Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thon Hotel Bergen Airport 4 stars

Kokstadveien 3, Ytrebygda, 5257 Bergen, Norway

#26 of 49 hotels in Bergen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aside from being located close to the hotel it didn’t offer any other benefit of being close to anything else.

    Convient if looking for a hotel close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not offer any food at my very late arrival. (23:30)

    Very nice dining area. With a Pool, sauna, power lifting + streaching and mobility area + squash training possibilities are very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently renovating the restaurant.

    Very helpful and friendly staff.close to airport but no plane noise inside the hotel or room. Bus and tram station within minutes of the hotel,as well as a grocery store. Room very clean!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was comfortable. breakfast was cold (when it was supposed to be hot). Restaurant was closed for rennovation which was a pain because we had to leave and go find a place to eat because the buffet they offered didn't look good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas of the hotel a bit run-down such as the elevators. Breakfast quality was adequate but nothing special.

    Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Pool was great! Checkin was fast. They honored our request for adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows smelled very bad sweat, that I couldn't sleep until morning. Bathroom was dirty. Room wasn't clean. One of reception staff that was a young boy that seems new in this job that he had very bad behaviors and I told him I want to pay cash 3 times but after that he wants to charged my credit card until I told to him partner and he always ask his colleague "what should i do", and I requested before I don't need to extra bed but he charge me for extra bed and I told him 3 time please cancel the extra bed but he wants to give me that, after his partner came and told him they not need extra bed and they don't like and he accepted. He didn't tell us about the breakfast level of room. I requested before I need a quiet room but he gave us first room in lobby after I asked him please give us a quiet room as I requested before he persuaded to give us a room in ground floor. I have been more than 200 hotels a round the world before but this hotel was one of ridicules and worse hotels that I have been.

    Only a lady that her name was shima who works in reception had very respectfully behavior.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "free shuttle" only operated very early in the morning with very limited services - we had to catch and pay for the tram/train which was a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Breakfast area was confusing due to renovations with food and tables in separate rooms. Staff at front counter were not friendly.

    This was a good but standard hotel - we used it to stay overnight before a morning flight - not much around the area. Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location from airport is pretty far and the airport transfer is limited to early morning on Mondays to Fridays

    Lovely breakfast and great rooms and we enjoyed the small indoor pool on a winter's day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner possibilities were weak. Either an expensive Julemat option or a caesar salad. Burger, pasta, chicken options would have been better

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good reading lights beside the bed and the bed was excellent. The desk was suitable for computer work. Easy access to the restaurant (my room was on the ground floor).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much food without gluten The bread without gluten was not good I would like Yoghurt without lactose and Müsli without gluten Cold in my room the next morning

    The rom, near to the reseption and elevator Shampoo etc you need for the shower Coffee om the room Nice people in the reseption 🤗

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel is far from the airport,difficult to find. also very far from bus stop and they have only shuttle bus very very early in the morning

    swimmingpool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi.. Stay was fine but disappointed with food.. we eat veg and eggs.. Couldnt find anything much to eat.. when we asked the chef if they could provide us omelette(which is served at other hotels on demand), they just refused. So we had hardly any options to eat... Neither there was anyone from the kitchen to check what the guests need.. Expected a better service.. Thanx Vishal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    which was incinerated. (this review may look a little odd depending on which way round booking.com order the like/don't like). Particularly didn't like £8.40 for a 1/3 litre bottle of Carlsberg. Surprised there's still a drinks industry in Norway. Best thing to do is everybody in Norway not drink for 3 months. The Goverment will work it out when they've suddenly got no beer money and a load of unemployed drinks industry people.

    Burgers are lovely, breakfast is a good spread, apart from the bacon

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of lobby area and route to room and elevator

    Comfort, quietness and closeness to ariport, breakfast was excellent and staff were very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the entrance when you have to walk from the train pulling luggage.

    Staff was great, especially in the restaurant. The chef prepared a wonderful cheese board for us upon request.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an industrial area with no areas of interest within walking distance.

    We took a tram from Bergen to the hotel which stops just around the corner. Good location for access to Bergen airport, transfer bus provided by the hotel. We were able to access our room early which we were very grateful for. Very clean throughout the hotel. The restaurant cooks a delicious dinner to order. Breakfast starts early and the selection is okay. The spa facilities are good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was rather outdated with plastic chairs, bed uncomfortable, breakfast buffet rather disappointing, both the coffee machine and water kettle in the room were broken - eventually replaced 20 min before we checked out after two requests at reception, swimming pool closed for "special cleaning" etc. Avoid this property if you can

    good parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A free breakfast and shuttle to the airport were advertised on the Booking.com website. We had a 6:30 am flight (which is not that unusual at an international airport) and this supposed airport hotel had neither the breakfast nor the shuttle available. When I wrote to complain I got a snarky curt response from the manager. If you don't have a shuttle in the morning...no problem...just say so on your advertising.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of groups, but they are separated in the hotel from the other guests with breakfast & dining. Never experienced this before on our traveling. Expected a lot of noise, but it was VERY quiet in the evening and morning!

    Everything: Location 20 min. by car to parking garage in city of Bergen, room has everything you need, very good beds, fast & free wifi everywhere, free coffee in the bar area, good diner + breakfast, very helpful staff, clean, a VERY good organised hotel, supermarket around the corner, big free parking area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was amazing - as a freq traveller I could def say it was the breakfast I'd ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the breakfast is really on high level. Many kind of salamon, seafood, cheese, smoothies... hot and cold

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pool, gym and fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food, great location for the airport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    printer low on ink

    good beds,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airport shuttle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very nice hotel with a friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the elevators are old and slow, parts of the hotel need renovation

    the room was big

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather small swimmingpool. room is not too big too.

    very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not find our booking initially and the receiption was undermanned. Only 1 person at the busy period for checking in.

    Very Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free transfer to airport provided by the hotel only early in the morning, until 6:45.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free bus transfer to the airport

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good, room and bathroom is very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from corridor and hallway doors shutting.

    Clean, convenient

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated floor in the bathroom!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff hospitality can be improved Carpet in the rooms

    Location Cleanliness Breakfast Heated bathroom floor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi in my ground floor room. Too expensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff and breakfast...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet should be encrypted.

    All right breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast selection

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just as one expects from a business style hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little smudgy. Wifi out of reach in room

    Nice modern design

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuttle isn't available at anytime

    Nature

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV had too few channels. Breakfast Buffet could have been better. Orange juice was gone.

    Room had heated bathroom floor!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food the breakfast not even a toaster bar not open at 930 menu very small and very expensive food

    The room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nopp

    Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was hot, no way to controll temp - but to open the window

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should be more clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want go to city must using bus, expensive if using taxi to the city.near airport bergen

    Near airport, clean room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disinterested staff.

    Closest airport to hotel Early breakfast for fliers

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was poor, both evening meal and breakfast were very disappointing.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff availability when you need to speak to them.

    Bed, waffles.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you do not have a car, it is a challenge to get to the hotel. There is a bus stop next to the hotel which I used to get into Bergen (30 minute ride). If you buy your ticket from the bus driver you get ripped off (50 NOK) compared to buying your ticket in town at a ticket machine (18 NOK). This is because they are trying to discourage money exchange on the bus. There is nothing you can to about this the first time you ride into town. I walked from/to the airport (20 minute walk on a nice wide smooth sidewalk next to the highway).

    The management did a good job minimizing the effects of a strike by unionized staff by taking on extra jobs. The included breakfast is good with a large variety of hot and cold items.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Since my address is in Sweden but I am not a Swedish, the reception asked about my nationality.It was midnight and I was very tired so redundant and rude questions was very annoying. I cannot understand why a hotel need to ask for your country of origin and where do you want to go in Bergen.

    The facilities in the room were complete.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is a bit remote but when the train will be on, that won't be an issue anymore. The tables in the morning had nothing in, looking a bit like a cantina. Besides this, nothing to complain about.

    Good breakfast, clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It *is* possible to walk to the hotel from the airport however be aware that it will take around 20-30 minutes at a normal pace. There are plenty of taxis at the airport if not. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and the room was clean and bright. Breakfast was fabulous with a wide variety of food to choose from. Bus 51 will take you from the hotel to the centre of Bergen. It takes about 25 mins and costs 50 NOK. (Purchase the ticket from the driver.)

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Uncomfortable single beds. The worse choice of food in any hotel I have ever stayed at. Shown to dirty not set out tables, very poor restaurant service waited ages for average overpriced food. If you don't like the 4 choices of main you basically go hungry until breakfast or have to go offsite.

    Excellent breakfast and clean simple rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Because my flight would be arriving just before midnight, proximity to the airport was essential because the lateness of the hour necessitated using a taxi. (To take a taxi to a hotel in Bergen would have been very expensive.)

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I didn't like was that there was no shuttle from the airport. In order to traverse the 2 km, one either needs to take a taxi (for about 175 NOK, or $18), an airport bus to the city that will will let you off there (and then walk up a relatively steep driveway), or walk if one doesn't have much baggage. There is a complimentary shuttle to the airport from the hotel, but it starts at 5:45 and so won't work for an early morning flight.

    Staff was friendly and very helpful. I told them what time i needed my taxi, and they made arrangements for it to arrive at the correct time the next morning. My room (a twin standard) was quite nice and the bed was comfortable. I left too early for the complimentary breakfast, but they offered yogurt, wasa sandwiches and juice for folks like me. I will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything is so basic. The materials are cheap , the lift looked cheap and batteres. The location is only 5 minutes from the airport but a taxi is 200 nok. Flybuss doesnt stop there. It would be better to stay in town or at the Comfort on the airport. Will not be staying there again.

    breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    price for 1 night was very high, position is ok to reach airport but a bit too far from Bergen

    nice and clean rooms, free wifi, wide breakfast choice, swimming pool, and kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - during our booking procedure by internet we asked for a quick breakfast service early in the morning before our flight (at 4.30/4.45 approx), nobody took care of our request. the staff came late with crackers and yougurt, very poor. I can understand it was really early in the morning and we did not ask for a rich/normal breakfast but such a bad and poor service after an open request and in a 4 stars hotel was disappointed.

    closed to the airport

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive (even for Bergen). Also Twice our room was entered by cleaning staff while we were in the room without them knocking first. The first time it was only 7am and we were asleep. Not good enough

    The location of this hotel is what sells it. The restaurant is good and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning staff need to give a little time for guests to answer the door before coming into the room.

    Happy, welcoming, efficient staff. Spacious, clean, comfortable room. Fast, free Wi-Fi.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I booked the hotel because it had a swimming pool and found out that it was closed for maintenance. I was very unhappy about this.

    Friendly staff, good room.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe this is an American thing, but I'm used to having a hotel clock, USB charging, and coffee in my room. (I know - long story, but I had no phone charger). The room had tea and neither of the other two amenities. I was able to set up a wake up call on both the phone and TV, but I still found it unnerving and slept horribly, as I was panicked I would sleep through my flight. Overall - really my issue. The hotel was nice and I did make my flight. :)

    I had a morning flight, and Thon was conveniently located by the airport for a reasonable price. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, the room was very clean and comfortable, and breakfast was a nice spread of options.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only minor things: old elevator with worn out appearance; not many international TV channels and some of them were not playing smoothly.

    Modern room with nice facilities (expresso machine, comfortable beds, big screen, mini bar) Excellent and varied breakfast and good restaurant. Quiet surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am from Southern Europe. I felt a bit cold, both physically and otherwise... yet am I to complain or adjust? Norway is mind-bendingly expensive.

    Breakfast was rich beyond believe. Good_coffee_machines all over the place - just help yourself. Recently fully renovated (apart from the elevators - a bit ancient)

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - shuttle bus for free, - comfy bed, - good breakfast - but why there was no salmon in Norwegian hotel?:)

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water during part of the day. Room did not get cleaned during my entire stay.

    Close to the airport and link roads.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stuff was not competent about their facilities. Poor fitness center - for kids or seniors only.

    New hotel.

There are also 57 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thon Hotel Bergen Airport traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: