Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Helsfyr 4 stars

Strømsvn. 108, Gamle Oslo, 0602 Oslo, Norway

#88 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1582 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff training should be improved

    Clean and practical. Not luxury nut definitely adequate for a comfortable trip. The restaurant is good. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow beds. Very uncomfortable flat pillows. Very dirty in the breakfast canteen (food on the floor and tables). Food not filled up throughout breakfast (no pastry, no waffle batter, and little fruit 30min before breakfast finished)

    A large room, with sofa. Clean. Good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast but limited option at lunch or dinner

    The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Pernille in the front desk went beyond the call of duty! Always willing to help and I fed this back to the Front Desk Manager too. We will stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot choice on the buffet for vegetarians - buffet pricy at almost £27 per head Taxi s add more on the fare if ordered frm the hotel .

    Liked the staff / all very welcoming and helpful . Nice sauna and small gym . Nice sized twin room with large floor to ceiling windows . Breakfast was good . Buffet only had one hot veggie option - tho plenty of salads .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of breakfast items could have been warmer (eg the eggs and coffee). Shame there was no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Not a lot in the area itself (only a problem if you don't want to stay in the centre in the evening). Oslo itself is very expensive so take your own food if you want to keep it a cheap break.

    Huge inclusive breakfast was amazing - definitely worth it ! Kept us well fed for the day. Great value hotel for Oslo. Wifi and TV was great. Rooms quiet,clean and warm . Out of city location but only 5mins walk to metro and then 4 stops from centre . (you could walk in 45 mins).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very variable staff. Some of them very good (8+/10) and some barely average (6/10), mainly an issue in the reception.

    I would rate this room slightly above average. It was over all clean, but cleaning staff could have done a little extra to make it perfect. Food was satisfactory but there could also be done minor things to improve it. It gets a 8.3 because of the room on the 9th floor, for the same price on 3rd floor it would get a 7.9 - if cleaning staff would do an extra effort it would be a 8.8

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not in city center,but near Metro station. From airport bus stop to hotel only 10minutes by walking.

    Very good breakfast. Room was very clean,big and cosy. Staff in restaurant was very kindly to tell us where can ski.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com had misled us by telling It was a 4*hotel but actually it was a 3*hotel.Room condition wasn't in good condition as we expected and when we got their restaurant for dinner it was closed for a party.but we weren't informed anything in advance.hotel was placed in industrial area and it was hard to find a restaurant and no attractions nearby.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies at the front desk were not very welcoming, the blonde receptionist even checked us out a day earlier.

    The breakfast was unbelievable, just like one would expect at a Vikings' feast. Also, the bed was extra comfy, ❤️ it!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very difficult to find and we spent a lot of time trudging through the snow after we got out on the wrong side of the train station. Hotel is located in a business district so nothing nearby to do or eat at.

    As others have said, the breakfast was excellent, with a wide variety of food, though it wasn't the hottest. Room was a reasonable size and shower was hot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Did not prepare the take away breakfast which been ordered and paid. It almost causing me miss the train due to last minute prepared.

    Food is tasty and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the guests want to leave their languages in the hotel for a while, it would be good that the hotel can keep track of which luggage belongs to which guest!

    I have to say, the room and the breakfast is so amazing!! Although there is not much to see nearby and a lot of instructions around, it is really close to metro station (5 minutes if you can find the short cut inspired by the google map)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It could be more clean.

    Breakfast was really good, especially the smoked salmon. A wide range of selection for the breakfast was absorbing all the guests in mornings. Staff were really kind and helpful. Location is 5 minutes walk from a metro station which is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was wonderful and waking up to views of Oslo in the morning was lovely. The hotel is a good distance from the city at 4 metro stops so getting in and out is so easy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very co operative. The hotel facilities were suitable for our needs and requirements. Location was very good and onsite parking was available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were not that comfortable. The receptionist was very kind, but he did not give us information about Oslo, for example a city map.

    Breakfast was great, you could find many things to eat. The location was also good, not far away from public transport, ten minutes to the city center by metro. The price of the accommodation is very low and the quality was high, so good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking. No parking space on the first night when we arrived after dinner. The receptionist said it was not her responsibility. Another staff told us to park the car somewhere outside. Finally, we were allowed to park at the underground staff parking which was almost empty.

    Good breakfast especially the bread.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no shops, supermarkets, resturants near the hotel.

    The breakfast was great!! A lot of healthy options! Very good English TV channels!! And only two stops away for Toyen parkrun if you stay there on Saturday morning!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As many people already mentioned, breakfast is the best! Hotel is located just outside of Oslo, 15minutes to city centre (walking to Helsfyr + metro). Our room was on 4th floor, it has everything what you need (plasma TV, fridge, table, chairs).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice Penny, at the desk was excellent in helping us. The hotel is out of the city center in a business district but very close to bus and subway station. However, it would have been better if the hotel had provided a simple sketch of the true location of the station. We were told our travel pass would work on the local ferries but it did not. The breakfast was very good but the dinner, the special oxtail stew and cabbage was delicious but incredible small portion of meat, while we saw other guests with much more meat. Four tiny bones, virtually no meat. Not good advertising for the hotel. Service was marginal.

    front desk , Penny was a great find..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon reception we were given little to no information about our stay, not even breakfast time nor room number. The room was nothing like the pictures in Booking, very damaged and in need of improvement; the bathroom was mouldy and poorly cleaned, whilst the glass shield of the shower only covered one side, insufficiently. We found an egg in the should-be-empty minibar, meaning that it was obviously not attended properly. The breakfast was very confusing and stressful, since it was very difficult to find empty tables, least of all quiet ones. Having large round tables for 5 persons occupied by individual or couples adds to wasted room space and great trouble finding a quiet and private place to relax while taking breakfast. Having only one coffee machine and one knife to cut bread meant absurdly large queues in both days we had breakfast. Given the price, i had expected at least the chance to have tea in the room without having to pay extra for it.

    A very comfortable bed! The breakfast had great variety and quality of products. Good wi-fi signal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in amongst what is still a building site all around. No direction signs to or from bus and underground links.

    Comfort and room, first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a good location a nine minute walk to train station and then only 4 stops from central Oslo. However the hotel is in the middle of office and industrial park and is awkward to get to until you figure out the correct route. It is close by to supermarkets too

    Breakfast great choice very varied selection. Reasonable price hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a going on construction next to the hotel, so we had some noise (till late evening and since early morning).

    Less than 10 minutes walk to the metro, great breakfast, free parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of building work in the area and regurbishmentvat the hotel , restrauntckised on site and also bar so there is very little option but to travel into centre. Hotel is in need of upgrade so this will hopefully be sorted

    Close to local metro station so very easy to travel in to central Oslo. For those travelling by car it has plenty of parking and is close to motorway . Fairly large rooms for the price with great wifi .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible view of a building site, but this was not a problem for us as we were out all day, and the noise was munimal even with the window open and lots of diggers working!

    Excellent breakfast with a huge choice. Very easy to get to underground - 5 mins walk, same to pick up airprt Flybussen. 7-10 mins ride to city centre. Felt a bit quiet walking around at night over the weekend as mainly offices nearby, but seemed safe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    quality of housekeeping (cleaning), awful noise from the building works outside

    Great breakfast, nice & helping staff, very suitable location for my traveling purposes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not that easy to find a parking spot due to late arrival. Bicycle seat tuning requires a tool, that should additionally be asked on the reception.

    In spite of the kitchen renovation, it was the best breakfast experience we had throughout the whole trip to Norway, including variety of dishes as well as sufficient facilities to serve needs of the big hotel. Free and large enough parking in front on the hotel is a big advantage. Free bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in business area, close to the motorway and 3 minutes walk from metro station (three stations away from Oslo Centrum). It also offers free parking for the guests at the hotel entrance. The rooms were well designed, and very clean with a bathroom stylish and modern. The staff was 10/10, helpful and friendly. The most remarkable feature is a great breakfast spread. There is free wifi available with a great speed. If I go back in Oslo I will definitely stay in the same hotel it's a great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy, free parking in front of the hotel. Every thing was good. Minor thing- not a fault of the hotel is a lot of constructions happening all around make access to the hotel little bit more difficult.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little far from the city center. We go by feet, it took approximately 50min

    Nice big room. Comfortable bed. View was okay but not perfect. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean and comfortable and staff very helpful. A lot of construction work currently taking place nearby which made in a bit problematic to find hotel but that is not fault of hotel. Metro train direct to Oslo only few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs an upgrade in both rooms and public area. The front desk were kind enough to change from single beds to a double bed. But somehow they gave another couple the same room, and thereby keys to out room. Not a very plesant experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was crowded and the items did not get replaced quickly at times. Parking requirements not clear.

    Good location: close to T-bane (trains) and highways. Breakfast quality. Room service staff. Cheap coffee. Free parking (although we got a parking ticket as we weren't told we need to put a sticker on the car)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was quite slow. Only one person on duty. Not something the hotel can control, but there is extensive construction of a new arena adjacent to the hotel. Very noisy during the day and access to the hotel is disrupted by road re-routing and construction.

    Very nice hotel, rooms are clean and comfortable. Included breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything! The room was amazing( in the 9th floor), the breakfest was amazing( many kinds of differents things to eat) and the staffs was very carefull to us, in all sectors, in the reception, the cleaners, in the breakfest, etc... I have traveled in many places around the world, and it was one of the bests hotels that i have been. Thanks!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise. The hotel essentially stands between highway and big construction site (currently). So one would either listen to the highway during the night or to a bulldozer in the morning, depending on which side one's windows are facing. Neither is too exciting, so it's better to explicitly ask for a room with some newer better windows.

    Reasonably good hotel, next to a metro station and a bus terminal. Moderate prices by Oslo's standards. Very good and rich breakfast, which is perfect given not that much places around to have something to eat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ---

    Nice stuff. They let us in our rooms 6:00 without extra pay and even said to us to take the extra breakfast. That was really nice from them. Very good location of hotel, but little bit hard to forget a place on a parking lot. Nit saying that its not possible:)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    price of drinks at the bar....but that's Norway

    good comfortable hotel ...with excellent dining area.....great metro system to the town centre a short walk away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big nice room , very clean ( everywhere in the hotel ), nice sauna , gym , the best breakfast ever , great staff , big car park, 5 mins walk to the subway .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no information within the room concerning what facilities were available around the hotel. As there were no provisions within the room for pressing shirts; information relating to where an ironing room may be available would be useful. This hotel does have a laundry service, but this would be of little help to business travelers who arrive late in the evening that need a shirt to be pressed. This hotel appears to not be air conditioned, so for the summer months a fan within the room would be advantageous.

    Very clean room with most of the facilities you would expect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had provided a room kettle. With the restaurant closed one could not get a cuppa.

    Helpful staff. Their bar and restaurant were closed on Sunday but they helped order a take away delivered to the room. The breakfast was pretty good, especially the scrambled eggs were nice and creamy and light and fluffy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a lot to dislike here - apart from the grumbles above re the tea situation. What was really disappointing is that we booked a 'Superior' room but actually, it was no different to the standard rooms we have stayed in previously over the 3 years we have been coming here.

    The breakfast offered a selection for all although severely lacking in English breakfast tea and decent bacon. The bread is wonderful - catch it when its still warm and there is nothing better! The beds are very comfortable but again - English breakfast tea supplies were in short supply - only 2 tea bags for the 2 of us over a 6 day period so - take your own!! Food in the restaurant very good and reasonably proced when comparing against restaurants in Oslo City. The bar is not open very often tho - or wasn't during our stay so again - if you like a drink in the evenings, be sure to buy your allowance from duty free when you arrive!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 12.30pm after our flight and bad traffic so it was very dark. The Receptionist did not tell us that we needed a parking ticket from Reception to receive the free guest parking so we now have a 600kr parking fine. When we spotted the ticket on our car the next morning in the daylight we took a look around and noticed that ALL parking signs were in Norwegian only so even if we had have spotted them the night before we couldn't have read them anyway

    Breakfast was great! Room was lovely! Staff were friendly! Location perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had trouble controlling the room temperature. The thermostat seemed to be following our directions but it never cooled off completely.

    As advertised by other reviews, the breakfast was extraordinary. The walk to the tram was only a few minutes. The staff was extremely helpful with all of our needs. We would definitely utilize Scandic Helsfyr again on another visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant staff were friendly, but the service was too slow for my needs - 2 hours needed just to have a main course and desert.

    Food was good. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money considering Oslo standards of living. Nearby metro station- easy and simple travel to get to Oslo City Centre - takes only few minutes. Breakfast is excellent- variety of foods. Staff really helpful and smiley

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a family room, and the pull out bed for the children was extremely uncomfortable. There was a misunderstanding between booking.com and the hotel: We thought we booked a family room (that is what we booked on booking.com), but we got a double room (that is the information the hotel had from booking.com). We were lucky that there was a family room, but we had to pay more than we thought (more than we could see on booking.com).

    Staff were very helpful. Lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom not 4 star; no water or tea/coffee in room - only available in reception 24/7 at a price. Beds were narrow cot type twins with thin mattress. Risk to fall out of bed! Dinner plat du jour in restaurant was not good with overcooked meat (waitress was unsure what the meat was) over cooked vegetables, under-cooked potatoes and all in a congealed sauce; - totally unexciting with atmosphere to match the canteen tables, inattentive staff, hidden kitchen, poor quality food......Gordon Ramsay would enjoy the chance to transform it! Hard to believe it's the same restaurant where breakfast is served. There is construction of a stadium nearby but in time that will be finished. Unfortunately the proximity to the highway is permanent.

    Excellent breakfast and excellent breakfast staff - thankfully unlike their evening colleagues. Fresh and tasty variety of food. The only reasons for staying here: location, breakfast. Also, ample free parking and short walk to metro, both a plus in Oslo.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know it's Oslo in winter - but I never managed to get the AC below 21C, which was a bit warm 24hrs

    The location is great for getting into the centre of Oslo, 5mins walk to the metro and 5mins on it. Staff are lovely and helpful. Breakfast is the best we've had anywhere! Beds were extremely comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room condition is poor : the furniture is outdated & in despair need to be refurbished, No Kettle, No Safe Box The mattres is to soft & thin, didn't support your back properly The room is dusty & didn't clean properly. The room service only tidied up the bed, the bathroom didn't clean, the hand soap dispenser left empty, the bin didn't empty The lobby furniture & condition more or less the same with the room The location is not recommended The receptionist clip & curt

    The only thing I like is the Breakfast...... Greatttt.......

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a building spot right next to the hotel and also a motorway. Many rooms are noisy with open windows. The restaurant atmosphere is very basic (some tables look like they belong to a kantine). Staff is nice but not serviceminded. One morning there was no coffee cups, next morning no spoons, lunch without forks and napkins, yoghurt empty, tables not cleaned and ready. It is a busy time in the morning, but there should be enough of everything and ready cleaned tables for everybody no matter when.

    The rooms are nice and clean and the bed is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have booked double bed room for 3 days, and got twin bed room, when we asked on reception for switching room's because of longer stay, male receptionist didn't seem to care.

    Breakfast was really good. Location, close to the road and public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Position is a bit out of the way for central Oslo, but we had hired a car, so wasn't a problem. The position is reflected in the price however and the hotel is very good value.

    Great shower, comfy bed and excellent breakfast. Very good value for money for Oslo. There was an issue on arrival as we thought we had specified a double bed but had been allocated 2 singles. Not sure what happened during the booking process, but the girl who dealt with us regarding this was very professional, calm and got us the best outcome possible. The rest of the staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cleaner wasn't able to do her job perfectly.

    All the variety of kind of food in the breakfast menu was available and tasty.Free barking for my rental car was very much helpful.The receptioninst were all very kind and helpful. Nice outgoing for walking exercise and taking a breath as like.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They advertise free bikes, but that is only the case if one of the four that are there are available. One of the bikes was broken, and should have been fixed as it was just a snapped cable.

    Excellent Breakfast. One of the best I've ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in a business precinct and there's not much of interest around the hotel and no restaurants or bars that we could see. Floors in our room were not particularly clean with dust and dead insects not swept for the two nights we stayed. Restaurant service was very poor and we had to wait almost an hour for our meal despite there being very few other guests. Service at the front counter was a bit hit and miss, with the desk occasionally unattended, or only one staff on the desk and a queue of customers

    Very reasonable rates for Norway. Plentiful free parking on site (just remember to ask for a ticket from reception). Metro station is less than ten minutes walk away, from where you can travel to the city in about 10 minutes on the frequent services. Well appointed room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast with very good selection of hot and cold food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked an extra day through phone, was promised the same rate as booking.com offered. Upon arrival had to pay a different/expensier rate. No communication between receptionists.

    Breakfast, comfortable beds...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location in nice quiet and safe area, but not very interesting though. However, in city in ca 10-15 minutes and very welcome after a day in the city

    Breakfast was delicious, very rich and diverse with great quality choices

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the centre Bad view from the room (building pit) Parking not guaranteed (should be mentioned)

    Nice rooms, clean Far from centre but public transport nearby Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overcrouded durig breakfat, ir was difficult to find place to sit. Far from the city centre, but the public transport was 5 min. of walking. The room was small for 4 people.

    Rich breakfast, free parking place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The keycards to access the elevators and the room are constantly loosing their memory, so we needed to reprogram them each time.

    - Staff - View - Breakfast - Public Transport to city center - No parking fees

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a very minor complaint: We arrived late and their was no possibility to get warm food at the hotel (except by ordering a pizza). They had a small range of sandwiches unfortunately none were vergetarian. My partner got a meat-option but was not convinced. After 11 you will have to take the metro into town to get something warm or at least sandwhich-like (and tasty) to eat as the hotel is situated in a business area.

    Great place, very helpfull staff. We extended our stay for one night.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's no classic wardrobe cabinet, just something like it - one part with hangers and another inconvinient one under the fridge.

    First of all - great, I mean really great breakfast with lots of choices! Free internet. Free parking. Subway station like 5 minutes from hotel. Decent sized room and nice bathroom. Fridge.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrible soft pillows and bed. Not too much around but you could catch the train into town 5 stops away with a 500 metre walk to the station

    The breakfast was superb. The rooms were new and clean and everything worked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room - ok but bed was v uncomfortable and had a terrible night sleep - pillows poor (despite me going to reception and getting more) and hard to regulate temperature in the room. Restaurant had the despair feel of an old business hotel - food was poor - steak was almost impossible to eat. Complained. Location unless 100% you have to be in this location I would suggest stay downtown Oslo and get Metro to the area. There are no restaurants or anything of note in the area.

    Staff Friendly

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking under my window. During the night cars were coming and going, so there was a constant noise when I tried to sleep with an open window.

    Really nice place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast Lovely helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far from centre

    quiet gym

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location

    Great breakfast, parking, friendly hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture was outdated, sink faucet needs replacement.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location , Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to by the airport bus... And the food was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was just fantastic and the soft beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot driveway had a lot of ice and was a bit treacherous. Looked that way in several places around Oslo so perhaps a freak weather event.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Helsfyr traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: