Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Oslo City 4 stars

Europarådets Plass 1, 0154 Oslo, Norway

#69 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 840 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is hard to find in the area.

    The hotel is in a great location in the middle of oslo. Crew was very nice and helpful. The room was clean , the bed is comfort and sheets are clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect for arrivals by train to central railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of hotel staff was very pleasant, however during the breakfast the cleaning lady requested me and others who were just finishing eating and drinking to go out immediately arguing that she needs to start making tables clean after breakfast end time which is 9:30 sharp.

    Location is perfect for arrivals by train to central railway station and very convenient to reach everything you made need in Oslo; excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location with lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Space around bed uncomfortable small. Tiny bathroom. Corridors not on same level - difficult to move a big suitcase , even with wheels. Our room was almost at the end of the building and very close to Karl Johans Gate, which made it quite noisy.

    Excellent location regarding various forms of transport, supermarkets, tourist sights. Excellent breakfast : big variety, flavoursome, many gluten free options. Coffee machine available all day long. Comfy lounge area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy here and there, hotel is situated near the main railway station - you won't hear trains, but the human beings usual chit chat screaming round the main railway station like everywhere else - nothing extraordinary I'd say.

    Perfect location in the city centre. Near the airport-train stop. Oslo isn't big city, so you can reach everything by foot. Nutritious breakfast, a lot seafood, excellent!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size is not so confortable. We had 30 cm on the sides of the bed... 😅 The size of the bed is also small.

    The location is top, exactly near the Central railway station, from here you can visit everything: the Opera House is 3 minutes walk. The city center with all the shops and caffes is 5 minutes walk. The Hotel is very nice and clean. The breakfast is amaising!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Not perfect but great stay anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small, the double bed is definitely smaller than usually. It also took some time to have hot water in the bathroom. And rooms are not very sound proof, you hear some noise from outside and the other rooms.

    The breakfast is great, with a lot of choice. Very friendly staff, very good location. The fitness room was nice (4 machines). The wifi works well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Super centrally located, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but for the price and a few nights perfectly fine.

    Great location, right at the central station, next to two malls and the main shopping street. Everything easy to reach, most sightseeing points in walking distance Fabulous breakfast with all you need, even a special buffet with gluten free products. Nice gym with new and good equipment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    This is our third review for a five day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The square was cluttered with preparations for a ferris wheel set up etc alomg with all the construction and the amount of gypsies in the square while being central the general area wasnt one you wanted to stay in

    This is our third review for a five day stay. Once we upgraded to a bigger room it was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, really enjoyed the breakfast and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial,room was small without facilities. In front of,the Hotel is a square opposite the station and it is very busy.

    Iwe chose to up grade to a junior suite it was well worth it for extra space. Separate lounge area, fridge, jug,iron and ironing board also were included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location next to the Central station and Karl...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no kettle, tea/coffee in the room.

    Excellent location next to the Central station and Karl Johans Gaite, the main street. Perfect base to explore the city. Rooms are nice with extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Breakfast was absolutely stunning with lots of different and healthy options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good Location for all trips near by to Central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi just with Access Code from reception; No Mini bar in the room and even no water by bottles in the room

    Good Location for all trips near by to Central Station/speedtrain airport; at beginning of Main Street and near to opera They changed my room from inside-room to a room with more Windows and better view without any complains/complications; good value/price relation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. Loved Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be better with tea making facilities in the room

    We stayed in the hotel a few days ago and it was a little disappointing. The floor was wood, the bed overly soft, the room tiny and disturbed sleep due to outside noise (Friday & Saturday nights). As we were returning we asked for a quieter room. Our room was facing into the centre of the hotel, was bigger, quieter, with carpet and a better bed. A much better stay second time around. The breakfast buffet is fantastic and hotel location brilliant, central and great for train arrivals. Would stay again, in the second room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.4
    Location was great, in front of the Oslo central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dark, not enough light and had no view. The amenities offered were below average, the TV channels were limited and primarily Norwegian.

    Location was great, in front of the Oslo central station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay, perfect location, good breakfast, free wi-fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit too small, with little room for our luggage. AC in the room made the room too dry. At times the dining room where they served breakfast was too crowded.

    Very good and complete breakfast. Room was comfortable, very clean and bathroom had heated floor which in the winter was a delight. Location was perfect, right outside the central station and we could walk to everywhere from our hotel. It was also very close to amenities (pharmacy literally downstairs, shopping mall, station, restaurants).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money - especially considering how pricey Olso is - would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been a bit bigger (not exactly double). Would be better to have 1 double duvet rather than 2 single ones.

    Very nice breakfast - lots of options and quality was great. Free luggage storage room after check-out - great for keep exploring the city in the afternoon. Recommended for people looking to explore Oslo and it's surroundings - very good transportation links due to its location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Disapointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I book 4 star hotel, I expect that some basic criteria is fulfilled, such as eg. basic toiletry, slippers, laundry bags, toilet brush to clean toilet seat, cleanlines, etc. In this hotel all previous failed plus hotel in general was very worn out looking and things here and there were hanging, sofa had stains on it, also toilet had some marks of usage and lack of care taking. Room was not cleaned yet when we checked in. Minibar was replaced by a store downstairs from where you can buy whatever you want to carry it back to your room (don’t mind that so much). To me it looks like the hotel management has wrong priorities. The photos on website promised much more. Next time I will not choose Scandic hotel anymore. I’m so much disapointed to these small details I described above which sum up to poor experience excluding staff and breakfast. But really, no toilet brush? To my opinion and comparison to other 4 star hotels, I would give this hotel max 3 stars, maybe 2.5 without friendly staff.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Also breakfast was as abundat as previous reviewers noted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    A really welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Coffee facilities and a fridge in the room would have been great.

    The staff were amazing the location was just terrific - best Scandic buffet! I even became a 'Scandic Friend' at this hotel as I was staying at a further 4 Scandics on my vacation. They had some great deals available at the restaurant for Scandic members that they actually tell you about!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Correct but basic hotel close to central station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is too basic and small. It reduces the comfort.

    The location was perfect as we had to travel with train. It was ice freezing, but we have been saved as it was so close to central station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location - right across from the station and near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room looked into a square between buildings and overlooked other hotel room windows.

    Excellent location - right across from the station and near to lots of hotels and within walking distance of most attractions in the city (Opera House, Vigelands Park, Grunerlokka etc.) The room we had was quiet as didn't overlook the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Really liked a later breakfast time at the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facility in the room

    Really liked a later breakfast time at the weekend. Location was great central location. Staff friendly at any time of day or morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent comfort and location at an acceptable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Never seen it in a Scandic hotel but a minibar at the reception is not the same as in the room. On the other hand it had quite a lot to offer.

    Excellent bed and nice bathroom. Very friendly staff. Handy check-in and check-out facilities. The location is also nice, next to the central station and other public transport. Always taxis around as well!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    I will come back to Oslo on business and I will use this hotel perfect location for central Oslo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely polite, they provide an excellent selection at breakfast of hot and cold food. I will use again as suited my needs. They also have an excellent conference room which I used during my stay for a business meeting with 40 people and it was more than adequate, the equipment provided for computer presentations and refreshments etc provided were also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful location, central to everything in Oslo. Fabulous breakfast with every imaginable item.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room lighting was strange: turning on the bathroom light also turned on half of the room lights, so you'll wake up your partner if you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. Location is immediately adjacent to some loud karaoke clubs, though the windows did a decent job at blocking the noise.

    Wonderfully generous breakfast: usual Scandinavian selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals/museli, hot and cold drinks, eggs, and so on. Lots of room to spread out over breakfast as the dining area is quite large. Friendly food service staff. Front desk staff is friendly, and offered dining suggestions as their restaurant was closed when we arrived. Bed was comfortable, and there's just enough space in the room for two people with luggage. A space heater was included, but we did not need to use it. Perfect location: 5 minute walk from Oslo S, the central train station. 1 minute walk from a major bus/tram station, offering connections to pretty much anywhere you'd need to get within Oslo. Surrounded by restaurants big and small, expensive and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and decor is depressing. Hair dryer did not work. Major renovation urgently needed. Called reception twice from room but no one answered. The room was just below srandard for the price paid.

    Proximity to central station. Breakfast food variety. Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Looking for a great hotel in Oslo? Book this!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, very good beds. Clean and just what you need if wanting to stay downtown Oslo. Breakfast included lots of variations, plenty of restaurants just outside the hotel. Walking distance to The Royal Palace and The Parlament building (Stortinget). HopOn/HopOff buses just a couple of minutes away, taking you to all sights you want to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Negative cost-benefit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was priced at NOK 2.600, but the room should under no circumstances have been price outside a range of NOK 1.200 (low demand) - 1.600 (high demand). Size, furniture, tapestry, lighting, workspace, electricity (none of the Electric contacts worked except the one in the bathroom)..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is public and few hundred meters away, very small shower, too soft pillows.

    Location, staff, room view, breakfast, soft bed, cleanliness, minibar options next to Reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Great location average hotel with high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dirty, floor so dirty we did not use the shower. Lots of noise from 3 to 5 am on streets heard in room. Liggage room smelled and was not secure, we rented excellent lockers at train station across the street.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.0
    Worst hotel experience in all my years of travel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered and paid for 2 twin rooms 8 months in advance. On arriving we were told there were none available and the reception staff were totally indifferent and unhelpful. If the option was available when I booked then I expect to get it when I arrive. This hotel is not cheap and our experience with the staff was terrible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant location and functional place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could use a bit of a clean. Bathroom sink was slow to drain and carpets left a bit to be desired. Sofa bed really uncomfortable.

    Location is superb, quick walk to most locations (but Cty is quite compact anyway) and the public transportation hub. Breakfast was also brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Only for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the rooms, booked a superior room that have a description of 20m2, and in fact it has max 10m2, and bathroom like 3m2. Confirmed with the reception that it was a superior room. So be careful with your hotel selection. Also the common space is really small not much space for breakfast. Not a fit for sucha number of guests.

    Great location, near the station and all the must see. Good communication spot. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Ideal for weekend trip to Oslo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was somewhat little for the breakfast "rush hour" but after waiting for a couple of minutes finally found a nice table

    Very clean, very helpful staff, very family-friendly. Delicious breakfast with a huge variety of fish! Location right in City Center and close to railway Station, so ideal for a Weekend stay in Oslo.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small for two. Maybe good for a couple but not for friends.

    Perfect location just outside the railway station. The breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer in the bar was too expensive. The price for 2 glasses(300cc, 500cc) of beer was about 15 euro. There was no safety box in room.

    Breakfast box for early check-out was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Love Norway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very easy to get around, right in the city and really close to the station which was great for me as I was traveling to Trondheim by train.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    I'd go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not remember anything bad.

    It is just across the train station, on a big place, and is 3-5min walking to center. The hotel is not brand new, but is very clean and comfortable. The room we had was big. We loved the breakfast buffet, it was excellent. People at the reception were very nice too. I had a problem with my credit card which took me at least an hour to solve. Nevertheless, they gave us the room key and my family could rest while I was fixing the problem. It was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, good breakfast, rooms functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light switches were odd (bathroom light attached to room light - not ideal when 4 people in a room), sofa bed was very squeaky.

    Location, kid friendly, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Quiet, large room with 5-bar-strength wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, friendly, helpful and professional. We booked a Queen room & it was large with a sofa, armchair and coffee table as well as the usual desk, chair, wardrobe, minifidge etc. Loads of floor space. Very quiet with no noise from other guests or outside. Large bathroom with bath and shower-over. Wifi was always 5-bars. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Superb location, value for money, great staff and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is right outside Oslo Central in the heart of Oslo city. That makes it Super convenient. Nothing fancy but the hotel functions as smoothly as it can get with great staff making it ever more pleasant a stay. Very nice breakfast spread. All of this for not much compared to other comparable properties in other European cities. Loved it and would recommend strongly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Central Oslo Gem across street from train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was fair value so for money paid I have no complaint. No parking or convenient offloading for those arriving by car but not an issue for me.

    Super convenient location,easy to get to from airport and convenient to central Oslo. Booked 5 rooms for 10 people and all was in order. I sent an important package ahead and thy trackedit and delivered to me on my arrival. service was friendly and excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a greater location. Couldn't ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kerbs along corridors. My husband and girl tripped over them. But no harm done.

    Location. Size of room we booked for a family of 4. Comfort of room. Friendly and helpful staff. Sumptuous breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    City accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred tea/coffee making facilities & bar fridge in the room (the only tea/coffee making is in foyer at a cost). As we were travelling as a couple we also would have preferred two chairs in the room, not one.

    Closeness to station made it easily accessible for us after travelling by train from Copenhagen. The Standard Room was moderate in size but comfortable & well appointed, however the shower is a bit on the small side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Location, friendly staff and breakfast = happy me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only way to swing a cat in your room is to get a kitten.

    The location is so close to the station you could trip over the hotel before you find it. Book in advance to get the best price. Our room went from $270 to well over $500 as the time approached. Breakfast was one of the best around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great. The hotel is exactly opposite to the central station. It's very easy to go shopping or dining. The room is normal and the price is reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.3
    Check out if there are renovation works in the hotel opposite!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel but during my stay they had major renovation and road works opposite the hotel that went on until 04:00 in the morning - the worst experience I have had in 30 years travelling.

    Locality to Centre was good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    5.0
    Book a more expensive room if you need to book this hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no electricity kettle, no mini bar, water power of the shower are weak,tiny table, dark room, and the location are in rough neighborhood...

    Convenience location when you get a direct trip from Airport and central station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.0
    we stay in this hotel first time but we not come back
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wwe was with baby long time we wait in recepsion. women who working in recepsion talking by phone and didnt look at us. she was not smily. no place to eat with kid. restorant open only 17 .00 and meniu ...... no worlds. but price for living very big.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    Great deal for money, considering central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just cuz it is an old building, it is not an instant excuse to do not put even touch up paint on walls or hide some, even thou small, holes. In general room was tidy, but found some hair in the bathtub and sink.

    Next to Central Train Station, Centrum, Shopping and restaurants. Nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.8
    Easy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and accomadating. Breakfast was wonderful! I booked a room for the night when I arrived at the hotel. Great location across from express train to airport!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    The location was fantastic, right next to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic, right next to the train station. Breakfast was included and was excellent, had lots of variety. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    6.7
    Perfect location if you want to be close to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old. There's a lot of uneven wood stuff on the hallways causing me to trip a couple of times. Our stay was okay, could be better. Not a 4-star.

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location in Oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woul have preferred breakfast to have started earlier on a Saturday (0700 instead of 0730) as we were catching the train to Trondheim at 0802 so were not able to fully enjoy the superb breakfast spread to its full potential!

    Location of hotel was good, opposite Oslo Sentral station. Close to many bars and restaurants and city centre sights within walking distance. Check in staff very friendly.Room was clean and quiet as overlooked central atrium not the street.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    Apart from the poor evening meal everything else was great - would definitely stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room lighting over the desk could be better when working. Had to send my meal back when I had dinner as the steak was totally overcooked and impossible to cut.

    Excellent breakfast choice - comfortable spacious room - very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nobody to take luggage to the room which is strange

    excellent location near all sorts of public transport including the main train station there is a supermarket right behind the hotel very close to many shops and restaurants a few minutes walk from the main street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.3
    Everything you need for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - room was a bit small, but that isn't unusual for a standard room in that central location

    - great location next to the central station and shopping street - a lot of restaurant around the hotel - very friendly stuff - the room was clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is dark. The lamps are not sufficient to light up. Hairs in towels, twice :( Shower room is quite small. To store your luggage after check-out, you have to go down to the basement floor, and there is no elevator down there. So it can be troublesome if luggage is heavy.

    Location. Breakfast. Bed. Very quiet ( Don't forget to ask for a room facing the courtyard).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    5.0
    Pretentious supposed 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem in which our room wasn't cleaned up, we let the staff at the reception know, and little did they do about it even though it was in the afternoon. The toilette was loose. The place was full of corridors with not so clear signs and there was dirty cluttery around the corridors.in general it gave a loomy look.

    Breakfast and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    Maybe better next time?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaning: when we checked in our room there was still something left on the floor from the previous guests. Window insulation: terrible. Our room was facing a square which is very busy and noisy (not to talk about how dirty the square was because of many Romani people stalling there 24h and throwing bottles and plastic cups just on the pavement). It was like sleeping with the window open. Air conditioning: too cold. What for in a Scandinavian city when temperature is below 22C? We asked the reception to lower it, but they said it was centrally controlled and couldn't do much but giving us a portable heater.

    Great breakfast buffet. Very rich and varied. Strategic location: central and close to many bus and tram lines, and to the main railway station and the famous new Opera. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    In the city centre with public transportation at the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room facing a backyard with some vent noise. Little space and to few tables in the breakfast room

    In the city centre with public transportation at the front door. Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Convenient and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room we stayed in was an odd shape - long, thin and dark - ask for a room with good light

    Excellent breakfast buffet Friendly, helpful staff Good gym and sauna facilities Comfortable rooms Free Wifi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    A pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some room amenities can be added such as hot teapot, tea & coffee, mug and spoon, hair drier

    Excellent location with high standard breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel but getting breakfast very difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has many coach groups staying but is completely unable to offer breakfast to them all at once so individual travellers like us lose out in what can only be described as a scrum of people taking everything in sight! The area around the hotel has gone down hill in recent years, lots of beggars hanging out nearby - a pity as not typical of Norway

    Freindly staff and comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    6.7
    This is a just an average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small. Plus, there was no way to turn on the light just in the bathroom. The lighting switch was also turning the lights on in the room which was very annoying.

    The hotel is located very close to the central train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    7.5
    Oslo short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    although we didn't partake, the fruit on sale in the lobby area seemed to be left there too long!

    The location of the hotel. Our room didn't face the street thus although no interesting views no noise either!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    8.3
    Excellent hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing at all to complain about.

    Very close to central station making it a very convenient location. Rooms are decent and clean. Bed is very comfortable. Nice staff. The breakfast spread is very good with great choice of eggs, bacon, cold cuts, salmon and herring, cheeses, breads, cereals and much more. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    7.5
    Amazing location and breakfast spread, but noise from the street somewhat of an issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the street was substantial. Better noiseproof windows are needed. Also, interior hallways were looking a bit tired.

    breakfast is amazing, really top notch, and the breakfast room is really nice. Location is also terrific, next to train station and the most walkable part of Oslo, so nothing is too far. Rooms are clean and up to date.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast buffets
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast buffets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Very old hotel but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel

    Good location. It is near by train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was the best !
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very very small sized

    Location was the best !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location for a short trip at oslo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness what not great

    The location and proximity

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff particularly helpful when we were tracing lost airline luggage. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Great facilities in room, bed is comfortable, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is really small and hardly to turn around when taking bath.

    Great facilities in room, bed is comfortable, good ventilation in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly reception and service staff, very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly reception and service staff, very close to the railway station and shopping street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly older hotel.

    Good location.breakfast and staff are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Oslo City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: