Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Scandic Solsiden This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Beddingen 1, 7014 Trondheim, Norway

#10 of 23 hotels in Trondheim

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1230 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.9
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Requested a quiet room away from the road and additional pillows - got neither. Road noise was quite disruptive. No ability to vary the room temperature - I wont be returning.

    Bed was comfortable and shower was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    Very nice and modern hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, best breakfast buffet, friendly waiter
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast buffet, Very nice room, new and clean, very nicly located in the newly developed Solsiden area with many restaurants and shopping centre, 10 min walk to the old town centre, close to the train station, Vaernes Airport Express bus stops 50 m from the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    10
    Great value for my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, very good breakfast, the location was ideal, close to the Central Station (1km) and the main attractions of the town. The staff is frendly and helpfull. AS a bonus there is a gym (200 m away) I sure would stay here again and I recommend this apartment to all my family and friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone had booked the hotel for us. They could not identify our name and would not accept the booking com number and pin code as enough verification so we stood there and lost a half hour until we could find what name was used to book the reservation. Actually, it would help if booking com could put who made the reservation right on the paper we had to bring to the hotel so we could have known who to contact. so I feel this was partly Booking.com to blame but mostly the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, comfortable, for a reasonable price, situated not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking in the hotel surrounding is crazy and extremely expensive task, the hotel's garage was unavailable for use.

    Friendly, comfortable, for a reasonable price, situated not far from city center, shopping mall next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best breakfast in all of our 2 month holiday through Europe! Great location and value, best value place we stayed in Norway. Comfortable, clean and modern rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inadequate air conditioning on hot summer days. Felt like an oven without oxygen. Almost no airflow to the room through the ventilation.

    Good breakfast. Nice staff, decent venues i general

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    10
    Trondheim stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very easy to get to, wonderful breakfast buffet, the staff sent us with a breakfast in a bag when we had an early check out before breakfast was available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    7.5
    It's OK But the breakfast bag is a gyp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to leave early so I got the breakfast bag which was pretty bad. A poor substitute for the buffet breakfast I was charged for in the room price.

    It was all good though not great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    7.5
    Great so long as you dont want an early start! The packed breakfast was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to leave before breakfast and we're given a small package with a banana and 3 dry sandwiches with no liquid. In comparison with the breakfast available in the hotel we were extremely disappointed - and hungry!

    The room was comfortable and breakfast on Saturday was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    7.9
    Business Trip - Trondheim
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location & access to tour Trondheim & surrounding area is very good. Close to the Solsiden area where all the bars & restaurants are vibrant & provide a great atmosphere for a evenings entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    8.8
    Terrific Trondheim!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small things such as only one towel provided for two (remedied by asking for another one), fridge in an enclosed cupboard so getting rather warm, water pipes going up the wall in the corner kept gurgling but I am being really picky.

    Very pleasant hotel. The breakfast was really enjoyable large with an excellent choice. It kept us going all day! Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    8.3
    Good location, bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't seem that interested during checkin. Before leaving i was getting emails in Norwegian, when i asked about it and gave them the tip about making english emails they didn't care at all (later found out they put Norwegian as my language in there system)

    Location, breakfast where good :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    8.3
    Decent hotel in trendy part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times the breakfast area was extremely crowded and it was hard to find somewhere to sit.

    The hotel is located in a great area with a laid back vibe and multitude of waterside dining and drinking options, not to mention it’s only around a ten minute walk into the centre of town. Portalen Parkinghouse is located just a few minutes walk form the hotel and seemed to offer the best value with charges capped at NOK 165 for 24 hours.   Our compact room was fairly typical Scandic quality, using good design to get the most out of the available space. Bathroom was similarly compact and well designed.   The hotel provides a fairly good and varied breakfast spread of hot and cold options that should please most people. Service throughout our stay was excellent and we’d be more than happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Water in bathroom was strangely coloured like it is not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water in bathroom was strangely coloured like it is not clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible beds. Very tini room. Noisy Roald outside. Imposible to keep Window open.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    6.3
    Great Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More three star hotel. Smal, boring room facing the street.

    Great Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    8.8
    very comforatable and practical location & lovely breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temparature self contorl is better, I think.

    Good Location and super Breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.5
    Nice personell, Nice Brakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing stood out as negative.

    Nice personell, Nice Brakfast,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WIFI - not secure enough so was unable to come with work PC Temperature in room - too warm

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 meter long hair in the breakfast cereals destroyed the breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.1
    All right
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of Mini-Bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    excellent buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Good Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, great breakfast and very good location. Really recommend. Trondheim is also a lovely place to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were small and only one in each bed.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.6
    Great Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in lovely town. Very helpful and friendly staff and amazing breakfast. Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was amazing. The freshly baked bread- yum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Good value hotel in the centre of Trondheim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    3.3
    Avoid!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internal rooms looking into breakfast area. Noisy, very little privacy. Would not accept such a room again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic modern hotel with great breakfast and easy transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Gym is a walk away. No comfortable sofas in the lounge to wait for bus in.

    Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    5.4
    Convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny rooms. Beds and pillows not right for me (too soft) - a personal preference.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2017

    6.3
    It was very hot and dry air.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and dry air. There was not an air condition.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic breakfast! Very friendly and kind staff. If I will come back to Trondheim I will choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2016

    10
    Two night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very varied choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    5.4
    Only one towel in a dobbeltrom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one towel in a dobbeltrom. The booking was a doubleroom, but we got a two beds rom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    7.9
    Scandic Solsiden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent value & position for my visit. Friendly & courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    8.8
    A little to hot in the room during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little to hot in the room during the night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2016

    10
    Good place to stay at Solsiden
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent. Nice room with updated bathroom and spacious enough for one person. Great location in a hub of places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    8.8
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    10
    Gotta love Scandic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, beautiful room, AMAZING breakfast (as always at a Scandic Hotel, they have THE best breakfasts!)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    8.8
    I like the breakfast here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like the breakfast here. It tastes good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    5.0
    The location in city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficult to sleep because of the temp in the room. We slept poorly both Nights. It was over 25 degrees in the room, and rises inside into breakfast hall.

    The location in city.

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    9.6
    Very fast wifi, great location, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was on the inside, and we had a view over the dining area, which was noisy when window open (breakfast started at 6.30 am).

    Very fast wifi, great location, excellent breakfast

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2015

    6.7
    location, near to the beautiful Solsiden :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I found the bad to be hard, big metall springs inside, not for me, maybe someone else like it but.....a little bit noisy in the 430 room, not much but....

    location, near to the beautiful Solsiden :)

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2015

    10
    Everyone on staff was very friendly and happy to help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Absolutely nothing.

    Everyone on staff was very friendly and happy to help. Wifi was perfect and speedy. Room was well appointed and the location can't be beat. Best of all was the complimentary breakfast every morning, something you'd pay $40 or more for at a NYC hotel. All raves!

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    3.8
    It was in a strike.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    It was in a strike.

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2015

    9.6
    good hotel friendly staff good location, in Trondheim
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    good hotel friendly staff good location, in Trondheim

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast, bath tube and mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast, bath tube and mattress.

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2015

    8.3
    ordinary breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    ordinary breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints here.

    Breakfast was amazing!

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I liked everything!

    Excellent breakfast!

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2015

    8.3
    Helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room slightly cramped, but otherwise good. A bit of main road noise, but not bad with window shut.

    Helpful staff; good breakfast

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2015

    7.1
    The Restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Could have been a little cleaner here and there

    The Restaurant! Excellent dinner and nice breakfast

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Scandic Solsiden Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: