Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Karl Johan 3 stars

Arbeidergt. 4, 0101 Oslo, Norway

#106 of 193 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3009 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Bed pushed so close to the window that the person on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed pushed so close to the window that the person on the window side had difficulties getting out of bed. Compared to the nice breakfast buffet the take away because of early departure was poor : a sandwich and an apple no juice no water no muffin !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    We only used our closet room to “crash”.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a closet....tiniest room we have ever stayed in. Pictures on the site make the rooms look much larger. Bed just a few inches from end wall. Room under roof, so getting from one side to the other was not easy. No space for suitcases...only a drawer underneath bed. No table...no chair...no room for them...just hooks along the wall.

    Good shower. That’s it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    It was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very very small and there were not many TV channels for foreigners unfortunately. No instructions on how to contact th me reception from the room (no directory)

    Great location and super friendly staff. Breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location - Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great proximity to City Center. Delicious breakfast with wide variety to chose from. Friendly front desk staff - gave us choices for local places to have dinner and both were outstanding. A great value - very happy with our stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in a lovely safe city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suprised and disappointed no mini fridge which seems to be fairly standard these days.

    Great easy to find location,good access to transport,Nice hotel with helpful polite staff.Great breakfast to set you up for the day.Plenty places to eat with a few pubs as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Ok for one, two small for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. No room to put luggage and sit down. A chest could be used for one person to sit, or sort luggage. Otherwise it was sit on the bed. Ok for one person, too small for two. The site indicates it's small, but not as "compact" as it was.

    Very clean and good bathroom. Very friendly staff, helpful. Excellent breakfast. Excellent position.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is pleasant, the location is great and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is pleasant, the location is great and breakfast was superb!! The family room was one room with 2 double beds. Small space for suitcases. one bathroom. We felt a bit pressed together, but it was very clean and nicely decorated and as so -it met our needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, limited basic amenities like toiletries, cupboards etc. Location is a little away from Oslo Central station(around 1.5km), so walking with luggage is a little tough option. Early check-in was not allowed and extra fee was asked for the same.

    All staff were very helpful, well mannered and nice (especially all the check-in female staff). Breakfast options were good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    MUCH LOWER THAN EXPECTATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must pay for early check in desite room is available compared to my revious trip to Paris they do allow early check in without to pay a peny. Room also very small. No air con or heater. Overall not come back again.

    Staff at front desk is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location right in the centre of Oslo but in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor outlook, no fridge, carpet stains in hallway.

    Great location right in the centre of Oslo but in a relatively quiet side street and in easy walking distance of the train station. Very good breakfasts especially the waffles. Comfortable bed, room safe for valuables, good shower, friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Not quite what we expected but nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and not in my opinion a double room.The room was a small single room with a double bed put in Everything from size of duvet etc where single size so.I think Booking .com need to look as to how this "double"is described.So the cost of the room did not match the standard of room we have com to expect from Booking.com.

    The staff were very helpfull and polite,the shower was good ,very clean and very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was RIDICULOUSLY Small for two people. There was not adequate space for baggage

    Great staff. Great location reasonable price. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is right in the middle of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was one of the smallest I've ever been. With two luggages there was literally no room to move around. The breakfast room can at times be really congested. We couldn't find a chair for a long time.

    The hotel is right in the middle of everything. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Great Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could rarely connect to the Wifi at the hotel. It only connected once, but wouldn't do it again. I also didn't like how the window would only open an inch or so (the hotel blocks you from opening it further). It was hot while I was there and it would have been nice to have more outside air since there is no air conditioning. Though on the plus side, the hotel at least had air circulation in the room through the vent, which prevented it from getting too stuffy.

    The location of the hotel is excellent - very central and close to everything in Oslo, including the train station (though I think it's a bit of a far walk with luggage and recommend taking the metro from the train station one stop to Stortinget, which is right by the hotel). The breakfast was good and had a number of different hot and cold options. On the last day, I had an early train and couldn't go to breakfast and the hotel kindly made me a sandwich that was waiting when I checked out, which I really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location in the heart of Oslo, functional and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the corridor and in the rooms was old and dirty and in dire need of replacement. Unfortunately, it was also not entirely vacuumed in our room.

    Excellent location in the heart of Oslo, functional and quirky design, great breakfast. The staff was polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Fairly good breakfasts with a nice selection of herring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floors are dirty in the corridors and rooms as well. Safe was broken in my room. No air-conditioning or flow of air, which makes 10 m2 room unbearable when it is +34 outside.

    Fairly good breakfasts with a nice selection of herring. Big TV with english channels, perfect location with lots of transportation options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeping area is cramped for 2 people but ok for a few nights given its superior location and breakfast.

    Fantastic breakfast location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast but filthy corridors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets throughout the hotel were filthy. It wasn't that they were a bit grubby, there were very obvious stains where liquids had been spilt and no effort made to clean them. Also our double room was very small. The bed was so close to the window that one of us had to climb over the other to get out of it. Also the room had a very large mirror which was fitted to the wall in such a way that it rattled loudly every time a door was closed along our corridor, which happened at all times of the night

    The location of this hotel is excellent, within a few minutes walk of most of the cities main attractions. The breakfast was superb and the staff were very helpful. The price was very competitive especially for Norway. It was just a pity about the negative issues mentioned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    perfect location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect location of this hotel..right next to main shopping street in a quiet side street, kings palace just 5min away, harbour too...perfect for a start in oslo...hotel is nice, rooms are not too charming but we had quite a big room for the 4 of us, so everything ok and would definitely come back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff was extremely helpful and spoke perfect English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed area is cramped for 2 people but manageable for a few nights.

    Staff was extremely helpful and spoke perfect English. The breakfast was fantastic! Bathroom was good size and clean. Location is right off of the main street and the evenings were very quiet which is great for sleeping. Bed is soft as a cloud.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    City center Oslo, close to all main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A noisy and bit hectic full-full breakfast restaurant.

    We choosed a very small room, accordingly to huge prices in Oslo. If you want to read, browse your notebook go down to the lobby. For 2 nights it is perfect to sleep only. Nice staff all the time, a perfect breakfast. Lugagge room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets, maid knocked on my door even though do not disturb was posted outside.

    Easy access to major landmarks & restaurants. The breakfast had so many options and was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit warm and stuffy.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the location was excellent. Close to train and bus stations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    It's small, but nice and cosy for one person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As most have said already, floors in the rooms need to be cleaned! Also, could do with better vegan options for breakfast.

    It's small, but nice and cosy for one person. The location is really good, everything is around the corner. Enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.5
    Quiet room, nice breakfast, nice decor and central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double room was actually suitable for one person only. We were prepared for limited space, but for the person sleeping on the windowside, it was impossible to get out of bed without climbing over the other person. No floor space along the bed.

    Quiet room, nice breakfast, nice decor and central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Central location but poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms can barely move or open bags in there! This is not what I expect for the money I paid...I guess that is Norway pricing The hotel has 7 floors and 1 lift not sure how that works! No wonder the stairways are absolutely filthy...never seen anything like it..and I do travel a lot.

    The breakfast was excellent...location was super too. Easy walk from Oslo central station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel location is excellent and really central to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were actually a joke really uncomfortable and almost impossible to access the inner side of the bed. the price is crazy for the quality of the rooms. found some of the staff quite rude won’t be returning

    The hotel location is excellent and really central to everything, restaurants were close by, but we were there during gay pride so everywhere was packed out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Good value stop with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment on particularly- it’s a uk equivalent of something between a travel lodge and a premier inn

    Breakfast was great. So much variety. Even vegans like us could eat toast, beans, jams, fruits, cereal, salad stuff (bit early). And juices. There was also potatoes but not sure what they were cooked in as we didn’t have any. They also have a gluten free area which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    A little piece of heaven in Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities would have been a bonus

    Superb location, comfy,clean rooms,attentive,friendly staff,fantastic breakfast choice and evening buffet is good value and tasty! Bathrobes and slippers provided too! (Not available in scandic Helsinki).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Unique room decor .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Google map surprisingly couldn’t pin point the Hotel’s exact location

    Unique room decor . Very close to the Royal palace , university , museums and shopping centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is very centrally located and close to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very centrally located and close to all the sights in central Oslo. Very helpful front office staff. Good breakfast. The room was so small that it was even difficult store luggage , amd no closet or a table. On the whole good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no workspace in the room (small desk would be ok);

    - perfect location - in the city center, few minutes from central station, close to metro, - friendly and helpful staff, - tasty breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value Oslo option
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Could hear noise during evening from adjacent busy street with cafes.

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast was one of the best, location was close to transportation options and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect located hotel, but a bit expensive (probably due to the season)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To be able to iron in the room would have been nice. Room is quite small, but also has almost all you need.

    Location is just perfect! TV was good with enough options on it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Many good things but size of room and dirty carpet spoiled it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room and hall dirty also room very small had to crawl over my husband to get in bed not good for older couple

    Breakfast was very good, location excellent, staff was very helpful however the carpet was very dirty and room was VERY small. Bathroom was good and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    good location but not desirable room (small) and no air circulation (hotel said it was broken)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the size of the room is very miserable (I am from Manhattan so I don't have too high demand in term of size). It is smaller than most hotel in the same category that I stayed. I did not expect that in Olso.

    Breakfast buffet is great location is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Hotel needs a complete re furb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tired hotel, room the size of a shoe box, outside temperature was too hot for the air conditioning to work so all they could give me was a small fan the size of a dinner plate.

    Good location near to Karl Johan Gate main road

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly hotel in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and a shower are a little small

    The receptionist was very friendly. We could drink free tea/coffee during the day. The hotel is located in the city center with the quick access to most of the places of the interest. The breakfast was amazing and included smoked salmon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were filthy. Sheets and comforter were itchy. The shower is quite small, so if you have any weight on you, it may be hard to shower comfortably. No AC which we knew upon booking and the hotel really couldn’t change the fact they were in a heat wave but just made the stay uncomfortable, although the staff was kind to provide a fan. I do believe management will need to get AC in the building soon! Also, the hotel next door had construction going on and didn’t help with comfort since we HAD to have the window open to have some kind of “chill” to the room, so it was quite noisy starting around 8am.

    Breakfast was good. Location is perfect. Staff is friendly and helpful. Staff provided a fan and was very accommodating. Bar drinks on site are reasonably priced considering Norway is very expensive to visit to begin with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was a comfortable and convenient base for a fabulous short stay exploring Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small for a family of four (2 adults and 2 children) but was clean and comfortable.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent with a great choice. Great central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable Hotel in Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only real issues we had (and these are really minor): The room itself was on the smaller side (but probably consistent for Oslo). No Air-Con (probably not normally an issue in Scandinavia) but since it was the hottest May on record, the room was very stuffy and with the window open, noisy. We left our towels hung up to be re-used, but house keeping kept replacing them.

    Hotel is in an excellent location, 2 minutes walk from Parliament and Theatre, 5 Minutes from City Hall and the Harbour. The Metro and City Tram Stops are 1 minute away, making it easy to connect to any location in Oslo very easy. The Hotel is well appointed and the complimentary breakfast was plentiful. The WiFi was fast and consistent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first night, I noticed blood on the sheet and also saw that I stepped on a little insect, but I thought it was something that may have enter from outside. In the last day, I noticed a bug on the sheet( I think it is a bed bug). I didn’t know at the moment, but it seems that it is a bed bug because I have a lot of bites now. Never seen them till now. So even though I was extra carefull to wash everything when I came back home, it seems I got most bites after I came home.

    The location was great, in the center. Breakfast had a lot you can choose from, really diverse. Staff was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location - good breakfast - small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room is pretty tiny. One side of the bed shoved into the wall and impossible to move. Hot in summer - couldn’t find controls for a/c anywhere.

    Great breakfast quality. Bathroom small but functional. Great location. Just 30 seconds walk from the Main Street. Quiet nights sleep despite the central location. Perfect for a short stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    The employees were very friendly and the breakfast was good, but the room was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny size of room and lack of chair and desk.

    The room was very very tiny. It was difficult to fit two people in it. There was no desk or chair, so it was very hard to use our computer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very nice staff, rooms small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are pressed up against the wall necessitating a crawl for one person to get in or out of bed

    Great Location, very good breakfast and very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Very average!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, way overpriced & the free bikes were terrible & in need of urgent repairs or better still replacement!

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have a kettle and coffee/tea in the rooms. Additionally, pretty funny that the bathroom has a window in the wall facing the bed so my partner could peek in if he felt like it haha

    Great location, fair price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again next time I go to Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could get a bit stuffy, but that is likely dependent on which room one gets. Seems like the size of the room could vary quite a bit, even within the same room type.

    The price was great for the central location, the staff were very helpful when we had special requests. They immediately moved us into another room when there was an issue with the lockbox in the room. Breakfast was great too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, the breakfast fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told that if we wanted to get the room before 3 pm we could pay extra. I did and later read that the rooms were available from 2 pm. I felt a bit weird having to pay extra for a room that was available anyway and on top of that getting the wrong inforamtion about check in time. The room was very small - no chair and no tea/coffe making facilities.

    The location was great, the breakfast fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Was a good value for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was silly and the room was small. No chair or desk. No view at all.

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Location was central to all a tourist world want to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect - just around the corner from the Parliament. Breakfast had a very wide selection of food and was very tasty. Room was quite small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, Clean, Good Value, Good Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with all Scandic Hotels you have to pay for tea and coffee in reception. Getting it in reception is fine but not too expensive for it to be complimentary. At breakfast, again a Scandic problem in general some cooked items - eggs and bacon were cold.

    Very well located for Oslo and close to station for onward journey. Very friendly and helpful staff at reception. Room was quiet and comfortable. Very good WiFi. Breakfast in Scandic Hotels is mainly excellent with a good selection of quality food and drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel with delicious breakfast. Very small rooms for the price to pay though...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very, very small and little outdated. This was quite a disappointment after staying at newer Scandic hotels before and always having nice spacious rooms. When it comes to value for money on room size the hotel unfortunately scores very low.

    Breakfast is great in this hotel; fresh fruits, bread, vitamin-shots, great start of the day! The location is also very convenient, walking distance from Central Station and near to all central things to do in Oslo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Everything you need for 24hrs in Oslo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked out at the back of the hotel which wouldn't have been a problem (it's a city after all) but that's where the bins were at the time so the smell meant we couldn't open the windows.

    The breakfast was incredible and the staff were the nicest of any hotel I've ever stayed in! Room was compact but had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    very centre location with good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cleanness of carpet in my room and corridor. there was no coffee machine in the room nor refrigerator.

    The location is best area and center of Karl Johan street where everything is very close to you. Central station is just 750 m and nearest Tram is about 400 m. the breakfast was simple but delicious although with limited choices but fresh and smell good. the check in is very fast. the only thing isdon't like is the carpet for my room and corridor as well was old and not clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and bath are a bit small, but enough for a nights sleep

    Truely exceptional staff. I arrived very early and had already asked for an early check in via booking.com. Hotel couldn't promise anything, though. However, staff was prepared, and my request was ready on the desk at arrival, and I got a room already at 8.15 in the morning (at a small additional cost), which was perfect. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Great location and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look messy at lobby area on Sunday when we arrived and we booked two room one for two and one for 3 . We asked twice at redemption for extra bed instead of baby cot . But we had to pull out sofa bed by ourselves and slept without any bedsheet on first night !!! Never happend to me before .

    Great location and very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Good central location, functional and clean room, smooth visit and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had the superior room, which was quite small but still more spacious than the standard one; first impression was that's really small, but ultimately we had what we needed in it and we didn't spend much time in the room anyway; so it's a good balance room/price/location. The bathroom had no ventilation, and the door was hanging awkwardly 2-3cm above the floor, leaving an empty space; the room window faced some depressing interior yard, but not really an issue as we were visiting during day.

    Great location, you can reach everything by foot, it's right on Karl Johan, reasonably close also to Oslo-S (central station). Best thing about the room was the bed and the adjustable electric heaters; also walk-in shower was a plus. There are USB chargers on each side of the bed - nice touch! Breakfast was fine, you could find something for everyone; the day we checked-out we had breakfast at 6:20 (10 mins earlier than scheduled) and we had good options to quickly eat and catch the train, also staff was very understanding. There is a mini-shop at the reception with some nuts, chips and fresh cold fruit salads - which was nice in the evenings. Quiet room, good sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location in hotel which ticks most of the right boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Configuration of room made negotiating room difficult. Safe not working in friends room could not be repaired

    Good value evening meal; good breakfast ; helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    A bit pricey for space provided, but this is compensated by great breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was indeed small, but bearable for a couple of nights. However, its layout was not that comfortable: few shelves to place one’s stuff, hooks with hangers scattered around the room, so that you cannot have all your things in one place. Bed is quite big though.

    Superb location with the parliament, city hall, king’s palace and many other major attractions in close proximity. Also, good shopping facilities. About 6-8 min walk to the harbour to take a boat around fiords. As a great sea-food lover, I enjoyed the breakfast a lot. Space for eating looks stylish, kind of Scandinavian design. There is a dinner buffet in the evenings (except Fridays) which is paid extra, but it’s money-wise compared to local restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of cleaness in the room with too much dust in carpet and curtains

    Excellent location and splendid breakfast Easy access to bus and train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Great for a one night but not so for four
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room (202) was a bit small - insufficient space on window side of bed to get out (too near wall) No tea/coffee facilities in the room. No chair(s) to relax and read or watch TV - have to always sit on the bed. No space to unpack clothes for a 4 night stay Window in the bathroom meant that a visit to the loo during the night lit up the sleeping area too. Room, although having a double bed, had two single duvets (this may, of course, be a Norwegian thing).

    Good central location - especially for transport, Very clean and modern

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    The temperature of the room was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was so small. there was not any closet, and you should hang your clothes beside your bed. There was no mini bar in the room and the guest should go downstairs to buy snacks or drinks.

    The temperature of the room was ok. The room was clean. Staffs were quite polite and well behaved. the location of the hotel is good. You have access to bus and metro stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the centre of Oslo and a great base to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had would benefit from freshening up - it was clean and comfortable but carpet was starting to look a little tired.

    Comfortable and large room, friendly staff. Buffet breakfast varied and substantial. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit narrow. Some extra furniture to store the personal belongings (not to have the all over the room) would have been useful.

    Amazing location and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Book a superior room and check the room size beforehand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room definitely needs to be bigger esp a double bedroom.

    Breakfast - good facilities - good. location - good. Room size - bad :( Room size was extremely small - may be they converted a closet into a room. There was absolutely no space around the bed area to move. The pics dont show the true size of the rooms. Apart from that the facilities were fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location, perfect breakfast but with stuffy rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The rooms were too small and stuffy. There was no table nor chair to work on. The bed alone took the entire space of the room. The towels sometimes were too wrinkled and the carpet was not vacuum cleaned

    The breakfast buffet was the best during my entire stay. It was varied, colorful and fresh

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    location, breakfast,bed, personell perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower is very small

    Breakfast was plenty incl. gluten+lactose free. room was small but comfortable, loved the floorheating in the bathroom! location +++

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! :)

    Friendly and very helpful staff, excellent location. Rooms were small but adequate as we were only in them to sleep. Breakfast was great too and use of lockers after check out was extremely useful :) loved it here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location and nice enough if you don´t mind wrinkled clothes
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no real place for the clothes, 3 hangers randomly around the room is not enough for a few days stay. Neither was there a fridge or tea or coffee available in the room.

    The shower was hot and powerful and the heating in the floor a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Only reason to stay is because of the superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is like staying in a pidgeon hole. We had a room on the 7th Floor, with the ceiling sloping down had to hunch body to reach the end. We had to walk like a crab to reach the other of the bed. Really cannot imagine how the "Vikings" size move about in the room.

    The Buffet breakfast spread is superb. We picked this place because of its excellent buffet review. We wanted to try their dinner buffet as well, unfortunately only available from Mon to Thurs. Very near to Central Station - walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast with a lot of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was ridiculously small with barely enough space for 2 people, and view from the window was to the back of some building. Also, quite loud at night with people in the streets (we stayed a weekend), but it quietened down after a while.

    Great breakfast with a lot of variety. Option of connecting your tablet/mobile/laptop to TV was pretty good as we could watch our own programs if we wanted to. Bathroom was great with fantastic water pressure and rain shower. Very clean room and comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location, room a little on the small size.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small especially with the lack of seating in the room. Makes sitting on the bed as the only option. Lack of in room tea/coffee facility is a deal breaker for me, especially when you are staying for a few nights on your own.

    Good location for the work I was doing. Good value buffet in the evening. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Shower and bathroom with heated floor. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was in a good location with a nice breakfast. Adequate for one nights' stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very compact and smaller than expected for the price of the room compared to other Scandic hotels I have stayed in. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Would not want to stay for more than one night in the room I booked as too small.

    The location of the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice of food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast offering a large variaty of warm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small; Room was facing a small street with heavy delivery/colection activity in the early morning hours;

    Very good breakfast offering a large variaty of warm and cold food; Very friendly and helpful staff; Check-Out time 12:00 very convenient; God location in the center of Oslo;

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Karl Johan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: