Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Dronningensgate 21, 0154 Oslo, Norway

#105 of 157 hotels in Oslo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1837 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small.

    Beds very comfy, staff friendly. We were able to order a breakfast pack on day of departure as we had to leave early to catch a train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My second stay with them was in a room that was at the end of the hallway. Bed was literally up against the door. Light switch and power jack directly above the bed. If you turn the light off, you turn the power off too. No other jacks were working. So I slept with the lights on cause I needed to charge my phone overnight.

    Breakfast variety, friendly staff, free luggage storage after check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small but purpose-built. All you need for a short stay is there. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was nice. Very good location (close to the Central station and not far from the harbour)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have airconditioner for summer months. But we just opened the windows and let the cool breeze come in. Down side was you can hear the cars and people who party at night.

    Breakfast was really yummy. Good value for money. Free coffee at the lobby. Very very central location. A few minutes from the central station and right in the Karl Johans street. Very very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Builders are in so the corridors are in the process of being revamped/repainted

    Excellent Location Excellent Breakfast (included in price but final invoice itemised) Practical Bunk Bed arrangement in family room Good price for location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Room and bed is rather small 2. No Fridge 3. room is a bit hot despite a fan is provided 4. The hotel is undergoing renovation currently (@May 2018)

    1. Nice Breakfast - good variety 2. Helpful staff 3. Free Nsepresso Coffee and Tea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were provided fans which I was happy with but air conditioning would also be good. However they were refurbishing the hotel so this may be part of the plan.

    Brilliant location. 5 mins walk from opera house and central train station. Only takes 20 mins by train from airport. Great facilities, my room was one of the refurbished rooms and it was of a high standard and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was brilliant just what you need to start your day off. In the centre so close to many shops, restaurants, metro, tram etc. Couldn’t have asked for a better stay! I was a solo female traveller and felt very safe in the hotel and the city. Thank you so much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was right next to the elevator and stairwell which was great, but there was a sign on the stairwell door stating to keep door closed for your safety, and then noticed my room had been broken in to previously, this was my only concern, because the stairwell door was continuously left open, the other concern, no safe in the room, everything else fantastic!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a single room and the bathroom was extremely small. I am not a big person and there were hardly enough space for me in the shower.

    Excellent location and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise daily until 7 PM

    Friendly, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Beds were comfortable. This a budget, utilitarian hotel. After the reviews, I was concerned about the area, but it was fine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room very small but I was aware of this before booking as I was only staying one night. Others are bigger, just be aware if booking a smaller budget room

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Good central location and very close to the central rail station (but not too close)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bed was not very comfortable.

    Excellent location right downtown and just a few minutes walk form the central train station. The staff were very lovely and quite helpful. The free breakfast was truly the best complimentary breakfast I've ever had good quality food and a large selection, especially helpful in an expensive city like Oslo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    -Property location is the best !! -Breakfast is excellent with lot of variety !! -My train was at 1:24, I asked them to extend my checkout timing and they did it gracefully till 1 p.m. -Free coffee nespresso machine available beside reception !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more lighting in the area with the sofa and tv. But not a big issue.

    Perfect location and quiet for the busy central location. Fancy rooms for budget hotel. Really good breakfast with a lot of choice. Free coffee at any time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small, no place to put suitcases or to unpack things, no closet - just a few hangers attached top the wall. Shower flooded the bathroom.

    Bed and food were fine. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and uncomfortable. The room was very small (ok, normal for this price in Scandinavia), but the bed was broken and almost impossible to sleep on the mattress. Plus there was litter from previous guest on the floor, disgusting the fact they don't clean the room. Not a 3 stars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was excellent. Room was compact but as expected. Location was right in the centre of Oslo, only a few hundred metres from Oslo S. Close to Akerhus, harbour, palace, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s literally nothing not to like! Well there were some construction work going on but they were nice enough to apologize for it!

    After a long time! Finally I experienced the money’s worth in Europe! From all the places I’ve been and stayed at undoubtedly this was the best stay for the value of money! What to say, from the frontline staff till the room service everything was spot on! The room was so clean it smelled so nice, the bed, the duvet, so comfy! I literally spent like half a day just relaxing as I had sore feet from all the sightseeing. Everything was available from your doorstep, eateries, small food kiosks, markets! For a person who travels on a budget , Astoria defines it! And then comes the breakfast! Amazing amazing amazing! ( would have loved if they had a Norwegian salmon option/ you know to get the real feel, ...... even though I only eat fish, they had plenty of other options) Overall! A fabulous experience! One Central location you will love it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the single bed room is a bit small, like a Japan hotel room, also sound insulation is not sufficient.

    ultra clean bathroom, free coffee all day, nice breakfast, good location, helpful staffs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room (I didn't find the coffee machine downstairs until I was about to leave). The room was small but I expected that.

    Great central location near the central station and within walking distance of many attractions, good value (for Oslo...), friendly staff, maps and books of things to do in the area were provided for free, breakfast was great- loads to choose from, coffee machine near the foyer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lock on my first room was broken and after the first night, I had to change rooms. Both rooms I stayed in had small bathrooms, and very little storage space. My second room didn't have any kind of wardrobe, just some hangers on the wall

    The breakfast was really good, the food was hot and there was a good bit of variety. The location is great, right next to Oslo central station, a number of nice restaurants and down for the Royal Palace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was during renovations ( we weren't told about.) It was above us and beside us. It started at 6am. When we got in the elevator the next morning, there was a notice to say work started at 9am daily?? It was quite a walk to get to breakfast, but once there it was good. There was no electric kettle in room.

    Veey good location. Was walking distance to the central train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was minuscule. The double bed was pushed against a wall, so to get out of the bed during the night you either had to climb over your partner or crawl down to the end of the bed.

    The breakfast was good. Plentiful amount with a good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have problem in the door lock, during check in, I was advised the door was new and it's not too easy to lock and I must make sure it is fully lock. When I was in my room, I realize the door even though is closed but people can still open from outside, it takes me quite sometime to figure out the lock system. If the receptionist can provide a clear instruction it would be better.

    The breakfast has a lot of variety, but the only set back is the coffee machine, they only offer coffee, no options for cafe latte, espresso, cappuccino etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say, a very pleasant stay

    Very central for everything needed for a short stay in Oslo. Helpful and friendly staff, happy to give information on things to do and see. Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I had arrived a bit early yet there was no issue about getting access to my room. A superb breakfast choice which I savoured very much. Ideal location for the main train station and the city centre centre / harbour areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic, with not even a closet to store clothings. At early morning a strong and repeated noise was produced at the floor whcih reveals the bad soundproofing of the room and inaccuracy of other guests or staff(?). Breakfast room is in a close building which is reachable from outside.

    Great breakfast selection!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being English we do like to have a kettle in our room but I do appreciate it is a cultural thing.

    Food constantly being replenished. Staff very polite. Didnt feel rushed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They are refurbishing the hotel and it was so noisy starting at 8am. The bed was uncomfortable.

    location and breakfast.It was walking distance to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower and toilet are in the same cubicle and when I ran the shower, the water flooded the toilet area so the showering experience was not a success (perhaps the drain needs cleaning out so that the water runs away more quickly). Also the wall between my room and next door was very thin, and noisy neighbours prevented me from getting to sleep until the early hours. This was disappointing as I thought the hotel was very good value for money and excellent in so many other respects.

    Very nice friendly and welcoming staff, room very clean, comfortable bed, use of guest computer and printer very helpful, located close to the station, shopping centre, cathedral, opera house etc., marvellous breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single rooms are small.......in some cases with no storage facilities, The breakfast room is not accessed from the lobby but from the first floor and a flight of stairs.

    Very central location. Easy access to Oslo Central station and sightseeing buses. Very good breakfast with large choice of hot and cold items. Lift to all floors. Underfloor heating in the shower room/toilet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was of too small a size to accommodate clothing, laptop, etc.

    The location is excellent; the centre of the city, easily accessible. There is a good choice of cereals, breads, fresh fruits and drinks in the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was really poor. Basically I could not work from the room. The shower is a bit to small, and shower certain was really annoying.

    The location is very good. 5 minutes walk from Oslo central station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I knew that the room would be tiny - but it was REALLY tiny. There were a lot of deafs in the court. It was really hard to find and get to the breakfast room - you can only reach it from the 2nd floor with the elevator and then need to take the stairs to get there and back

    Very close to the central station of Oslo and also to a lot of sights. The breakfast was extremely good - never had such a nice breakfast in a 3 stars hotel! The staff after my check-in was always friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only staying 1 night!

    This hotel is a super great value for the money. The only thing "budget" is the size of the room, which is laid out so well, it doesn't matter. Everything you need and a few blocks from the central station. Close to the water, walking distance of everything. Friendly and helpful staff. GREAT breakfast. Heated bathroom floor and wonderful shower. Super clean everything. Can't say enough good things about these accomodations. Just what I needed and so glad to have stayed here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Wifi is so slow that it takes forever to send an email. Loading a message with video is impossible. Desperately needs improvement or you'll lose many travelers. 2. Bathroom needs a place to put some personal grooming products & cup holding toothbrush & toothpaste. At the moment, one has to bring them in & out of the bathroom every time. It's a nuisance that can be solved by simply putting a shelf (glass) in near the sink.

    Buffet breakfast has an excellent spread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, especially the bathroom. Bad/non working ventilation in room. Half of the TV channels did not work (black screen).

    Location. Standard international breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this property on booking.com because it came up under the category/filter "parking". There is no parking on site and I had to pay $30 to park at a garage around the block. If I had known there was no free parking included, I would have stayed at a cheaper accommodation in the area.

    This hotel is located right in the city center and is a deal for the price! The room and bathroom was clean and it was a perfect accommodation for a one night stay in Oslo. Wifi also works well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rich variety of noises coming from the street: People howling, cheering... Cars provided with loudspeakers at highest possible volume passing by. Bass and drum sounds probably coming from the show-club nearby. The only answer when i complained at reception was : "I can do nothing, sir".

    Cheaper than other hotels. Breakfast included.5 minutes walk to Central Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible spongy bed / mattress on tiny single bed. Badly needs replaced. Shower cubicle so small the plastic curtain sticks to you.

    Central Location and pretty OK Buffet Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and the bathroom was tiny without any shelf space at all. This was very difficult to deal with.

    Good location near to the train station. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wobbly bed, tiny room, stained wall and carpets, tiny bathroom, hot room. Had communicated that one of our group had badly sprained ankle. Result = 2nd floor room near elevator was good, but large step up to bathroom was bad and not communicated. Rain caused wet/slippery floors in entry and she fell on her crutches - need better safety for the conditions.

    Great breakfast. Generally helpful and friendly staff. Central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although our booking had been made over 9 months before our arrival, the reception staff had some difficulty finding it. We were told there was a "fault in the system." After some delay, we were offered a small room in the attic. This was at the corner of the building and had a slanted beam which rendered half the room inaccessible. We also discovered two beetles awaiting our arrival - one in the bed and another creeping across the floor. In addition to this, we had been told that a regular client had booked that room for our third night's stay and that we may be asked to move to another room for that night! On asking reception for a different room, there was a further lengthy delay with telephone calls being made and heads being scratched. Finally, about an hour after we had arrived another room was found. This was also in the attic and should never be classed as a basic room but one which you might offer someone straight off the street when fully booked; never mind one that was booked so long in advance. We were not impressed with this and would not recommend this hotel.

    The bed was comfortable if a little difficult to access because of the sloping ceiling. Breakfast was good with much local produce available. The hotel is close to Oslo Sentrum station and local shops, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a click in room.

    Comfortable bed. Easy to find great breakfast but they told us the wrong time and it was not ready when we arrived. We like wlearly even on weekends to get an early start

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs are very nice and friendly. The room is very clean. Location is very good, 5 minutes walk to the central station. The breakfast is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water from the shower went under the door and wet the bathroom floor. This is pretty common in European hotels.

    Great location near the main train station. Clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Best thing about this hotel was the amazing breakfast with dozens of choices. The kind of breakfast that would come from a much more expensive hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would certainly go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The day we check in, the staff informed us that they are not aware of the extra bed and need to contact manager. However, we have already made the request couple months ago and received a confirmation. There is a technical problem so we cannot get the room key and need to ask receptionist to open the door.

    The breakfast is good. Nice location, which is close to center and train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms are quite small, but very well equipped and comfortable. the view

    The breakfast is extraordinary!!!!! Great location, in town center, very close to the central station, which makes the hotel easily to reach with the public transport (train from the airport arrives at Oslo central station).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds too soft to be comfortable. Rooms were small and did not feel very clean. WIFI / TV not stable. There was no coffee facility in the room; there is in the main lobby, but it was broken most of the the time.

    Location was great. Close to the central station, restaurants and pubs. Breakfast is very good. Some staff were great, but others not very friendly or helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I bit noisy on the street side, but not horrible

    Excellent location near the train station in downtown Oslo. Nice basic hotel. Wonderful Norwegian breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was undergoing a lot of construction work so it was quite noisy during the day. There is also no communal lounge or bar area and the breakfast bit was out the back, past the car park. It was quite chaotic and I couldn't even get a cup of tea as the staff were so busy to help fix the water machine. The room I had was very small and not good value for money (although I know Oslo is very expensive!). The bed was not a real single, it seemed half the width so it was not very comfortable. I didn't feel it was a very welcoming hotel. I know it is classed as budget but I have stayed in better and more welcoming youth hostels! When you have a tiny room, you don't want to stay in it and with no communal areas to hang out in or get a drink, it was quite depressing!

    The hotel was very central, within a 5 minute walk to the central station. That was really the only thing going for it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, I could wheel my suitcase from the station in 5 minutes. The room though small was very clean and the bathroom looked brand new. Underfloor heating was a bonus. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were a bit cramped but served their purpose.

    Breakfast buffet was amazing. Even the bagged takeaway breakfast on our departure day was very good. Staff at the front desk was very helpful with a variety of questions we had. Computer in the lobby helped me make reservations for our next destination as well. .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    The breakfast was really great. Good variety and assortment of quality foods. The location was walking distance to everything. Really easy to find and get around!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a little noisy from the people in the street, depending on location of room. I was on the fifth floor over the front of the building. I guess sound travels up.

    As other reviews mentioned, breakfast was a highlight of the stay. The breakfast buffet was hectic on the Sunday morning I was there and calmer on Monday morning. Buffet had a great section. So you can try lots of different things. Room was comfortable. The hotel's location is actually quite good, near the train station, but the noisy street people brought the score down. Bring ear plugs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One day the warm water did not flow. The elevator in the hotel is reconstructed. Very small room for 3 people, uncomfortable very small bathroom

    Tasty brekfast, coffee machine and free tea on the corridor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft. Rooms are also very small, but you know that at the time of booking.

    Amazing breakfast and perfect for those arriving or departing by train

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, we didn't spend that much time in the hotel.

    Nice people, very clean and comfy room. Good food ! We arrived at 11.30h p.m and this was no problem, got a warm welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The ventilation system carried the sound of people and the smell of food into other places. -There was no lounge area to have drinks with my travel companions. -High doorsteps which made one person in our company trip and spill her cup of hot water over her hand. -There was no fridge in my room. -There was little soap left in my soap dispenser. -The duvet was too thin. -There was no hair conditioner. -There was no place to hang the towel beside the sink.

    -The breakfast selection and service of the breakfast staff. -The price. -The location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was insanely small. I opened the door and the bed was right by the door. The corridors on floor 5 had a strange smell to them.

    The location is perfect as it's close to central station and the main shopping area. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small...like a student halls. Room was not well sound proofed and could hear neighbours TV. Internet was free but very slow.

    Location is ideal for central Oslo and close to the station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel in under renovation Slowest internet ever in a hotel rooms are ridiculously small, I almost did not fit in the bed... Very poor quality of the bed (in addition of being so small)

    breakfast is reach, but very crowded location was ideal for me, 5min from train station where you can reach Lillestrom fair in about 15min

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -I had to go down to the reception 3 times in a row since the card to open the door to my room didn't work. -No place to sit in the reception area because of some construction in/around the reception area.

    The location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room reminds me of those in Japan - extremely small. When I spread my arms I could touch both ends of walls in a bathroom. Moreover, when sitting on a toilet, my right arm is in a sink and my feet are in a shower. The bed and pillow are uncomfortable and overall the room is not spacious enough not to feel claustrophobic. One day the electricity was down in the room just when I was about to dry my hair. The size of a wardrobe is so small, you cannot put anything bigger than socks. The general feel - very negative

    The location is good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrible beds. Far too soft!! Like sleeping in a hammock!! Change them, throw them out!

    Very good breakfast buffet. Nice and tidy, good choice of food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No place to stay except the restaurant for breakfast. The single room i booked was very small.

    Location is very nice stuff is very helpful Wifi speed is high

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thin curtains were broken and yellow stained. Bathroom is extremely tiny but functional.

    The location is really good. Very close to the central station and downtown. Breakfast was nice as well. The staff is very friendly, especially the breakfast ladies.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i check in, I was informed that i have to check out at 10 am next morning. No apology or compensation.

    good breakfast. good location. in the central area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really small, but if you are in oslo just for 1-2 nights, it's OK.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, close to everything in central Oslo. Staff was really helpful. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and uncomfortable rooms and beds. The whole place was a building site. Very noisy both frpom other rooms/guest and from the construction workers starting at 6 in the morning.

    The location is nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in a renovation modus and a lot of activities around in the stairs, corridors and the reception. This is an old hotel that need a facelift, not only some painting.

    The location of this hotel was very good. It was a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and easy to find, the staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and there was lots of choices availible, so there was something for everyone.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great. Hot and cold food options including local food, and hot and cold drink options. Great selection of fruits, breads, cereals, milks, hot dishes etc. Good options for those with special dietary requirements, and clear allergy labels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too narrow. Could have been a bit wider, even for a single room.

    I loved the breakfast. Looked appetizing and food selection was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The glass toilet door is very annoying when it's facing another bed.

    Great location close to train station and they served good breakfast. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: