Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Byporten 3 stars

Jernbanetorget 6, 0154 Oslo, Norway

#36 of 193 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3583 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    It’s was alright, but confortableness : need to change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe, with the price that we paid, isn’t better if the room was a little better. The room that we had, with 2 adults and 1 child (under 12 years old) was way so small. We couldn’t really place our luagges. So small that we though. Isn’t it better for only 2 adults. Child’s bed is way so tight, child is so tall. Hotel in other country, as we visited: they are much larger and bigger with the price.

    It’s close to the train’s station, in the Sentrum where we we have access to different shops. Staffs were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff and super location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything works perfect for us. Location was a plus next to the train station and a walking distance to the main sights. However, the most important thing was the staff. They were extremely friendly and polite. We felt very welcome at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the hotel for myself and my two adult daughters. I selected the family room with bunk beds. When I arrived they said I couldn't have the room because the bunk beds wouldn't hold an adult. That was disconcerting after a long flight from the US. They found a workaround and managed to bring in another bed into another room without bunk beds so that there were three beds in the room. Scandic Hamar had no such problem and allowed my daughter to sleep in a bunk bed which was perfectly adequate.

    The staff were wonderful. The central location was perfect. The hotel and nearby restaurants had all the amenities we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location and amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed in our family room was not comfortable. The mattress seemed to be old. We could feel the springs when we lay down. Otherwise, it was a wonderful room!

    Excellent location right next to the central train station. Amazing breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location for train and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for train and bus station. Overlooking central station square. Family room spacious and comfortable for 4. Breakfast in next door Egon restaurant- lots of choice and all fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tub in the bathroom didn’t drain the water properly. The house keeping fixed this for us so it drained a bit better. Since we were there only for a night, it was ok. Towels weren’t very clean and we asked for a replacement.

    Very close to the railway station. We had our norway in a nutshell tour that started early in the morning and the location was right by the station. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location - right on the central station Nord exit,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no specific sign how to enter to the hotel part as the building has also shopping area, restaurant, etc. So, you must use the door on the left of Egon restaurant and go through the bar which is a reception as well.

    Perfect location - right on the central station Nord exit, very comfortable if you travel by airplane. Just 2 minutes from the shopping area and center sightseeing, opera, restaurants and City mall. Quiet, very good breakfast, clean, nice personnel. Room was a bit small in case you are 2 people, but bathroom was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location,nice and helpful front desk, very rich open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping services would do better,

    Perfect location,nice and helpful front desk, very rich open buffet breakfast, we loved everything about this hotel 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room as my son likes bunk beds. At check-in I was told we couldn't have the room we booked as we were only two people and family rooms were for four people. As it was late (9 pm) and we were tired I didn't argue. We were told that the alternate room was bigger but twin beds. When we got to it we found it unacceptable and I returned to the check in to request our family room. A different staff member assisted me who was extremely helpful and seemed surprised that we had been denied our family room, as booked. Long story short, we eventually got the room I had requested initially and it was exactly the same size as the "bigger room" the initial staff member had tried to get us to take. We found out later that the hotel was fully booked and I think they were trying to keep a 4 person room open as one of the last available. Still a frustrating game to play after travelling all day.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.5
    Good location - attached to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small and basic room. No closet. No wash cloths. Not even a box of kleenex in the room. Very basic room for $250/night

    Excellent location. Good staff. Good Breakfast. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel at good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay in centre of Oslo just yards from Oslo S. Lovely room friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was in restaurant opposite, very good selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Served the purpose as our main aim was travel comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility looks little old and the place is little crowded.

    The hotel was in the same building as the Central station. Very convenient place for travel with all facilities within 3 minutes walk. Metro, Airport express train all accessible from here. 24 hour restaurants. Hop-on Hop-off buses in front of the hotel. Rooms are simple with bunk bed for kids in the family room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is fabulous as it is located right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    The location is fabulous as it is located right in the spotless and modern train station that risks you to the airport, and is central to the walking streets of Oslo. Breakfast was wonderful. Lobby is a bit small but lots of seating and a fun table shuffleboard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    excellent location and walking distance to visit many places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    buffet breakfast was good but was all over the place. eg get plate on one end go to the other end to get pancake and come back to the first end to get jam! tables were not cleaned quickly as people waiting to sit down but tables not cleared in time, may be shortage of staff.

    excellent location. facility of having washing machine and dryer in separate laundry room was great. buffet breakfast was good but was all over the place. eg get plate on one end go to the other end to get pancake and come back to the first end to get jam!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single bed had missing support underneath and it was just at the waist level when lying down. Slept badly due to this and woke up with back pain. Had housekeeping to change another the next morning.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, just nearby central station and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just nearby central station and walking distance to the attractions. Few steps to tram and bus station. Staff are friendly. Room is spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Great breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor was wet when you shower.

    Breakfast! There was everything you could think of, including fresh smoothies! It is clean and the reception is open 24 hours. Location is excellent - inside the train station!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not a lot of signage for this hotel so you will probably walk right past it (as I did). It doesn't help that there are 2 other Strandic hotels in view.

    The location is right outside the train station, so its very easy to get to when traveling.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    With some improvement the hotel would look even greater!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom with a strand of hairs and an empty shampoo container as we checked in the second time on August 2nd. The floor was not really cleaned.

    Breakfast, especially.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Review of Scandic Byporten
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was careful to book a room with a double bed to have plenty of space, but it turned out to be two single beds pushed together, with an uneven dividing height between them, so ended up really being a small single bed. Otherwise no complaints - excellent location.

    Locaion

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Very proximity next to the train station and to the shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived Hotel around 11.00am but was not able to check in. The allowable time to check in was 3.00pm. (Anyway, can place yr baggages in the locker room provided by the Hotel. Able to roam around the city to kill the time waiting to check in).

    Very proximity next to the train station and to the shopping areas. So easy for me and my family to catch our NSB train to Bergen the following day in the morning. The breakfast was great - especially the salmon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Good Job
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the extra bed and the bathtub. It’s good for the family with 2 kids, though it’s just a standard room. Excellent location, just a few steps away from oslo sentral station. The staffs are very nice and welcoming. The only boo part is the electric fan because it was full of dust. They should have clean it also especially on summer😆

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    great location in the center, right next to Oslo central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very dirty, like it wasnt clean before our arrival, had no soap . we were 3 people stayi ng in one room. the double bed was ok but the 3rd bed was a tiny sofa which opened wasnt suitable for a grown person to sleep on. my daughter is not specially tall (1.75m) her legs beneath the knees were hang in the air because the so called "bed" was so short and also really really narrow (about 60 cm wide, the standart is 90 cm) and the bed itself was horrible, I really dont know how my daughter managed to sleep on it for 2 nights. The hotel gives you the impression of a good high quality hotel but unfortunately very expansive and doesnt worth the money at all!

    great location in the center, right next to Oslo central station. good rich breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money. 5 star hotel in terms of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There is a fan in the room in case the weather is too hot. This facility is not available in many other northern Europe hotel. The room rates include 4 person breakfast which make great value for money. The location is perfect so that I can leave the hotel 5 minutes before the train schedule.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little bit small. Breakfast was good, but the restaurant was too crowded, and it was difficult to find a seat and reach the buffet

    Very good location. Staff very friendly and helpful. After checking out we could leave our luggage in the lockers for free the whole day, and picked it up again when we went to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. In the same building as a central station, a mall and a good restaurant. Friendly staff. Pretty design. Great breakfast. All the transportation - subway, tram, buses leave from downstairs. Locared right in the beginning of Oslo's central street. 5 minute walk to the opera.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the room and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have yet to find any flaw during our 1 night stay.

    The room is well decorated, well lit, the bathroom is all white & clean, and the hotel is non smoking so there is no funky smell in the corridor. The breakfast is amazing, you have many options that taste great. The have milk alternatives and gluten free options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Really convenient and good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was surprisingly small, although really functional and practical, even with a baby and carrying lots of stuff.

    The location was absolutely perfect, especially considering that we were is Oslo for a 2 days break and had planned to travel by train. The staff was really friendly and diligent, and the breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were ready after hours than the guaranteed time and not clean. Kn the second day we did not even get the rooms cleaned and we had to take towels ourselves from reception. Cleanness is not their strength. I thought, Scandic is a good brand. I am staying 140 days a year and that was my worse experience in the last 5 years. I will now avoid this chain definitely.

    Basicly only the location is central and good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    It was a location convenient to the rail station and that's why we chose it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a breakfast box for our very early checkout. It was really awful, ham and cheese sandwich with a thick layer of mayonnaise, a juice box and an apple. It would have been better to have a bun and a container of yogurt.

    Breakfast options were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Spectacular location in the heart of Oslo with excellent food, staff, and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are kind of small, but it’s fine. We knew that they would be.

    The location was outstanding, couldn’t have been better-easy access to the train which gives you access to everything. The hotel staff was super helpful and agreed to hold our larger luggage for us as we made smaller trips to other parts of Norway for a couple days at a time without a charge. We enjoyed the hotel so much that our last night in Oslo was supposed to be at a fancier hotel, but we canceled it and decided to go back to this one. And saving the best part for last- the breakfast was delicious!!! Something for everyone. Super clean and beautiful setting. We LOVED our stay at the Scandic Byporten!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Very easy to get to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was little bit s narrow and not so easy to find front desk due to no guide board.

    Very easy to get to the train station. actually it's connected. And room was cozy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location attached to train station and shopping building. Closeby to karl johan street. Comfortable, friendly and welcoming staff, supetp breakfast choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are on the small side but that is typically European so was not a big surprise.

    Location, location, location! The location could not be any more convenient for the train station and the airport express train. The hotel is actually located in a shopping mall which is connected to the train station and is right in the middle of town in a nice area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing special really except the fact they forgot to prepare the room for four persons at first. Nonetheless, they did it as fast as possible and they even compensate for the delay!

    It was one of the best hotels I have ever booked via Booking.com! Great location (exactly in the city centre, the upper level of the train station!), amazing breakfast, great facilities, and extremely accommodating staff. We were four adults ( 3 seniors) and stayed in one room and did not have any problem. The room had everything we need e.g., fridge and etc. The hotel has a tiny but nice gym, free of charge to use and open 24h-- this was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Positive. I recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little small with view on an office building, but very comfortable. Hotel is not easy to find, hidden by restaurant and shopping center.

    We stayed 2 nights. Very close to the station. Comfortable and welcoming lobby. Complementary coffee, very convenient when you have to leave early (breakfast pack was prepared for us). Very good breakfast, large choice of everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location was excellent - right beside the Oslo Central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no negative comments to make and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

    The location was excellent - right beside the Oslo Central Train Station. There was also a shopping centre, containing a supermarket, above the hotel which appeared to connect to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room was equipped with an ironing board and iron, safe and electric jug for tea/coffee making. Windows could be opened and air conditioner worked. We stayed st this hotel on two separate occasions. Staff were exceptionally helpful and obliging.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    It is well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist did not know what she was doing. Not very welcoming. The room way to small. The tv was not working the toilet was very poor with no toiletries and towel low quality.

    It is well located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some of the rooms suffer from noise in the plaza and from the outdoor bar on the first floor. The breakfast buffet is okay, but at some hotels in Norway the buffet is amazing. While the rooms are small (some smaller than others), the bathrooms are relatively good-size.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. The hotel is connected to the train station, which has an airport express. Easy access to public transit and easy walk to many tourist sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    It is worth staying in Scandic Byporten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike.

    The location is unbeatable, right beside the central train station. The staff was helpful and friendly. A bonus is the heated bathroom floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    I like Norway and this hotel is the one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast comfy bed The room's side is big enough for us. Iron in the room is good. Nice staff I will recommend this hotel to my friends. Location is great!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Overalll it was an excellent location but expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the walls were very flimsy as every time the people beside us slammed the door the walls shook.

    Nice clean room, adequate size, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Difficult to find the entrance if arrive at late night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight arrived Oslo at late night and it took me almost an hour to find the entrance of this hotel! If you arrive Oslo very late like I did, I would suggest to find the Egon Restaurant first (which is located at the exit of Oslo Sentralstasjon), then the staff in the restaurant will tell you where is the entrance of this hotel (you need to go inside the restaurant for the hotel entrance). Therefore, I would suggest the hotel to give instructions on how to find the entrance for those guests who will check-in at late night. Moreover, the room is very small.

    Very good breakfast with variety of choices and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Very well placed for easy access to the train station - eg. for the Flam Railway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant used for breakfasts - across the hall from the hotel, is very expensive for an evening meal. The hotel has no control over this. We really didn't find anything in the hotel we did not like. The hotel is very good

    While simple, the rooms were all we needed, clean and comfortable and with good blackout curtains with the very short nights. The breakfasts were very good - buffet style, and the ability to pay for and make up a pack lunch was really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location for sightseeing and access to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adjacent to main train station for quick walk to catch early train. Easy walk to many sites around Oslo. Fabulous breakfast buffet! Clean, efficient room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel met my expectations and I recommend it, especially if you have a train to catch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, but clean and comfortable.

    Breakfast was outstanding! Best in all of my experience as a traveler. Location to train station and other sites in Oslo was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is fair, location is great, but breakfast was far from an acceptable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bad experience. The property next door is not equipped to deal with the amount of guests. The breakfast layout makes this a free for all, the food was not always replenished (cold mixed fruit etc), some hot food was not available (empty bread bins/no eggs etc), waiting to be allowed entry and even then finding a seat was a lottery. I will have to consider strongly whether the location outweighs this negative and frustrating experience.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient for access to the railway station and all the major sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa bed for our children was quite uncomfortable. It was hard and the girls could feel the framework through the thin mattress. Also it was not level. Also some noise from tram lines outside until close to midnight. Room on 3rd floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After breakfast, we wanted to take a sandwich with us as we were going to explore the city. We weren’t allowed to take it with us, although we had already prepared the sandwich.We had to leave it at Egon Restaurant where it would be thrown in the garbage bin. So the restaurant prefers to waste perfectly good food instead of letting it get eaten by its customers... all because of money? That was ridiculous. We went out in the morning, arrived back in the room about 2 pm and the room wasn’t cleaned. The cleaning lady asked if we wanted to have it cleaned and we said: perhaps later this afternoon. But we left the room again at 5 pm, so the cleaners didn’t have the opportunity to clean it. No worries. But I thought it was rather strange the room still wasn’t cleaned by 2 pm.

    Situated next to Central Station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.5
    excellent breakfast, I love the cooked salmon instead of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no

    excellent breakfast, I love the cooked salmon instead of the commonly seen smoked one, staff very friendly, overall very satisfied, will definitely come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. Just a small thing: Slow coffee machine for so many people that come to have breakfast.

    Excellent location. Rich breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location but rooms lacking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less than basic accommodation. Room is tiny and has no storage, i.e., not one drawer, cabinet, closet, table or shelf and only one night stand and one chair in a double room.

    Location:adjacent to travel and walking distance to top attractions, restaurants and shopping. Outstanding customer service at the front desk. Breakfast at adjoining restaurant is excellent. Limited but pleasant hotel lounge in lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Very close from Central station, the staffs were lovely, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit small, but not a big problem.

    Very close from Central station, the staffs were lovely, and the room was cozy. They provided extra heater upon our request, and prepared breakfast bag with the request beforehand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    wonderful location and good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room size is just too small for two, especially when you plan to work together on one desk, that is almost not possible.

    wonderful location and good breakfast. very clean room. I asked for a quiet room and got one on the 6th floor and we could even leave the window open during night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location - near railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unpleasant views from room: rubbish, trolleys, empty boxes, early morning smokers and workers in lane way behind hotel. Bathroom floor VERY dirty. Bathroom included disabled facilities including low-level bench and fixed hairdryer so had to stoop to use them. I assume it was the last room available - as I did not need these facilities.

    Convenient location - near railway. Comfortable beds. Quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, outstanding breakfast, good value but need to address overheating in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was MUCH too hot even after we turned all heating - bathroom floor and radiator in room off - heat rises from rooms below. Because it was so hot, we opened the window which meant it was very noisy so we didn't sleep well. The room was also rather cramped with almost no storage for clothes.

    The breakfast was exceptionally good. The room was small but comfortable. The bathroom was good. The location was outstanding. The views from the 6th floor were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, bust beside the central train station. Clean and comfortable enough. Very nice breakfast at the restaurant beside the hotel with a nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Affordable Hotel inside Byporten Shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel inside Byporten Shopping Mall/Oslo Centralstation. Centrally located. Small comfortable room. Clean sheets and bathroom. Very good breakfast in Egon Restaurant. Superb WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location could not have been more convenient for us arriving from the airport to the station. The breakfast was lovely and there is a lot to see near to the hotel. The gym was well equipped and the foyer was very comfortable for our wait before car rental pick up. Decor was really lovely too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Good Location. Wouldn't want to stay for any longer than a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not well signposted inside the railway station. Room was tiny. Odd decorating theme made it feel like a military dorm.

    Great Location extremely close to the railway station. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Terrific hotel, centrally located and responsive to guests needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited storage capacity for suitcases and clothes.

    This hotel was centrally located, next to the railway station and close to shopping and public transport. Breakfast and meals at the adjoining restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    the close proximity to the station is brilliant and this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast could have been better - for some reason they only had small bread plates to have breakfast

    the close proximity to the station is brilliant and this makes it a great starting point for any excursions or day trips

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but nothing fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff wasn’t very friendly—mostly they treated us with a casual indifference. Our room didn’t have a thermostat that we could find and was set to the same temperature as the fourth level of hell—it was like sleeping inside a furnace. We tried to open the window, but there were people outside on the roof (working? Hanging out?), so we couldn’t keep it open. All in all, the room and hotel were fine, but it was not spectacular.

    The hotel was right next to the train station and in the middle of everything—a great location! The complimentary breakfast was fantastic—lots of variety and good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated. The carpet is pretty old and the room decor was a bit tacky with fake postcards on the wall.

    The hotel is located literally outside the station which means you can get from the airport to the hotel in 30 mins. The breakfast was amazing and it’s in such a beautiful restaurant with lots of open plan space for the buffet and cute style. The tables are set up as if it’s an old train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.9
    The best was the breakfeast and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms; very noisy during the night (the sound of the elevator and from other people in the corridor).

    The best was the breakfeast and the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    The hotell is central
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not enjoy the breakfast. My daughter has celiac Disease. There was poor selection of gluten-free food. very big danger of double dipping / infection in lubrication

    The hotell is central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Fit our needs for a last stop at the end of a two-week vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was tiny and didn't have even a shelf for unpacking belongings.

    Wonderful breakfast buffet; hotel is well located next door to central train station; room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    breakfast location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poorly signposted, very difficult to find door of hotel amongst the shops and other facilities in the Mall. We wasted a good 30 minutes.

    breakfast location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit on the smaller side. Since we stayed only 1 night, it was quite ok and comfortable.

    Location is perfect. Near to the train station and bus stops. Basically you could go anywhere from the hotel. Wide selection of breakfast and delicious too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front counter staff. Provide the confirmation still cannot locate the booking while during check in. They said no booking in booking.com therefore they want to charge me At last they found booking under my partner name. Curious booking booked under my name why will go under my partner name

    Location great just 5 minuets walk to the train station and inside the mall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the hotel's fault, but the view from the room was not fantastic

    The location is perfect, immediately next to the train station. Breakfast had a great variety and started early, so we had enough time before we had to catch our 08.25 train to Bergen. Our room suited our family of 4 perfectly, 1 double bed and a bunk bed for the kids

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no room/ bathroom amenities, no minibar.

    Nearby shopping malls, restaurants, just adjacent to Central station, ever smiling helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, very good location, lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are tiny. But that is a thing about Oslo. Even the largest room is still size of the normal rooms in some other countries. Breakfast is served in the restaurant next to the hotel, but the shape of it makes it very unpleasant thing. Morning should be easy and relaxed, but since the space is like a tube, you need to avoid other guests, constantly, and to manoeuvre in between tables in order to collect food. It does not have a regulated traffic :)), so mornings in the restaurant are actually a rush hour.

    Hotel is on very good location for jump in - jump out kind of a trip we did. Staff is pleasant and hotel is clean. Breakfast is served in the restaurant next to the hotel. Hotel is connected to the shopping mall and the central station. Good thing if it is cold outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Cool and chic, stylish accommodation in central Oslo with the best buffet breakfast in town!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have loved a bath tub in my room as well as the shower. The room felt quite cold when I arrived though the heating was adjustable. Unfortunately I never found the button for the underfloor heating in the bathroom which supposedly existed!

    The buffet breakfast was beyond my wildest dreams - almost every breakfast food that you can think of! You can get nice views of the square in front of the central station from the breakfast room, with the trams and buses busily coming and going - very nice. The hotel interior, from the hotel lobby with the cool pig coffee tables to the corridors and guest rooms, was very stylish and cool. The guest room and bathroom were spotlessly clean when I arrived and cleaned to a high standard every day by the room service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Handy hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills hotel. Great location as we were traveling by train and it’s situated in the train terminal and large shopping mall. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Byporten traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: