parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no information even when previously requested about parking...no help what so ever so we had to found parking on our own, took us more than an hour . parking house was located few hundred meters... so poorly informed workers who do not take guest of the hotel seriously.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortably good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all except that the TV in our room wasn't working well...

    Bed was really comfortable... after a long day of sight seeing and walking, resting on a cosy room and comfortable bed is all we need... all in all the hotel from lobby to the room looks clean... breakfast buffet is really good lots of choices, the staff was really nice too they make sure the buffet is full all the time and collects all the dishes to make sure the dinning area is clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Excellent staff but rather basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in an annexe, felt rather neglected and not up to the standard of the main hotel - torn wallpaper, broken tiles in the bathroom. The atmosphere was oppressively warm and airless; the air con was not working.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable beds and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Best Bergen hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff, Rebecca guided us beyond the call of her duty. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best that we had in all the europeans hotels during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice enough hotel, ok breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice enough hotel, ok breakfast. WiFi was good on the second floor. Since May month the weather in Bergen has been fantastic. Month after month with record hot weather. Still the hotel could not offer me a fan to compensate the constant heat. The answer i received was that there was not enough fans to go around. Come on good people, you charge over hundred euros a night and you cant buy some fans. Dissapointing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Venezia meets Bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no air condition - shower floated the whole bathroom - minibar empty (not Scandinavia Standort) - in room was over 30 degree, still not even a free bottle of water

    Close to city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Book a room in the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 3 bldg our first room was in a bldg seriously in need of total renovation. The carpet thru out public spaces and in our room was dirty and gross. The window overlooked an airshaft. I went to reception and she happily gave us a new room in a renovated bldg. It was the main bldg where breakfast was served. It was clean, with wooden floor and plesant but noisy as it faced the street. Something we were willing to put up with compared to alternative.

    Service was excellent. The breakfast was amazing! You ask for rating on accuracy of site photos. The room we finally got was accurate. The first one they put us in wadnt even close. So jow do you rate that with just a smiley face? I gave it a :( since it wasn't accurate for all the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Basic hotel in the center of Bergen with no parking places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking place at the hotel and we had to leave our car in an expensive parking house about 1 km from the hotel. Our room was on the old side of the hotel and it had seen better days. Everything worked but was more or less out of date.

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was friendly. Also the location in the center of Bergen is great, especially if you aren't traveling with the car. For car travellers I recommend some hotel outside of the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    Good Location But Poorly Organised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not ready when we arrived at 1500 …. still not ready 1/2 hr later when it seems we were put into disability room (which WAS available obviously). As a consequence, the accessible shower alcove flooded entire bathroom, requiring us to fashion a wall of towels to contain the water. One operating lift, which was not only small but had sticky, stained floors and grubby walls. The whole place could benefit from a damp cloth being run over it ! No air-conditioning (which we knew was the case) but no other ventilation except opening the windows, letting in horrendous traffic noise and 3AM sunrise !!

    Breakfast was good. Buffet dinner was good one night …. and not open until 7PM the following night, which forced us into the nearby town for a fabulous dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient and breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked and felt little tired and in need of some refurbishment. I stayed across the road from main building

    Convenient and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.loved the breakfast however didn’t like room at all i m afraid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit outdated. Didn’t feel like to stay and relax in the room. Our room was on 5th floor. Still you can hear noises from outside.

    Exceptional Breakfast, location was ok too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The room intended (I believe) for the disabled is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room intended (I believe) for the disabled is not suitable for a family of 4 people. Bathroom without shower bounded by any protection, perpetually flooded. Yet we had booked almost 3 months before and I really believe that the availability of a different room was there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Family vacation in Scandic Bergen City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room there was no almirah or any cabinet with drawers to keep our belongings. In the absence of a grab bar it is risky to get into or out of the bath tub. Chances of suffering a fall.a There should also be a safe in the room to keep the valuables. N K Gupta

    The staff was very friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Fine
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned rooms with carpet, noise from the hall, no nice view.

    Check in very easy and friendly, good breakfast, rooms are fine, location convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is fairly ok since Bergen is a small town but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel consists of two buildings. I stayed at the oldest one and it seems that the maintenance is not good enough. The room has a carpet, old-fashioned furniture and no regulation of the heating system.

    The location is fairly ok since Bergen is a small town but there are many more convenient options (closest to the city center) for the same or even less. The bedroom was definitely the best part of the room. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, clean room, wide range of breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a queen type room but didn't get it, unfortunatelly. The breakfast only available from 7.30 on Sunday and I could not have it because of my early check out (7.15).

    The location is perfect, the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel close to Hurtigruten Terminal but isolated from other facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite distant to restaurants and shops in Bergen. The location was quite isolated to landmarks and facilities.

    The hotel's close proximity to the Hurtigruten ferry terminal. Hotel cleanliness and responsive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok, if you are there just to sleep.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotelroom was old and tired. Corner of bathtub was filled with black spots, but clean. To this price, I expected better facilities

    The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    4.2
    Building site!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After check in we discovered our room was not ready! We dropped our bags while the maid prepared it but the reception staff just shrugged when the maid informed her while we where sitting in the lobby!!The view was a plastic sheet around scaffolding pipes. The whole hotel was undergoing refurbishment and the lobby resembled a building site full off supplies and builders! Our lift stopped at the forth floor and it was full of builders tools and equipment, would have thought this floor should have been inaccessible to the public. The hotel is desperately in need of an upgrade as it feels shabby and very old but think we should have been informed before we booked as we would have stayed elsewhere! Thankfully we only stayed for 1 night!

    It was ideally located to see Bergen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are in total 3 buildings of the Scandic Bergen city hotel and my room was not in the main building. So to get to the reception and breakfast I had to cross the street. It wasn't a major inconvenience for me, but especially when it's raining, it's kind of annoying. The lift in that building was very old though and didn't inspire much confidence. The bathroom, although nicely fitted with floor heating, had a few broken tiles and the bathtub was slightly damaged. Again, it was not a problem for me, but I did notice it. Also, there are no safety deposit boxes in the hotel rooms. Any valuable you want to be locked away, you have to bring to the reception.

    The location is great. Supermarkets, public transport (including the flybussen stop), and of course the city center with the touristic Hanseviertel is only a few short minutes away from the hotel. I think for that price you can't get any better. The rooms have everything you need, a TV, hairdryer and a well-working heating. The breakfast buffet was very rich and nice and the restaurant never felt crowded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.4
    The staff in hotel are very kind and are all helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We spent 1 hour to get our first room which is not so good as we expected. we were changed to another room, which heating system dosen't work and bit noisy from the ventilation system.

    The staff in hotel are very kind and are all helpful. The breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lighting poor, had to cross road from reception, in rain to get to our room in older section of hotel.

    staff were excellent, meal buffet good, bed very comfortable. nicely situated between, ferry terminal and airport buses.,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Very nice staff and breakfast, great location only a few...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Either it was the windows' fault or this was a really busy street (in terms of traffic and party people), but there was constantly a lot of noise, even very late into the night. There's probably not much the hotel can do about it, though.

    Very nice staff and breakfast, great location only a few minutes to the city centre. The room was fine and the bathroom very clean and good-looking. (I stayed in the part of the hotel where the breakfast was served.)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Choose wisely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and shabby. The huge toilet roll holder was placed in such a way you couldn't sit on the toilet properly. While I applaud not having individual toiletries, having every pump loose on the bottle makes it feel cheap. One of the face tows had black marks on it. I used it to mop up the floor after taking a shower as so much water escaped. I paid for a deluxe type room (above basic) but you have no way of knowing what you arw getting as this hotel is split over 3 buildings.

    If you are taking the Hurtigruten then this place saves a taxi trip. Its a 5 min walk down hill. If you take the airport bus in to town. Its an 8 min walk from the 2nd bus stop. The breakfast has a large selection of food..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Would not stay in that part of the hotel again and would recommend others not to as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room, 422, was in another building away from reception. It is obviously an older building in dire need of renovation. The entrance door definitely gives a very bad opinion, just the 'chip' makes and peeling paint on the door and frame is enough to question whether you have the right place and not some down market tower block. The lift is 'scary' to say the least. It is a transport lift (with wooden sides for trollies, like in a hospital), the decoration (a poster) is broken on one side with all the glue marks showing. It basically looks ancient (almost a old retro soviet look). My floor (obviously the fourth) has the wallpaper ripped off just outside the lift, which immediately gives the wrong impression. These points would be so easy to change and at relatively cheap cost, some paint, a mirror in the lift and new wallpaper. The room was fine, my only comment was that the heating control did not work so it was a little cold as the air conditioning was continually on. Seems I wrote too much :)

    Staff were chatty, even late at night. Breakfast was good (included in price)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    Book, if desperate, with caution.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in pouring rain, not unusual in Bergen, and tired. An international cycling event was ongoing, and possibly due to this the hotel was using 3 sites and I would state accommodation that was poor. I declined the first room offered; small, dark and frankly depressing and located in a stale and damp smelling building. I accepted the second room, that was better but not great. The wet room was tiny and a short plastic curtain did not prevent the space becoming soaked. The grid over the drain was loose and frequently moved, causing a potential hazard. The TV was not working and the outer corridor needed basic refurbishment.

    The room was warm and clean, there was plentiful hot water. Breakfast was fine and staff generally helpful. See below; if allocated a room in the new building the experience would be better, but I will not be returning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    I would not stay is this hotel again. I think it was over priced for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first young lady that checked us in was not friendly. When I asked if we could get a breakfast to go because we had to catch a train before breakfast was offered she said we could order a sandwich and would need to pay. I later filled out a comment card and was immediately emailed back and they apologized because yes they would have made up a breakfast for us to take at No Charge. I was irritated that the first young lady we dealt with did not know this.The first room we were assigned to was right next to the elevator. I went to the reception and the staff at this desk was friendlier and got us a better room. I would prefer a hotel that had a safe in the room, this one did not. The Tub/Shower was very difficult to get in and out of. No hooks in the bathroom to hang up clothes or towels.

    The Breakfast was very good. The location was good too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is clean but, don't stay at 570
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like my room , I eas in 570 and it was a cheap family room, I took a look at the other rooms while they were cleaning them and they were ok but mine was different

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    We were happy with our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet seat was loose----reported to reception desk but not repaired before our departure.

    Quiet. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    Expensive but adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night at the Scandic Byparken in Bergen where we had the most delicious and sumptuous breakfast. By comparison, breakfast at Scandic Bergen City was minimal( although much better than the usual fare in North America

    Convenient location, near the Hurtigruten terminal and also fairly close to the airport express bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Old property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older, poorly maintained property, see photos. Uncomfortable extra bed. Better to take 2 separate rooms instead family room. Parking 250 NRK per day, small underground Parking near hotel, larger aprox. 10 min. walking distance.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Near ferry . Citycenter - fishmarket 15 - 20 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.8
    Not really
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Low standard of this hotel was a little unexpected for me. Everything is very old, pretty much used and for the money you pay for it it should be 6 star top hotel somewhere else. All in all the hotel is old and expensive. Hotel is in 2 buildings, no idea, which to choose to enter first looking for the reception, but you will mistake at first 99%. Old elevator, always busy in the morning, old rooms with old furniture and suspicious locks on the doors, which seem not quite safe.

    Wi-Fi is ok, breakfast is very good, location is ok. That's all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel marred by a few service follow up blemishes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower glass seal was not promptly fixed, hard to control room temperature . Breakfast staff promised to give out chocolate after it finished and then forgot us. Bedroom window was left open and not closed

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.2
    Having stayed in Scandic elsewhere, I expected a nice new modern hotel and that is not what I got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an old hotel and a new hotel. Our room was across the street in the old hotel and it showed its age. I reserved a larger room, but a larger room with old run-down furniture and no amenities (safe, kettle, etc), isn't really what I expected.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    I would recommend your hotel and I would stay there again. We had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways could have been cleaner. Many of the door frames had a lot of chipped woodwork and chipped paint. Once inside the rooms were clean and neat.

    Excellent location, good value. Excellent food and dining area. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Nothing to rave about
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    View - none. Lift in terrible condition. Hair dryer was not working. Tea bags were not replaced . Had to fetch it myself Overall poor value for money

    Breakfast OK. On 2 mornings no pastries available

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    the breakfast was excellent, there were many choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was excellent, there were many choices. i arrived there very late(actully next day earlier morning), the staffs were very kind and helpful. i was awesome experience to stay. recommend to anyone

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location if you are going on the Hurtigruten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt a bit strange being in an annex where there were no staff and it felt as if we were the only people staying there.

    The hotel is located very near the Hurtigruten terminal. The staff on Reception were extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    The city make things better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in the old hotel, very outdated and it seems as they just keeping it clean enough as to not look gross. The toilette had airport paper holder and it was broken. I am sure the cleaning lady saw that while working but it took a phone call from me for them to fix it. No view, I will say if you need a night to crash or stop over yes otherwise there are better choices.

    Breakfast, location was ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Best Breakfast we had in Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located a bit far from Bryggen and train station. When it rains, the walking is not so comfortable.

    The best breakfast we had in Bergen. The room is nice tough it is in a different building from the check-in. The bathroom is good but the shower door covers only the half of the tub so the whole bathroom becomes wet after taking a shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    You do NOT get what you paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are really disappointed by the look of the room in this hotel: as you can see from the pictures shown not only on Booking.com, but also on the hotel's website itself, standard rooms seem to be new, modern and bright. Well, this is absolutely not what you will find! First of all, we discovered that the hotel is made of two separate buildings facing each other with separate receptions. Rooms are quite big and clean, but very dark (see pictures attached)! The furniture is old, the floor is covered with wall-to-wall capreting coming directly from the '80ies and when we asked for explanation at the reception they told us it is Booking.com that uses pictures showing upper level rooms for the standard ones. When we complained with the staff they proposed us to swap the room for another one in the other building, but stating that the room will be exactly the same. After that we checked on the hotel's website and we found out that they are using exactly the same pictures shown on Booking.com to advertise the standard room, so we felt kinda cheated! As already stated, rooms are clean, but given the really high price/night and the advertising pictures we expected something a lot different.

    Clean room and rather rich breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.8
    I had a problem in my first room and the staff handled it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired looking room in the third building. When they moved me to building two, after the phone in my first room didn't work, I got a bigger room and it felt newer though the whole property was tired. THe lobby in the first building looks much better, not sure if the rooms are better.

    I had a problem in my first room and the staff handled it very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast had a wide choice so you would not go hungry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy hotel. Dogs are allowed to stay in this hotel and a dog barked most of the night. As it was a weekend you could hear the party revellers who were also very noisy. Room was not cleaned properly. Although, I had used a cup this had not been washed on my return. The room was dirty. A big issue was also the fact we had wanted to take a taxi from the hotel to the train station as we needed an early depart. I had asked a taxi driver, the day before, at the front of the hotel for an approximate cost for this trip. He advised it was between 1200 Nok to 1300 NOK but told me to book at reception. Biggest mistake out. I mentioned to my husband and the receptionist the cost would be 1200 to 1300. Yet the receptionist never mentioned that booking via her somehow the price became 1780 Nok. It is disgusting that they have the audacity to charge an extra 500 Nok for this journey which equates to an extra five pounds. BEWARE. DO NOT BOOK A TAXI WITH THE HOTEL. For a five minute journey the cost was approximately £16. Norway is expensive but that is extortionate and greed. I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel unless you like to hear dogs barking in the middle of the night.

    Breakfast had a wide choice so you would not go hungry. There was a choice of cereal, yogurts,toast, bread, fruits, health drinks, fried egg, , fish.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and location, but
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The curtains did not block out all the light and I found this very difficult to get a good quality sleep. There is currently over 18 hours of daylight. Surely a Norwegian hotel like this should have adequate black out curtains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. Overall impression on arrival was of poor maintenance. Everything looked rather uncared for. Street was extremely noisy until the early hours.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were very busy and got confused. That we were moved from one hotel to another. The restaurant was closed on Easter Sunday evening.

    Very conveniently situated for town and airport bus. Good breakfast. They willingly changed our room so I didn't,t have to carry our bags up a flight of stairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good breakfasts marred by very poor standards of decoration, cleanliness & facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint flaking and falling off both radiators. Black marks on walls, shower door leaking and not secured at bottom. Light bulb not working in ceiling. No storage for clothes (drawers). Insufficient hangers on cloths rail. No rooms free to move us as hotel full. My daughters family room, appeared to be adapted from staff rooms. Room in suite used for storing z beds!! Unsafe for my grand children as door not secured. Bathroom tired an worn out. Sealant around shower and sink mouldy. Dust around units. Never cleaned in stay. Heating uncontrollable and too hot. Unsafe to open windows with two small children in room. Have pictures to support. Advertised as 4 star, how??? With no air conditioning! I can go on! No compensation offered. Did not match photos of rooms when booking. Room number was indicated with a piece of paper sell taped to wall outside lift. Only one lift working all of our stay, everybody had to wait for lift. We used the stairs as were able bodied!

    Location, breakfasts. Staff friendliness,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great, many options
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like that the bar was closed and no life in the hotel comparing with the size of it. The size of the room could be bigger...and our window looked to the parking.

    Breakfast was great, many options

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay close to Hurtigruten Ferry Terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Excellent buffet breakfast. Room larger and better laid out than a previous one (previous stay when I was in the annexe building). Nice sitting area in foyer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel close to Hurtigruten Terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of some hotels this one had about 9 little lights in the room but i could still barely see to work at the desk even with every light on. The heated floor in the bathroom was so hot that towels had to be put down to walk in the bathroom. These are minor things and overall a very good experience.

    Very friendly receptionist on check-in and out. She went out of her way to help with a problem so that was appreciated. The hotel is about 300m from the Hurtigruten terminal and also 200m to a supermarket. Movie theatre across the street. The room was lovely, big with a desk, big bathroom. The included breakfast buffet was typical Scandinavian with heaps of variety from cereals, cheeses, fruit, salmon, cold meats and lovely bread. Large light filled room where breakfast is served.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.4
    Smelled like old cigarettes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the room was spacious, it was out-dated. It smelled old cigarettes, had dirty coach, carpet and walls. No aircondition, so the air quality was really poor. It looked more like a party-hub than a family room.

    Spacious familyroom, good for us with a toddler and a strolley.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Clean spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wash basin needed repair but a small thing when all other presentation was good.

    Clean spacious room. Staff who were friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we had a good time in Bergen. The breakfast was truly outstanding

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great service and staff, beautiful hotel, the breakfast is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was New Year's Eve and some people were making noise and yelling next to my room.

    Great service and staff, beautiful hotel, the breakfast is very good and good location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Good Experience (not Excellent)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To reach the Restaurant we were required to cross the street in the cold and rain to another building. Restaurant with very few menu options. No Parking Lot in the Hotel. Heating System not working well the first two nights but after I called front desk the were able to solve the issue very quick.

    Great Location - few blocks from main tourist points of City Centre. The Waiter in the restaurant was very helpful and friendly. Even not having kids menu he was able to talk to the Cooker and find an alternative.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    6.7
    Lovely staff and very helpful, delicious breakfast with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet wasn't to cleanliness standers!

    Lovely staff and very helpful, delicious breakfast with great variety, the location is great, very central and with walking distance of most areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    6.7
    I was disappointed and not comfortable at staying at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not really like the room that was allocated to us. I was not impressed with the overall of the hotel at all.

    I really liked breakfast services and assistance of staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.9
    Location, breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room lighting, very basic room amenities

    Location, breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    For having a big room it was too little place to put our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For having a big room it was too little place to put our cloths. Drawer or some shelfs would be nice to be able to unpack the suitcases...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    False alarms in the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 2am the fire alarms sounded waking everybody up and no staff member bothered to tell us that it was a false alarm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed, will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Shower water does not drain quickly and tends to flood the bathroom

    Location and Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were three buildings. My room was in the oldest one. Everything was timeworn. Bed was tiny. No tissues in the room.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had smell of smoke despite being non-smoking.

    Comfortable stay. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was quite big and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could hear the noise from the street in the night

    The room was quite big and nice. The breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bath mat.

    Good breakfast Good location for main sightseeing spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.0
    Not a very good hotel sadly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a very good hotel sadly. One of the unrenovated Scandic hotels. But works.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: