Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Ishavshotel 4 stars

Fredrik Langesgt. 2, 9250 Tromsø, Norway

#14 of 34 hotels in Tromsø

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1535 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices were increased quite significantly for this weekend.

    We stayed during the very busy midnight sun marathon weekend. Staff were very welcoming, the facilities were excellent as was the location. Hopefully we will be back in January for the polar night marathon weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is excellent - the airport express bus has a stop right outside the hotel, and it's in a central location with respect to the rest of Tromsø. Breakfast selection and quality was fantastic - such a huge variety of hot (eggs, sausages, bacon, pate, vegetables) and cold (salmon, all kinds of herring, mackerel, meats, cheeses, salad vegetables) foods, plus desserts, cereals, yoghurt, toppings, beverages. The room itself had a harbour view and was tastefully furnished, not too cramped, and had light-blocking curtains (thank goodness).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed gym and swimmingpool

    Excellent breakfast Quiet well located room with view of the harbor. The staff at the reception offered us one of the best located rooms since we would be there for 4 days. Very nice staff. Very good food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints; we really enjoyed staying here.

    Perfect location in the waterfront, the closest to where the Hurtigruten ships dock. We were off the ship and in our room in about 10 minutes. A very attractive and modern property. The lobby is spacious, with a high ceiling and a grand waterfront view from its tall windows. You will find a comfortable seating area and café here. The breakfast buffet, which is served in the café, is extensive and very good, one of the best we had on our long holiday. A restaurant/bar is on the second floor looking down on the lobby. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Great bed/bedding and area for sitting; kettle for making coffee/tea and a refrigerator. We really liked the modern bathroom with its heated, non-slip tile floor. We had a great view of the harbor and bridge that links the two sides of the city, with the Arctic Cathedral directly across from us on the opposite shore. It’s a 5-minute walk to a galleria-type shopping center; other shops and restaurants are close by. It’s about a 10-minute walk to the Polar Museum. Very friendly, helpful and informative staff. As Hurtigruten arrival and departure times may not sync with check in/out times, the hotel has a convenient locked room for luggage storage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could only recommend the bed is replaced... my mattress was already deformed.

    We had a room whit the perfect view of the harbour. This was the best hotel we stayed in the north of Norway. Cannot way to go back there! We loved the hotel, the location and the food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty cold.

    The breakfast was plain fantastic. Never had such a breakfast at a hotel. The view from the hotel, overlooking harbour, was amazing. There is an airport bus stop at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room

    location great right on the harbour, and beautiful views across the bridge and mountain. best breakfast by far in any countries we've been, even coffee were made by barista. family room clean but was a bit small, if you stay for more than 2-3 days it might feel cramped after a long day trip with two children. holte does not offer free parking and and staff wasn't clear on whether guests could park behind the hotel or not. nonetheless great location and great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A passenger ship for day trips etc moor up on the quay next to the hotel over which the bedrooms look, some keep the engines/motors going 24/7 slight noise from these but negated by double glazing and view of the bridge and distant snow covered mountains.

    The breakfast choice was one of the greatest we have ever been offered in over 40 years of worldwide travel as an example 8 choices of breakfast cereal with all the accompanying toppings of yogurts, nuts and dried fruits plus fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    renovations of the Restaurant and kitchen with noise and reduced service; had to ask for towels and soap absolute NoGo: things of mine were thrown away on two mornings !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No temperature control in the room. The furnishing is very tired. The room is very dark, would have hated to stay there in the winter when it is really dark outside. When I called the reception , to ask how to call another room - he had to put me on hold to check with his colleague;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room serviced/cleaned late some days

    Excellent breakfast, could make a sandwich for lunch. Best location in Tromso and marvellous view from room overlooking harbour. Could book trips easily with tourist rep in hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff and an excellent choice of food for breakfast. Very convenient location by the harbourside with most places of interest a short walk away. Nearby bus stops can take you further including the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the mini bar in the room is (as usual with Scandic) orderly...which means: empty! there were no soft tissue supplies as in other Scandic hotels. The water side rooms become very very hot after the sun rises towards noon! keep watch on your plates during breakfast even if you just quickly go to refill your coffee....they seem to hunt for empty tables and will remove everything with a blink of an eye...even if the plates were full...!!

    splendid location directly at the pier...ypu could watch the Hurtigruten ships come and go and have the mountain view in the back (only pier side rooms). The breakfast was rich with an incredible variety....liked the free sparkling water fountains....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have had access to the hotel restaurant, but I chose a date when refurbishment works were taking place.

    Good selection for breakfast buffet. Unable to rate the 'Roast' restaurant, due to hotel refurbishment works. The hotel is in a great location by the quayside with a great view. The hotel upgraded my room at no extra charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    first night pillow for extra bed and towel for the third person was missing second night sink and shower water drainage were plugged

    extra bed in same room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right above the function centre and most nights the music disturbed our sleep. One night it went past 3am.

    Location - pick up spot for everything, fantastic views. Breakfast very good. Staff lovely and helpful. Facilities very high standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a bad word to say about it

    Everything! The location is perfect; right on the waterfront; the staff were friendly and great from the start and acknowledged my request from the booking for a great view (as the trip was for my partner's 30th) - when we got to the room there was a hand-written card and chocolates - such a sweet touch and very much appreciated. The view was spectacular - we could see the harbour, the bridge, cathedral and mountains... Heaven! And at night we had a fabulous show of the northern lights. As for the room, it was cosy and the bed comfy as is always the case with Scandic. The best thing was the shower, with those magical heated floor tiles - total bliss. And the best part of the whole experience - the phenomenonal breakfast! I've never seen so much choice and I've seen my fair share of Scandinavian breakfast buffets. Ten or twelve types of knekkerbrød, ten types of loose teas, everything under the sun and all excellent quality. All in all one of the best hotel experiences either of us have had to date and we can recommend it whole-heartedly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just completed one week stay. Bare bones staff that never look up from their computers. No amenities. Horrible, cheap toilet paper that hurts. Poorly cleaned. Roll of toilet paper sat on the floor under the toilet the entire week. Having the sheets changed at least once during our 7 nights would have been nice. Maybe a vacum run through?? No tissue paper. Lines are okay. Towels are motel level. Construction outside our room that we paid a premium to stay in started at 7:30. So Brutal. On day 3 I emailed the hotel about the construction. No reply. They dont have to. They dont care. They had my money. Odds are we arent coming back...( we are in July but booked the raddison) Not for extended stays. Cater mostly to cruise passengers staying for only one night. That is their bread and butter. They know people will rarely return and it definitely shows... The view is spectacular. Bed comfy but small. Tiny shower even in superior rooms. No concierge or doorman or bell hops to help. Raddison and the Clarions are definitely a better choice. Checked them all out and they have bathrobes and slippers and seem to have triple staff that are so helpful. When we checked out of the Scandic after a week. Girl asked how was our stay. I replied "not great. Wish we had been warned about the constuction it was brutal" She laughed and replied "I bet!" Not helpful. This is one of my few regrets in life. $ 400 bucks a night is absolutely not worth it. This hotel just has location. Nothing more.

    The view. Only thing this hotel has going for it is the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very convenient location with amazing view. We saw grand northern lights just outside the hotel in the three nights. Friendly staff and professional services, the reception was really nice when we checked in after a long journey. Breakfast was beyond expectation…I love fresh coffee! We will definitely come again for next year's northern lights hunting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meal at breakfast was great but the seating was chaotic. I've never seen anywhere so busy at 8am on a Sunday because everyone on the trips etc was trying to eat at the same time. Breakfast tiem should go on for much longer than allowed

    Location was excellent. Very convenient to nip back and too from. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That absolutely nothing to complain about this hotel. It makes you stay in Tromso worth a lot even when you can't see northern lights during your stay.

    Gorgeous hotel, magnificient view all over around, huge and beautiful lounge, very friendly team and the best breakfast in life (believe me, I use to travel a lot).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel breakfast ever! - not only typical continental and british breakfast but also a lot of fishes which were fantastic here in Norway! :) Wonderful window view. Very nice room in scandinavian style.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of

    Staff were so helpful and friendly - nothing was a problem. Breakfast was excellent and location was perfect both for the scenery and as a base for all of the trips. Pub across the road (with live music) was a bonus too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vacuum started just after 10.00, made us feel we needed to go, j understand you have to get on and do things but to wait until 10.30 I think would be ok. We are on holiday it’s our chill time sometimes it’s nice to have a relaxing start to the day.

    Breakfeast, location cleanliness and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a premium room (waterside view) but noise kept us awake most of the first night. Got used to it by the 3rd night - believe it was the engines from the boats (or ships they were so big!) which were docked right outside the window. Don’t pay extra for that, the standard rooms are exactly the same on the opposite side of the corridor and to be honest you can stand outside and walk along the waters edge to see the view regardless, it’s not an exclusive view! Breakfast tasty but very busy especially the last hour at weekends once everyone sleeps in after their tours - more seating would be useful, it wasn’t a relaxing experience. Had to share tables with strangers just so we could sit down (I’m not a morning person!). Otherwise a very good place to stay in a fantastic and amazing Tromso!

    Clean and contemporary hotel with all the details you need. Excellent location walkable to everywhere in town and handy for many tour pick ups and the airport bus which starts and ends right outside. Decent breakfast. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bed was very comfortable but could have done with more storage, ie. a set of drawers for separating smaller items of clothing and maybe a wardrobe with doors rather than the open plan one there. Toiletries that got used up were not replaced over the 4 days but luckily we didn't really need them as we had brought some of our own anyway.

    The choice at breakfast was wonderful and the barista coffee excellent. The view from the superior king room was amazing, over the harbour and to the mountains beyond. We even saw the northern lights from our window on the first night, in spite of the bright harbour lights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast overall was very good. Missing for kids, chocolate powder. Sausages werent too tasty dont know why they were in a liquid. Didn't look good.

    Beds were comfortable. Maybe more english channels for kids

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was incredible and the staff were very helpful - most excursions pick up and drop off from the hotel lobby and we made the most of that. Highly recommended - we even saw the northern lights from the window!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best breakfast we had in Norway, hands down We stayed at several hotels, three Scandic, Molde Fjordsteur, Radisson Blu and Hurtigruten(2nd best, IMO). The roomie typical sized European Room, hotel staff was friendly and bar area was nice. View was great and we were treated to the northern lights on and off all night long from our room and had a great view of the bridge we walked leading to the cathedral. We walk to the aquarium, the Polaria, through the shops in town and it is a cross from the Radisson Blu where many excursions pick up in front of, but I think a better view and on the waterfront. Scandic are very nice hotels, person the Radisson Blu was my least favorite stay, but every hotel was great in Norway!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent location with sea view rooms, next to cruise terminal and 3min walk to tourist information center. Buffet breakfast with variety of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception seating area and breakfast seating area were a bit cramped and busy. There was no milk in the room for tea and coffee

    The view was fantastic, we could sit and admire the view in between sightseeing. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is very central and good for collection and drop off from tours. The room itself was fairly standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although we didn't mind at all, a large trawler was moored nearby for a couple of evenings and generated a little noise, so you have to remember that the town is a small port. Ships come and go.

    Good breakfast and central location with good view over the harbour and fjord. Helpful lady in the bar and elsewhere. It's perfect for catching or disembarking from the Hurtigruten coastal ferry boats. You board just 100m from the front door of the hotel. Tromso has many outdoor organisations which can take you on excursions. We used Tromso Outdoor for cross country skiing, and they were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room there was only one chair. Where should the second person sit? On the bed? Also, there is only space for one suitcase. The shower had very little water power. There is no free parking.

    I have stayed here several times before and a,ways enjoy coming back. The hotel has a fabulous location and we had a room with a great view over the harbour and the bridge. It was nice to be able to open the window to take photographs, but also to get fresh air in the room. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in can take a while, in particular if you come off the airport bus and as the reception is just inside the doors, you can get cold waiting for your turn (especially if it it -20 degrees out there).

    For a hotel rated with the best breakfast in the country I had higher expectations. Breakfast was very good though, with a proper barrista in place and several home made jams and other delights. Unfortunately there was no pecan pie for those who slept in and had a later breakfast. The view overlooking the harbour was nice, bed comfortable with plenty of desk space by the massive windows. Also, the hotel is within very short walking distance to some fabulous restaurants (<1min) as well as to Hurtigruten (<1 min). Airport bus stops right outside the hotel. The strong wind made the hotel sway a bit which was sort of cool, but perhaps not for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more flyers of excursions would have been handy to read but everything was great.

    Best location not only for bus drop offs and pick ups for transfers and excursions (from right outside hotel) but had the most amazing view of the northern lights from our room on the last night. Comfy beds, smart designed rooms and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Much better than expected and worth the money. Breakfast always had loads on offer. The lady at the bar on our last night happily made us whatever cocktail we wanted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies at the front desk were lazy and not helpful. For example,a family had booked a family room and was put in a double. The front desk said to the family she would take care of it and put them in a family room. The family returns from NL excursion at midnight to find the situation not remedied. Customer complained, the night desk wasn't aware of what's going on. He gave them another double on a different flour just for the night as the family room is not set up with bedding.

    We enjoyed the breakfast spread, very diverse, there is something for everyone. The water fountain in the lobby was a great idea. Housekeeping were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was plentiful, with everything from cereals, seeds, nuts, yoghurts all sort of milk including Almond, rice etc. Fruits, cheese platter, waffles, pancakes and great range of teas. Something for everyone!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a little bit too high in comparison with European countries, but it is Norway 😁

    Location of the hotel is very good. Wide choice of food during breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and bathroom are compact.

    The bed was a real large double and not twins pushed together. The breakfast which came with the room rate was very good with a wide range of choice. The bathroom was modern with an excellent rain and hand held shower heads and water pressure very good. Excellent wifi and great views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water in the morning due to many people showering at the same time.

    Our room had an excellent view across the harbour. Breakfast provided a large and tasty selection to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the room was slightly bigger, but it was ok for the four of us.

    The location was fantastic, usb socket next to the kids beds was a real bonus. Overall it was a great hotel with friendly staff and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We don't know if it was a communication between Booking.com and the hotel. the Hotel insisted Booking indicated the family room was reserved for two adults not we stated there were three adults with reserve room had 4 beds. we stated there were three adults booking a Family room with two singles and a bun beds, we have to pay extra when we checked in. there was staffs very diplomatic politely to give us difficulty and there is one staff very sincerely helpful. if there was not a room issue, we think the hotel will have a prefect score. but don't you give score ***** when you have issue with sincerely help

    the Location is prefect. Most tours, buses, and boats, plus airport bus are stopped in front of Hotel, make it very convenience on the ice/snow days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small, so for families I would recommend booking as far out from your stay as possible to try and get the largest room.

    The view across Tromso harbour towards the Arctic Cathedral and mountains is stunning, the hotel breakfast caters for all tastes - there is a lot of variety. It is easy to book tours from the hotel, and walking around the centre of Tromso can be done with ease from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from our room was spectacular. Resturants were walking distance and pick up for tours were either infront of the hotel or just 5 minutes walk away. Airport shuttle also takes you directly from airport to front of hotel entrance. If you take the public bus, it is just a short walk from bus stop to hotel, but longer walk from exit of airport to the public bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room type for families way too small. Impossible to fit four persons in the family suite. Poor design. Room had also not been dusted. Also you can't call something a family suite that doesn't have a bathtub, or tissues, or enough space. Way overpriced for the room size.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy Kystvakt (coastguard) boat with its sharp spotlights were really disturbing in room, because spotlights have lighten already at 8clo in the morning whole room for about 2 hours. The same in the evening. Please turn off the searchlights when you are at coast and mostly before a hotel!! Bathroom quiet designed and new but very unhandy. Windows of shower turns to the wrong side and towel holder 1) too few too small, and 2) highly suspended. Toilet paper roll for replacing under washbasin very unhandy. Probably all designed by men!! Sorry about. Very busy and loud breakfasthall. Find the small room behind to the waterside, there it is silent and homy.

    Top view by windowfront from the room to bridge, arctic cathedral and uphill to Fellhejsen cable car. Window to open!! No Aircondition😐. Heated floor in bathroom perfect. Hotel only one step from downton and Hurtigruten access. Excursion boats very close to reach by walking 3 minutes. Good organisation at desk at arrival and departure. Taxi and buses, also flybusses right beside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the pillows and the mattress are firmer.

    I love the location of the hotel. It was very accessible and convenient to walk to the town center. Several tour operators pick guests from Scandic Ishavshotel and just few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit too small, not enough storage

    The view over Tromsø, the Ice cathedral and the bridge. Breakfast delicious. Nearby city center and Hurtigruten. Northern lights could be seen from outside on the front door

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby layout a little odd but that's just looking for something to write a negative about

    Good room size, average breakfast, great location, good view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an issue with credit card machine when I was checking in, but that was resolved quickly.

    Location was perfect. Cafe/diners/pharmacy/grocery about 2 mins walk away. Most city attractions within walking distance, and the tourist centre about 5mins away. Amazing views from room (on 7th floor). Room also very well laid out, had couch/desk/coffeemaker/extra heater. Large cupboard and are for luggage. Separate bedroom with fantastic bed. Bathroom heated and large. Multiple lifts and easy to navigate to and from hotel. Breakfast was an extensive spread and everything was delicious. Shuttle to airport directly outside hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit too dark with a color scheme, meant to be chic, of black, grays,and white. Combined with the long winter nights, it felt a bit gloomy.

    Great location on the water, spectacular view of harbor. Very close to shops, restaurants, and bus pick up points for tours. They had a very good breakfast with many options to accommodate regional and international tastes. Staff friendly and helpful. Overall a fine choice for a 3 day visit of beautiful Tromso.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife would have liked more strage (drawers) in the room - that's all

    the fact that this hotel lived up to all the trip advisor comments I had read prior to booking and staying there - it sets the standard for Tromso

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is perfectly located for city centre, tour pickup points and accessibility from the airport. The staff were outstanding in assisting to travellers needs. The breakfast had an extensive menu for selection...all completely fresh and hot. Definitely recommend this hotel when looking for a northern lights adventure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really great, clean and modern room. We had an incredible view over Tromso's waterside and city. The breakfast was outstanding, so many fresh, delicious things (from high quality gravelax, mackrel, cheese, meat deli over to smoothies, pancakes, bakeries, to eggs in all varieties, yogurt, tea selection, barista coffee & hot chocolate...well everything you could possibly long for in the morning and of very high quality. Staff was also very kind. Would stay there again with pleasure :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is well located, and the Flybussen Airport shuttles stop right outside. The pick up point for most of the tours and excursions are just across the road - could not have been more convenient. The room was lovely, view incredible, and we had zero complaints. The breakfast buffet is INCREDIBLE. Hot food, cold food, cereals, sweets, savouries, and a barista making coffees. Cannot recommend it enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More storage in the room (we were in a family room, so space was a bit tight). If you're very noise-sensitive, there's a permanent boat in the harbour that hums constantly; it didn't bother us, but it would've been nicer without it.

    Great views across the harbour. Central location. Comfortable beds. Nice shower. Good housekeeping. Awesome breakfast. Bar and restaurant in situ if you wanted it. Nice, chilled-out atmosphere - organised but not too corporate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location and very warm welcoming staff! Nice breakfast with lots of nice choices! Will come back next time for sure. Room is neat and clean ! Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a second chair in the room for northern lights watching!

    Breakfast was incredible. Had a superior fjord view room so watched the northern lights from our hotel room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited and expensive.

    Central location on the waterside. Very modern rooms with great views of the harbour. Fantastic breakfast with a huge range of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here with our dog and the hotel charges you for it without any extra service.

    The rooms may be quite standard, the breakfast is beyond your imagination! Anything you can think of they serve- and more! Location is wonderful - almost everything you want to see and visit is in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking.

    The bed was big and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The room was a little small but clean and modern. The bathroom had heated floors. The view from the room was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an excellent hotel at the best location in Tromso. We were particularly impressed with both the service and the restaurant - especially the breakfast which was outstanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids room had no toys for children of 2 years, no late complimentary checkout for hurtigruten departures

    Breakfast!!!! The best breakfast we had in our Whole trip Wide variety, they claim it to be best breakfast in Norway, id say most probally

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does it have its own parking, the public parking next to the hotel is expensive ( 30 euro from afternoon till the morning next day) There is a cheaper parking 5 min walking

    Very clean, new, high quality, excellent location, nice view. The best breakfast buffet we ever had! And our son was very happy with the Pokémon selection there, just using wifi ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place close to hotel - limited and quite expensive. It is better to park in the undergorund parking place in the town center, but this is rather far form hotel. The dinner menu choice should be more diverse.

    Well placed, fantastic view towards sea and mountain, very kind personnel, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    We stayed for one night. The location was excellent for us as we had left the Hurtigruten boat and the hotel was a five minute walk from the wharf. The bus to the airport left from outside the hotel. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent property with nice view. This was our first place of stay at Northern Norway and it just had the nice start to our holidays. Breakfast spread was simply superb. On a bright sunny day the place adds to its charm. We were lucky. Rooms on the higher floors are better but we chose two interconnected rooms which were are nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't offer after shampooing conditioner or body lotion.

    Fabulous breakfast- best I've encounter anywhere. Friendly, helpful reception. Room rather spartan, but comfortable. Beautiful view and convenient to town. Very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Location as the Hurtigruten ferry literally docks near the front door. Staff were efficient, helpful and competent. It was a safe location for a late evening stroll around central Tromso and the marina. Our stay was short as we caught the bus into Finland at 0730 the next morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is non-smoking inside, and the smoking place outside does not have a roof over it.

    This hotel serves an amazing breakfast and a wonderful lunch. They have a barista at work during breakfast. Their selection of cakes and puddings is famous. They have nice several meeting- and conference-rooms, one is very big. They accomodate well for conferences. The rooms are nice and spacious and have tea/coffe-sets. The lobby is beautiful, with nice decor. The location by the sea and in the center of Tromsø is unbeatable. Many rooms have a nice view over the sea towards the Tromsø Bridge and the famous church Ishavskatedralen. The lobby-"shop" has a good selection of snacks, drinks and amenities. The staff is well trained, fast working, friendly and helpful. The shuttlebus for the airport stop outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel, location was fabulous. Hotel breakfast was extensive, everything you could think of. Staff also very friendly, highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting a king bed but I had 2 singles made up separately and pushed together But when I asked for a sheet (I'm a hot sleeper!) one was quickly provided

    Arrived after midnight. Staff were friendly and welcoming and very helpful The window was super cool!! It opens so many different ways!! Heated bathroom floor was good Great breakfast buffet Reception was so helpful Love Tromso!!! Was an amazing place and I can't wait to go back!' Totally recommend dog sledding, reindeer safari visit and fjord tour (and the lights of course!)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is beautiful and clean. The staff very helpful and nice. We've got an upgraded room with the mountain and fjord view, which was a bonus. Breakfast was amazing, for all tastes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamburgers and pizza everywhere. It's hard to find a good steak around. Even harder to get a soup. Besides that was the most expensive food I've ever seen. Oh, and don't forget the fish. Bring it with you, unless you like it sweet and with cinnamon flavor. If you like a fresh fish, I dare you find it. I couldn't.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy walk from Hurtigruten pier. Incredible breakfast with all kinds of varieties of fish, fresh squeezed orange juice, and James the barista providing custom coffee drinks. upgraded room with harbor view is worth it! Comfortable bed. Free wi-fi Easy to get everywhere

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Ishavshotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: