Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Skansen Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Skansegaten 1, 4006 Stavanger, Norway

#24 of 24 hotels in Stavanger

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 713 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.4
    Very central very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is "okish". Not very clean. No reception so you have to check in in the bar next door. And it strictly opens at 3PM so nowhere to even drop your bags if you arrive too early. Staff is ok depends on who you speak to.

    Very central very good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    6.3
    The location is great, just 10 minutes to city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The checkin time is 15:00. No storage room for our luggage before that time. And cleaniness is average. There was a bud.

    The location is great, just 10 minutes to city center and train station. Very easy to be locted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.8
    very loud music coming, I assume from the bar which was at the same time the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suddenly the hot water stopped working, when I was taking a shower, the floor of the whole bathroom was full of water and the toilet was very high, barely I could touch the floor while I was sitting, I am 180cm tall.

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.0
    Fair service for a fair price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The overall cleaning was lacking. No hairdryer Open view over the street both ways

    Essential and minimalistic Comfy bed and good size room Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    6.7
    poor stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - i think we got a room in the annex building of the "main hotel" - the room was poor - ugly from the outside and inside, holes at the edges of the parquet, bathroom just an ugly capsule - the whole bathroom, but the room as well, was tilted somehow to a side - sound-isolation is basically non-existent -- everything that happens on the street sounds like it happens in the room - if you arrive prior to 15:00, you have to wait until someone arrives to check you in (then you receive a key to open the entrance door as well)

    - excellent location, basically in the harbor - next to the coolest places is town (bars, restaurants, boats leaving in tours) - excellent breakfast - which takes place in the hotel next to Skansen (this is a Best Western)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At arrival the guy checking us in at the nearby bar gave us a key and told us it worked with the room and the outer door, but did not inform us anything about the facilities, and did not even tell us how to find the room. The elevator was a handicap elevator taking us to floor 3. Our room was at floor 4. We had ordered breakfast, but this was served in a hotel two blocks away. No staff told us, so we had to ask another hotel guest how to find it. There was a lot of street noise even at floor 4, because of very old, single pane windows that did not lock properly. The price is too high for the quality of the premises.

    Sleeping quality was OK. Heated floor in bathroom good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.4
    It's cheap but I still wouldn't recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. there's no reception, just the bar under the hotel 2. the bar/club is open from 4pm to 3am and there's a party every night. The windows are literally paper thin and it feels like you're trying to sleep in the middle of a night club. 3. the bathroom is very tiny and a bit dirty.

    The hotel is in the city center, close to everything that worse a visit. The barista is a nice guy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    6.7
    I'd rather pay £20 pounds more and stay in a hotel with reception. There is loads nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No reception service. Floor of our room was sticky in some areas. The breakfast is done in the Victoria Hotel nearby and they did not give us a voucher that Victoria asked us about the next morning. We went back to Skansen but there was no one for us to talk about it or even a phone number. We headed back to Victoria and had to talk to three different people from Victoria to be able to have breakfast without being charged.

    Bed comfortable and clean Excellent location Nice hot water on the shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Super place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super place to sleep after party. Dont expect fancy room and bla bla bla. Its verry cheap and totally in centrum, everything is around you. I totally recommend this place for people, who want just sleep in comfy bed after wild night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    5.8
    The music coming in from the bar next door owned by the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music coming in from the bar next door owned by the same owners was horrendously too loud. I couldn't sleep over the weekend until after 2 am when it stopped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Great location, fantastic breakfast, comfortable beds, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, fantastic breakfast, comfortable beds, we could adjust the heating in the room and on the floor in the bathroom just like we wanted :) (no noise from the pub)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    8.8
    Location at the heart of the city, excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No refrigarator in the room, Got hair drier upon request from the reception, sometimes noisy outside during the night.

    Location at the heart of the city, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    4.6
    It’s really close to the central area and there were a lot...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t really comfortable and the walls were so thin that I could here upstairs, downstairs, hallways and even outside.

    It’s really close to the central area and there were a lot of dinners near by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    4.6
    the Skansen is only suitable as a hostel. Will never stay there again and would not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel states is is linked to Victoria Hotel and pictures are of Victoria Hotel. the Skansen is only suitable as a hostel. Will never stay there again and would not recommend.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    3.3
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet

    The corridor and the room was smelly. The internet was poor or unavailable. If you plan to Skype call your family/friends choose another hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    5.4
    Soviet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No reception. No lift. No nothing. TV didn't work. Shower and toilet at the same level. If taking shower with the door opened, fire alarm starts. The bar downside has a backwards garden, to get there you have to cross through hotel

    Breakfast. Because was served in another hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.1
    Very basic, loud music, great breakfast and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friday and Saturday nights were accompanied by thunderous music downstairs until 3 am. Shower head had to be held in place with sticky tape and toothpicks.

    Breakfast excellent; room warm and beds comfy. Nice view from top floor of harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.7
    Bare minimum in the room but it's clean and very low...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are directly above a bar (and in my case, directly above the foosball table at the bar) so until quite late I heard the music from the bar as if it was in my room and heard the patrons getting really excited over their competitive foosball games. So this would have been great if I had been trying to have a night out myself but on a Sunday night, not exactly what I was looking for and it was impossible to sleep.

    Bare minimum in the room but it's clean and very low cost compared to other options. Breakfast (served at the hotel next door) was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.2
    The room was spacious and included an excellent view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some confusion entering the facility, but the staff were very helpful in resolving the confusion.

    The room was spacious and included an excellent view of the water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.5
    Affordable, central stay in Stavanger
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi signal is VERY weak, plus it does get loud at night (hotel rooms are right above a popular bar). I didn't mind the small room, but something to consider for those who like to travel in comfort. Overall, I would recommend staying here no more than 2 nights.

    Very cheap hotel room in the heart of Stavanger - right by the old town, very close to the harbor. The breakfast in the nearby, much fancier hotel (this is where you check in) is AMAZING. If you are traveling on a budget in very expensive Norway, this is the place to go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.5
    Located very close to city center, friendly staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking available (but parking garage close, for 200NOK/night), rooms just solid

    Located very close to city center, friendly staff, very good breakfast, good bed, nice view on harbour, floor heating in bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.7
    Good location but there is bar downstairs and it is impossible to get into sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a bar downstairs. It plays loud music up to 1 am. It is impossible to get into sleep. Have complained to the manager and she said she is going to solve the problem.

    Location. Friendly staff. Reasonable rate. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.6
    Good location if you don't mind a lot of noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was above a bar and even though our windows were shut, it was very noisy and kept us up until the early morning hours.

    The parking garage was nearby and the hotel was only a few minutes walking distance from everything. The breakfast had a large selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    6.7
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charging extra for bed linen and towels .very unusual for a hotel .not even a glass or plastic tumbler in the bathroom. Could improve in these areas

    Good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.5
    Budget hotel with positives and negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very well cleaned as we found somebody's underwear under the bed not nice. Bathroom run down but actually was clean. Very noisy music at 2 am outside the window

    Great sea view for cheap price. Bed comfy. Breakfast in the Victoria hotel great as in the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    5.8
    Well situated in the middle of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old and shabby rooms that are just waiting for renovation. Have to use reception and breakfast venue of neighboring hotel Victoria. Noisy at night.

    Well situated in the middle of town. Decent price for a downtown hotel in high season.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    5.8
    First, it was not clear that I need to check-in on the other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First, it was not clear that I need to check-in on the other hotel. Second, there was no electricity inside the room. I complained and it was fixed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.5
    Extreme value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showerhead was broken and it wasn't really practical to take a shower in the room. There was also a very loud party in the same building that lasted throughout the night and there's very little in the way of insulation against noise in the very old building. Bathroom in general was also in need of a loving hand.

    The location is great, the room is super cheap and includes breakfast. Can't beat the value proposition - at all. Highly recommended for young people or people on a budget.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    7.5
    I have stayed in better value hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hallway smelled like rotten fish. Too many stairs.

    The room was clean and included a large bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to entertainment precinct

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    7.5
    Great accommodation close to Lysefjord Cruiseline, Shopping & Restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Common areas (particularly toilets) were filthy, Elevator was probably of 18th Century because you need to climb up the stairs (3-4 floors) to bring the elevator down so that you can then go up by the elevator.Also, you have to 'HOLD' the elev. ops. button so that it would move up or down. If you release it then the elev. would stop in the middle of the floors.

    Excellent location, good breakfast (but you need to walk to neighboring Hotel)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.9
    Great budget hotel, ideal for weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down side is that this particular part of the hotel is above a very noisy bar and on Friday / Saturday nights there are a few drunk norwegians to walk past in order to get to the hotel stairs. However, if you are out all day long and are super tired then this isn't a problem. Just take ear plugs if you're really worried about the noise. Small price to pay when the hotel is such good value.

    The beds were comfortable, the shower was great! Great value for money especially considering breakfast was also included. The location is superb with easy access to all the nearby restaurants and bars plus the picturesque old town and cathedral. The breakfast is served at the Best Western Victoria hotel which is two doors away and has a great selection of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.7
    Good selection of food and good quality and enough quantity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wad basic and that was alright. However at night it was quite noisy.

    Good selection of food and good quality and enough quantity. Restaurant where the breakfast was, was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    8.3
    Hotel located in a wooden house next to the Victoria hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Take in mind that there is a bar on the 1st floor so don`t plan your time here on weekend, it`s very noisy and you can`t sleep until bar will be closed in the deep night.

    Hotel located in a wooden house next to the Victoria hotel where perfect breakfasts are served every morning. The room is not so new and tired, it is large enough. Hotel is located close to the central pier, from where all boats to the fjords are located and not so far from the central station, about 10-15 minutes by foot. Breakfasts are really perfect and that's the main purpose you will stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    5.4
    The location is perfect and some features of this hotel are...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well, to start with, the bathroom wasn't exactly clean: one could find the hair of some previous guests on the wall. Once the cleaning service simply threw the contents of the bathroom bin into the bin in the room instead of taking it away. There is almost no space in the bathroom where one could deposit stuff, only a metal basket on the wall which is not suitable for smaller things and was quite dirty (dust + again someone else's hair). The bar downstairs can be really loud. But worst of all, one evening there was someone who got really drunk and he decided to set off the fire extinguisher, so in the end the hotel had to be evacuated. (OK, this turned out to be good long term.) The heating system is strange and one is asked to keep the bathroom door closed at all times because steam from the shower can set off the fire alarm. Last point: if one wants to use the hotel's own network (instead of the one from Victoria Hotel), then that's not a protected network.

    The location is perfect and some features of this hotel are attractive because they are actually carried out by Hotel Victoria just next door: this is the reception where one has to check in and out, and this is where one can have (excellent) breakfast. And that was great. But apart from that, one feels like a shabby neighbour from next door because the Skansen Hotel is pretty awful. The room itself was quite big and comfortable, and the WLAN was perfect (but again, this was the network from Victoria Hotel). The last 2 days I had to spend at the Victoria Hotel because the Skansen Hotel had to be evacuated - that was the nicest part of my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    5.4
    No luxuries
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel looks derelict and is in serious need of maintenance. The room was clean enough but the stairs and other shared areas were not so clean. The window stays were rusty. The Internet connection was unstable. The room itself was small and contained nothing but the very basics. For example, there was no shower cabin. There was a shower head and a curtain. Nor was there any kind of folder or info sheet with such basic information as the number to dial reception. As far as rating the staff, the category doesn't really apply since Skansen Hotel does not have any staff: you can turn to Victoria Hotel next door and someone there will help you.

    The location is very central, within walking distance of the bus station, the harbour, and Stavanger nightlife.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    8.3
    Cosy room in a great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on the harbour of Stavanger : easy to walk around the city Excellent breakfast at the Victoria Hotel next door ! The room was cosy, clean, and we had the view on the harbour :) Good wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    4.6
    Don't book this place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is some rooms in a building. All old and worn. Not even clean and TV doesn't really work + sink was leaking in room. This is somewhere to stay for someone on a really tight budget. Better to pay some more and stay somewhere else.

    Location is good. The Hotel is some rooms in a building. All old and worn. Not even clean and TV doesn't really work + sink was leaking in room. This is somewhere to stay for someone on a really tight budget. Better to pay some more and stay somewhere else.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    5.4
    Only if you have no choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception, need to walk to Victoria Hotel for check-in and having breakfast there. Downstairs is a bar, very noisy at late night, especially on weekend.

    The location is close to Fiskepiren, if you are going to Tau for hiking, you can choice this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    6.3
    Read the reviews carefully. Location was the only true positive.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photo is not of the hotel. Amazing that they get away with this little bit of fraud on this site. I'll leave it to the read to make inferences about their integrity. The hotel is dingy looking (it was white at one point) and sits on top of a bar. BUT ... I stayed there anyway because I am not all that fussy. It was adequate for me, but on realizing where I was staying I did briefly considered changing to the hotel which is actually pictured, which is next door. But, it's Norway, and Norway is wonderful at emptying one's wallet of cash better spent elsewhere. There is no parking, and you will have to pay about $23 per day to park your car if you leave it there to walk around.

    The location was very good, and the staff (which is actually at the adjoining hotel) was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no free parking at the hotel! We could leave the car only in front of the hotel during the night, but there was a bus that time.

    Good price for Norway, Great location, and very good breakfast(served at victoria hotel, 50m away). Comfort and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    6.3
    Good to stay but not to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at the first floor and I couldn't sleep until 2am due to music and crowd in the pub downstairs and the noise made by the cars outside. Wifi didn't work. There was nobody welcoming us in the Skansen.

    The hotel is in the pure historical centre so to get to the ferries it only takes 5min. Very comfortable bed, big and clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was excellet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.6
    Stavanger is the place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist booked me in and told me where the hotel was, he didn't advise of breakfast times. I wasn't impressed that the key to the front door also opened my room door. I didn’t leave any valuables in the room. But did make me wonder if my key would open other room doors. The bar below my room played music from 2000-0200 and you could hear people in the bar. It didn't bother me too much as after walking plenty during the day with lots of fresh air I fell asleep quite easily but for some the music could be a problem.

    I arrive at Victoria Hotel and registered in, it was a 1min walk to Skansen Hotel. Room was spacious, single bed was comfy. I felt the location was fantastic, 1 minute walk and you was on the harbour, close to shops and restaurants so much to see just buy wandering up and down the streets. As a solo female traveler I felt safe walking around, even in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    7.1
    Good price, but can be noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy due to the bar downstairs and across the street, especially on the weekend nights. There is no double glazing, so you can hear most of what's going on on the street.

    The location is very central which is good for walking everywhere. The breakfast is next door at the Victoria Hotel which is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    7.9
    Sleepless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opposite the hotel is a rave night club type place. The noise until 3am is totally unacceptable and for this reason alone I would not stay here again nor recommend anyone else does.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    3.8
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Much noise from the street outside and from the bar downstair made sleeping impossible.. Will never stay there again! Had to upgrade to the next door hotel, Victoria, which was excellent, but of course at a different rate.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    4.6
    Bad bathrooms
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mushrooms all over the shower,old bathrooms need fixing!! Discotek and Pubs with loud music intil late on a Sunday night also..

    The bed was nice and the breakfast very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    3.8
    Disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a night club downstairs and the sound passes through. I can hear the person next door snoring! The bed was not comfortable, more like an old spring bed. The bathroom flush didn't work properly. The shower water leaked out. No plug points for the phone charger without unplugging another device.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    8.3
    Basic rooms, best breakfast ever, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect much more than very basic rooms, but for the budget price it's not a complaint at all! Shower head couldn't be turned the way I wanted, but maybe it was only in this room.

    The absolutely superb breakfast buffet nextdoors alone makes it good value for money already! Great location in charming old centre of town!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    8.3
    suited us OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a small elevator, but we couldn't tell if it was available only for disabled guests or for anyone. it was great to have an electric kettle in the room, but the cord was too short to reach any socket from the table

    free breakfast (in Victoria Hotel) was very good. also they let us store bags after checkout (under some coat racks near the reception desk).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    3.8
    No chance to sleep, because of the loud music from the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can not sleep there, because of the noise (very loud music) from the bar downstairs (till 2-3 am). Even when they changed my room for the one on the higher floor, it was still completely impossible to sleep. The hotel is a place to sleep. If you can't sleep (even with the ear-plugs), nothing else matters.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    8.8
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit "tired" so some renovation would be a good idea. But we just needed place to sleep so it was all good for us.

    Great Location Amazing breakfast in Victoria Hotel Lovely Slovakian lady at reception was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2016

    7.5
    The location is right on the heart of Stavanger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise in the pub downstairs. I stayed in this hotel for a total of 3 nights and was at the 4th floor but I never had a single good night sleep. I get awakened by the yelling of the people in the pub plus the loud music and it even gets worst later in the night between1-2am.

    The location is right on the heart of Stavanger. The breakfast is very good for the price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    9.6
    The hotel has a very good location.
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel doesn't have an elevator but ıt would not be a problem for two floor.

    The hotel has a very good location. The staff is helpfull and the rooms are clean. There is a chocolate and coffee waiting for you in the room. You can reach everything in 10 minutes. It includes a nice buffet breakfast that is not commen and usual for Norway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    8.3
    This is the budget-friendly hotel run buy the Victoria Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the budget-friendly hotel run buy the Victoria Hotel next door. Location is great and we felt safe. It's just a couple blocks from the harbor and all of the restaurants and shops, and a parking garage is one block away. We didn't have any issues with noise as other reviews stated, but our stay was during the week. The breakfast, served in the Victoria Hotel, is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    7.1
    Good place for 1-2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wardrobe in my room, which is very inconvenient, room was very small.

    Location is great, the very center of Stavanger, fair prices, nice food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    8.8
    Good location near to the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is very noise because there is a pub in the lower floor of the hotel. Luckily as a light sleeper, I brought a earplug with me.

    Good location near to the harbor. Check in and out in Victoria hotel nearby, and rich breakfast is also served in that hotel. Although the room is not new decorated, it is worthy to stay there!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location. Perfect breakfast. In fact, Skansen hotel is a budget segment of Best Western Victoria hotel situated right near the Skansen hotel. So you go to make check-in/check-out as well as to grab so delicious breakfast in Victoria hotel. But you do not feel any inconvenience. I do want to come back next time when I will be in Stavanger

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    7.5
    Simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Simple.clean room,bar downstairs..loud at night.no problem for us..reseption and breakfast in neighbour hotel,no problem🖒.perfect location in Stavanger..we attended the Glad Mat festival..perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable rooms with very basic amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, comfortable rooms with very basic amenities. The hotel is centrally located, so it is easy to explore the Stavanger old town and harbour area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    5.0
    Close to center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was just above the bar with high music, which in my case was not positive as I needed to go to bed early...

    Close to center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No staff for room keeping and it's more like an apartment than a hotel

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    little bit noisy at night with open window
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little bit noisy at night with open window

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    From 4th floor room fantastic view over Stavanger Harbour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From 4th floor room fantastic view over Stavanger Harbour and the small white fishermen’s houses of Old Stavanger.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    It was good!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good place. Centrally located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    5.0
    Do not expect much from this place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of noise from the bar, terrible bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    5.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy from "Broreman pub" and from other guests during night

    Central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Run down

    Close to the town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the noise till 3am from the pub on the ground floor

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.1
    Alright in general, wifi was bad..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was very bad..no free parking.not best looking..

    Key location, comfortable and clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't have breakfast as head off for the early morning train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    5.4
    Extremely high cost/benefit ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Humidity

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.5
    Good the Breakfast is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noice in the bar

    Nice room for single but he Bar in the ground floor makes lot of noice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast, near port, fabulous view from windows (4th floor).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building and room, but cleaned perfectly

    Breakfast, near port, fabulous view from windows (4th floor).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad bugs and broken locker

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor Wifi

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Skansen Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: