Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Sørlandet 4 stars

Sørlandsparken, 4696 Kristiansand, Norway

#20 of 30 hotels in Kristiansand

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 899 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service, no tea making facilities, poor house keeping, family rooms are a bit too small, lack of toiletries and breakfast ends too soon on a weekday.

    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, child friendly playrooms, plenty of parking and electric car charging facility.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a quiet location outside the city.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, ramp or any other means to help you carry your luggage up the stairs to reach the rooms on the ground floor.

    Quiet location a little bit outside the city. Parking directly in front of hote.,Big room, bath had a tub.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    +++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a snus on the carpet next to the sofa. Suggest to hotel cleaners check the small things more carefully. It’s important :) Otherwise it’s was stay as I expected

    Perfect location. Nice and quiet. A good quality of beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Ok hotel with good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room, too many people trying to slice their "self service bread" at the same time. Not hygienic. Alternative should be better available.

    Good location for travelling by car, good parking and nice outdoor pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    We will go back to the beautiful Kristiansand but certainly will choose another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition or central air ventilation in rooms, not even in the toilet/bathroom. Indoor temperature was quite high with no air circulation whatsoever. The only option we got was to open the window which was facing to the Oslo highway with non-stop car traffic and lots of noise. Speaking to the hotel staff didn't help either, they said they got a limited numbers of portable fans which were already gone. The only way to cool down was a cold shower! Coffee was only available in a coffee machine next to the reception (not free of course). We chose this hotel because of the close distance to the children amusement park. Otherwise with 10 minutes driving to downtown Kristiansand we could have much better alternativs with the same money we paid for this hotel.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Child friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Child friendly hotel with a lot of activities to choose from. Svimming pool area outside with comfortable water temperature. Close by Kristiansand Dyrepark

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Our stay in Kristiansand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay, thanks.

    It was a very warm night but on request a fan was delivered to our room. They have an outdoor pool which was a good way to cool off. They staff were great and the hotel was very nice. Breakfast came with the room and they had a good selection to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok hotel for our one-night stay. Seemed a bit crowded and loudish in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very crowded parking lot. No parking available.

    Wide offer at breakfast. - Hotel is clean but facilities are getting old. It seems to be an ok animation for the kids.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    While booking the bigger room showed that it was for 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While booking the bigger room showed that it was for 4 people. I've booked for 3 and added one more adult. I was informed by booking.com the hotel has agreed and that all is arranged. When we got there, the receptionist said the room is enough for 4 even up to 5 adults. She didn't mention about my payment or changing to a bigger room. There was no extra space to put the extra bed in the room. The worst part was, the guy who gave us the extra bed told us, that all extra beds are the same. And we should be careful while sitting on it. Because, it can break up easily and it is not strong enough for an adult. So one of us tried it late that evening and fell down. We took it out of the room and slept on the floor. Next morning, the receptionist told me that booking.com has made a mistake by informing me that all is agreed. It all has happened because of my paying for only 3 persons, but while booking the biggest room shows that it was available for 4 people. Why was I not informed if I am willing to pay for the 4th adult or to move into another room? I never had a problem with booking.com before, why now with scandic? whose fault is it?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean room, friendly staff, good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that the hotel is close to the main highway. Should you get a room on the highway side, you may be bothered by the traffic if you leave the window open. Also, beware that, as with many hotels, bookings through aggregators do not qualify for points with their bonus programme Scandic Friends.

    Clean room; friendly and helpful staff; easy, plentiful and free parking. Asked for a breakfast pack to be provided on the morning of my checkout due to an early start. Unfortunately the message never reached the morning shift, but the receptionist let me grab something from their food/beverage kiosk, so all was good! Had a great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice clean hotel within a few miles of Kristiansand port.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive, though the hotel was EXTREMELY busy due to a wedding.

    Nice clean hotel within a few miles of Kristiansand port. Located 2 minutes from the motorway with a large car park and also next to a shopping centre. Nice staff and really surprising to have an outdoor swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Scandic +
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit crowded (but staff was on top of things) and far from city center (but right next to zoo)

    As allways everthing is ok or better at scandic. Pluses worth mentioning: breakfast had a little more choices than usual and ok sized outside pool. Didnt try the pool, but i assume it had heating

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    The room was to small for a family of 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small for a family of 3.bathroom was fine but an extra madrass on the floor next to the bed was not what i had in mind. No floorspace and we could not sit in the room and do something together. The table and seating was to small.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Great arrangement for the kids, heated outdoor pool, activities and kids playroom,super. Super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great arrangement for the kids, heated outdoor pool, activities and kids playroom, super. Breakfast was good both for the grownups and the kids. Super nice staff and big parking space outside. Very close to Dyreparken. The kids had a great time thanks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Ample free parking in the hotel grounds, a luxury in Norway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was old fashioned and needed a good doing. The location, if your interest is Kristiansand, is a good 12 kms away but if you want the zoo then it is OK.

    Ample free parking in the hotel grounds, a luxury in Norway. Vast good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Great if you need a quiet hotel near the airport before an early flight the next day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to eat at 4.30 am (not surprising really) but there was a breakfast pack prepared for us. Taxi fare to airport was very expensive for a 10 minute trip.

    Quick check-in, easy access to room, quiet location but near to our airport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location for my purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad smell in my room. Maybe some kind of mushroom odor.

    Good location for my purpose.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Overnatting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over i mail

    Frokost var god

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    The sink was placed in a Level witch was unacceptable for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink was placed in a Level witch was unacceptable for family with kids .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was near to the zoo
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was near to the zoo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    yes and yes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough bacon

    yes and yes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Good breakfast, nice swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning so it was too warm and hard to sleep at night. The room was too small for 2 adults+1 child

    Good breakfast, nice swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    A hint of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The presence of a restaurant was nice, but the menu was poor.

    Useful location, nice pool, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect 2 nights stay in Kristiansand, and we will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Super outside swimming poor, and very kids friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Easy access, close to the Zoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access, close to the Zoo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Excelent :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    facilitati + personal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Very nice, we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation in th rooms

    Very good breakfast, spacias areas for th guests

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking Very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and very helpfull gentleman working in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and very helpfull gentleman working in the conference area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very small

    The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Rooms are very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small Too Expensive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    We really like the swimming pool.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really like the swimming pool. And that our small dog could stay with us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel but our rooms lacked accessibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got family room on first floor which was only accsessible using stairs. This was troublesome with a toddler and stroller.

    Children activities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    No facility in room for tea or coffee making and no free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facility in room for tea or coffee making and no free coffee or tea in reception or water.

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: