Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Byparken 4 stars

Christiesgate 5 - 7, Bergenhus, 5808 Bergen, Norway

#32 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1861 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast, rooms small but great value for the price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff sometimes seemed to have poor communication - we got some conflicting information / one staff promising something and another staff not delivering. Otherwise staff were generally friendly and helpful.

    Amazing breakfast, rooms small but great value for the price paid, and location was excellent - 5 min walk from most tourist attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was entertaining, and the staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room is unexpectedly limited compared to the price.

    The breakfast was entertaining, and the staff were helpful. The location is overall good and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    All I can said it's OK only my room when open window , hear as some machine all the time :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I holiday on summer ( july ) so my room have to open window ( no air condition ) but I nearly can not sleep because I hear as some machine all the time ( day - night time ) and can not close window because very hot. Reception when I check in it's not ok - I asked about elevator , only point the way and didn't say anything ( it have 2 elevators and she point another elevator and far from my room instead of point another elevator that's very close to my room ( she knew my room number because just check in ) Reception when I check out it's ok

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great food, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really can't think of anything.

    Brilliant breakfast spread each morning. They even make omelettes, which I haven't seen in most Nordic hotels. There is free tea/coffee at the main reception all the time. The location is superb, just 5 minutes walk from the main harbour and fish market. The hotel is at the doorstep of Bergen's central commercial district.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast, rooms are ok. But it’s worth staying here just because of breakfast. Even better then some 5* hotels I’ve stayed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money - even considering Norway is expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a very basic room, but I had expected this at my room rate.

    The breakfast was one of the best I've had in any hotel. The choice was fantastic with great quality food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Byparken Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was into dreary inner courtyard and window ledge covered in pigeon droppings. Nothing special or memorable about the room.

    Location and fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Central location and within easy walking distance from the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location and within easy walking distance from the attractions and the light railway terminus from the airport. Competitive prices for Norway. No nonsense standard but clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for a double bed. One side of the bed was against the wall. The bed was not made properly. The waste box in the bathroom was not emptied every day. Facilities in reception to relax with a drink was not very primitive.

    The location The very hospitality of the staff Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a very short stay but it was a great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small one person had to crawl over bed to get out. Property looks a little tired.

    Breakfast choices here were unbelievable and very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Would certainly stay there again, but need to manage the expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel VERY full leading to insufficient capacity at breakfast. 'Air cooling' does not seem to be the same as air conditioning; the room was very hot. In fairness, the weather was also very hot...which is a rare event in Bergen!

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast - so many options and something for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard rooms are smaller, but OK for one person.

    Excellent breakfast - so many options and something for everyone! Central location and comfortable accommodations for a short weekend stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Takk for et veldig hyggelig opphold!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minus I can think of is the view from my room - of the wall of the building next door. That said, the staff asked if I wanted a street or a back yard view and I chose the quiet over the room with a view.

    The central location, the gracious and helpful staff, and the breakfast-in a dining room with lots of light. The buffet offered the most variety, with the healthiest and best-tasting choices of any hotel I've stayed at in Norway (over 20 years).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Not the best rooms, but fantastic breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very basic and overall pretty small. The bathroom facilities definitely need renovation of some sorts, it looks all a bit tatty to be honest. The curtains do a very poor job in shutting out the light, which in summertime in Norway is a big problem.

    Having said the negative things, the more than excellent breakfast does a good job in making up for all that in the morning. Good location too, near a park and walking distance from town center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    ENJOYABLE BUT NORWAY VERY EXPENSIVE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    NO CONDIMENTS IN ROOM AFTER FIRST DAY. HAD TO COLLECT MILK SUGAR TEA AND COFFEE FROM RESTAURANT. EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT IT WAS

    GOOD VARIETY OF BREAKFAST BUT THE HOT BREAKFAST WAS ONLY WARM.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    An extremely good choice for a visit to Bergen, and very good value. Wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel provided one of the best breakfasts of my entire life - an incredible range and volume of delicious options! Absolutely outstanding! Very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff. An excellent location close to city centre sights, and very near to the airport bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a bit noisy at night, maybe because we are at a lower floor.

    Staff are really helpful and offer us a room before the standard check-in time. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choices, and it's the best breakfast I have ever enjoyed in my 20-days trip. Room is simple with everything you need and just a bit noisy at night, maybe because it's a Friday night. We love staying at it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel for a sightseeing stay or before a trip with Hurtigruten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The breakfast was excellent - a fantastic buffet with so much choice. Free tea and coffee in reception was also very welcome. Despite booking the colony double room we felt there was plenty of space and we're very comfortable. The fridge was very useful. All staff were friendly and helpful. Good evening buffet hot or cold if required. The hotel is in a good location for the town and convenient for walking to the Hurtigruten terminal (about ten minutes easy walking). A taxi would cost 300NOK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice hote in central Bergen, excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are not great, mattress soft and squidgy

    Breakfast was GRAND! Lots of choice, delicious fresh coocked omelettes, fresh fruit and juices. Plenty of selection of savoury and sweet food. Best hotel breakfast I had in a while

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Design flaw in the bathroom: using the shower created a flood across the bathroom floor.

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Varied selection and high quality breakfast. Free coffee all day. Easy to control the temperature in the room so it wasn't too hot like so many hotels. Perfect location for Greighallen.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Would totally recommend this place. Very good work on the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was absolutely unreal. Would be the best I have ever had. There was even a person making hot drinks to how ever you liked it. The staff was also supper friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and great breakfast that kept us going for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door lock. Usually in hotels, the door locks as you close it to leave the room. This one had a delay before the lock kicks in. We locked it ourselves with the room key, as we did not like to leave the door unattended even for just a few seconds (60 sec?).

    Very comfy bed and nice heat in the bathroom. Very good breakfast buffet! Loved the selection of little juices and having the choice of soya milk in my cappuccino.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Great experince at great location hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is very good but does not have many veterinarian options or Halal (just eggs/cheese), and at dinner buffet one night it was only meat and no veterinarian or fish at all.

    The location is great.. also staff are very helpful. Free coffee in reception and very near to most attractions and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Short walking to city center, don't use car, busses close to hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive parking, still with parking coupon for Grieg parking house from hotel, most expensive in Bergen city.

    It's central and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Best Breakfast in Bergen - and best value Scandic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small but fine for a single traveller.

    The breakfast is the best in Bergen, if not the country. Wide choice of fish and meats, breads and a chef making omelettes and other hot breakfast treats. I particularly liked the raspberry smoothies. I was in room number 501 which I would recommend if you want a quiet room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Very good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To Access to My elevator I had to pass into the breakfast room and through some steps , little annoying with luggages

    Position in the city center and very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Adequate, clean accommodation, but not luxurious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had reserved a double room, but only a single was available, which was disappointing. There was only a heavy curtain in the room, which was overlooked by others. A lace curtain or blind would have been useful - even on dark mornings!

    The venue was very near where my seminar was taking place. Easy access to the airport bus and the town centre. Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff that went out of their way to fix a Problem...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe it's Norway but the beds were really narrow and I slept horribly both nights of my stay. Aside for that the rooms were furnished like a youth hostel.

    Friendly staff that went out of their way to fix a Problem with my credit card. Incredible breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean and functional but basic with no frills, except for the breakfast - that's AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY BARE! The room was functional but very basic. NO CAFFEINE! No tea / coffee facilities in the room. WORN! The room was clean but the shower needed retiling or a deep clean as the grouting was discoloured and had some mould spots.

    AMAZING BREAKFAST! The best selection I've had in any hotel stay. FANTASTIC LOCATION! Right in the middle of town with everything on the doorstep and just two minutes from the airport 'light rail' stop.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great location with friendly staff and an amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One tiny thing - I personally like a kettle and coffee in my room, but there is a coffee machine in the reception area so the lack of kettle is only a very minor thing!

    This is a great hotel, with very friendly staff and lovely comfortable rooms. It's situated about 10 minutes walk from the train and bus stations and is very close to Grieghallen and Byparken. Bryggen and Fløibanen funicular are within easy walking distance. The breakfast was quite possibly the best breakfast I've ever had - hotel or otherwise!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    The championship was fantastic, but the hotel...........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pricelevel was beyound all common sense. You do not dobbel or trippel your room rates even if the world championships comes to town. We told the hotel what we meant about this, but their reaction was a cold shoulder. Simply disgusting and we will never come back.

    Breakfast was very god.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location with wonderful breakfasts & great staff @ front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard room was like a shoebox, we had to upgrade to a ‘superior room’ which was NOT surer according to US standards. No drawers to unpack. Thus, for 3 days, we lived out of our suitcases.

    We loved the breakfasts. In addition, the staff was excellent. Wifi was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room was too small (half of the space I found in other hotels for the same price); the window was very old and couldn't be used and the view was to a wall of another building.

    It's very well located. The room was very small but it was confortable. The breakfast was great and the dinner was very good (It looks like there isn't dinner at Wednesdays). It's OK for sleeping one or two nights, have breakfast and go walking through the beautiful city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    I really recommend it. Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bicycle available to rent.

    The breakfast is something i had never seen before in my life. There was everything from the salmon to any kind of dried fruit. There are chefs on site and everything is delicious! I will really miss it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small, but I guess just enough for one person. The minibar- fridge was not working what I reported to receptionist. But those 2 days I stayed no one came to fix it. No kettles in the room, but complimentary tea and coffee available in reception area.

    Bed was very comfortable.Reception staff were very helpful printing out my bus tickets. Breakfast was wonderful a big choice of everything .Really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is too small, bed is too narrow, shower is too small. Everything is small...

    The location is perfect. Very close the the train station, fish market, etc. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.8
    Dire
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above . I asked to change room. Ur they wouldn't let me

    Awful room in basement . Tiny so called double at £199 a rip off . I felt so claustrophobic . Could barely move . Really bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Discount Hotel , but not Discount Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were so tiny you couldn't even lay your suitcase on the floor to unpack. There were two of us in the room and it was claustrophobic! Would never stay here again!

    Breakfast was good, but not great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    very nice experience overall, except for the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed was sloping downward to where one's head was supposed to rest, the mattress was too soft, and the pillows were terrible - filled with some allergy-causing stuff

    location, staff, cleanliness, breakfast, view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    This was the most amazing Breakfast at any Hotel we visited!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in so many hotels it is hard to remember but I think the room was rather compact/small. The lobby area was well worn and floor was somewhat dirty looking. This hotel is not right in the tourist area but within several blocks. Staff recommended a great local Norwegian food restaurant nearby-Pingvinen Pub. As stated, this was the Best Breakfast ever!!

    This was the most amazing Breakfast at any Hotel we visited!!! Staff recommended a great local Norwegian food restaurant nearby-Pingvinen Pub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in centre of Bergen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking at the hotel and the hotel does say that. There is a spot in the street near the hotel where you can park will getting your suitcases into the hotel. There is a large public parking station nearly by and so ask the hotel to give a discount.

    All staff encoutered were very friendly, pleasant and helpful. Room was well appointed and bed good. Bathroom was usual Nordic high standard. Breakfast offerings were varied and good quality. The buffet that was on some nights was good as well. The hotel is the Centre of the city and it is a good place to,walk about. Bars, bakeries and museums were about. Tram and bus stops are nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    The location and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, three lamps were not working, the promised minibar was empty and the refrigerator not working, the containers for tissues and sanitary bags were empty. The chamber maid did not make the bed. No ventilation in the bathroom. For breakfast, fried (sunny-side up) eggs and pancakes were not yet ready at 7:50.

    The location and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.0
    Maybe they have good rooms. The economy double is not a good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an economy double. This means economy for them, not the client. 160 euros for a closet - a seriously small room. Don't misunderstand - this was not our most expensive hotel in 2 weeks in Norway, but it did not compare favourably with ANY other place we stayed. The worst supposed 4 star hotel ever. The bathroom was upgraded long ago. The internet was poor, at best: unstable, slow. 20 euros for our cat. Yes, all hotels say they have a right to charge for pets. Few do, and since our now 180 euro room was as big as her bed at home, we did feel overcharged.

    Not too much. The location wad fine and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Comfort and lovely breakfast
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    less information about the facilities in Bergen. the cleaning was not so good.

    the breakfast was good because of the salmon and juices. we also liked the bedroom wall interior with the bird painting. Free coffee and the training center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, delicious breakfast, very helpful personale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot inside the room. No airconditioning.. We were there july month and its sommer. otherwise nice place..

    Nice location, delicious breakfast, very helpful personale.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    EXPENSIVE Room with no view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of the room $260! WOW! They sure take advantage of travelers in Bergen. My room was so tiny, that I could not keep the suitcase open. I had to keep it closed, so I could walk in the tiny corridor. The room was in the interior and I was looking at someone else's room. The nob of the window was broken, so I could not close it, even though it was raining outside and it was cold at night. I mentioned it to the concierge, but nothing became of it.

    The breakfasts were really good! There were plenty of varieties of food; a chef making eggs as you wanted them; a fresh squeezed orange juice machine; a nice variety of breads.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location a few minutes walk from the railway station (I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location a few minutes walk from the railway station (I chose to walk across the park, which was a pleasant introduction to Bergen), a short walk to the Hurtigruten terminal, and also a short walk to the fish market and cable car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Practical choice in down town Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smiling staff but not too fast - the hotel seemed full so they were rather busy all the time. The rooms were small (for the price paid). The breakfast restaurant in the ground floor was nice but rather small and always busy; my companion mentioned that vegan options existed but were limited ( I thought there were plenty of vegetables and juices but I am not a veg...) .

    A very central hotel with nice simple rooms and comfortable bed; as it located in the it uses necessarily a rather old building but the standard was OK. Breakfast was great, free coffee and available all day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    2.9
    Small, uncleaned room with window against the wall and "I cannot do anything" - type of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness: there was somebodys underware in the wardrobe! How the room was cleaned?! Very small room! Window against wall = no window! "I cannot do anything" - type of service

    Brekfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location and amazing breakfast. However, the rooms leave a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had no ventillation. The windows had to be opened to let some fresh air in, and when that was closed because it got too cold, then the room air became stale and terrible. There was no ventilation in the bathroom either and there was a bad smell that lingered.

    The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location with great breakfast, your good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bus stops right next to the hotel, needs two minutes walk. Hotel centrally located, within walking distance to the attractions and to the train and bus terminal. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Not the best stay at Scandic By Parken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived in pouring rain looking forward to shower and good meal. 1. Informed no food being served that night 2. Coffee machine was broken 3 wifi connection complicated, had to go to reception to sort out 4 Buffet breakfast was all cold although it appeared to be on hot plates Not the best of experiences.

    It was a place to sleep is the best I can say.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    IF YOU ARE IN BERGEN TO WORK, TRY SOMEWHERE ELSE. But the location is OK for sightseeing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food, and the offer of food at night. Which was closed and nonexistent during our stay. We were working and had wanted to try the buffet offer. But no such thing. The coffee was free and OK, but I would like better shampoo, real soap and not get reminded with big posters about the very nice thing about getting an empty minibar. Free WIFI WAS A PLUS THOUGH. Mattresses in the small room almost destroyed my back. In the bigger room it was a better mattress.

    The rooms were easy standard and no luxury. We had paid for a big superior room but got a small double room with some defects and lot of noise, and fortunately switched to a junior suite the other night! Wonderful room but still no extra shampoo or opportunity to buy champagne or even soft drinks. Very nice staff helped with what was possible. But still, no luxury feeling there. The minibar downstairs did not contain much, and it was a lot of traffic. But in upper floors much better value for money and the staff was very nice and accomodating! They had nice meeting rooms as well. And everything was light and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Bergen trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not too much to dislike. Bergen is an attractive location but as with the rest of Norway is very expensive - food/drinks/accommodation - everything!

    Convenient location - not too far to walk to the town centre. With some research the bars/pubs were of a good standard. Bergen is a very attractive place and must be on any travellers "wish list" if visiting Norway. Weather however can be unpredictable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.3
    Look elsewhere in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we received was slightly larger than a small closet. By far the worse room we've had in our month trip to Denmark and Norway! Had to hug wall to get out of bed! The shower door was half missing, sink wouldn't drain. Next morning asked for new room which was perhaps a foot larger, but better, and the bathroom worked. Neither had any view. Second was exceptionally noisy with laundry people moving carts thru adjacent courtyard late into the evening and early in the morning. No a/c, so had to keep window open otherwise it was hot! Parking is about three blocks away. Sidewalks are cobblestone, so not easy to pull luggage. Staff couldn't answer questions about how to pay at parking structure.

    Breakfast was good. Very busy. No pastry. Location was good for walking around the harbor area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Room was small but clean, property is in a good location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had very noisy bar straight under our room window, even though the window of our room was faced to the court yard. We got some earplugs from reception, and that's all. I would not have booked from this hotel knowing this, reasonable room prices or not.

    Room was small but clean, property is in a good location, breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too crowded and busy Noise of generator or something similar kept me awake at night (I had a room facing the courtyard).

    Convenient position. Good breakfast but see below

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of items.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size. Our double should really qualify as a single.

    Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of items. Attentive staff who provided good cafetiere coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Larger rooms No kettle in rooms. Car parking was away from the hotel.

    Wonderful breakfast, in fact best breakfast ever choice is really good. Nice staff. Close to city centre short walk 2 or 3 minutes. Good free drinks selection in reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Bring extension cord..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electrical plugs esily accessible. Phone did not work in spite of 2 requests. Wake up call was not made. Box of tissue was not changed after 2 days. Useless front desk. Bath tub very slippery and in need of mat. No instructions on how to use TV for wake up calls. Visibly poorly managed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous breakfast and very good location in the heart of Bergen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stair from the bathroom is a bit dangerous and the bed was too smooth for us.

    Fabulous breakfast, very good location near to the centre, the port and the all the bus lines. Check-out time is very convenient, thank you! We would go again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location & amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room was a little small for the premium double, I expected a slightly larger room.

    Perfect location, breakfast was amazing, lovely staff, comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Horrible noisy night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take Room #202, there was a Bar underneath the room, and made lots noisy until 0230AM. Hotel said it is legal in Bergen (Bergen noisy law allows until 0230). Hotel awares of that noisy,however, they gave that room first. I can't believe that manage system. They gave me another room, but Manager didn't even say sorry or anything when I checked out. I am not sure it is worth to pay 200-250$ per each night

    Best breakfast, great location from harbor and bus station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant Stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk or sugar in room had to ask for milk for my cup of tea . Front automatic door needs adjustment , a few near misses just missing hitting guests

    Staff very helpful also great breakfast times and also checkout time ment no rushing on day of checkout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Ideal short stay hotel in Bergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe a blind to block out light?

    Superb breakfast for quality and range of product, friendly and helpful staff, excellent connections for buses, tram and rail nearby, and airport bus stops about 100m nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Scandina Property Bergen, Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been more comfy, a little narrow, but have to understand this was Europe.

    Loved the location, the staff, and the food buffet was worthy of a 5 star rating. The value couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The staff were really friendly. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! The location is perfect. I wouldve liked to have access to free tea and coffee during the day. If this was available, there was nothing indicating it, and no one told me. Also my bed was too soft, but thats just preference i guess.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much info about local transit and local events in the lobby

    The room was very comfortable, close to everything we wanted to see, and the breakfast was second to none. We can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was super , very nice buffet for a Scandinavian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a standart room , it was small with just towels and soap in it. As it's still not very cheap ,I felt like this is too standart .

    Breakfast was super , very nice buffet for a Scandinavian Hotel . Location is close to the train station, 5 minutes walk away ,definately good choice if you travel with train . And it's close to the center too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be cleaner (there were some random hairs lying around and a towel had some marks on it).

    The breakfast was amazing (so much choice)! And the location was great! I was initially worried that the hotel might be slightly further away than I would have liked, but considering how small Bergen is it was perfect. It takes about 10 -15 minutes to get to the harbour and the hotel is about 3 minutes away from bus/train stations, which is really convenient when getting to and from the airport and/or on day trips outside Bergen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Great location&breakfast. Terrible single beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was so soft I could not sleep in it. I literally felt the need to move the top mattress to the floor and sleep on the floor. This was the most uncomfortable single bed I have ever slept in.

    Great breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.3
    Economy room ideal for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like all hotels in Bergen, rooms are a bit overpriced

    In the middle of the center of Bergen, on walking distance to the railwaystation, busstation, Hurtigruten-boatterminal, historic center, cable car. Large breakfastbuffet, free coffee/tea, luggageroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tea tray was the one thing I did need, it is a very British thing but we like our tea and I missed not having one, although tea and coffee were available in reception free of charge all the time I would of liked to of been able to have a hot drink while I was in my room getting ready for the day.

    Staff were very friendly and my room was very clean. House keeping was very good, plenty of towels. Fridge was wonderful to have. The room was a good temperature and the bedding was good quality. The hotel was in a great location. The breakfast had so much choice I couldn't of asked for more. I will stay here on my next visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    Helpful staff on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had better storage than others on our trip but this time the issue was the shower which didn't seem to work very well - water not warm enough and we ended up with water everywhere....

    Helpful staff on reception Great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Business stay at Bergen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's window view was blocked by another building. Ask for a street facing room if you plan to stay here.

    Breakfast was good. And, staff was polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Byparken traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: