Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Åsgårdstrand 4 stars

Havnegaten 6, 3176 Åsgårdstrand, Norway

#1 of 1 hotels in Åsgårdstrand

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    It's unique in design.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear my neighbor on the phone through the air vent. It was as if he was standing in my room.

    It's unique in design. Good view. We enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our window. We can see people passing by. We have to keep the curtains closed the whole time. The smell of the alley was weird. Old and pungent. The bathroom needed to be modernized. I mean if we have to pay 1000nok a night so it should have been worth it.

    The view from the restaurant Food Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location staff friendly and helpful If you have a car there is paid parking just outside reasonably priced. Tea and coffee facilities in room not mentioned on description. Will visit again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in quaint little harbour town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about regarding the hotel, but be aware it is a small town and restaurant options are limited.

    Lovely little seaside town and the hotel is right on the harbour, with a beach just a few hundred metres away. It has a luxurious modern feel with a very cool bar, restaurant and lounge area, although we had one of the more basic rooms. The breakfast was very good and there were plenty of sea-facing windows and terrace spaces. Onsite parking is reasonable and easy. We only stayed overnight due to horten-moss ferry but would have gladly stayed a bit longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rather old fashioned hotel, especially the bathrooms. Basically clean but plenty of dust on some surfaces indicating superficial cleaning.

    A very comfortable bed and a good breakfast in a room that overlooks the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    problems with the tv, no pay per view as stated and just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    problems with the tv, no pay per view as stated and just basic channels, it was a bit boring when i was having a relaxing weekend by myself and half the channels didnt work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good even I am from Istanbul we are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ala carte restaurant menu was poor

    Breakfast was very good even I am from Istanbul we are spoiled with Turkish breakfast but this one was very nice. nice much choices maybe but all of them are good quality. even coffee machine is Espresso

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Relaxed place with a magnificent view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Except for the hotel, there are few restaurants or cafes near by.

    The hotel is close to the sea and the view is magnificent. Åsgårdstrand is a very quite and relaxed place. Very little traffic near the hotel. A beach close to the hotel but the water is usually very cold

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    Worn.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As almost everywhere in Norway, too soft matras

    Location, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Nice straff, Nice place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.0
    Top hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the food in the restauranten included good service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice old fashioned hotel with a great breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could stand a little refurbishing.

    The views were incredible. The rooms were quiet and clean, and the breakfast was phenomenal!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Dinner was exelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water from the shower was comming out on the floor.

    Dinner was exelent. Good beds. nice wiev.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant hotel in a quiet little town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dusty but otherwise ok.

    The bed was very comfortable and the view from the window was impressive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    very pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very clean. It's really a comfortable experience! Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    The bed was too soft for me, the beds needs to be exchanged
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains did not hang up all the way, the hotel needs a make-over.

    The bed was too soft for me, the beds needs to be exchanged

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Nerd to be refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nerd to be refurbished

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Shower is a bit old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit old

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Would certainly stay there again..no complaints
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    meals fairly high prices

    Good care, clean ,good quality food though quite simple

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.8
    Dated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor interior. It needs a serious makeover a was not worth the cost per night.

    Good breakfast and location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.8
    Room 311.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited dinner menu.

    Room 311. Very nice harbour view, from comfortable room equipped with coffee making facility and minibar. Bath. Very good breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.1
    Menu is dreadful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu is dreadful. Not appropriate for a class hotel. Dinner menu was like a starter and there was not a decent choice thereafter. Extremely disappointing and resulted in our flight to Munch's Cafe for meals thereafter.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited restaurant menu.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable room with a nice view. Bath, coffee facilities and minibar. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    8.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dogs barfing in the neigbour romm in the morning

    The location. Quite and nice. Beach nearby :-)

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast had good choice but quality of eggs was poor

    Nice size rooms

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    7.5
    Bath tubs are not secured to foundation and move.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bath tubs are not secured to foundation and move. Had to put my tub back into position after showering.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: