Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Arendal 4 stars

Friergangen 1, 4802 Arendal, Norway

#3 of 4 hotels in Arendal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Nice place and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I was charged $4 for a bottle of water from the room bar.

    Very quiet, nice view, very.comfortable and clean. Everything seemed new. Good breakfast served on the same floor with a roof top patio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel central in Arendal with breakfast room eith terrace at top of building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice room with all the extras my wife prefer. Breakfast room at the top of the hotel, with outdorr terrace. Extra meal in afternoon included. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The location, only steps from the harbour, was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, only steps from the harbour, was very good. The breakfast was exceptionally good and the room itself was clean, quiet, and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffe ready at breakfast. Took 15 minutes before ready . Late to clean tables.

    Nice welcome in reception! Sortiment at breakfast very good, and good tastes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price is high compared to other European Hotels of same standard .

    The room is bigger than expected , considering that in Norway , Hotel rooms are generally small. The LG TV with direct internet access to TV programs is excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Er came late and Left early in the morning. Did sleep well, Nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking, needed to find IT on my own and pay..

    The rooms was great, Nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    A nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thon hotels are great. Especially the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    evening meal was poor! just pasta as a main dish!

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, located in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design is a bit too colorful for my taste and the beds way too soft

    Nice hotel, located in the center. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Attentive and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! One of the best I have had at a hotel so far.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great value for money, best breakfast ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cold :(

    Staff, room, design of hotel. And the breakfast was awesome!!!!! Soo tasty and good! Greetings :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast wirh a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from bars nearby

    Excellent breakfast wirh a view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Extremely good standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I could not be there longer. Really. That is place for living.

    Everything. And I am a picky client.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    We will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Beakfast and room condition are really satisfied for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Evening Meal
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Beakfast and room condition are really satisfied for me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.1
    Great location close to the centre of Arendal, good choices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was badly advised by the receptionist when I checked in regarding where I could leave my motorbike - resulting in a NOK 500 fine. However, the management did offer a reduction in my room price as partial compensation which I felt was fair.

    Great location close to the centre of Arendal, good choices for breakfast. Paid parking available opposite the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    6.3
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single bed was very narrow. The single room was very narrow, have never been in a room like that before.... Not comfortable at all!

    The location. Parking (I came by car). The breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    6.3
    Unlimited coffee available all day long.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a bit dusty. Coffee machine was turned off at the second floor. A wash-bowl in the room is too much "designer's" and too little practically usable.

    Unlimited coffee available all day long. City center location. Few parking garages in a short walking distance. Friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    6.3
    location, beds comfort, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tried several rooms, and most of them are not quiet, you can always ear machinery noise from cooling systems downstairs that makes sleep difficult to achieve.

    location, beds comfort, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    3.8
    They gave us a worn down room, even if they had new nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They gave us a worn down room, even if they had new nice ones. They were rude when we pointed this out ... Worst hotel experience ever.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    Great Breakfast and very good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outside the building was a bit old-fashoned. Very beautiful inside

    Great Breakfast and very good position

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.8
    Location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is excellent. Many Restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom sink was small, and the bathroom door was por. The breakfast was server to late in the weekends.

    Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All rather basic, even by Scandanavian standards. All a bit worn at the edges too.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    The breakfast was delicious!
    • Solo traveller

    The room did not have an air conditioner so it got really warm inside while the sun was shining.

    The breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    Really nice hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice hotel in a great location.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entrance was tight and don't give good feeling when you enter to the hotel

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast and very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences at all.

    Fantastic breakfast and very pleasant staff. We will stay here again next time we are in Arendal.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, very very clean environment, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff, very very clean environment, excellent varied and abundant breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: