Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Hamar 4 stars

Vangsveien 121, 2318 Hamar, Norway

#2 of 6 hotels in Hamar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 809 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It can get busy with large sport teams and children, but this is no fault of the hotels.

    Travelling alone on buisness can be lonely and finding activities or the time to do activities is hard. Scandic had a gym and a sauna for free and in room safe although its not needed its nice to see the option. When I asked how much it was to hire a bycycle for the day it was free, this pleased me alot since I could travel around the historic town of hammar and discover so much more. The breakfast had plent of varierty with fresh cut fruits, yogurts, cereals and hot choices like full english, porridge etc. They even provided gluten free options and cake, which is far more then other hotels provide in hammar. If given the coice i would come here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pet allowed. No tourist point nearby. No seafood or Chinese restaurant in down town.

    Free for parking, wi-fi and breakfast. Room quoted in booking.com was 16m, it was big enough to open for 2 baggages. Bath room was clean and tidy. Walking distance to down town with restaurants (pizza, burger ...).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff. The rooms are simple but clean and functional. 24/7 reception. Separate soap and shampoo in the shower. Close to Vikingskipet. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a bit more from the training facilities and its shower, but that's only beacause the rest of the hotell is so spotless.

    Nice and friendly staff. Good energy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything. We didn't know this chain of hotels before but will remember it now:)

    Lovely staff. We left too early in the morning for the breakfast so the reception staff encouraged us to take a sandwich and coffee to eat in the car (catching a flight). Room was lovely .... we could have stayed another night just because the room was so nice and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to cater for bus tours and the restaurant was virtually closed for others while the tours took over

    This was a one night stay for us. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was not well staffed. Many people had to sit at tables before they had been cleared and wiped down. Several items were not replenished until a server was asked to replenish them, such as yogurt.

    Friendly staff at the reception desk. We were upgraded to a spacious room on the top floor with a corner view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even hotel was quite empty in reception was not asked do I want twin or double room and no information how to turn Wifi on was given. Room bit outdated and very dirty windows.

    Breakfast was good, check-out quick due to online check-out.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand that a summer morning with lots of tourists and families is a major challenge for doing breakfast well, but we followed the advice from the reception of eating at 09:00 - one hour after the tourist bus guests and one hour before breakfast was over.The breakfast room was close to full as expected, but the main problem was insufficient ability to refill food and drinks and to clear tables quickly enough. Missed refrigerator in room.

    Clean, comfortable and efficient room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables were not cleaned during breakfast. Dishes were piling up and the guests had to clear the tables themselves to be able to find a place to sit. The dinner restaurant was out on several of the wine types on the menu and we felt like we had to compromise alot. The tenderloin was not so tender, but the tastes were very good.

    Nice staff, gym and sauna. Bath tub in room, location in city and effective check-in and -out.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and simple rooms. Chaotic check-in.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big and comfortable hotel, medium distance from the city centre. Nice and clean room, a bit fancy. Very good breakfast. Everything was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are awful. No fridge in the room. Old tv.

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the bakquet was nothing special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workout room had no TV remote, no towels.

    Excellent variety at breakfast. Covered all health needs. Staff very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Linen were not clean. Dust in many places. Could hardly see through windows. Rather chilly. Mediocre, unhygienic breakfast.

    Free parking nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't find any restaurants nearby

    Nice family room. The children loved the beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Functional bedroom. Excellent view from top floor. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service. They were serving breakfast at 5AM because of the Birkebeiner.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from lift noise from my room door when others closed theirs no tea making facilities in room

    Room decor

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar is certainly the worse in town. At sunday evening not even open.

    Nice room and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very good and the beds were good. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner menu in hotel restaurant is not rich.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Nice and clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds was very comfortable,The staff were excellent and special mention about the breakfast which was great too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna not working Cold coffee from the machine in the breakfast room Small bath

    Nice clean bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super breakfast and staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't think a good idea to have mirror in front of the bed. But some people might like it.. could have 1 more towel because we travelled with the child..

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is old and many thing should be upgrade, WC can be totally improved

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good and exceptional. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms where to hot to sleep in.

    Location was great in walking distance to everything. Use of the hotel bikes made it even easier to get around. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed our stay here

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Everything was as it should be. I have no complaints. The walk to central Hamar was good exercise for me. There were lots of changes in the centre which was new to me from the last time I was there

    The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was exceptional

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Didn't like hotel's restaurant, because dinner was terrible. There is no tea or coffee offered in the room.

    Great buffet breakfast. Nice and clean room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    Extremely helpful with all of my needs.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I requested a Bill Cosby picture next to my bed, and got it.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was too cold. No drinking-glasses at the bathroom. The breakfast was ordinary.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff and Facilities

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Couple

    With no obvious reason, we stayed in a room for disabled people.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise from room/hall next door could be heard quite easiliy

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free coffee or tea at night

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great many dishes, very good and nutritious breakfast. No waiting time, great concept!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Scandic Hamar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: