Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Scandic Victoria 4 stars

Rosenkranzgt. 13, 0121 Oslo, Norway

#66 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3609 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - housekeeping could have been better: dirty cups and glasses were not removed, no refill of coffee and tea, one day we only got one towel for two persons - this is only a minor thing, but the decision of hotel management to switch from a regular minibar to an empty fridge in the room + shop in the lobby is not very convenient

    + Very centrally located: sights like national theatre, harbour and palace in walking-distance + metro and tram stations and airport express-train closeby + excellent breakfast + small gym + very bright room with big bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact but clean room & bathroom, with the absolute minimum of bedding, towels & soap. Noisy neighborhood, well into the morning hours. Centrally located. Good breakfast offerings and well staffed. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was on the top floor, which was wonderful for getting into the very small elevator (people on lower floors often had trouble being able to get in as elevators were full.) However, room was excessively hot and a/c did not work and there was absolutely no air circulation. Lobby staff had a fan sent up. A/c was not fixed. Ceiling lights could only be turned off with the master switch, which also turned off all other current in the room, so it was not possible to charge electronic devices overnight, or keep only the bedside reading lights on before going to sleep. Bathroom: No face cloths and no bath mat provided. Stingy with towels. Total of three hangers in this "family" size room. no hooks in the room or in the bathroom. Beds are extremely soft and spongy - desperately need to be replaced.

    Size of room was great and it was very clean. Very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and offered great variety Bar had good menu and excellent, very friendly service. Lobby staff was friendly and helpful The location is extremely convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioning unable to cope with heatwave. Lack of bathroom amenities - no tissues, no bathmat, no anti-slip mat for shower. Poor restocking of coffee/tea/creamer in room (and one of the two mugs provided kept vanishing). Poor security - no room safe, no checks on entry to breakfast room, making it a potential target for thieves. No decaff coffee at breakfast.

    Location - easy to get around on foot. Good choice of foods at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cups or glasses until we asked Had to ask staff to replace tea coffee sugar each day Frig not cold enough

    Excellent location Very good buffet Friendly obliging staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic look and feel, despite being 4 star. The room was very small and weathered. No character.

    Location was good, especially to public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have to buy an umbrella (not to be able to borrow it at the hotel) The bathroom was not very nice (basic shower, no nice products)

    Comfortable room, spacious enough, good bed Quiet Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the second time we've stayed and on both occasions given poor rooms. Hotel is tired, needs refurbishment and very expensive. Does not reflect the standard of other Scandic hotels we've stayed in during our four week stay in Norway. Very disappointed and cancelled our planned three day stay at end of our trip.

    Excellent breakfast as ever

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would appreciate some better cleaning of the room.

    The room was comfortable, as well as the mattress and pillows, the staff was very gentle and helpful, the breakfast was very goodd and the location was exceptional!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room with noisy ventilation and no window that opens. - Outdated bathroom with unstable water temperature and mould in between tiles - Unhandy door that need to be locked with keycard (never seen this before) - Breakfast with unripe fruits (why no fruit salad).

    - Good location - Breakfast with a lot of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. A hotel should at least have a plug point adapter for international travelers ? I was directed to go to the electrons store .... which was shut at night. so had a dead phone in the morning. 2. Breakfast till just 0930 am ? 3. staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was directed towards the inside of the hotel like an inner courtyard but it’s a restaurant so windows were directly over the closed restaurant. No fresh air, loud air con that couldn’t be switched off over night and room was way too hot, and no window to outside. Bathroom sucked, cheap shower heads and changing temperature

    Location and staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window of the room was locked, so no chance for fresh air. Besides, it was towards the restaurant, not to the streets. It was not possible to switch off the air condition, so a lit of noise at all times. Not drawers in the room.

    Location and breakfast were great. Very quite. Good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and good value for money. Included Breakfast was a great option, however we ate fairly early and we noticed that some mornings items weren't being re-stocked when they ran out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed early and no dining at night.

    Beds were comfortable. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Our rooms air conditioner didn’t work. Julie Ann was great about getting us another room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are a bit of small, but it's totally acceptable.

    Great Hotel. Usually, I don't comment, but this time I have to, it is simply TERRIFIC. Superb location, in the very heart of Oslo, nearby the beach & city hall and many other great places. Rooms are a bit of small, but it's OK. Breakfast is truly unforgettable for Salmon lovers like me. They even provide a free bike for rent, it's so convenience for Tourists. Great hotel, will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The proximity to the harbour area and museums was perfect for a sightseeing trip! Easy walking distance to nearby bakeries and vibrant restaurants along the sea front- great for travellers keen to explore!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didn't meet my standards of cleanliness. The bedding and the carpet were a bit dirty.

    It was perfectly located and the staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was far too much noise coming from the ventilator and no possibility to turn off the fan from within the room. The thermostat also seemed to be malfunctioning. A couple of phone calls to the reception in the middle of the night did not remedy the situation.

    The location is good and was very convenient for me and my group because of proximity to the meeting venues we attended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was premium as you just need to walk 2-3 minutes, then you will arrive Parliament. The room was spacious, clean & comfortable. Breakfast was superb delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room like many others faced the breakfast dining area which was terrible. To make things worse, no windows could opened, however one can clearly see into other's rooms and vice versa. There was no privacy and no view so much so that there might as well been a cement wall and no windows. The highlight of the stay at Scandic was the waffle machine - which makes traditional heart-shaped Norwegian waffles. It had been removed from the reception area and also the breakfast area. In my last review and stay in 2017, the property wrote back that they had two waffle machines but there is none now! This is completely unacceptable and a conscious effort has to be made to look for hotels like Thon that still provides a waffle machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dusty secondary surfaces (under bed, on top of lamps, fire alarms etc.) No napkins in the bathroom. The controller for air conditioning seems to be completely useless. If you spin the wheel in either direction, it affects nothing. Thus it gets either too hot or cold depending on the time of the day. Basically only central air conditioning without user inputs. No safe in the room, the country is safe overall, but it is such a small detail.

    Great breakfast and wifi, comfortable beds, quiet rooms. Modern TV with quick connectivity options (HDMI and USB). Kettle with tea and coffee. Convenient location for both business and travelling. Easy check in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was wierd and the bottom sheet wasn’t secure enough so middle of the night you move and find your sleeping on a bare mattress that 100’s of other guests have slept on. So just a more secure bottom sheet would have done the trick. In the UK we call them hospital corners

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed on a Sunday would be my only complaint!

    Excellent location, great breakfast, clean. Have stayed here a couple of times now and am totally happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they were rebuilding the main hall, so it was all dirty and noisy; even on the breakfast room was a lot of confusion, I didn't like the breakfast, too poor for what you pay at this hotel. Parking is not for free and it costs a lot. Too expensive for what you have. Next time I will try another hotel.

    the position, you are just downtown and easy to walk around

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air condition in the room is very loud and hard to control as it was quite cold outside I would have liked to have it warmer as it was -15°C outside.

    Very good breakfast. Big choice and big selection of fruits!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was relatively small and no bathtub.

    Fantastic location,just about 10 mins walk from National Theatre Station,near major tourist attractions in Oslo,like the Oslo City Hall and the Royal Palace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation and on booking.com there was no communication so the lobby was totally messed up and the breakfast was served in a convention room...not absolutely a 4 stars hotel... We would have liked to know it before booking...

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Russian speaking lady at the reception was not well client oriented or experienced enough (even avoided speaking Russian...??).

    The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities hadn't been cleaned and restocked, mugs were dirty and there was a tea bag in the kettle. Everything else was fine so assuming this was just missed and not a normal thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately during our stay they were remodeling the hotel lobby but all in all it didn’t disturb us since we were out most of the time.

    The hotel is located 2 minutes walk from the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The renovations taking place in the lobby/ ground floor meant breakfast was held in the conference rooms. Breakfast was disappointing as a result.

    Our room was bigger and more modern than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was in full renovation works (even the reception area); restaurant was closed, breakfast took place in old conference room.

    Room was ok, although a bit run down

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No minibar. You have to go to the reception for something and they don't have many there. But the shops are nearby so you could go directly to a shop.

    The hotel is nearby Oslo city center and the location is amazing. You could not ask more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be better. Floor was dirty, there was hair on the make up mirror. While you are taking a shower, for some instants the water turns cold and then hot again, then cold. Breakfast is average. It’s a bit disappointing, there is not many options, especially of hot beverages.

    The location is quite nice, close to underground, short walk to main attractions, shops, restaurants, supermarkets and the train station. Staff is helpful and friendly. Easy to check in/check out. Comfortable room. We had a nice stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not find the pillows/mattress that comfortable, but no one else in my group had any complaints.

    A great stay in Sweden! The included breakfast was fabulous with many choices, and the breakfast room was spacious. Rebecka Ljungberg is terrific in her role of covering guest relations!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing renovations. The breakfast was poor compared with other scandic hotels (this could be until the renovations are completed). The photos on the scandic website for scandic victoria did not match the standard rooms we got (the room was a bit dated). The towels and bedding were not changed daily and one of the towels was not clean.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful. One of the rooms did not have blinds for the windows but the staff exchanged the room for us. The location was quite convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast until 8am even though it was a weekday so had to miss it even though I had paid for it. Very bad. Also no restaurant in evening even though I was too tired to go out to find food. WOULD NOT HAVE STAYED HERE IF I HAD BEEN MADE AWARE OF THIS BEFORE. BOOKING. NOT A GOOD HOTEL.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities for money. Have stayed in hotels in Oslo for much less money and far more facilities. However currently being renovated so difficult to say. Construction work started too early in the morning for my liking but not loud enough to wake me up.

    Amazing breakfast, very comfortable bed and great location. Clean room and very friendly staff, made allowances for my very early check in of 11am so I could easily get dressed for sledging straight after arriving in Oslo which I’m grateful for!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    building work was being done that we were not notified about, and this started very early room was below the temporary breakfast area so woken very early by footsteps no facilities

    good location clean room cable tv

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was construction works happening in hotel, should be good to know it before making reservation. Very narrow reception. Terrible breakfest.

    Locations was good, but there was construction works happening in hotel.Very narrow reception. Terrible breakfest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in the middle of refurbishment. There was no noise disruption and works didn't affect our stay at all but think the facility should have prewarned us.

    Friendly staff who knew the city. English spoken by all staff was exceptional. Ideal location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we checked into was extremely cold. We asked for this to be looked into, but had to do this twice. We weren’t demanding anything other than a room that wasn’t colder than the corridor outside. Eventually we were moved to another room. This room wasn’t exactly warm either but it was fine. Some of the staff were lovely and others were not.

    It was easy to get to the hotel. The location is great for exploring Oslo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of construction work going on in the hotel which in itself was not a problem but the noise was coming through the air con/heater unit which I couldn't turn off as it was broken (looked vandalised).

    Everything apart from the above.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen didn’t contain the shower very well, but the towels were changed daily so not a huge issue.

    Generous buffet breakfast with plenty of options. Comfy bed. Excellent location for access to trams, trains and buses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was freezing. I could not control the temperature from the room, and when I asked the staff to shut down the air condition, they told me they can't and offered me a heater instead (which they kindly provided with). Definitely not a comfortable stay as the aircon was blasting all night, cold and dry air. Also, for a 4-star hotel, there was nothing else provided other than shampoo and shower/hand gel. When I asked for a small toothpaste (like all four star hotels provided, I was told I could buy one). It's the small things that make for a great stay and this was not one.

    The bed was comfortable and the room as well as the bathroom were bright and spacious. Staff was polite and friendly and the wifi was fast. The location of the hotel was also very central, and just a ten minute walk from the central station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room had a window looking straight into the breakfast room, which basically meant keeping the curtain shut the whole time - no mention of this on booking or checking in

    excellent breakfast good situation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt more like a motel that required one to go out for evening meals.

    Breakfast was great but there is no evening meal opportunity. Location is very good for visiting Oslo sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small thing .....the shower water temperature flows from good to cold to very hot then back to ok. Water pressure 7th fl.?

    The breakfast is really superb, they have everything you could want, the staff were excellent too. Reception were so so helpful with every request. Our room was very comfortable. Have to mention the young lady who checked us in on Friday and out again on Sunday, she is a credit to the hotel. 100% helpful,professional and charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room facilities limited, no minibar, iron. Breakfast ok, but the area was very poorly lit.

    Location excellent for Oslo centre. E-check out option good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast restaurant tended to be very crowded and a little tight on space to move around in. There was only one 'fancy' coffee machine which resulted in queues.

    The staff were very helpful and polite and had good local knowledge. The beds were nice and comfortable (although that is always subjective).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise a bit annoying in the morning, much better with windows shut

    Location is really great, central and close to transportation stops near National Theatre. Short walking distance to Akker Brygge Room was spacious, clean and equipped with a kettle, coffee and tea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene in the room was a bit below average, it definitely needed some vacum cleaning and we found small trash from previous guests.

    Breakfast was amazing, location is great and in general a good place to stay for two nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not cleaned well. Teacups not cleaned on some days or was the stock of used ingredients for making a cup of tea replenished. Unable to provide me with English Breakfast tea in the room but it was available in the restaurant. I asked both the chamber maid and reception but neither were able to meet my request so I ended taking teabags from the restaurant.

    Breakfast was excellent. Good variety of food including a table gluten free food. Staff very helpful in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so hot and we tried turning down the heating but nothing appeared to happen. The main light switch appeared to either be on or off for all lights and could not work out if you could just have one light on!!!!! Frustrating.

    The breakfast was really good although no decaff coffee could be found.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but the timings werent great. Could have been on to 11 everyday as i missed it on monday morning.

    location was brilliant and staff very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge issue... but why put a single sized doona on a double bed? Strange.

    Really nice hotel room. Location was great - within a few minutes walk to the main attractions in central Oslo. Room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small and in need of maintanence. Ours had a broken window that had duck taped for a longtime. We also felt that we received this room as a result of using booking.com

    Location and breakfast were good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very good just the way it is.

    Lovely hotel and room. Wonderful location, close to everything in a great area! Good breakfast with lots of choices. Walk to restaurants, ferries and attractions. Large comfortable room with big windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventilation very loud, cold, blows directly to the bed (head) and cannot be switched off (not even from reception desk). So in autumn quite easy to become sick (cold in ear or throat etc.). Alltogether wouldn't do it again even if it would be for free. One night you can survive, maybe. Maybe it's different in other rooms but I doubt so (vent always on). I think a small apparature mounted below the vent would already help that it doesn't blow directly, and this wouldn't cost a lot. This is the only major problem.

    Very central location. Easy way to the train station. Friendly staff. Big breakfast (especially for city hotels).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Yes, the choices at breakfast were myriad, and the quality was very, very good. And the staff at breakfast was friendly and did not mind if I tried to practice my Norwegian with them. The staff at the reception desk was equally friendly and very helpful in answering questions of a tourist-like nature. And I found the location perfect for my purposes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room without a window, facing the inner court where the breakfast restaurant was. We had ventilation in the room that was either too cold or too hot and we could've sleep because of the noise. The staff wasn't helpful with this issue. Also breakfast was ending way too early for us on a holiday, at 9:30. And the staff started to remove the food platters slightly before 9:30.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally missing replenishment of tea etc. Door locking took too long and occasionally more than three minutes. Glass in room was damaged on rim and should have been spotted.

    Superb breakfast. Lots of choice, hot and cold. Good staff working unobtrusively in background. Plenty of space, cosy location for breakfast. Hotel is very conveniently located and walking everywhere was no problem. Comfortable room with plenty of seating. Good shower and bathroom facility. coffee tea facilities as well as iron. Quiet (with exception of quaint sounding clock). Comfortable (huge) bed with single duvets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness was horrendous. Towels covered in hairs, the bath and sink not clean. Also the room hasn't been shown any care for a long time. And the fact that power sockets only work when you have the main light on in the room is an outrageous money-saving measure on their part. All in all, it's a cash cow, taking advantage of the relative shortage of hotel rooms in Oslo - now love, no interest in customers, default go-to lines and offers of free snack from the shop for (I imagine) often heard complaints. This was the most insanely over-priced hotel room I've ever stayed in. City Box, at about a third of the price for the same room is a far cleaner and superior option, and hopefully more like that will force Scandic Victoria to up their game.

    Location is the only positive I could reveal. And I think they're hiding a very shabby hotel experience behind the "free breakfast", which is fair, but not special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel charges for every little detail. They sell umbrellas at very expensive prices rather than lending them. Few short phone calls I made in the Norway cost me more than 100 kr. The room service was not reliable. And the staff was not really helpful and friendly (except the kitchen staff). I had a particularly bad start. I had a horrible travel to the hotel (I had fever, my flight was delayed, and then the luggages were lost etc). None of this has to do with the hotel of course. I also forgot my credit card which was also my fault. But when I came to check-in I could barely stand up. I asked if they could charge my credit card even if I don't have it with me. The lady at the reception hesitated for a while and then said they can't charge it if the card is not present. Of course they can, (how would they charge me if I never showed up?) but I complied and asked if I could pay in euros. She said no then I asked if we can do this payment later on as I was in a mess. She also refused this and said that I have to pay before check-in. So I went to forex and thus made the payment. Now I understand this might be the procedure and wouldn't make an issue about it (forex is really close btw) but given that I was in a visibly bad situation and had a reservation for five days, she should have been able to delay this procedure to the next day. After all would they not let me in the hotel if I arrived in the evening when forex was closed? I would call a staff friendly when they make such favors, not when they reply your simple questions on how to go to the city center etc.

    It provides the basic standards of a four star hotel. You pay alot but it is comfortable. particularly the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was nice and the location was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the fact that our room was oriented towards an interiour court, that was also covered. The windows were also blocked and we had to breath the air from the air conditioning. It was also very cold in the night and we couldn't change the temperature. Claustrophobic sensation even if the room was big enough.

    We liked that the room had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was very spacious. The breakfast was marvelous with lots of options. The location of the hotel was right in the middle of the city with great walking distances to most of Oslo's landmarks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room is not big. shower is not strong. tea bags are not refilled everyday. has air-conditioning but don't know how to set temperature.

    location is great -- near national theater station and so close to the harbor. breakfast has both hot and cold food choice. quiet room on top floor and facing street. good wifi connection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Flow of shower is not so consistent, with cold and hot flow not very well mixed.

    The bed is comfy, and the room is quiet. Breakfast is fantastic with all sort of choices including gluten free selections. Easily accessible - close to subway station National Theater and Stortinget. Walking distant to Aker Brygge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Garage was not a part of hotel and directions of access were bad. We could not get our using the credit card system reader.

    Location great. Service good. Room small but well designed. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast,very polite and friendly staff in all areas-hotel was very clean and well located ,no street noise considering in the city centr

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out. Still not sure we were charged the correct amount. They were not able to split the receipt and said we would receive an email receipt which did not arrive.☹️

    The breakfast buffet was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to entrance and exit car parking. The machine at underground car parking is error when we stay, it is one-way so we have to reverse our van down to -3 floor and tell reception to resolve as site phone is also out of order.

    Great location in the city center of Oslo, convenient to walk to city tourist attractions. Good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow and limit space car parking especially big vehicle. No hanger and bath mat in bathroom. Breakfast area is always crowded.

    Great location in the city center of Oslo (easily walk to shopping street, Opera House, Aker Brygge). Excellent breakfast with various food. Comfort lobby area, helpful reception and friendly staff. There is "Blue Siam" Thai restaurant near hotel, the place for best Thai food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower water went from hot to cold randomly sometimes but not to the point of being scalded.

    The breakfast was fabulous and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived from museums late Saturday afternoon and there was no room in the parking garage. Had to drive around for some time to find parking on the street. In reality, Oslo is not a good city for cars. GPS does not know about the closed roads, one way roads and construction. Also, we had the window open for cool air and this area is quite busy and noisy from happy late night tourists outside.

    This property is only a couple of blocks to the Oslo City Hall and near the pedestrian mall with many restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Scandic Victoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: