Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Valdres 4 stars

Jernbanevegen, 2900 Fagernes, Norway

#3 of 5 hotels in Fagernes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 526 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, free parking, very good breakfast, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expensive Hotel for low average standard room, uncomfy bed, worn out bathroom equipment, smelly shower soap, location of TV screen was strange

    Nice location, free parking, very good breakfast, very nice dining room, very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    I'd id gladly stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location by the water, beautiful view from our balcony. And the complimentary breakfast was amazing! Everything you could want and more....and very good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Location overlooking lake and 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in July specially med-day. No Air Conditioner or fan provided in hotel. Better buy 1 small fan from home or From Europis electronic shop in Fagernes.

    Location overlooking lake and 3.5 hrs from Oslo. Staff are friendly specially the chief Sameda(I hope I pronounce her name correctly) Free parking in front of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    An OK hotel to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our superior room, which we paid extra for, was located at the lower levels and the view we had through the window was every now and then smoking staff on a stair a few meters away. What superior meant in this case I'm not sure.

    If you are on travel it works fine to stay a night at this rather big hotel. Nice park on the backside, close to a sea. Perfect with free parking just outside. Quite big breakfast offer, but the restaurant is more big than cosy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Amazing wonderful and I appreciated the gentleman when I booked in :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing hospitality!!!! On check in the gentleman was so nice and actuallly made conversation and was so helpful considering it was a Sunday too! The room was amazing, the views were amazing restaurant literally 10 steps and your were there!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing norwegian night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to connect to wifi.

    It was great night in fagernes with an elegant hotel.they have great beakfast delicious food.wonderful local beer ,never tested a better beer than this one.dednt recall its name.different local chease on breakfast.and i want here to send greetings to a wonderful hard working woman.she fills the hotel with her great spirit and smile i wish her all the best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Good but we don't like being lied too!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a superior double which was stated that it would come with two double beds, when we saw the room I went down to complain and was told that no other rooms were available as they were full, I went back to my room which was small and had two single beds with a wall between them so couldn't even be pushed together, read my booking confirmation and went back to show the guy at reception who magically found me a room which had a double bed and a pull out sofa bed and was much nicer! Also the al a carte menu is only available in Norwegian, ok we were in Norway but for a hotel which surely has guests from all over the world surely it makes sense to have some menus in English?

    The facilities nice pool table our room was nice and the walks out the back to the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT BOOK THIS SCANDIC HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception clerk was surly and not at all hospitable when we arrived. WiFi was almost non-existent. Clerk could not even get enough connectivity to process our credit card on arrival. Room was very small and poorly ventilated. Window only opened a few inches. No closet or chest to put clothes. (Just a small hanging space.) Bed was sagging and not at all comfortable. Bathroom was very small and sink was tiny. There were not enough electrical outlets in the room to charge phones etc. The Booking.com website was misleading, as it showed only the view for rooms on the beautiful and inviting lake side of the hotel. We were put in a room that looked out on the bus station on the other side of the hotel, despite a request in advance and at reception for a room with a view of the lake. I even requested an upgrade for extra cost if necessary and was told that nothing was available, despite the fact that there were very few guests staying at this large hotel. There seemed to be only 3 or 4 employees running the entire facility. As a result, the reception desk was often unstaffed and the bar was never open. Food was average to poor. The coffee machines were both broken and could not make coffee at breakfast the next morning. All of this for $185/night US. A total ripoff. We'll never choose a Scandic property again and this review will be going on Yelp as well. Very disappointed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Modern hotel with good beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern room with good beds and a lovely bath, central location and easy to find, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Good for parking, swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good for parking, swimming pool. Good buffet in evening and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Not fruitful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Old hotel No refurbishement

    It’s in my way to Oslo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Large breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    The food could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could be better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Great breakfast! Great views,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great stop over on the way to the fjords
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Places for dinner

    The breakfast was fabulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No finished cut bread for breakfast, Long que at the bread cutting station due to bus load With visitors.

    Most OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative.

    Good restaurant. Room at 3rd floor with balcony & sunny lake view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    2.9
    Bad Hotel old, bad cleaning and very bad beds bad rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad Hotel old, bad cleaning and very bad beds bad rooms small and you hear the people in the other rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    Decent wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything fine.

    Decent wifi. Hot water. No AC (probably isn't needed here). Skipped breakfast because I was on my way to Gjendesheim to catch a ferry. Evening staff wasn't that friendly but whatever.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    The scenery, the place is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The scenery, the place is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.6
    Easy to find, walking distance to retail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really, pretty much all good.

    Easy to find, walking distance to retail. Very roomy, lots of open space and a great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.1
    I got a good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The late (3PM) check in.

    I got a good room.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was too small to be comfortable for two people.

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Quiet and peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and peaceful

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Location was perfect for our needs with good walks nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect for our needs with good walks nearby and a superb folk museum.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    5.8
    Convenient with good car parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel used to be a Quality resort but that quality is a bit on the wane

    Convenient with good car parking

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Scandic Valdres traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: