Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Scandic Parken This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Storgata 16, 6002 Ålesund, Norway

#3 of 16 hotels in Ålesund

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1607 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Location was great within walking distance to most attractions. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is absolutely amazing. The wait staff was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay here again if going to Alesund.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.5
    Quiet and comfortable for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee available when we checked in, nothing in the room. We were told it could be available at 1700.

    Good parking. Helpful check in. Room was quite spacious with good powerful shower. Good breakfast choice but busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Location: 5 minutes walking from bus from the airport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No help from the staff about sightseeing

    Location: 5 minutes walking from bus from the airport and less to the Hurtigruten; good breakfast; nice lobby to crash in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is expensive.

    Very nice hotel. Clean room and modern hotel. Breakfast is good. Location is great. It is just right in front of the entrance to the park where you can take the stairs up to Viewpoint. And it is right in town center. We are even upgraded to a better room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.3
    Overall a very good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was a bit old but their facilities are new

    Central location Parking at the hotel (chargeable though) Very good breakfast Helpful stuff Great room views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    All neccesary services for the travelers (even a computer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    All neccesary services for the travelers (even a computer that we used for a photos backup). Location is great and view from the big window of the high floor is amazing (we were on the 6th). It was a pure pleasure for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    window faced the parking lot at street level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    window faced the parking lot at street level. Lots of conversation/people smoking outside the window - a bit awkward. Lighting was OK in the room - but a shame to keep the blinds closed at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Really really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were so pleased with this hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the room lovely and spacious with a great view, the beds super comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. The location is perfect. An easy walk to everything and just a short stroll to the climb up the hill for the amazing view of Alesund. For a chain hotel this ticked all the boxes. The breakfast was incredible.Such a selection and they make a special juice fresh every morning that give you the boost one needs when travelling. We couldn't fault this hotel. Not usually a fan of chain hotels but this one would change our mind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Great hotel with extraordinary breakfast, big room and comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in the bathtub, would prefer only a shower without getting the room wet. But that is only a preference, The hotel is extraordinary.

    Breakfast was the best we had! Fantastic! Really great! And the bed was very comfortable. And enough space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    This hotel hits all the high notes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we had to leave.

    Great location above the town, fantastic breakfast (extensive, varied, delicious, everyone should be able to find something they like – the best of the Scandics we visited), and very personable and helpful staff. Whoever designed the rooms and selected furnishings definitely had guest comfort as a top priority. Very nice handicap-accessible bathroom. Comfy bed. Very clean. We loved sitting in the two egonomic easy chairs at sunset time, sipping wine, enjoying the “best seat in the house”. We had booked a regular room through booking.com but are glad we decided to pay a little bit more for an upgrade. This room had a frig.; don't know if the originally-booked one did. The hotel is convenient to exploring downtown – and it’s the nearest hotel to the park where you start the 418 step climb to the top of the mountain for the “postcard shot”. The booking.com listing doesn’t list a hairdryer, but one is provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.8
    If you like a room with a view this is the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I'm fed up complaining about "hotel" parking which isn't. Booking.com should introduce a rule about proper description of the parking facilities.

    We were offered an upgrade to a superior room on the 8th floor which had a fantastic view. The 30 euros a night were well worth it. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    9.6
    Good modern hotel in the centre of Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is problematic, but it was in all of the Norwegian cities that we visited

    This is a modern, very comfortable, centrally located business hotel. The view over the harbour was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Amazing breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the hotel being nearly empty, we were put in a room below the floor which was being renovated...where the builders started drilling at 7.30am.

    Amazing breakfast spread. Only...where does all the leftover food go...hopefully not in the bin...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.3
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price as usual in Norway. No parking except the very expensive aside the hotel.

    Good hotel with nice view, a bit outside of the city. Excellent breakfast. Restaurant was a good surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed several days and had an amazing time. However, on more than 2 occasions, the hotel cook staff in the buffet station were warm and welcoming to Caucasians yet cold to Asian decent customer. The only blot to a great holiday in Alesund. Have to point out though that the receptionists, housekeeping and wait staff were amazin - warm and really friendly.

    accessibility and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.5
    Just fine for one night stay with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were clean, but starting tonget outdated. No sockets next to bed (come on, it is almost 2018), bed was way to soft and very uncomfortable pillows. And showering in bath is soooo 2001.. For a 4 star hotel there were almost no aminities in the bathroom. So all with all, fine for one night but don’t expect any 4 star experience.

    Good location in Ålesund centre, easy to walk around town and walk up to Aksla viewpoint (must do!). Absolute fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit of a hassle. We could park for free outside until 10:00 in the morning since we arrived on the weekend, but after we had to pay and keep an eye on the time.

    Excellent breakfast, nice staff and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    Relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rich selection for breakfast. I think everyone should be pleased with the offer. Excellent position. Within a 5’ walk you can reach any point of attraction in Ålesund.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception was a bit cold.

    Excellent location, the breakfast buffet was perfect with lots of choice and good quality food. Lot's of space in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.2
    Best breakfast ever, amazingly huge range of food to choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were surprised with no kettle in the rooms, should be a standard for a 4 star hotel. But reception managed to find one for us for our entire stay so well done! :)

    Best breakfast ever, amazingly huge range of food to choose from. All of great quality. Very friendly staff that managed to complete all our requests. Highly recommendable place!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, comfortable bed, everything was clean and we slept well. The breakfast buffet is truly outstanding - I have never seen so much choice anywhere else! The only thing I missed was a better selection of green tea; there were lots of different teas but nearly all black. The wifi worked great, and all the reception staff were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    8.0
    Cleanliness + comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single travellers frequently get rooms at the back or at least in the least desirable part of the hotel. Really missed ability to make hot drinks in room. Wine or cold drinks no use for bedtime drink.

    Cleanliness + comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    10
    Stay in comfort in Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee facilities in room.

    Congratulations to the fine team of workers at Scandic Alesund. From the cheerful checkin girls to the team keeping the breakfast room running despite big crowds, thank you! Our room had comfortable sitting chairs as well as a comfy bed. Easy walk to Hurtigruten Terminali and all downtown attractions. Dinner suggestions from staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    10
    We were given an upgrade to a suite which was really lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a little challenging

    We were given an upgrade to a suite which was really lovely with a big balcony. Nice view over the town. Staff were very helpful Breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in an amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was located at the same level and overlooking the parking so the view was quite bad. Bathroom flooded when showering.

    The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. Shower was great even though the entire bathroom got wet in the process. Breakfast was good but coffee was not great and there was not much variety of fruits. There were some and that is appreciated. All in all the range was extensive. The location is good, a few meters away of the park to climb Mount Aksla. So when it didn't rain it was nice to hike up and look at the amazing view. One of the best views I have ever seen in my travels. Although there are a bunch of good restaurants by the canal, they are not super close by. The hotel has a good restaurant, pricey though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are three Scandic hotels in Alesund, We received bad directions from the boat and managed to visit all three before finding the right one! Not so fun with suitcases on cobblestone.

    Very convenient to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.3
    the breakfast was very rich, the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the fact that there was no free parking and you had to paid in the parking hotel and outside. When I booked it I was under the impression that the parking hotel was free. Paying 25 euro for 24 hours its a lot.

    the breakfast was very rich, the room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Great value for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast selection was okay, however, I missed a few things

    A view to the open ocean from the room (605). Clean and spacious room with comfortable beds. Cozy lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    7.5
    Disapointed by the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got room for disabilities, the bathroom was very UN-convinience. It must be state when we are getting the room, and I should have the option to refuse.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.9
    Well located hotel, with nice views if you get a room on high floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was not that good but window could be opened wide to get fresh air.

    I had a lovely quiet room with a view over the sea, bed was comfy. The included breakfast was excellent with lots of choice (although area was crowded when a tour group was at the hotel). Situated up a steep street, but right near the park, and only a short walk to the bus station and main areas of the town. There was a minibar, but no safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.2
    Good location, close to any site seeing of Alesund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room at the ground flour with view on the parking, with cars parking just in front of the window; Not good for privacy. The shower does not have any cubicle and make the whole shower room wet, slippery and also wetting the toilet paper (the toilet face the shower place, not having a cubicle was a bad idea from those who designed the place).

    Good location, close to any site seeing of Alesund. The rooms are clean and the breakfast (I got it included in the price) is worst to get because the buffet is very big with a lot of choice and more importantly with not so bad quality food, which is rare in hotel chains!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    10
    Alesund - Great hotel, great position, amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was a very nice hotel, in a great position, walking distance of minutes to the harbour and lovely restaurants. Very clean very tidy, but the main thing was the breakfast....best buffet breakfast choice we have seen in Norway. Excellent doesn't come near to fully describing it. Parking was in a secure garage under the hotel, perfect. Would recommend Kabb restaurant in town also. It is so good we are going to book there again on this trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.3
    Best for Price !
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to start refreshing the rooms . First floor rooms are renovated . But going up the rooms are staying the same for many years now .

    The restaurant and breakfast are always on top of there game . Have been staying in this hotel for many years now and it never gets old . Keep up the good work .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotell Extreamly good breakfast :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise from parkinplace just outside room. And much noise from room byside ouer room.

    No Kingzise bed, only 2 saparate.... Good bed , good room and ekstreamly good breakfast !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    8.8
    good location and provide great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking provided by the hotel, but I am lucky enough to find a parking lot just outside the street.

    The breakfast is the greatest among my trip in Nordic. Although they don't offer free coffee at the lobby, the receptionist is so nice to provide us the coffee bags and cream. The room size is nice too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    3.8
    I will not choose it again any hotel of Scandic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast changes to worse over the weekend, I suppose by its full .... but they stop serving things that you find during the week, like freshly baked omelette, or various types of bread and jams. Staff did not attend to your needs, by mistake I did not clean the room, until then no problem, but I asked them to only have 30 minutes to rest before leaving, to clean it later .... and they refused, so they did not do it Feel like a customer who chooses a hotel to rest from their trip. It indicates that there is transportation to the airport, but it does not start until 10 in the morning, if your flight is before, you do not have that service. This is my second time at the Scandic chain, and I will not choose it again (hotel Lillehammer is the worst)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    8.5
    The view from the room was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit too much expensive.

    The view from the room was awesome. The position is very comfortable, one minute walk from the harbour. The path to the Aksla Viewpoint starts from the park just behind the hotel. A bus to the airport leaves from the hotel. Many restaurants are within walking distance. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet included in price was very rich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location but ask for a front view room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of our rooms, had no view just industrial buildings and a roof where the chefs ran along so we couldn't open the curtains. Was there with my 81 year Mum to see A-HA she was so disappointed not to have a view!!

    The location of the hotel and the staff were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When double bed was split to make it a twin room, the bed was a little small. Fine for me but maybe an issue if you're a bit larger. Also not an issue but bring a travel kettle as I did if you want a drink in your room.

    Good facilities,fridge in room, amazing breakfast, friendly staff, good location, close to airport bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Nice Park Location above Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a beautiful panoramic view of the town and water from our room. The hotel staff were very warm, welcoming and ready to answer questions about the town and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    9.6
    A secure choise! :)
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat "thin walls". My neighbours were partying until 05:00 and restarted their party bonanza at 08:00. But I didn't complain to the hotel staff until departure at 12:00, so the hotel is hardly to blame.

    A good sized newly renovated room with modern furnitures and a nice view even though it was towards the parking lot behind the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    10
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Arrived off the ferry at 00.30. Reception staff was really welcoming and friendly. No hassle checking in - very easy and just what was needed at that hour. Room was lovely - fabview of the town. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that I could not get points on my Scandic Friends card since I booked through Booking.com. This makes me to book directly to the hotel next time.

    Fantastic breakfast. Had a room with a beautiful view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the bus terminal to hotel is about 10 minutes walking distance, and walking up slope to hotel, it will be a little bit tired.

    Breakfast is nice and room is clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.2
    Good option with great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much..bed a little simple/uncomfortable.

    As others have noted, amazing breakfast buffet - the quality and selection easily one of the best I've ever seen. Easy walking distance pretty much anywhere in Alesund, and directly in front of the park that leads up Aksla. Wifi fast and easy to use

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.2
    Beyond expectations! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing that was a bit uncomfortable - I had one big bed, but actually it was made of two small ones - so sleeping closer to each other was difficult. But book it! it is worth it!! :)

    I don't think you can imagine better location than this one. Just outside the Byparken! Right away you can get to the stairs that lead you to the most amazing view spot - Aksla. View from the top - breathtaking! But also view from the rooms - incredible! We had a room on 8th floor and there was a wow effect when you enter the room and see the view on the city. Another amazing thing was the breakfast... I was couple of places and experience great breakfast before, but this one.. is beyond expectations! There was everything! Literally anything you can expect! Hot dishes made within the dining area, gluten free deserts, energizing shakes, local fishes, etc. It happens that there is a lot but some stuff is just not good, here - everything was delicious! And the staff - totally positive! Moreover, they serve you coffee to the table during the breakfast :) I will be back for sure! Already cannot wait! :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    Surprisingly amazing hotel in the heart of Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at check-in was super friendly and offered us a room on the 5th floor with amazing view of the harbour, the sea and the islands. Breakfast exceeded our expectations, was varied and of excellent quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    8.8
    Great Location and Superb Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Scandic Parken mostly praised for its wide varieties of breakfast spreads and honestly thats the first reason we choose this hotel. And we are not disappointed. So many foods to choose. I, being a muslim no problem choosing and getting "halal" foods here. The lobby area also very cosy and big. You can walk everywhere from this hotel and they provide Airport Shuttle with a price, but still better than to take taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    10
    Hotel in the heart of Alensund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have doubts about allowing guests to have dogs stay in their rooms.

    Location, excellent breakfast, helpful staff, good size room, clean hotel. It is the large building in the image.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    Reasonable price hotel near Fjellstua and Flybuss stop!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Early Check-in. I was not expected to be able to check in earlier than the actual checking-in time. I arrived at 12 and the receptionist just told me my room was ready and I could just check in. Traveling with a big heavy luggage, THIS gives me an extreme satisfaction. The internet was fast and the bed was comfortable. The entrance to Fjellstua for the city viewpoint is right behind the hotel! 2-3 min walk to the airport bus as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast buffet with even a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a boring view from the back but maybe you have to pay extra for a sea view.

    Amazing breakfast buffet with even a "cook-to-order" counter for omelettes etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2016

    9.6
    Worth staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Climbing up a liitle hill with my heavy luggages is a little bit exhausting, but it worths!

    Good location. I could go up to the hill quickly to have pictures. The bus station of Skateflua is close to the hotel, so that I could take the bus to Hellesylt or airport easily. The staff is friendly and helpful for providing useful information. The breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    10
    Must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff should mention the breakfast starts at 8 instead of 7 on weekdays during check in

    Great breakfast with good variety Nice room with wooden furniture Good location with restaurants and supermarkets nearby

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel, breakfast, staff and location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I rarely write a full on 100% best review but I will for this hotel. Great location within walking distance to the harbor and ship dock (take the Hrutigen ferry to Alesund, you won't be disappointed. Inside deck seating is plush and only $110 US one way). The staff were great! Everyone super helpful, friendly, kind. Breakfast was a lot of food with a great cappuccino machine. I liked it so much I cancelled my other room and will return here before I fly home. Thank you! Sharon Seattle, WA

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    10
    Located just at the bottom of the hill with the best view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located just at the bottom of the hill with the best view of the city, huge, clean, comfortable rooms (we thought they had made a mistake and gave us a suite at first), amazing breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    6.3
    Hot and stuffy room due to lack of air condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air condition for the hot days. We had to open the windows and still the room was uncomfortable for a good night's sleep. Quilts were unnecessary. No top sheet provided.

    Breakfast on the whole was great. Excellent alternatives. Your staff were friendly and polite. Hotel facilities and location ideal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    Great deal for a luxury room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the snacks in the snack bar was open...not by us.

    Breakfast buffet was a great amenity. Size of bathroom and room was generous. The bed was comfortable to sleep in. The hotel was well situated, within walking distance to transport and the trail head to Fjellstua.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    9.6
    Great Hotel in Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was a little old. But we could enjoy watching Rio Olympic games. Totally I was satisfied with the hotel.

    It was great time for me. The hotel is located very convenient place. It is near one of the bus-terminals ,shopping center, and city central, only a few minutes on foot. We enjoyed having excellent breakfast. They have many kind of tasty food. Hotel's staff was very kind to us. They always answered our question with smiling. For example they kindly checked a public shuttle bus's time-table, even though they have own shuttle bus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    5.4
    Good location, poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot water in the shower did not work and when we called the reception, the staff said the hotel is fully booked so that hot water ran out which we knew it was not true since we booked two rooms and the hot water in the other room was working well ( the hot water for wash basin in our room was working well also ). We called them twice and no one care to come and check.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    8.3
    Very good hotel to visit Alesund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit pricey. No aircon (not really needed during our stay, btw).

    Fantastic hotel situation. Wifi worked very smoothly, very helpful staff, quiet and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely stay and delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have a TV in the room but there are only Norwegian channels. As the hotel is full of foreign tourists it would be nice to have some foreign channels, at least in English.

    The position is ideal to visit the town. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic! The buffet was varied and abundant!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    9.6
    Hotel with surprises
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is a bit small and crowded, it is not very good for someone who has large luggage.

    The staffs are friendly and helpful. The opening hours of the restaurant is convenient for customers who arrive late. Besides, there were free entertainment, such as gym and sauna.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    10
    We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during the weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights during the weekend. Were upgraded to a suite on the top floor with a great view on the mountain park. A very rich breakfast and a personal service made it a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    9.2
    Clean (newer rooms), reception staff (Cristina, Ovi and Camilla)- true customer care skills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ventilation system - not to be directed towards the head-area of the bed. AC would be a better option.

    Cleanliness. Some rooms were recently refurbished. Reception staff truly helpful, quick and supportive (Cristina, Ovi and Camilla)- on all topics (what to do, accommodation, renting a car, parking, dining). Also staff in the hotel restaurant (Brasserie Normandie) -very good customer service, quick; open up to 23:00. Excellent location- few steps away from the water, restaurants and city center while staying in a more quite area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very popular with Tours so facilities & elevators can get "taxed".

    Location next to Park. Excellent breakfast! Friendly staff. Very quiet. Dining was expensive but of good quality. Room service was efficient.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    8.8
    Room With a View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One staff member was rude. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was noisy when trying to sleep. Soon as are too hot for summer.

    The view from our room. The friendliness of most staff. Two chairs by the window. Being able to open a wi Dow. Being able to store luggage. Decor is attractive. Room size is reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    7.1
    Satisfactory accommodations for a quick stay in Alesund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap in the bathroom, when we arrived. Also found stray hairs on the bed. No microwave provided, would have been useful if they did.

    Breakfast was great, lots of options. Aksla Viewpoint is right behind the hotel so it was very easy for us to walk up and see the views. Comfortable beds. They have a luggage storage room which was helpful for us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Good location, attentive and helpful staff, pleasant rooms, and you can store baggage too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could really benefit from blackout curtains for the summer never ending nights

    Excellent breakfast, sauna, gym, location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Well worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints

    Great view, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.9
    👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle or tea in the room

    Good stay for money and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    great location in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    non

    great location in city center. very good rich breakfast. big clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    All ok
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    All ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    7.9
    Fab breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park at £25 a night is far too expensive.

    Fab breakfast. Good view from room.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Parken Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: